DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 02/13/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 3, 6, 11 and 16 have been amended. As such, claims 1, 3, 5, 16-18 and 20 are being examined in the current application.
Applicant has amended claim 3 to address a minor informality and 112(b) rejection; the objection and rejection to the claim has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-12 of Remarks, filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “That is, Hanson only teaches a specific configuration of a handle that allows for a user to lean or otherwise press onto the handle with both hands in a downward direction to apply compressive pressure to the patient's chest for each compression. There is nothing in Hanson, however, of any indication a grip portion formed from a flexible material, as recited in Claim 1.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Hanson teaches a handle 14 to be a grip portion and further teaches (“…the handle 14 may also include pads or be coated in foam rubber or other suitable materials to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort (see [0031]).” As such, handle 14 comprises pads or is coated in foam rubber and therefore, handle 14 is formed of flexible and deformable material as the padding/coating of foam rubber is part of handle 14/the grip portion.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 20250169855 to He in view of Hanson (US 20140213942 A1).
Claim 1 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 20250169855. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because He does not teach “the grip portion formed from a flexible material; wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable.”
However, Hanson teaches a grip portion (handle 14, see Fig. 1) formed from a flexible material;
wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable (“…the handle 14 may also include pads or be coated in foam rubber or other suitable materials to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort.” See [0031]; handle 14 includes pads or is to be coated in foam rubber and is therefore formed from a flexible material and deformable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by He to have the grip portion include pads or be coated in foam rubber as taught by Hanson to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort (see [0031]).
Claim 5 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 20250169855 in view of Hanson (US 20140213942 A1).
Claims 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-13 of U.S. Patent No. 20250169855 to He in view of Hanson (US 20140213942 A1).
Claim 16 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 of U.S. Patent No. 20250169855. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because He does not teach “a grip portion formed from a flexible material; wherein the first one-way valve and the second one-way valve are arranged in opposite flow directions; and wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable.” With respect to “wherein the first one-way valve and the second one-way valve are arranged in opposite flow directions” He (claim 11) teaches the first one-way valve is configured to prevent a flow of air from the extendable tubular body into the face mask when the extendable tubular body is compressed and the second one-way valve allows the air to flow from the extendable tubular body to the external environment when the extendable tubular body is compressed and as such teaches the first one-way valve and the second one-way valve are arranged in opposite flow directions.
However, Hanson teaches a grip portion (handle 14, see Fig. 1) formed from a flexible material;
wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable (“…the handle 14 may also include pads or be coated in foam rubber or other suitable materials to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort.” See [0031]; handle 14 includes pads or is to be coated in foam rubber and is therefore formed from a flexible material and deformable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by He to have the grip portion include pads or be coated in foam rubber as taught by Hanson to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort (see [0031]).
Claim 17 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 20250169855 in view of Hanson (US 20140213942 A1).
Claim 18 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 20250169855 in view of Hanson (US 20140213942 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (CN 112932633 A) in view of He (US 11478575 B1) and Hanson (US 20140213942 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tian teaches a respiratory obstruction removal device (“FIG. 1 is a structure schematic diagram of the invention trachea foreign matter absorbing device…” see page 3), comprising:
a face mask (breathing mask 1, see Fig. 1) and a negative pressure generating device (inhaler 2, see Fig. 1) that exerts negative pressure on the face mask (when the handle is pressed down on the cylindrical body of the suction cup 22, negative pressure is formed in the cylindrical body which is used to suck foreign matter in the human trachea out of the trachea as seen on page 3, last paragraph),
wherein the negative pressure generating device comprises:
a grip portion (handle 21, see Fig. 1);
