DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is in response to Applicant’s patent application filed on 8/30/2025. An action on the merits follows.
Claims 1-5 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a base insertion assembly for positioning a base element of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region of the base element contacts the limit feature" of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a mechanism for moving the partially formed outer shell between the shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly" of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show device for “embossing or indenting a region of the side wall” device for “folding a portion of the side wall” (see para 0338 of PGPub)” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
means for forming a limit feature on an inner surface of the side wall element at a distance from an end of the side wall element in claim 1
a base insertion assembly for positioning a base element of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region of the base element contacts the limit feature of claim 1
a mechanism to move each shaping block between a retracted position in which there is a gap between each of the shaping blocks and an extended position in which each of the shaping blocks contacts and applies a force to a part of the neck and shoulder portions of the outer shell of claim 2
a mechanism for moving the partially formed outer shell between the shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly of claim 3
means for pressing inner neck panels around a former of claims 4-5
means for pressing outer neck panels around a former of claims 4-5
means for forming a limit feature on an inner surface of the side wall element at a distance from an end of the side wall element = applicator for applying a line of adhesive (see para 0335 of PGPub) or something for embossing or indenting a region of the side wall, or something for folding a portion of the side wall (see para 0338 of PGPub). Examiner could not find any corresponding structure in Applicant’s specification for embossing or indenting a region of the side wall, or for folding a portion of the side wall
a base insertion assembly for positioning a base element of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region of the base element contacts the limit feature = an apparatus for positioning the base element (see para 0342 of PGPub). Examiner could not find any corresponding structure in Applicant’s specification for the apparatus
a mechanism to move each shaping block between a retracted position in which there is a gap between each of the shaping blocks and an extended position in which each of the shaping blocks contacts and applies a force to a part of the neck and shoulder portions of the outer shell = a linear actuator (see para 0315 of PGPub)
a mechanism for moving the partially formed outer shell between the shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly = Examiner could not find any corresponding structure in Applicant’s specification for performing this function.
means for pressing inner neck panels around a former = inner neck press assemblies 180 comprising finger 182, push rod 186, press elements 192, 194 (see para 0213 0221, 0223, 0227 of PGPub)
means for pressing outer neck panels around a former = outer neck press mechanism 274 comprising clamp units 276, alignment plates 302, outer neck press system 324 (see 0274, 0276, 0283 of PGPub)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, claims 1 and 3 fail to comply with the written description requirement because the specification does not provide the relevant structure for “means for forming a limit feature on an inner surface of the side wall element at a distance from an end of the side wall element” in claim 1, “a base insertion assembly for positioning a base element of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region of the base element contacts the limit feature” in claim 1, and “a mechanism for moving the partially formed outer shell between the shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly” in claim 3, as required under 35 USC 112(f). See below 35 USC 112(b) rejection.
Any remaining claim(s) are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the claim limitation “means for forming a limit feature on an inner surface of the side wall element at a distance from an end of the side wall element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, Examiner could not find any corresponding structure in Applicant’s specification for embossing or indenting a region of the side wall, or for folding a portion of the side wall in the written description. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In claim 1, the claim limitation “a base insertion assembly for positioning a base element of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region of the base element contacts the limit feature” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, para 0342 of PGPub states “an apparatus for positioning a base element 22 with respect to the end of the side wall 24 and inserting the base element 22 into an opening defined by the end of the side wall 24. The base element 22 is inserted such that the first surface 27 of the base element 22 faces in a direction away from the neck portion 10 of the shell 4”. However, Examiner could not find any corresponding structure for “the apparatus” in the written description. The term apparatus itself does not impart any specific structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In claim 3, the claim limitation “a mechanism for moving the partially formed outer shell between the shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, Examiner could not find any corresponding structure for the claimed mechanism that moves the partially formed outer shell between the shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly in the written description. Additionally, the term mechanism itself does not impart any specific structure. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claims 4-5, the limitation “an inner neck press assembly comprising means for pressing inner neck panels around a former; and an outer neck press assembly comprising means for pressing outer neck panels around a former” is vague and unclear because it is unclear if the two formers are the same or different. In order to prosecute the application, Examiner assumes the two former limitations are the same.
Regarding claims 4-5, the limitation “an inner neck press assembly comprising means for pressing inner neck panels around a former; and an outer neck press assembly comprising means for pressing outer neck panels around a former” in combination with claim 1’s (claim 4 depends on claim 1) “a side wall of the outer shell being formed from a paperboard blank having… a plurality of neck panels” is vague and unclear because it is unclear if the neck panels of claim 1 are the same or different from inner neck panels and outer neck panels of claims 4-5. According to figs. 4-5, the inner neck panel 36 and outer neck panels 38 appear to be part of the neck panels of claim 1. Therefore, in order to prosecute the application, Examiner is interpreting the above limitation as “an inner neck press assembly comprising means for pressing inner neck panels of the plurality of neck panels around a former; and an outer neck press assembly comprising means for pressing outer neck panels of the plurality of neck panels around a former”.
