Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Amendments and argument filed on 08/03/2026 have been fully considered and are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance. The applicant has included the limitation: “a first capacitor connected between the first signal input terminal and the first node” and asserts that Lee does not teach or suggest such a limitation. Specifically, the applicant asserts that “in fig. 4 of Lee … there is no capacitor located between VGH and QB1”. However, fig. 6 of Lee clearly teaches such a limitation wherein C62 is located between VGH and QB1. Accordingly, such a modification would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Lee, and the amendments are not found to place the application in a condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, US 2023/0206825 A1, hereinafter “Lee”.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a gate driving circuit (fig. 1, GD, ¶ 34) comprising: a plurality of stage circuits (fig. 4, note that the circuit corresponds to an n-th pixel line among a plurality of lines, each of which includes a corresponding stage circuit as shown in fig. 4), wherein any one of the plurality of stage circuits comprises: a first signal input terminal to which a first signal is input (fig. 4, VGH); an input terminal to which an input signal is input (Scan1(n-1)); an output terminal from which an output signal is output (Scan1 (n)); a constant voltage terminal to which a constant voltage is applied (VGL); a first transistor (T41) electrically connected to the input terminal and controlled; a third transistor (T42) electrically connected to the first transistor; a fifth transistor (Tu41) configured to switch an electrical connection between the first signal input terminal and the output terminal in response to a voltage of a first node (QB1); a sixth transistor (T44) configured to switch an electrical connection between the first node and the first signal input terminal; and a seventh transistor (T43) controlled in response to a voltage of a second node (Q) and electrically connected to the constant voltage terminal.
Fig. 4 of Lee does not teach a first capacitor connected between the first signal input terminal and the first node.
However, Lee teaches in another embodiment, a first capacitor connected between the first signal input terminal and the first node (fig. 6, C62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of modify fig. 4 of Lee in view of fig. 6. Specifically, Lee teaches that such a capacitor is used to maintain a control voltage of the pull-up transistor (¶ 144). Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a modification to increase the stability of the pull-up transistor during the pull-up operation, therefore increasing the reliability of the gate driving circuit.
Regarding claim 11, Lee teaches a display device (fig. 1, element 100, ¶ 31) comprising: a display panel (¶ 32) in which a plurality of sub-pixels (¶ 32) are disposed, a plurality of gate lines (fig. 1, GL) extending in a first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (¶ 38), and a plurality of data lines (fig. 1, DL) extending in a second direction (¶ 38) and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (¶ 32); and a gate driving circuit (fig. 1, GD) configured to drive the plurality of gate lines (¶ 34) and including a plurality of stage circuits (fig. 4, note that the circuit corresponds to an n-th pixel line among a plurality of lines, each of which includes a corresponding stage circuit as shown in fig. 4), wherein any one of the plurality of stage circuits is configured per the limitations of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Fig. 4 of Lee does not teach a first capacitor connected between the first signal input terminal and the first node.
