DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the election of species in the reply filed on 12/21/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 9-11, 13, 18, and 20-23 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected species. Additionally, claim 12 is withdrawn from consideration as there is no thermal interface layer material disposed on the top of the covering structure.
Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/21/2025. The traversal appears to be on the grounds that that the there is no search burden for the examiner to search all of the different features of all of the different species. Firstly, applicant has not admitted on the record that the species/sub-species are not patentably distinct. Secondly, given the distinct features of each species, different search queries would be needed. MPEP 808.02 (C) makes clear that the necessity of employing different search queries establishes search burden. Since applicant has not pointed out any error in this regard, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 19, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II).
Liang II discloses:
1. (Original): An air moving device, comprising: a film structure comprising a flap pair (flap pairs in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B), wherein the flap pair comprises a first flap and a second flap opposite to each other (see e.g. left and right flaps in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B); a first actuator (left 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the first flap and a second actuator (right 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the second flap; wherein the first actuator comprises a first electrode and a second electrode (first and second electrodes corresponding to the two electrodes DV1 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B), and the second actuator comprises a third electrode and a fourth electrode (third and fourth electrodes correspond to two electrodes DV2 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B); wherein the first electrode receives a first demodulation signal and the third electrode receives a second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 8B wherein the signal on either of electrodes DV1 and the signal on either of the electrodes DV2 which cause the differential mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the demodulation signal); wherein the second electrode and the fourth electrode receive a modulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a common-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 5B wherein the signal on the other of the electrodes DV1 and the signal on the other of the electrodes DV2 which cause the common mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the modulation signal).
5. (Currently amended): The air moving device of claim 1, comprising: a covering structure (see e.g. HSS in Fig 3A);wherein a front chamber is formed between the film structure and the covering structure (see chamber formed above left and right 120 between 120 and HSS in e.g. Fig 3A).
19. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, wherein the air moving device is formed on a base (BS); wherein a back cavity is formed within the base (CB1); wherein an airflow flows between an ambience (see ambient in e.g. Fig 3A) and the back cavity (via BVT in e.g. Fig 3A and silicon in 0061).
24. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, wherein the air moving device is disposed on a base (BS) or a substrate; wherein a channel (BVT) is formed within the base or the substrate.
25. (Original): The air moving device of claim 24, wherein an airflow produced by the air moving device flows through the channel (see e.g. Fig 3A From H02 to CB1 via BVT).
26. (Currently amended): The air moving device of claim 1, comprising: a top-intake covering structure (see e.g. HO1 in Fig 3A) or a side-intake covering structure (see e.g. HO2 in Fig 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220225031 in view of Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II).
Liang discloses:
1. (Original): An air moving device, comprising: a film structure comprising a flap pair (flap pairs 102C or 102D in e.g. 6, 101 and 103 in Fig 7, and 102 in Fig 14), wherein the flap pair comprises a first flap and a second flap opposite to each other (see e.g. left and right flaps 102C or 102D e.g. Figs 6, 101 and 103 in Fig 7, and left and right 102 in Fig 14); the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 7); the flap pair performs a common-mode movement (see e.g. Figs 6 and 14).
The flaps of Liang would require an actuator to actuate movement as demonstrated in e.g. Figs 6-7 and 14. However, Liang does not specify the details of such actuators.
Liang II disclose a first actuator (left 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the first flap and a second actuator (right 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the second flap; wherein the first actuator comprises a first electrode and a second electrode (electrodes corresponding to DV1 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B), and the second actuator comprises a third electrode and a fourth electrode (electrodes corresponding to DV2 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B); wherein the first electrode receives a first demodulation signal and the third electrode receives a second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 8B wherein the signal on either of electrodes DV1 and the signal on either of the electrodes DV2 which cause the differential mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the demodulation signal); wherein the second electrode and the fourth electrode receive a modulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a common-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 5B wherein the signal on the other of the electrodes DV1 and the signal on the other of the electrodes DV2 which cause the common mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the modulation signal).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize actuators as taught by Liang II in the system of Liang to gain the benefit of enabling driving of the flap pairs according to move according to known movements of flap pairs.
Liang as modified above discloses:
2. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, wherein the air moving device produces a plurality of air pulses at an ultrasonic pulse rate (see e.g. 24K Hz in 0131 of Liang).