Regarding claims 4-5, the limitation “means for pressing inner neck panels around a former” is vague and unclear because as shown in figs. 4-5 of the instant application, there is exactly one panel 36 on each sidewall 30 or 32. Therefore, in order to prosecute the application, Examiner is interpreting the above limitation as “means for pressing inner neck panel around a former”.
Regarding claims 4-5, the limitation “an outer neck press assembly comprising means for pressing outer neck panels around a former” in combination with claims 2’s (on which both claims 4 and 5 depend) “a shaping assembly for shaping the neck portion of the bottle comprising: four shaping blocks” is vague and unclear because it is unclear if the shaping assembly of claim 2 is the same as the outer neck press assembly. As shown in figs. 40-41 and as described in para 0274-0283, the shaping assembly with four shaping blocks appears to be the same as the outer neck press assembly 274. In order to prosecute the application, Examiner assumes the four shaping blocks are the same or part of the outer neck shaping assembly.
Any remaining claim(s) are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Since all claims are rejected under 112 section, all claims are as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by USPGP# 20170015480 of Slack et al. (henceforth Slack) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USP# 2,642,784 of Wittkuhns et al. (henceforth Wittkuhns).
Regarding claim 1, Slack teaches
An apparatus (heated tools in para 0115, 0117 and unheated/cold tools in para 0129) for manufacturing a bottle (1), the bottle comprising a paperboard outer shell (12, para 0081) and an inner pouch (14), a side wall (18) of the outer shell being formed from a paperboard blank (para 0081) having a main body panel (42) for forming a cylindrical main body portion (see fig. 5) of the bottle and a plurality of neck panels (58, 60, 62) for forming a cylindrical neck portion of the bottle (see fig. 5), the cylindrical main body portion having a first, larger diameter (see fig. 5 and the relative diameter of main body portion 42 compared to neck portion 58, 60, 62), and the cylindrical neck portion having a second, smaller diameter (see fig. 5 and the relative diameter of main body portion 42 compared to neck portion 58, 60, 62), and the apparatus comprising:
means (any mechanism for applying adhesive 103) for forming a limit feature (adhesive as described in para 0112-0113) on an inner surface (103) of the side wall element at a distance from an end of the side wall element (distance from top end 94 to 103); and
a base insertion assembly (tools described in para 0129 for bonding 18, 20 and 22) for positioning a base element (22) of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening (30) defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region of the base element contacts the limit feature (para 0112-0113 and para 0125-0129).
Should the applicant contend that Slack does not teach
means for forming a limit feature on an inner surface of the side wall element at a distance from an end of the side wall element; and a base insertion assembly for positioning a base element of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region of the base element contacts the limit feature.
Wittkuhns also teaches
An apparatus (apparatus in fig. 1) for manufacturing a bottle (container shown in fig. 1), the bottle comprising a paperboard outer shell (abstract), a side wall of the outer shell being formed from a paperboard blank having a main body panel (a) for forming a cylindrical main body portion of the bottle (see fig 5) and a plurality of neck panels (d) for forming a cylindrical neck portion (see fig. 5) of the bottle, the cylindrical main body portion having a first, larger diameter (see fig. 5), and the cylindrical neck portion having a second, smaller diameter (see fig. 5), and the apparatus comprising: means (station E esp. 175) for forming a limit feature (h) on an inner surface of the side wall element at a distance from an end of the side wall element (distance between the top of the bottle and the point h as shown in fig. 5, see c. 24, l. 70+ and c. 30, l. 65+ and c. 31, l. 1-12); and a base insertion assembly (station F, esp. element 396) for positioning a base element (s) of the shell with respect to the end of the side wall and inserting the base element into an opening (hole for s as shown in fig. 8) defined by the end of the side wall until an edge region (3’) of the base element contacts the limit feature (c. 45, l. 50-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus of Slack with the addition of means for forming the limit feature and a base insertion assembly, as taught by Wittkuhns in order to provide the predictable result of controlled, accurate and automated positioning and of the base into the bottle. This makes the apparatus more reliable, since human error (such as mis-positioning) is reduced, and makes the device more user friendly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slack, or in the alternative, Slack in view of Wittkuhns in further view of USP# 1,192,202 of Johnson et al. (henceforth Johnson).
Regarding claim 2, as shown in claim 1, Slack, or in the alternative, the combination of Slack and Wittkuhns teaches
the apparatus further comprising
a shaping assembly (Slack: para 0115, “tools”) for shaping the neck portion of the bottle.