However, Lee teaches in another embodiment, a first capacitor connected between the first signal input terminal and the first node (fig. 6, C62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of modify fig. 4 of Lee in view of fig. 6. Specifically, Lee teaches that such a capacitor is used to maintain a control voltage of the pull-up transistor (¶ 144). Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a modification to increase the stability of the pull-up transistor during the pull-up operation, therefore increasing the reliability of the gate driving circuit.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lee teaches that the any one of the plurality of stage circuits includes: a fourth transistor (fig. 4, Td41) including a gate electrode electrically connected to the second node, and connected between the output terminal and the constant voltage terminal (see fig. 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lee teaches that the fourth transistor and the seventh transistor are turned on alternately (fig. 4, T43 and Td41 are both connected to the same node and are of opposite types, achieving such alternating driving).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Lee teaches that the fourth transistor includes a P-type semiconductor layer (¶ 93), and the seventh transistor includes an N-type semiconductor layer (¶ 102).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Lee teaches that each of the first transistor, the third transistor, the fifth transistor, and the sixth transistor includes the P-type semiconductor layer (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches that the constant voltage is a turn-on level voltage of the third transistor (T42 is P-type and VGL is a low-level voltage; ¶ 100).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches that the first signal has a high-level voltage at least a portion of a period (VGH meets such a criterium).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches that the any one of the plurality of stage circuits includes: a second capacitor (fig. 4, C41) including a first electrode, wherein the first electrode of the second capacitor is electrically connected to the second node.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches that the first transistor is electrically connected to a gate electrode of the sixth transistor (T41 is connected to Q, through the always-on T42 transistor, which is connected to gate of T44).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches that when the first transistor is turned-on, the input terminal is electrically connected to a gate electrode of the sixth transistor (when turned on, T41 connects the input terminal to Q, through the always-on T42 transistor, which is connected to gate of T44).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches further including a power generator configured to output a low-level voltage (fig. 4, note that VGL is necessitates a power generator), wherein the constant voltage has the low-level voltage (VGL, ¶ 87).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches that at least one of the plurality of sub-pixels (fig. 2, ¶ 55) includes a pixel circuit and a light emitting element (fig. 2, EL) connected to the pixel circuit (fig. 2, see connected to EL to the pixel circuit), the pixel circuit includes: a first pixel transistor (fig. 2, T1) connected between a first pixel node and a second pixel node and including a gate electrode electrically connected to a third pixel node (see fig. 2); a second pixel transistor (T6) connected between a corresponding any one of the plurality of data lines (Vdata line) and the first pixel node and including a gate electrode connected to a first scan line (Scan2(n)); a third pixel transistor (T3) connected between the second pixel node and the third pixel node and including a gate electrode connected to a second scan line (Scan1(n)); and a fourth pixel transistor (T4) configured to switch an electrical connection between a power line (Vini) to which a first initialization voltage is applied and the third pixel node and including a gate electrode connected to a third scan line (Scan1(n)).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches an electronic device (fig. 1, element 100, ¶ 31) comprising: a host (fig. 1, 130, ¶ 39-44) to output a control signal; a display panel (¶ 32) in which a plurality of sub-pixels (¶ 32) are disposed, a plurality of gate lines (fig. 1, GL, ¶ 32) extending in a first direction and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (¶ 38), and a plurality of data lines (fig. 1, DL, ¶ 32) extending in a second direction and electrically connected to the plurality of sub-pixels are disposed (¶ 38); a timing controller (fig. 1, element 130, ¶ 43) to generate a scan driver control signal in response to the control signal (¶ 42); and a scan driver configured to drive the plurality of gate lines in response to the scan driver control signal (fig. 1, GD) and including a plurality of stage circuits (fig. 4, note that the circuit corresponds to an n-th pixel line among a plurality of lines, each of which includes a corresponding stage circuit as shown in fig. 4), wherein any one of the plurality of stage circuits is configured per the limitations of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Fig. 4 of Lee does not teach a first capacitor connected between the first signal input terminal and the first node.
However, Lee teaches in another embodiment, a first capacitor connected between the first signal input terminal and the first node (fig. 6, C62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of modify fig. 4 of Lee in view of fig. 6. Specifically, Lee teaches that such a capacitor is used to maintain a control voltage of the pull-up transistor (¶ 144). Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make such a modification to increase the stability of the pull-up transistor during the pull-up operation, therefore increasing the reliability of the gate driving circuit.
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches that the host includes at least one of a set-top box or an application processor (element 130 is a controller which is considered to be an application processor which processes signals).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches that the electronic device is one of a mobile phone, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer, a smart watch, a watch phone, a mobile communication terminal, an electronic notebook, an electronic book, a portable multimedia player, a navigation device, an ultra-mobile PC, a television, a notebook computer, a monitor (fig. 1, ¶ 30, “display device” is considered a monitor for displaying images), a billboard, an Internet of Things (IoT) device, a virtual reality device, or an augmented reality device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEPEHR AZARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621