3. (Original): The air moving device of claim 2, wherein the differential-mode movement of the flap pair forms a virtual valve or an opening at an opening rate corresponding to the ultrasonic pulse rate (see e.g. 24k Hz in 0131 of Liang).
4. (Original): The air moving device of claim 2, wherein during a time period, the plurality of air pulses are unipolar (see e.g. Figs 6 and 14 of Liang and Figs 5A-5B of Laing II). 5. (Currently amended): The air moving device of claim 1, comprising: a covering structure (see e.g. 804T in Fig 6 of Liang); wherein a front chamber is formed between the film structure and the covering structure (see e.g. 105 in Fig 6 of Liang).
Regarding claim 8, Liang does not disclose wherein an integrated circuit chip is formed on the covering structure.
However, Liang II discloses the use of an ICC on a PCB (see e.g. Fig 36 with ICC on SB1 wherein SB1 is a circuit board as in 0223 of K=Laing II).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize an ICC as taught by Liang II in the system of Liang to gain the benefit of utilizing an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip as taught by Liang II in 0242 for utilizing a known way to provide application specific control/functionality for an air moving device.
Claims 6-7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220225031 in view of Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II) in further view of Akram US 6064116.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Liang as modified above does not specifically discloses the material of the printed circuit board and thus does not specifically disclose wherein the covering structure is made of a wafer material or made of silicon. However, Akram discloses “the term PCB as employed herein including conductor-carrying substrates of silicon” in col 3 lines 11-13. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize silicon as a material for the PCB of Liang as modified above to gain the benefit of using a known material for PCBs.
7. (Original): The air moving device of claim 5, wherein the film structure and the covering structure are made of the same material (see col 3 lines 11-13 of Akram for the PCB and “The membrane structure 12 and the valve structure 11 may have thin film structure, which may, e.g., be fabricated by MEMS (Micro-Electro-Mechanical System) fabrication process using SOI (silicon/Si of insulator) or POI (Poly-Si/polysilicon on insulator) wafers, but not limited thereto.” in 0026 of Liang).
17. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, a through silicon via (see e.g. see col 3 lines 11-13 of Akram for the PCB, and vias in 0130 of Liang).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II).
Regarding claim 14, Liang II discloses a side-firing covering structure (see e.g. HO2 in Fig 3A of Liang II).
Alternatively, see Figs 37, 44, and 46-47 of Laing II.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a side firing structure as taught covering structure in any of the embodiments of Liang II to gain het benefit of directing air in a desired direction.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II) in view of Liang US 20220225031.
Regarding claim 15, Liang II discloses wherein the air moving device is disposed on a flexible printed circuit board (see 0061 including (emphasis added): “The base BS may be hard or flexible, wherein the base BS may include silicon, germanium, glass, plastic, quartz, sapphire, metal, polymer (e.g., polyimide (PI), polyethylene terephthalate (PET)), any other suitable material or a combination thereof. As an example, the base BS may be a circuit board including a laminate (e.g., copper clad laminate, CCL), a land grid array (LGA) board or any other suitable board containing conductive material, but not limited thereto. In some embodiments, the base BS may be a substrate” wherein the circuit of the circuit board would be printed.). Additionally, Liang disclose the use of a printed circuit board (see e.g. 0130).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a printing process to manufacture the circuit board of Liang II as taught by Liang to gain the benefit of utilizing a known manufacturing process for circuit boards.
Liang II as modified above discloses:
Regarding claim 16, Liang II discloses a driving signal from a driving circuit is connected to the actuator 120 via DV1 and DV2 to provide an electrical signal to the air moving device (flap pairs) wherein the driving circuit is element 160 (see e.g. 0134). The location of this driving circuit 160 is not specified. However, the driving circuit 160 is an integrated circuit (see e.g. 0144), and Figs 36-37 have integrated circuits on the base circuit board SB1 (see e.g. flexible and circuit board in 0223). Therefore, it would be obvious to place an integrated circuit on any of the embodiments of Liang II on the flexible circuit board (such as BS in Fig 3A) to gain the benefit of using a known location for integrated circuits.
Additionally, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the air moving device is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the driving circuit of Liang II as modified above without any change in operation of the air moving device is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Conclusion
See form PTO-892 for additional prior art made of record but not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Laurenzi can be reached on (571) 270-7878. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4373. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746