DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 19, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II).
Liang II discloses:
1. (Original): An air moving device, comprising: a film structure comprising a flap pair (flap pairs in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B), wherein the flap pair comprises a first flap and a second flap opposite to each other (see e.g. left and right flaps in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B); a first actuator (left 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the first flap and a second actuator (right 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the second flap; wherein the first actuator comprises a first electrode and a second electrode (first and second electrodes corresponding to the two electrodes DV1 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B), and the second actuator comprises a third electrode and a fourth electrode (third and fourth electrodes correspond to two electrodes DV2 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B); wherein the first electrode receives a first demodulation signal and the third electrode receives a second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 8B wherein the signal on either of electrodes DV1 and the signal on either of the electrodes DV2 which cause the differential mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the demodulation signal); wherein the second electrode and the fourth electrode receive a modulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a common-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 5B wherein the signal on the other of the electrodes DV1 and the signal on the other of the electrodes DV2 which cause the common mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the modulation signal).
5. (Currently amended): The air moving device of claim 1, comprising: a covering structure (see e.g. HSS in Fig 3A);wherein a front chamber is formed between the film structure and the covering structure (see chamber formed above left and right 120 between 120 and HSS in e.g. Fig 3A).
19. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, wherein the air moving device is formed on a base (BS); wherein a back cavity is formed within the base (CB1); wherein an airflow flows between an ambience (see ambient in e.g. Fig 3A) and the back cavity (via BVT in e.g. Fig 3A and silicon in 0061).
24. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, wherein the air moving device is disposed on a base (BS) or a substrate; wherein a channel (BVT) is formed within the base or the substrate.
25. (Original): The air moving device of claim 24, wherein an airflow produced by the air moving device flows through the channel (see e.g. Fig 3A From H02 to CB1 via BVT).
26. (Currently amended): The air moving device of claim 1, comprising: a top-intake covering structure (see e.g. HO1 in Fig 3A) or a side-intake covering structure (see e.g. HO2 in Fig 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220225031 in view of Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II).
Liang discloses:
1. (Original): An air moving device, comprising: a film structure comprising a flap pair (flap pairs 102C or 102D in e.g. 6, 101 and 103 in Fig 7, and 102 in Fig 14), wherein the flap pair comprises a first flap and a second flap opposite to each other (see e.g. left and right flaps 102C or 102D e.g. Figs 6, 101 and 103 in Fig 7, and left and right 102 in Fig 14); the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 7); the flap pair performs a common-mode movement (see e.g. Figs 6 and 14).
The flaps of Liang would require an actuator to actuate movement as demonstrated in e.g. Figs 6-7 and 14. However, Liang does not specify the details of such actuators.
Liang II disclose a first actuator (left 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the first flap and a second actuator (right 120 in e.g. Figs 3A-3B; 5A-5B; 8A-8B) disposed on the second flap; wherein the first actuator comprises a first electrode and a second electrode (electrodes corresponding to DV1 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B), and the second actuator comprises a third electrode and a fourth electrode (electrodes corresponding to DV2 in e.g. Figs 3B; 5B; 8B); wherein the first electrode receives a first demodulation signal and the third electrode receives a second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 8B wherein the signal on either of electrodes DV1 and the signal on either of the electrodes DV2 which cause the differential mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the demodulation signal); wherein the second electrode and the fourth electrode receive a modulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a common-mode movement (see e.g. Fig 5B wherein the signal on the other of the electrodes DV1 and the signal on the other of the electrodes DV2 which cause the common mode movement in Fig 8B are considered the modulation signal).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize actuators as taught by Liang II in the system of Liang to gain the benefit of enabling driving of the flap pairs according to move according to known movements of flap pairs.
Liang as modified above discloses:
2. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, wherein the air moving device produces a plurality of air pulses at an ultrasonic pulse rate (see e.g. 24K Hz in 0131 of Liang).
3. (Original): The air moving device of claim 2, wherein the differential-mode movement of the flap pair forms a virtual valve or an opening at an opening rate corresponding to the ultrasonic pulse rate (see e.g. 24k Hz in 0131 of Liang).
4. (Original): The air moving device of claim 2, wherein during a time period, the plurality of air pulses are unipolar (see e.g. Figs 6 and 14 of Liang and Figs 5A-5B of Laing II). 5. (Currently amended): The air moving device of claim 1, comprising: a covering structure (see e.g. 804T in Fig 6 of Liang); wherein a front chamber is formed between the film structure and the covering structure (see e.g. 105 in Fig 6 of Liang).
