DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, line 4, “the second lateral size” is unclear and requires correction.
Claim 11, lines 3-4, “the plurality of arced anchoring members” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11, line 9, “the shaft” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 20, line 1, “the anchoring member” lacks proper antecedent basis. The antecedent from claims 19 and 18 is in the plural. If there is an intended distinction between “the plurality of anchoring members, including the anchoring member” (claim 17), that distinction is further unclear.
Dependent claims include the limitations of their respective parent claim(s) and are therefore also rejected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chataigner et al. (2015/0209089).
Regarding claim 17, Chataigner et al. disclose an implant system (e.g., Figs. 2A and 25A) comprising:
an implant body 2 (Fig. 2A) comprising:
an implant bore configured to receive an anchoring member 1 (Figs. 2A); and
a tool interface 26 (Fig. 2B; para. 0120), wherein the anchoring member comprises:
a head 17 comprising a surface, an anchor bore 14 extending into the surface, and a shoulder adjacent the head 17, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member 1 within the implant bore (Fig. 2A), the anchor bore is configured to receive a tool (Fig. 25A), and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the implant bore (Fig. 2A) to guide the anchoring member 1 within the implant bore (id.); and
a tool (Fig. 25A) comprising: an interface body configured to engage the installation tool interface (para. 0120); and
a tool bore (cf. Fig. 23C) configured to receive the anchoring member 1.
Regarding claim 18, the system includes a plurality of anchoring members 1 (e.g., Fig. 2A), including the anchoring member 1, wherein the tool further comprises:
a plurality of installation bores (Fig. 23C) configured to simultaneously receive a plurality of drive members 41 (Fig. 24C and para. 0164); and
the plurality of drive members 41 are configured to drive the plurality of anchoring members 1 while the installation tool is attached to the implant body 2 (id. and Fig. 25A).
Regarding claim 19, the plurality of drive members 41 are usable to simultaneously drive the plurality of anchoring members 1 into an adjacent bone (id.).
Regarding claim 20, the arced anchoring member 1 comprises a bone barb configured to inserted into the adjacent bone, wherein the bone barb defines a curved shaft (e.g., Fig. 2A) configured to translate within the tool bore (supra).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kloss (WO-2012010327-A1) in view of Mozeleski et al. (2015/0151171) and further in view of Shoshtaev (2018/0193164).
Regarding claim 1, Kloss discloses an implant (Fig. 1 and cf. Fig. 4) comprising:
a device (including porous and solid portions) having a front and a rear defined between first and second lateral sides (id.). It is noted that Kloss further teaches that the implant can be screwed into adjacent vertebral bodies (page 42, lines 18-28).
Kloss does not explicitly recite wherein each bore is configured to receive an anchoring member, and
wherein each anchoring member comprises:
a head at an end of a shaft, the head comprising a surface, a threaded bore extending into the surface, and a shoulder, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within the bore, the threaded bore is configured to receive a tool, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the bore to guide the anchoring member within the bore.
Mozeleski et al. disclose a plurality of arced bores 230/330, 240/340 (Figs. 2 and 3) (e.g., at least proximate the convex head of the anchor (“bone blade”); cf. Fig. 14) extending into a rear of an implant device 200/300; wherein each arced bore is configured to receive an arced anchoring member 410 (Fig. 7B). The anchoring member 410 comprises a head 412 at an end of a shaft 418, the head comprises a surface and a bore 413 (Fig. 6A) extending into the surface, and a shoulder adjacent thereto, the surface is solid and integral with the anchoring member 410 and therefore configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within the bore, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the bore to guide the anchoring member within the bore (Fig. 14).
Mozeleski et al. teach that providing such bores and anchors facilitates securely retaining the implant by engaging a vertebra in a different manner and orientation than a bone screw (para. 0074).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the implant of Kloss with a plurality of bores configured to receive an anchoring member, wherein each anchoring member comprises:
a head at an end of a shaft, the head comprising a surface, bore extending into the surface, and a shoulder, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within the bore, the bore is configured to receive a tool, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the bore to guide the anchoring member within the bore, in view of Mozeleski et al., to facilitate securely retaining the implant by engaging a vertebra in a different manner and orientation than a bone screw.
Shoshtaev further teaches that drive features of an orthopedic device can optionally be provided with numerous configurations, including a thread, to facilitate engagement with an instrument (para. 0025).
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a thread within the bore (e.g., within the base thereof) of the anchoring member, in view of Shoshtaev, to optionally provide a threaded connection to facilitate engagement with an instrument.