Slack, or in the alternative, the combination of Slack and Wittkuhns does not teach
a shaping assembly comprising: four shaping blocks, each shaping block including a shaping surface including a first portion corresponding in shape and profile to a shape and profile of a part of the neck portion of the bottle and a second portion corresponding in shape and profile to the shape and profile of a part of a shoulder portion of the bottle between the neck portion and the main body portion of the bottle, and a mechanism to move each shaping block between a retracted position in which there is a gap between each of the shaping blocks and an extended position in which each of the shaping blocks contacts and applies a force to a part of the neck and shoulder portions of the outer shell, wherein a first one of the shaping blocks is opposite a second one of the shaping blocks and the shaping surface of said first shaping block faces the shaping surface of said second shaping block, and a third one of the shaping blocks is opposite a fourth one of the shaping blocks and the shaping surface of said third shaping block faces the shaping surface of said fourth shaping block.
Johnson teaches
An apparatus (device in figs. 1-2) for manufacturing a bottle (pg. 1, l. 12-16), the bottle comprising a paperboard outer shell (pg. 1, l. 12-16), a side wall (18) of the outer shell being formed from a paperboard blank (pg. 1, l. 12-16) having a main body panel (X) for forming a cylindrical main body portion (see fig. 7) of the bottle and a plurality of neck panels (Y) for forming a cylindrical neck portion of the bottle (see fig. 7), the cylindrical main body portion having a first, larger diameter (see fig. 7 and the relative diameter of main body portion X compared to neck portion Y), and the cylindrical neck portion having a second, smaller diameter (see fig. 7 and the relative diameter of main body portion X compared to neck portion Y), the apparatus comprising
a shaping assembly (C, D) for shaping the neck portion of the bottle comprising:
four shaping blocks (C, D in fig. 3), each shaping block including a shaping surface (4 and the outer surface of D in fig. 3) including a first portion (4) corresponding in shape and profile to a shape and profile of a part of the neck portion (pg, l. 98-112) of the bottle and a second portion (5, which acts on the throat of the bottle) corresponding in shape and profile to the shape and profile of a part of a shoulder portion (throat 2, pg, l. 98-112) of the bottle between the neck portion and the main body portion of the bottle (pg, l. 98-112), and
a mechanism (E, F, please note F moves linearly) to move each shaping block between a retracted position (position shown in fig. 1) in which there is a gap between each of the shaping blocks and an extended position (position shown in fig. 2) in which each of the shaping blocks contacts and applies a force to a part of the neck and shoulder portions of the outer shell (pg. 3, l. 1-13),
wherein a first one of the shaping blocks (see annotated fig. 3) is opposite a second one of the shaping blocks(see annotated fig. 3) and the shaping surface of said first shaping block faces the shaping surface of said second shaping block(see annotated fig. 3), and a third one of the shaping blocks (see annotated fig. 3) is opposite a fourth one of the shaping blocks (see annotated fig. 3) and the shaping surface of said third shaping block faces the shaping surface of said fourth shaping block (see annotated fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the shaping assembly of Slack, or in the alternative, the combination of Slack and Wittkuhns, with the addition of four shaping blocks and a mechanism for moving the shaping blocks, as taught by Johnson in order to provide the predictable result of reliably form the bottle into a bottles shape having separate body, shoulder and neck portions. Additionally, Because both Slack and Johnson teach devices for forming bottle, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one device (unknown forming tools of Slack) for the other (shaping blocks of Johnson) to achieve the predictable result of forming bottles from paperboard. KSR Int'l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR).
Regarding claim 3, as shown in claim 2, the combination of Slack and Johnson, or in the alternative, the combination of Slack, Wittkuhns and Johnson does not teach
a mechanism for moving the partially formed outer shell between the shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly.
Wittkuhns teaches
a mechanism (50, 70) for moving the partially formed outer shell between a shaping assembly (1) and the base insertion assembly (station F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Slack and Johnson, or in the alternative, the combination of Slack, Wittkuhns and Johnson with the addition of a mechanism for moving the partially formed outer shell between a shaping assembly and the base insertion assembly, as taught by Wittkuhns in order to provide the predictable result of seamless, reliable and automated movement of the partially formed bottle through various stations for forming the bottle. This makes the apparatus more reliable, since human error (such as mis-positioning) is reduced, and makes the device more user friendly.
Regarding claim 4, as shown in claim 2, the combination of Slack and Johnson, or in the alternative, the combination of Slack, Wittkuhns and Johnson teaches
an inner neck press assembly (Johnson’s C, D that corresponds inner panel 36 of Slack) comprising means (shaping blocks 4) for pressing inner neck panels around a former (B): and an outer neck press assembly (Johnson’s C, D that corresponds outer panels 38 of Slack) comprising means for pressing outer neck panels around a former (B), so that the outer neck panels overlap the inner neck panels (see fig. 7 of Slack).
Regarding claim 5, as shown in claim 3, the combination of Slack, Wittkuhns and Johnson teaches
an inner neck press assembly (Johnson’s C, D that corresponds inner panel 36 of Slack) comprising means (shaping blocks 4) for pressing inner neck panels around a former (B): and an outer neck press assembly (Johnson’s C, D that corresponds outer panels 38 of Slack) comprising means for pressing outer neck panels around a former (B), so that the outer neck panels overlap the inner neck panels (see fig. 7 of Slack).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/M. A./
Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731