Regarding claim 8, Liang does not disclose wherein an integrated circuit chip is formed on the covering structure.
However, Liang II discloses the use of an ICC on a PCB (see e.g. Fig 36 with ICC on SB1 wherein SB1 is a circuit board as in 0223 of K=Laing II).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize an ICC as taught by Liang II in the system of Liang to gain the benefit of utilizing an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) chip as taught by Liang II in 0242 for utilizing a known way to provide application specific control/functionality for an air moving device.
Claims 6-7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220225031 in view of Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II) in further view of Akram US 6064116.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Liang as modified above does not specifically discloses the material of the printed circuit board and thus does not specifically disclose wherein the covering structure is made of a wafer material or made of silicon. However, Akram discloses “the term PCB as employed herein including conductor-carrying substrates of silicon” in col 3 lines 11-13. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize silicon as a material for the PCB of Liang as modified above to gain the benefit of using a known material for PCBs.
7. (Original): The air moving device of claim 5, wherein the film structure and the covering structure are made of the same material (see col 3 lines 11-13 of Akram for the PCB and “The membrane structure 12 and the valve structure 11 may have thin film structure, which may, e.g., be fabricated by MEMS (Micro-Electro-Mechanical System) fabrication process using SOI (silicon/Si of insulator) or POI (Poly-Si/polysilicon on insulator) wafers, but not limited thereto.” in 0026 of Liang).
17. (Original): The air moving device of claim 1, a through silicon via (see e.g. see col 3 lines 11-13 of Akram for the PCB, and vias in 0130 of Liang).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II).
Regarding claim 14, Liang II discloses a side-firing covering structure (see e.g. HO2 in Fig 3A of Liang II).
Alternatively, see Figs 37, 44, and 46-47 of Laing II.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a side firing structure as taught covering structure in any of the embodiments of Liang II to gain het benefit of directing air in a desired direction.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang US 20220315412 (hereafter Liang II) in view of Liang US 20220225031.
Regarding claim 15, Liang II discloses wherein the air moving device is disposed on a flexible printed circuit board (see 0061 including (emphasis added): “The base BS may be hard or flexible, wherein the base BS may include silicon, germanium, glass, plastic, quartz, sapphire, metal, polymer (e.g., polyimide (PI), polyethylene terephthalate (PET)), any other suitable material or a combination thereof. As an example, the base BS may be a circuit board including a laminate (e.g., copper clad laminate, CCL), a land grid array (LGA) board or any other suitable board containing conductive material, but not limited thereto. In some embodiments, the base BS may be a substrate” wherein the circuit of the circuit board would be printed.). Additionally, Liang disclose the use of a printed circuit board (see e.g. 0130).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize a printing process to manufacture the circuit board of Liang II as taught by Liang to gain the benefit of utilizing a known manufacturing process for circuit boards.
Liang II as modified above discloses:
Regarding claim 16, Liang II discloses a driving signal from a driving circuit is connected to the actuator 120 via DV1 and DV2 to provide an electrical signal to the air moving device (flap pairs) wherein the driving circuit is element 160 (see e.g. 0134). The location of this driving circuit 160 is not specified. However, the driving circuit 160 is an integrated circuit (see e.g. 0144), and Figs 36-37 have integrated circuits on the base circuit board SB1 (see e.g. flexible and circuit board in 0223). Therefore, it would be obvious to place an integrated circuit on any of the embodiments of Liang II on the flexible circuit board (such as BS in Fig 3A) to gain the benefit of using a known location for integrated circuits.
Additionally, MPEP 2144.04 V.I. C. makes it clear that a mere rearrangement of parts that does not modify operation of the air moving device is held obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, a mere change in location of the driving circuit of Liang II as modified above without any change in operation of the air moving device is an obvious modification [see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant appears to provide many arguments concerning limitations which are not claimed.
Applicant argues:
In the air moving device of claim 1, the first actuator includes the first electrode and the second electrode, the second actuator includes the third electrode and the fourth electrode. Furthermore, the first electrode receives the first demodulation signal and the third electrode receives the second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs the differential-mode movement. The second electrode and the fourth electrode receive the modulation signal, such that the flap pair performs the common-mode movement.
