CTFR 19/315,893 CTFR 91519 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicant's amendment filed on 04 May 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 16-17 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 12,111,034 B1, herein referred to as: Yoon), in view of Hwang et al. (US 2023/0158946 A1, herein referred to as: Hwang) and Hwang (US 2022/0221121 A1; herein referred to as ‘1121) . Regarding claim 1, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) a lamp body structure (Figs. 1-10) adapted to emit light from an inner side to an outer side of a vehicle body part (Fig. 5), comprising: a shell component (100, and/or 100 and 400 collectively, Figs. 1-2) adapted to be disposed on the vehicle body part (e.g. a grill) and having an accommodation space (as shown in Fig. 2); a light source (200) disposed in the shell component (as shown in Fig. 2) and emitting illumination light from the inner side toward the outer side (as shown in Fig. 5); a transparent resin layer (300) having transparency (e.g., at least, to the light emitted from light source 200, as shown in Fig. 5) and disposed at a position more adjacent to the outer side than the light source (as shown in Fig. 2); a coloring layer (F) having color (F will inherently have a color, also from the disclosure: “...the insert film F is seated and injected according to the shape, color, and light transmittance required for exterior parts...,” reasonably implies a color can be imparted to the layer F as desired for the suited application or vehicle design aesthetic) and disposed at a position more adjacent to the outer side than a reflective layer (than a reflective layer A, as shown in Fig. 2); and a non-transmissive component (B) is configured on the outer side of the shell component (B is on cover 400, which is on a front outer side of at least, shell component 100, as shown in Fig. 2) and having a transmission section (P) at a part corresponding to the light source (200) for the illumination light to pass through (as shown in Figs. 1-10 and as noted in the corresponding description), wherein the light source (200) is configured such that the illumination light emitted passes through the transmission section (P) and the coloring layer (F) to transmit to the outer side as transmitted light (as shown in Fig. 5). Yoon does not explicitly teach that the transmission section is formed by cutting a notch. Hwang teaches or suggests the non-transmissive layer (20) having a transmission section (22) formed by cutting a notch at a part corresponding to the light source for the illumination light to pass through (paragraph [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Yoon and incorporated the teachings of the transmission section is formed by cutting a notch, such as taught or suggested by Hwang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the cost or complexity of manufacturing the device, and/or simplify customization of the light transmission patterns formed thereby (e.g., by utilizing a process which can be tailored to the aesthetic appeal of the vehicle). The combined teachings of Yoon and Hwang teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for a reflective layer having reflectivity through semi-mirror treatment and disposed at a position more adjacent to the outer side than the transparent resin layer, wherein the reflective layer is disposed on an outer side surface of the transparent resin layer corresponding to the outer side; wherein the coloring layer is disposed on an outer side surface of the reflective layer corresponding to the outer side. ‘1121 teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-11) a reflective layer (22) having reflectivity through semi-mirror treatment (e.g., paragraph [0060]) and disposed at a position more adjacent to the outer side than the transmissive resin layer (23), wherein the reflective layer (22) is disposed on an outer side surface of the transmissive resin layer (23) corresponding to the outer side (as shown in Figs. 1-11); wherein the coloring layer (21; i.e., 12 forms a painted layer, though black, is provided to form a grille of a vehicle, thus, the color may be any such color desired without imparting any difference in structure to the device) is disposed on an outer side surface of the reflective layer (22) corresponding to the outer side (as shown in Figs. 1-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Yoon and incorporated the teachings of a reflective layer having reflectivity through semi-mirror treatment and disposed at a position more adjacent to the outer side than the transparent resin layer, wherein the reflective layer is disposed on an outer side surface of the transparent resin layer corresponding to the outer side; wherein the coloring layer is disposed on an outer side surface of the reflective layer corresponding to the outer side, such as taught or suggested by ‘1121, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the appearance of the device, or otherwise imparting the desired appearance to the lighting device. Regarding claim 2, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the non-transmissive component (B) and the shell (100, or and 400) component are connected to each other to form a light shield surrounding the transmission section (as shown in Fig. 2). Regarding claim 3, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the non-transmissive component (B) and the shell component (100, or and 400) are connected to each other to form a plurality of light shields (e.g., a plurality of portions B, and sidewalls to shield light emitted from 200), a plurality of light sources (200) corresponding to the light shields are installed in the shell component (as shown in Fig. 2), the non-transmissive component (B) forms a plurality of transmission sections (P, as shown in Fig. 8) and the transmission sections (P) and the transparent resin layer (300) are coupled to each other (as shown in Fig. 2). Yoon does not explicitly teach forming the transmissive sections by cutting the notch. Hwang teaches or suggests the non-transmissive layer (20) having a transmission section (22) formed by cutting a notch at a part corresponding to the light source for the illumination light to pass through (paragraph [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Yoon and incorporated the teachings of forming the transmissive sections by cutting the notch, such as taught or suggested by Hwang, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of reducing the cost or complexity of manufacturing the device, and/or simplify customization of the light transmission patterns formed thereby (e.g., by utilizing a process which can be tailored to the aesthetic appeal of the vehicle). The combined teachings of Yoon and Hwang teach or suggest all of the elements of the claimed invention, except for said the transmission sections and the transparent resin layer are bonded to each other. However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Yoon and incorporated the teachings of bonding the transmission sections and the transparent resin layer together, in order to improve, or otherwise increase, the performance, appearance, efficiency, and/or longevity of the device (e.g., by preventing movement between the respective transparent resin layer which conducts light to the respective transmission section). Regarding claim 4, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) an edge of the transmission section (P) of the non-transmissive component (B) is formed with an inclined section that is inclined in an irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, the edges of transmission sections P are inclined at varying angles with B sections adjacent thereto). Regarding claim 5, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section is inclined toward the inner