an extendable tubular body (suction cup 22, see Fig. 1), comprising elastic material (suction cup 22 comprises of a cylindrical body made of a deformable elastic material (see page 3, paragraph 6 and page 4, paragraph 3), and consisting of a top (suction cup 22 has a top as seen in Fig. 1), bottom (suction cup 22 has a bottom as seen in Fig. 1), and a variable-volume cavity with a hollow structure in a middle of the extendable tubular body (suction cup 22 comprises a cylindrical body with a variable-volume cavity (in the middle of suction cup 22 as seen in Fig. 1) that can be squeezed towards the face to create negative pressure within the body by discharging the air through air outlet 224 as seen on page 3, last paragraph, and is hollow as seen in Fig. 2); and
an annular interface (chassis 221 and connecting pipe 222, see Figs. 2-3; Fig. 3 shows a schematic of the chassis 221 which includes connecting pipe 222 as seen on page 3, paragraphs 5-6), located at the bottom of the extendable tubular body (chassis 221 and connecting pipe 222 are located at the bottom of suction cup 22 as seen in Fig. 2), and having a face mask interface (connecting pipe 222, see Fig. 2) to connect with the face mask (connecting pipe 222 is to connect with vent pipe 11 of breathing mask 1 as seen in Figs. 1 and 2 and page 4, paragraph 4);
wherein the face mask comprises:
an upper part (vent pipe 11, see Fig. 2) configured to fit with the annular interface (vent pipe 11 is to connect with connecting pipe 222 of the chassis 221 as seen in Figs. 1 and 2 and page 4, paragraph 4),
a lower part (lower part, see Tian’s Annotated Fig. 1) fitted with medical silica gel to conform to a face of a patient (“…the outer edge of the breathing mask 1 is made of medical silica gel and the shape fits the face…” see page 4, first paragraph), and
a connecting body (connecting body, see Tian’s Annotated Fig. 1) linking the upper part and the lower part (the connecting body links the lower part with the vent pipe 11 as seen in Fig. 1);
the respiratory obstruction removal device further comprising:
a first one-way valve (air inlet one-way valve 226, see Fig. 3), situated within a channel that runs through the annular interface, the connecting body, and the extendable tubular body (air inlet one-way valve 226 is situated in an air channel which runs through a vertical axis through connecting pipe 222 of chassis 221, the connecting body, and suction cup 22 as seen in Figs. 2-3 and page 3, paragraph 6), wherein an inlet end of the first one-way valve is in fluid communication with the face mask, and an outlet end of the first one-way valve is in fluid communication with an interior of the extendable tubular body (Fig. 3 shows an arrow representing the air flow direction of air inlet one-way valve 226 (see page 3, paragraph 7), wherein an inlet end of the first one-way valve is in fluid communication with the face mask and the outlet end of the air inlet one-way valve 226 is in fluid communication with an interior of suction cup 22 as seen in Figs. 1-2), the first one-way valve being configured to prevent a flow of air from the extendable tubular body into the face mask when the extendable tubular body is compressed (when handle 21 is pushed and suction cup 22 is squeezed towards the face, air inlet one-way valve 226 is closed to prevent air from the suction cup 22 into breathing mask 1 and page 3, last paragraph), and to allow air from the face mask to flow into the extendable tubular body when the extendable tubular body expands (when handle 21 is pulled up to expand suction cup 22, air inlet one-way valve 226 is opened to allow airflow from breathing mask 1 to suction cup 22 as seen in Fig. 3 and page 3, last paragraph); and
a second one-way valve (air outlet one-way valve 225, see Fig. 3), situated in the annular interface (air outlet one-way valve 225 is situated in chassis 221 as seen in Fig. 2), wherein an outlet end is in communication with an external environment (an outlet end of the air outlet one-way valve 225 is in communication with an external environment as air is discharged from the valve as seen in Figs. 2-3 and page 3, last paragraph), and an inlet end is in communication with the extendable tubular body (an inlet end of the air outlet one-way valve 225 is in fluid communication with suction cup 22 as when the cylindrical body is squeezed, air is discharged from the valve as seen in Figs. 2-3 and page 3, last paragraph), the second one-way valve being configured to allow air to flow from the extendable tubular body to the external environment when the extendable tubular body is compressed (when handle 21 is pushed and suction cup 22 is squeezed towards the face, air outlet one-way valve 225 is opened to discharge air as seen on page 3, last paragraph), to close to prevent the air from exiting the extendable tubular body when the extendable tubular body expands, and to block external air from entering, to maintain a negative pressure environment within the extendable tubular body (when handle 21 is pulled up to expand suction cup 22, air outlet one-way valve 225 is closed to block air from entering to maintain a negative pressure environment to suck a foreign body from the trachea of the human body as seen in Fig. 3 and page 3, last paragraph);
wherein the grip portion is configured to be at least partially deformable.