According to the U.S. Application No. 19/007,580 of which the present application is the continuation-in-part, the modulation-driving signal and the demodulation-driving signal are referred to US Application No. 18/624,105.
In the paragraph [0054] of US Application No. 18/624,105, the modulation-driving signal SM can be viewed as pulse amplitude modulation (PAM) signal which is modulated according to the input audio signal SIN, the toggling rate of polarity (with respect to a constant voltage) of the modulation-driving signal SM related to the operating cycle Tcy, wherein the operating cycle Tcy is related to the ultrasonic carrier frequency frc (paragraph [0048]). In other words, the modulation-driving signal SM can be viewed as comprising a pulse amplitude modulation signal or comprising PAM-modulated pulses with alternating polarities
with respect to the constant voltage.
In the paragraph [0055] of US Application No. 18/624,105, the demodulation-driving signals SL L01 and Sl03 comprise two driving pulses of equal amplitude but with opposite polarities (with respect to a constant/average voltage), and the toggling rate of the demodulation-driving signal S 101/S 103 is related to the ultrasonic carrier frequency fuc. The waveform of the demodulation-driving signal S101/S103 can be viewed as a periodic signal. For example, in FIG. 2 of US Application No. 18/624,105, the toggling rate of the modulation-driving signal SM is twice of the toggling rate of the demodulation-driving signal S101/S103. Thus, the modulation-driving signal and the demodulation-driving signal are related to each other.
Examiner’s reply:
In 0080 of applicant’s specification, applicant states:
“[0080] Those skilled in the art will readily observe that numerous modifications and alterations of the device and method may be made while retaining the teachings of the invention. Accordingly, the above disclosure should be construed as limited only by the metes and bounds of the appended claims.”
Applicant argues how a modulation-driving signal “can be viewed as comprising” and then proceeds to argue details which are not claimed. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a pulse amplitude modulation signal or comprising PAM-modulated pulses with alternating polarities with respect to the constant voltage, periodic signal. the toggling rate of the modulation-driving signal SM is twice of the toggling rate of the demodulation-driving signal S101/S103, the modulation-driving signal and the demodulation-driving signal are related to each other. ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues:
However, in Liang II (US 2022/0315412), according to the first driving method described in the paragraphs [0101]-[0104] and FIG. 6, the actuating portions 120a and 120b are driven by the same DC signal with the same voltage difference.
According to the second driving method described in the paragraphs [0116]-[0129] of Liang II, the first signal DV1 is a voltage difference between two electrodes of the actuating portion 120a, the second signal DV2 is a voltage difference between two electrodes of the actuating portion 120b, wherein the first signal DV1 includes a common signal plus a first controlling signal, the second signal DV2 includes the same common signal plus a second controlling signal, the common signal includes the constant bias voltage and/or the input audio signal, and the first controlling signal and the second controlling signal are DC signals or alternating current (AC) signals. Thus, since the aforementioned driving signal of Liang II is voltage difference between two electrodes of the actuating portion, and the voltage difference is not a signal supplied to one electrode of the actuating portion, the driving signal of Liang II is different from the first demodulation signal, the second demodulation signal and the modulation signal of the present application supplied to one electrode of the actuator.
Examiner’s reply:
All voltages are relative to some reference (e.g. ground, or some particular point in a circuit). Every voltage applied to one electrode (of a pair of electrodes) is relative to the other electrode. It is the voltage difference at the electrodes of the actuator that cause the movement of the flaps. If there is no voltage difference between the electrodes, the actuators would be unable to produce any movement of the flaps. Thus, applicant’s arguments make no logical sense. Applicant is asked for a full, logical explanation of how one can carry out the claimed invention without any voltage difference across the actuator electrodes. The examiner also asks for applicant to provide evidence to back up applicant’s arguments.
Applicant argues:
Furthermore, according to the second driving method described in the paragraphs [011 6]-[0 129] of Liang II, the first controlling signal (i.e., DC or AC signal) makes the first signal DV1 higher than the common signal (i.e., the constant bias
voltage and/or the input audio signal) and the second controlling signal (i.e., DC or AC signal) makes the second signal DV2 lower than the common signal in the first mode shown in FIG. 8B. Therefore, the first signal DVI and the second signal DV2 in the first mode of Liang II are totally different from the modulation-driving signal (i.e., the PAM signal with alternating polarities with respect to the constant voltage) of the present application.