side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, e.g., at least one edge of the transmission section of the non-transmissive component is inclined in a direction toward the inner side in the radiation direction, extending right to left in reference to Fig. 8). Regarding claim 6, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section is inclined toward the outer side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, e.g., at least one edge of the transmission section of the non-transmissive component is inclined in a direction toward the outer side in the radiation direction, extending right to left in reference to Fig. 8). Regarding claim 7, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section has an outer inclined section that is inclined toward the outer side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8 and as outlined above), and an inner inclined section that is inclined toward the inner side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8 and as outlined above), and the outer inclined section and the inner inclined section are inclined at different angles with respect to horizontal level as reference (as shown in Fig. 8). Regarding claim 8, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) an edge of the transmission section (P) of the non-transmissive component (B) is formed with an inclined section that is inclined in an irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, the edges of transmission sections P are inclined at varying angles with B sections adjacent thereto). Regarding claim 9, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section is inclined toward the inner side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, e.g., at least one edge of the transmission section of the non-transmissive component is inclined in a direction toward the inner side in the radiation direction, extending right to left in reference to Fig. 8). Regarding claim 10, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section is inclined toward the outer side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, e.g., at least one edge of the transmission section of the non-transmissive component is inclined in a direction toward the outer side in the radiation direction, extending right to left in reference to Fig. 8). Regarding claim 11, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section has an outer inclined section that is inclined toward the outer side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8 and as outlined above), and an inner inclined section that is inclined toward the inner side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8 and as outlined above), and the outer inclined section and the inner inclined section are inclined at different angles with respect to horizontal level as reference (as shown in Fig. 8). Regarding claim 12, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) an edge of the transmission section (P) of the non-transmissive component (B) is formed with an inclined section that is inclined in an irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, the edges of transmission sections P are inclined at varying angles with B sections adjacent thereto). Regarding claim 13, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section is inclined toward the inner side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, e.g., at least one edge of the transmission section of the non-transmissive component is inclined in a direction toward the inner side in the radiation direction, extending right to left in reference to Fig. 8). Regarding claim 14, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section is inclined toward the outer side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8, e.g., at least one edge of the transmission section of the non-transmissive component is inclined in a direction toward the outer side in the radiation direction, extending right to left in reference to Fig. 8). Regarding claim 15, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the inclined section has an outer inclined section that is inclined toward the outer side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8 and as outlined above), and an inner inclined section that is inclined toward the inner side in the irradiation direction (as shown in Fig. 8 and as outlined above), and the outer inclined section and the inner inclined section are inclined at different angles with respect to horizontal level as reference (as shown in Fig. 8). Regarding claim 18, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the shell component has a separate portion (the sidewall of 100 or the edges extending therefrom which couple to 400) extending from the inner side toward the outer side (as shown in Fig. 2), and an edge of the transmission section of the non-transmissive component is disposed on a side adjacent to the illumination light through the separate portion (as shown at the top and bottom of Fig. 2), and a step difference is formed between the edge and the separate portion (as shown in Fig. 2). Regarding claim 19, Yoon teaches or suggests (Figs. 1-10) the vehicle body part comprises an exterior component of a vehicle (e.g., a grill). Regarding claim 20, Yoon does not explicitly teach that the coloring layer has same color as the vehicle body part or an adjacent item. However, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Yoon and incorporated the teachings of the coloring layer has same color as the vehicle body part or an adjacent item of since the courts have stated that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In re Seid , 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). In the instant case, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the appearance of the device (e.g., by blending the color of the component with the vehicle to which it is attached, or other component as desired for accenting the overall appearance of the vehicle) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon, in view of Hwang and ‘1121, and in further view of Lee (KR 20230161193 A) . Regarding claims 16 and 17, Yoon does not explicitly teach the outer side surface of the transparent resin layer is formed with a recessed portion that is recessed from the outer side toward the inner side. Lee teaches or suggests (e.g., Fig. 3) the outer side surface of a transmissive layer (300) is formed with a recessed portion that is recessed from the outer side toward the inner side (as shown in Fig. 3, e.g., recessed toward the light sources). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the device of Yoon and incorporated the teachings the outer side surface of the transparent resin layer is formed with a recessed portion that is recessed from the outer side toward the inner side, such as taught or suggested by Lee, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to yield the predictable result of improving the appearance of the device, or improving the reflectivity of ambient light and concealment of the light sources when the device is off, or otherwise imparting the desired appearance to the lighting device. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Colin J Cattanach whose telephone number is (571)270-5203. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jong-Suk (James) Lee can be reached at (571) 272-7044. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /COLIN J CATTANACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 6 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 7 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 8 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 9 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 10 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 11 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 12 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 19/315,893 Page 13 Art Unit: 2875