Regarding claim 2, the device of the combination (supra) includes a porous portion (Kloss, Fig. 1) and a solid portion (having windows on the lateral sides) surrounding the porous portion (id. and cf. Fig. 4; page 18, lines 26-31).
Regarding claim 3, the porous portion of the device of the combination (supra) comprises a plurality of hexagonal-shaped pores (Kloss, page 13, lines 4-16).
Regarding claim 4, the device of the combination (supra) further comprises a first lateral side and a second lateral side, wherein the first lateral side includes a first lateral window (Kloss, Fig. 4) extending through the first lateral side and the second lateral side includes a second lateral window extending through the second lateral side (id.).
Regarding claim 5, the first lateral window of the device of the combination (supra) enables visualization of a cavity (Kloss, Fig. 1) of the device through the first lateral window (Kloss, Fig. 1 and cf. Fig. 4), and wherein the second lateral window enables visualization of the cavity through the second lateral window (id.).
Regarding claim 6, the first lateral window of the device of the combination (supra) comprises a plurality of first lateral windows (Kloss, Fig. 4) and the second lateral window comprises a plurality of second lateral windows (id.).
Regarding claim 7, Mozeleski et al. disclose an anchoring member retention component 500 (Figs. 6A and 10A-10D), wherein the implant device includes an aperture 360 (Fig. 9) configured to receive the anchoring member retention component such that the anchoring member retention component locks the arced anchoring member in place and prevents backing out of the arced anchoring member (Fig. 6A; para. 0077).
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further configure the implant of the combination of Kloss, Mozeleski et al. and Shoshtaev (supra) with an anchoring member retention component, wherein the implant device includes an aperture configured to receive the anchoring member retention component such that the anchoring member retention component prevents backing out of the arced anchoring member, also in view of Mozeleski et al., to prevent the anchoring members from backing out and to facilitate secure retention of the implant in the desired location.
Regarding claim 8, the anchoring member retention component 500 of the combination (supra) is a cam screw having a head 520, a threaded shaft (Mozeleski et al., para. 0079), a flat annular tip, and a shoulder (e.g., the fillet adjacent the head 520; Fig. 10D).
Regarding claim 9, the cam screw 500 is movable between a first position, enabling insertion and removal of one of the anchoring members 410, and a second position, preventing back out of one of the anchoring members 410 (Mozeleski et al., para. 0077).
Regarding claim 10, the arced anchoring members comprise a bone barb (Mozeleski et al., para. 0077, i.e., “bone blade”).
Regarding claim 11, Kloss discloses an implant (Fig. 1 and cf. Fig. 4) comprising:
a plurality of anchoring members (page 42, lines 18-28);
wherein the device includes a porous portion (Fig. 1 and cf. Fig. 4) and a solid portion (having windows on the lateral sides; id.) at least partially surrounding the porous portion (Figs. 1 and 4; page 18, lines 26-31), the solid portion having a higher density than the porous portion (page 18, lines 26-31). It is noted that Kloss shows and defines the solid outer portion having a higher density than the porous central portion by showing the solid portion having a thicker structure than the porous central portion (see, e.g., Figs. 1, 3A, 3B and 4). Kloss also defines porosity as the volume of material relative to the whole volume of the implant (page 18, lines 26-31). Therefore, the density of the outer solid portion shown by Kloss is higher than that of the porous central portion.
Kloss does not explicitly recite the plurality of anchor bores; and each of the anchoring members comprising a head at an end of the shaft, the head comprising a surface, a threaded bore extending into the surface, and a shoulder, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within one of the anchor bores, the threaded bore is configured to receive a tool, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the anchor bore to guide the anchoring member within the anchor bore.
Mozeleski et al. disclose a plurality of arced bores 230/330, 240/340 (Figs. 2 and 3) (e.g., at least proximate the convex head of the anchor (“bone blade”); cf. Fig. 14) extending into a rear of an implant device 200/300; wherein each arced bore is configured to receive an arced anchoring member 410 (Fig. 7B). The anchoring member 410 comprises a head 412 at an end of a shaft 418, the head comprises a surface and a bore 413 (Fig. 6A) extending into the surface, and a shoulder adjacent thereto, the surface is solid and integral with the anchoring member 410 and therefore configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within the bore, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the bore to guide the anchoring member within the bore (Fig. 14).