Examiner’s reply:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the PAM signal with alternating polarities with respect to the constant voltage) of the present application) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues:
According to the second driving method described in the paragraphs [0116]-[0129] of Liang II, the actuating portions 120a and 120b are floating or receive the ground voltage (i.e., the first signal DV1 and the second signal DV2 is OV) in the third mode shown in FIG. 5B. Therefore, the first signal DV1 and the second signal DV2 (i.e., the ground voltage) in the third mode of Liang II are totally different from the demodulation-driving signal (i.e., the periodic signal) of the present application.
Examiner’s reply:
Above applicant argues: “Furthermore, according to the second driving method described in the paragraphs [011 6]-[0 129] of Liang II, the first controlling signal (i.e., DC or AC signal) makes the first signal DV1 higher than the common signal (i.e., the constant bias voltage and/or the input audio signal) and the second controlling signal (i.e., DC or AC signal) makes the second signal DV2 lower than the common signal in the first mode shown in FIG. 8B”.
Is an “AC signal” not a periodic signal? Applicant is asked to provide a full logical explanation. Once again, applicant’s augments make no logical sense.
Applicant argues:
Also, in Liang II, the first signal DV1 and the second signal DV2 in the first mode are not related to the first signal DV1 and the second signal DV2 in the third mode. Therefore, the relationship between the driving signals in different modes of Liang II is different from the relationship between the modulation-driving signal and the demodulation-driving signal of the present application.
Examiner’s reply:
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., , the first signal DV1 and the second signal DV2 in the first mode are not related) of the present application) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues:
According to the above, the driving signals of Liang II are totally different from the first demodulation signal, the second demodulation signal and the modulation signal of the present application. Accordingly, Liang II fails to disclose and teach the content "the first electrode receives a first demodulation signal and the third electrode receives a second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement" and the content "the second electrode and the5 fourth electrode receive a modulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a common-mode movement" recited in claim 1 of the present application.
Examiner’s reply:
Applicant alleges Liang II does not disclose a demodulation signal, a modulation signal, differential-mode movement, and common-mode movement. However, applicant does not provide a clear and precise meaning of these claim terms in the specification as filed as required by MPEP 2173.05 (A). Before applicant can allege Liang II does not disclose these limitations, applicant should provide a clear and precise meaning for these claims terms. Applicant’s arguments concerning the claim terms demodulation signal, modulation signal, differential-mode movement, and common-mode movement cannot be found persuasive if applicant does not provide a clear and precise meaning of these claim terms as required by MPEP 2173.05(a). The examiner awaits these clear and precise meanings from applicant.
Applicant argues:
Furthermore, Liang II teaches away from these contents recited in claim 1 of the present application. On the other hand, according to the Office Action, Liang (US 2022/0225031) does not disclose and teach the actuators and the signals of the present application. Thus, Liang fails to disclose and teach the content "the first electrode receives a first
demodulation signal and the third electrode receives a second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement" and the content "the second electrode and the fourth electrode receive a modulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a common-mode movement" recited in claim 1 of the present15 application.
Examiner’s reply:
These are merely conclusory statements with no evidence. Mere attorney arguments and conclusory statements that are unsupported by factual evidence are entitled to little probative value. In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Because this assertion lacks support in the record, the assertion is given little weight. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1405 (CCPA 1974) (“Attorney’s argument in a brief cannot take the place of evidence.”).
Applicant argues:
Also, Akram (US 6,064,116) fails to disclose and teach the content "the first electrode receives a first demodulation signal and the third electrode receives a second demodulation signal, such that the flap pair performs a differential-mode movement" and the content "the second electrode and the fourth electrode receive a20 modulatn signal, such that the flap pair performs a common-mode movement" recited in claim 1 of the present application.
Hence, applicant believes it is hard for those skilled in the art to obtain claim 1 of the present application after referring cited references, and the effect of the structure of claim 1 of the present application should not be known and anticipated by cited references. As the result, claim 1 of the present application is not obvious over all cited references.
As the result, the structure described in claim 1 is not disclosed by nor obvious over the cited references. Applicant believes claim 1 should be patentable.
Reconsideration of claim 1 is politely requested.
Examiner’s reply:
Akram was not used to teach the limitations which applicant argues.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark Laurenzi can be reached on (571) 270-7878. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4373. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Thomas Fink/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746