But does not teach the grip portion formed from a flexible material;
the lower part fitted with a flexible annular cushion to conform to a face of a patient;
wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable.
Tian’s Annotated Fig. 1
However, He teaches a lower part (flexible annular pad 11, see Fig. 3) fitted with a flexible annular cushion to conform to a face of a patient (flexible annular pad 11 is on the lower part of face mask 1 and encircles a mouth of the choked patient and is closely attached to a face as seen in Figs. 1-3 and Col. 7, lines 64-67);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Tian to replace the lower part with the flexible annular pad as taught by He as a known alternative material/structure on a mask used to conform to the face of a patient that will not affect the functionality of the device.
However, Hanson teaches a grip portion (handle 14, see Fig. 1) formed from a flexible material;
wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable (“…the handle 14 may also include pads or be coated in foam rubber or other suitable materials to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort.” See [0031]; handle 14 includes pads or is to be coated in foam rubber and is therefore formed from a flexible material and deformable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Tian in view of He to have the grip portion include pads or be coated in foam rubber as taught by Hanson to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tian teaches the device of claim 1, and Tian further teaches wherein the second one-way valve is configured to be provided on a bottom of the annular interface (air outlet one-way valve 225 is provided on the bottom of chassis 221 as seen in Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Tian teaches a respiratory obstruction removal device (“FIG. 1 is a structure schematic diagram of the invention trachea foreign matter absorbing device…” see page 3), comprising:
a face mask (breathing mask 1, see Fig. 1) and a negative pressure generating device (inhaler 2, see Fig. 1) that exerts negative pressure on the face mask (when the handle is pressed down on the cylindrical body of the suction cup 22, negative pressure is formed in the cylindrical body which is used to suck foreign matter in the human trachea out of the trachea as seen on page 3, last paragraph),
wherein the negative pressure generating device comprises:
a grip portion (handle 21, see Fig. 1);
an extendable tubular body (suction cup 22, see Fig. 1), comprising elastic material (suction cup 22 comprises of a cylindrical body made of a deformable elastic material (see page 3, paragraph 6 and page 4, paragraph 3), and consisting of a top (suction cup 22 has a top as seen in Fig. 1), bottom (suction cup 22 has a bottom as seen in Fig. 1), and a variable-volume cavity with a hollow structure in a middle of the extendable tubular body (suction cup 22 comprises a cylindrical body with a variable-volume cavity (in the middle of suction cup 22 as seen in Fig. 1) that can be squeezed towards the face to create negative pressure within the body by discharging the air through air outlet 224 as seen on page 3, last paragraph, and is hollow as seen in Fig. 2); and
an annular interface (chassis 221 and connecting pipe 222, see Figs. 2-3; Fig. 3 shows a schematic of the chassis 221 which includes connecting pipe 222 as seen on page 3, paragraphs 5-6), located at the bottom of the extendable tubular body (chassis 221 and connecting pipe 222 are located at the bottom of suction cup 22 as seen in Fig. 2), and having a face mask interface (connecting pipe 222, see Fig. 2) to connect with the face mask (connecting pipe 222 is to connect with vent pipe 11 of breathing mask 1 as seen in Figs. 1 and 2 and page 4, paragraph 4);
wherein the face mask comprises: an upper part (vent pipe 11, see Fig. 2) configured to fit with the annular interface (vent pipe 11 is to connect with connecting pipe 222 of the chassis 221 as seen in Figs. 1 and 2 and page 4, paragraph 4), a lower part (lower part, see Tian’s Annotated Fig. 1) fitted with medical silica gel to conform to a face of a patient (“…the outer edge of the breathing mask 1 is made of medical silica gel and the shape fits the face…” see page 4, first paragraph), and a connecting body (connecting body, see Tian’s Annotated Fig. 1) configured to connect the upper part and the lower part (the connecting body links the lower part with the vent pipe 11 as seen in Fig. 1);
the respiratory obstruction removal device further comprising:
a first one-way valve (air inlet one-way valve 226, see Fig. 3), situated in a channel that runs through the annular interface, the connecting body of the face mask, and the extendable tubular body (air inlet one-way valve 226 is situated in an air channel which runs through a vertical axis through connecting pipe 222 of chassis 221, the connecting body, and suction cup 22 as seen in Figs. 2-3 and page 3, paragraph 6), and being configured to connect the extendable tubular body with the face mask (air inlet one-way valve 226 fluidically connects suction cup 22 to vent pipe 11 of breathing mask 1 as seen in Fig. 2 and page 3, paragraphs 6 and 12), wherein an outlet end of the first one-way valve is configured to fluidly communicate with an interior of the extendable tubular body, and an inlet end of the first one-way valve is configured to be in fluid communication with the face mask (Fig. 3 shows an arrow representing the air flow direction of air inlet one-way valve 226 (see page 3, paragraph 7), wherein an inlet end of the first one-way valve is in fluid communication with the face mask and the outlet end of the air inlet one-way valve 226 is in fluid communication with an interior of suction cup 22 as seen in Figs. 1-2); and
a second one-way valve (air outlet one-way valve 225, see Fig. 3) situated on the negative pressure generating device (air outlet one-way valve 225 is on the bottom of chassis 221 of inhaler 2 as seen in Fig. 2), wherein an outlet end of the second one-way valve is configured to communicate with an external environment (an outlet of air outlet one-way valve 225 is in communication with an external environment as air is discharged from the valve as seen in Figs. 2-3 and page 3, last paragraph), and an inlet end of the second one-way valve is configured to communicate with the interior of the extendable tubular body (an inlet end of the air outlet one-way valve 225 is in fluid communication with the interior of suction cup 22 as when the cylindrical body is squeezed, air is discharged from the valve as seen in Figs. 2-3 and page 3, last paragraph);
wherein when the extendable tubular body is compressed, the first one-way valve closes to prevent gas in the extendable tubular body from entering the face mask, while the second one-way valve allows air to flow from the extendable tubular body to the external environment (when handle 21 is pushed and suction cup 22 is squeezed towards the face, air inlet one-way valve 226 is closed to prevent air from the suction cup 22 into breathing mask 1 and air outlet one-way valve 225 is opened to discharge air to the environment as seen on page 3, last paragraph);
wherein when the extendable tubular body expands, the first one-way valve opens, allowing the gas inside the face mask to flow into the extendable tubular body, and the second one-way valve closes to prevent the gas from flowing out of the extendable tubular body (when handle 21 is pulled up to expand suction cup 22, air inlet one-way valve 226 is opened to allow airflow from breathing mask 1 to suction cup 22 and air outlet one-way valve 225 is closed to block air from entering to maintain a negative pressure environment to suck a foreign body from the trachea of the human body as seen in Fig. 3 and page 3, last paragraph);
wherein the first one-way valve and the second one-way valve are arranged in opposite flow directions (air inlet-one way valve 226 and air outlet one-way valve 225 are arranged in opposite flow direction as air inlet-one-way valve 225 opens when air outlet one-way valve 225 closes and vice versa as seen on page 3, last paragraph)
But does not teach the grip portion formed from a flexible material;
the lower part fitted with a flexible annular cushion to conform to a face of a patient;
wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable.
However, He teaches a lower part (flexible annular pad 11, see Fig. 3) fitted with a flexible annular cushion to conform to a face of a patient (flexible annular pad 11 is on the lower part of face mask 1 and encircles a mouth of the choked patient and is closely attached to a face as seen in Figs. 1-3 and Col. 7, lines 64-67);
the first one-way valve (first check valve 21, see Figs. 3-4) is situated on the upper part of the face mask (face mask 1, see Figs. 1-4) (He teaches face mask 1 to be hermetically connected to a first gas inlet end of first check valve 21 as seen in Col. 7, lines 51-53. Face mask 1 is provided with a connecting cylinder 12 which is inserted into central cylinder 26 from bottom to top when the face mask 1 and the connector 2 are combined as seen in Fig. 4 and Col. 7, lines 53-61. As such, the first check valve 21 is situated on the upper part of the face mask as seen in Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Tian to replace the lower part with the flexible annular pad as taught by He as a known alternative material/structure on a mask used to conform to the face of a patient that will not affect the functionality of the device. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Tian to have the upper part of the face mask be hermetically connected to the first one-way valve as taught by He as it is a known arrangement within the art that would not affect the functionality of the device as He teaches first check valve 21 to work similarly to the first one-way valve (see Col. 8, lines 6-28).
