DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed September 1, 2025. As directed by the preliminary amendment: Claims 1-10 have been amended. Claims 11-20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-29 are newly added. Claims 1-10 and 21-29 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an extending mechanism coupled with a positioning element such that movement of the positioning element causes the extending mechanism to move with respect to the positioning element” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by McLuen (US 7,727,280).
Regarding claim 1, McLuen discloses a bone fusion device (1000’) (figures 14A and 14B) for insertion into a desired location (col. 11, ll. 64-67 and col. 12, ll. 1-26) comprising an extending mechanism (1002, 1010) including one or more extending blocks (1010) coupled with a positioning element (1002) such that movement of the positioning element (1002) causes the one or more extending blocks (1010) to move with respect to the positioning element (1002) (figures 14A and 14B), a first plate (1006’), and a second plate (another element 1006’), the first and second plates (elements 1006’) coupled with the one or more extending blocks (1010) (figures 14A and 14B) such that when the one or more extending blocks (1010) move with respect to the positioning element (1002), the first and second plates (elements 1006’) move along a path (figures 14A and 14B) with respect to each other between a retracted position (figure 14A) in which the first and second plates (elements 1006’) are adjacent to each other (figure 14A) to an extended position (figure 14B) in which the first and second plates (elements 1006’) are spread apart from each other (figure 14B), wherein a portion of the first plate (1006’) directly contacted by the one or more extending blocks (1010) (figures 14A and 14B) changes as the one or more extending blocks (1010) move with respect to the positioning element (1002) (figures 14A and 14B).
Regarding claim 2, McLuen discloses wherein the first and second plates (elements 1006’) are sized such that an entirety of a perimeter of the first and second plates (elements 1006’) about the path (figures 14A and 14B) align with an outermost perimeter of the device (1000’) about the path (figures 14A and 14B).
Regarding claim 5, McLuen discloses wherein the one or more extending blocks (1010) each comprise an angled surface (figures 14A and 14B) between a left side (figures 14A and 14B) and a right side (figures 14A and 14B), wherein the left sides of the one or more extending blocks (1010) are aligned with a left face of the first and second plates (elements 1006’) and the right sides of the one or more extending blocks (1010) are aligned with a right face of the first and second plates (elements 1006’).
Regarding claim 6, McLuen discloses wherein the angled surface forms a continuous sheet between the left and right sides (figures 14A and 14B) of the one or more extending blocks (1010) in order to increase the surface area of the angled surface (figures 14A and 14B).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,409,050. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Claims 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,963,884. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,399,956. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. For example, claim 1 of the instant application discloses all the features/elements of claim 1 of USP ‘956 such as an extending mechanism, a first plate, and a second plate. Yet, claim 1 of the instant application lacks one or more biasing elements. However, claim 3 of the instant application clearly contemplates this feature.
Claims 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,399,956. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Claims 1-10 and 21-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,098,757. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775