Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen CN 105114868A (“Chen”).
Chen teaches:
Re 1: A backlight module for a lighting keyboard, wherein the lighting keyboard has a specific function key (Figs. 1-5: specific function key is read as any key in the keyboard; applicant’s spec has the specific function key as a hot-key for launching AI programs or assisted features handled by the OS), and the backlight module comprises (abstract; claim 1):
a lighting board 220 having a first light emitting unit and a second light emitting unit (Figs. 3A-3B: light source unit 20 comprises a plurality of light emitting units 210);
a light guide panel 10 having a first light guide hole and a second light guide hole (Fig. 8A: for instance there are multiple holes 130), wherein the first light emitting unit is in the first light guide hole, and the second light emitting unit is in the second light guide hole (Fig. 8A: showing light emitting units into respective holes); and
a shielding sheet 40 having a blocking portion (Figs. 3A-3B: portions outside of 410 are blocking portions), wherein the shielding sheet, the light guide panel and the lighting board are stacked from top to bottom (Figs. 3A-3B), and the blocking portion overlaps in projection with the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit (Figs. 3A-3B: the shielding layer 40 is on top of the light guide 10, reflective layer 30, and circuit board 220);
wherein, the light guide panel 10 has a light guide panel slot 110 (Figs. 3A-3B), and the light guide panel slot 110 overlaps in projection with the blocking portion and a boundary of a keycap projection area of the specific function key (Figs. 3A-3B).
Re 3: wherein the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit are respectively adjacent to two opposite sides of the keycap projection area (Figs. 3A-3B: the LEDs 210 under the keys surround the projection of the keycap projection area).
Re 4: wherein the light guide panel slot overlaps in projection with one of two opposite sides and an additional two opposite sides of the keycap projection area, and the additional pair of opposite sides is connected to the one of the two opposite sides (Figs. 4A-4C: slot 110 overlaps one pair of opposite sides and an additional pair (tapered angular extension 114 forms triangular shape connecting sides)).
Re 5: wherein the shielding sheet 40 has a light transmitting portion (Figs. 3A-3B: through holes 410 transmit light), the blocking portion includes an outer frame portion and an inner block portion (Figs. 3A-3B), the outer frame portion surrounds the light transmitting portion, and the inner block portion is located within a range of the light transmitting portion (Figs. 3A-3B: this is the construction of 40 and 410).
Re 6: wherein the first light emitting unit overlaps in projection with the outer frame portion (Figs. 3A-3B: a first LED 210 overlaps outer frame), and the second light emitting unit overlaps in projection with the projection of the inner block portion (Figs. 3A-3B: second LED overlaps inner block).
Re 7: wherein the light guide panel slot overlaps in projection with the outer frame portion (Figs. 3A-3B: slot 110 overlaps outer frame), and the light guide panel slot does not overlap in projection with the inner block portion (Figs. 3A-3B).
Re 8: wherein the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit are adjacent to a side of the keycap projection area (Figs. 3A-3B).
Re 9: wherein the light guide panel slot does not overlap in projection with the side of the keycap projection area (Figs. 3A-3B: slot 110 does not overlap the side as angular extension 114 tapers away from incident side).
Re 10: wherein the shielding sheet has a light transmitting portion 410, the blocking portion includes an outer frame portion (Fig. 3A), the outer frame portion surrounds the light transmitting portion, and the inner block portion is located within a range of the light transmitting portion (Figs. 3A-3B).
Re 11: wherein the light guide panel slot overlaps in projection with the outer frame (Figs 3A-3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wang US 20170004935 (“Wang”).
Chen does not explicitly teach, while Wang teaches (¶¶9, 26, 28): wherein a light color of the first light emitting unit is different from a light color of the second light emitting unit.
Using different colored lights adds a unique aesthetic as well as permitting a contrast between how keys are lit to highlight one key over another.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine Chen with Wang's teachings in order to contrast a particular key or to give a certain aesthetic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 have been allowed.
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. In combination with the other limitations nothing in the prior art of record teaches, suggests, or discloses:
Re 2: Chen teaches: a reflective layer 30 disposed between the light guide panel 10 and the lighting board 220 (Figs. 3A-3B), and having a first reflective layer hole 301, a second reflective layer hole 301 and an attachment portion 114 (Figs. 3A-3B); wherein, the first light guide hole is vertically aligned with the first reflective layer hole (Fig. 3A: showing multiple holes in both 10 and 30 lined up), the second light guide hole is vertically aligned with the second reflective layer hole,
Chen fails to teach: the light guide panel slot is vertically aligned with the attachment portion, the first light emitting unit is located in the first reflective layer hole, the second light emitting unit is located in the second reflective layer hole, and the attachment portion overlaps in projection with the blocking portion and the boundary of the keycap projection area.
Re 13-20: in claim 13, “a specific function key located above the backlight module and including a key circuit board, wherein the key circuit board has a second light emitting unit.”
In Chen of the specific function keys has a separate key circuit board; instead there is one unitary lighting board 220 (Figs. 3A-3B).
Conclusion
Relevant prior art considered:
US 20180149797 teaching a backlight module for light-emitting keyboard includes light guide plate having reflective surface, opposing light-emitting surface and plurality of recessed dots located on reflective surface to create optical path of continuous wave-like reflecting portion for facing toward key witch unit in light-emitting keyboard.
US 10948651 teaching a keyboard backlight module includes a light-guiding sheet, a circuit board, a light-emitting element, a reflective sheet and a release film.
GERALD J. SUFLETA II
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/GERALD J SUFLETA II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875