However, Hanson teaches a grip portion (handle 14, see Fig. 1) formed from a flexible material;
wherein the grip portion is configured to be deformable (“…the handle 14 may also include pads or be coated in foam rubber or other suitable materials to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort.” See [0031]; handle 14 includes pads or is to be coated in foam rubber and is therefore formed from a flexible material and deformable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by Tian in view of He to have the grip portion include pads or be coated in foam rubber as taught by Hanson to help reduce hand fatigue and increase user comfort (see [0031]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Tian teaches the device of claim 16, and Tian further teaches wherein a cross-section of the extendable tubular body has a shape selected from the group consisting of a circular shape, a triangular shape, a polygonal shape, and an elliptical shape (Tian teaches the cross-section of suction cup 22 to be circular as seen in Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (CN 112932633 A, machine translated on 06/05/2025) in view of He (US 11478575 B1) and Hanson (US 20140213942 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lih (US 20150190158 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tian teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the negative pressure generating device comprises an annular interface with a uniform face mask interface, configured to accommodate any face mask among multiple sizes that have a same outer diameter for a hollow connecting tube.
However, Lih teaches wherein the negative pressure generating device (bellow assembly 102, see Fig. 1) comprises an annular interface (base 114, see Fig. 2) with a uniform face mask interface (opening 116, see Fig. 2), configured to accommodate any face mask among multiple sizes that have a same outer diameter for a hollow connecting tube (Bellow assembly 102 includes an opening 116 that is similar to the applicant’s annular interface 25 and is thus seen to accommodate any face mask size that has the same outer diameter in the same manner as the applicant’s device does. Furthermore, Lih teaches using different sized facemasks 110 to accommodate the choking victim and a choking intervention device with multiple face masks to be connected to the bellow assembly (see [0036]).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the face mask interface of the device by modified Tian to have an uniform opening size as taught by Lih to be able to use different facemasks to accommodate the chocking victim (see [0036]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (CN 112932633 A, machine translated on 06/05/2025) in view of He (US 11478575 B1) and Hanson (US 20140213942 A1), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Anderson (US 20110174309 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Tian in view of He teaches the device of claim 16, but does not teach wherein the face mask and the annular interface are connected by a frictional force.
However, Anderson teaches resuscitator mask 41 having a connection end 91 with a predetermined friction fit configuration for mating with the resuscitator connection end 84 as seen in Figs. 6-7 and 9 and [0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by modified Tian to modify the face mask and the annular interface to have a friction fit configuration for mating as taught by Anderson as an alternative connection mechanism known in the art to connect to a mask.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian (CN 112932633 A, machine translated on 06/05/2025) in view of He (US 11478575 B1) and Hanson (US 20140213942 A1), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Worboys (US 20090065729 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Tian teaches the device of claim 16, but does not teach wherein the face mask and the annular interface are connected by a mechanism selected from the group consisting of an adhesive bond, welding, and a snap-fit connection.
However, Worboys teaches wherein the face mask and the annular interface are connected by a mechanism selected from the group consisting of an adhesive bond, welding, and a snap-fit connection (mask frame 30 of a mask assembly (taken as face mask) comprises a flanged collar member 35 which is connected to first portion 20 (taken as annular interface) in a snap-fit manner as seen in Fig. 1 and [0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device taught by modified Tian to modify the face mask and the annular interface to have connect in a snap-fit manner as taught by Worboys as an alternative connection mechanism known in the art to connect to a mask.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TINA ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785