Mozeleski et al. teach that providing such bores and anchors facilitates securely retaining the implant by engaging a vertebra in a different manner and orientation than a bone screw (para. 0074).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the implant of Kloss with a plurality of bores configured to receive an anchoring member, wherein each anchoring member comprises: a head at an end of a shaft, the head comprising a surface, bore extending into the surface, and a shoulder, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within the bore, the bore is configured to receive a tool, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the bore to guide the anchoring member within the bore, in view of Mozeleski et al., to facilitate securely retaining the implant by engaging a vertebra in a different manner and orientation than a bone screw.
Shoshtaev further teaches that drive features of an orthopedic device can optionally be provided with numerous configurations, including a thread, to facilitate engagement with an instrument (para. 0025).
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a thread within the bore (e.g., within the base thereof) of the anchoring member, in view of Shoshtaev, to optionally provide a threaded connection to facilitate engagement with an instrument.
Regarding claim 12, the device of the combination (supra) further comprises a first lateral side and a second lateral side, the first lateral side comprises a first lateral window (Kloss, Fig. 4) extending through the solid portion and the second lateral side comprises a second lateral window (id.) extending through the solid portion, and wherein the device is a single integral piece (Kloss, page 28, lines 20-30).
Regarding claim 13, the first lateral window of the device of the combination (supra) enables visualization of a cavity (Kloss, Fig. 1) of the device through the first lateral window (id. and cf. Fig. 4), and wherein the second lateral window enables visualization of the cavity through the second lateral window (id.).
Regarding claim 14, the first lateral window of the device of the combination (supra) comprises a plurality of first lateral windows and the second lateral window comprises a plurality of second lateral windows (Kloss, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Mozeleski et al. disclose an anchoring member retention component 500 (Figs. 6A and 10A-10D) comprising a cam screw having a head 520, a threaded shaft (Mozeleski et al., para. 0079), a flat annular tip, and a shoulder (e.g., the fillet adjacent the head 520; Fig. 10D), wherein the implant device includes an aperture 360 (Fig. 9) configured to receive the anchoring member retention component such that the anchoring member retention component locks the arced anchoring member in place and prevents backing out of the arced anchoring member (Fig. 6A; para. 0077).
It would have been further obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further configure the implant of the combination (supra) with an anchoring member retention component comprising a cam screw having a head, a threaded shaft, a flat annular tip, and a shoulder, wherein the implant device includes an aperture configured to receive the anchoring member retention component such that the anchoring member retention component prevents backing out of the arced anchoring member, also in view of Mozeleski et al., to prevent the anchoring members from backing out and to facilitate secure retention of the implant in the desired location.
Regarding claim 16, the cam screw 500 of the device of the combination (supra) is movable between a first position, enabling insertion and removal of one of the anchoring members 410, and a second position, preventing back out of one of the anchoring members 410 (Mozeleski et al., para. 0077).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,414,860.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences amount to minor changes in the arrangement and phraseology of the claim limitations. The only substantive difference between the application claims and the patent claims resides in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are more specific (e.g., the bore being angled, the anchoring member being arced and having a surface that is flat and a shoulder that is rounded, and regarding the device described in claims 1 and 11, further characterizing the device as an interbody device, and describing the lateral sides and central cavity of the device). Thus, the invention of the patent claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the application claims are anticipated by the patent claims, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Regarding independent application claim 1, patent claim 1 discloses an implant comprising:
a device having a front, a rear, and a plurality of bores extending into the rear of the device;
wherein each bore is configured to receive an anchoring member, and
wherein each anchoring member comprises:
a head at an end of a shaft, the head comprising a surface, a threaded bore extending into the surface, and a shoulder, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within the bore, the threaded bore is configured to receive a tool, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the bore to guide the anchoring member within the bore.
Regarding independent application claim 11, patent claim 11 discloses an implant comprising:
a plurality of anchoring members; and
a device having a plurality of anchor bores each configured to receive one of the plurality of arced anchoring members;
wherein the device includes a porous portion and a solid portion at least partially surrounding the porous portion, the solid portion having a higher density than the porous portion, and wherein each anchoring member comprises:
a head at an end of the shaft, the head comprising a surface, a threaded bore extending into the surface, and a shoulder, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within one of the anchor bores, the threaded bore is configured to receive a tool, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the anchor bore to guide the anchoring member within the anchor bore.
Regarding independent application claim 17, patent claim 17 discloses an implant system comprising:
an implant body comprising:
an implant bore configured to receive an anchoring member; and
a tool interface, wherein the anchoring member comprises:
a head comprising a surface, an anchor bore extending into the surface, and a shoulder, wherein the surface is configured to receive a force to move the anchoring member within the implant bore, the anchor bore is configured to receive a tool, and the shoulder is configured to engage a surface of the implant bore to guide the anchoring member within the implant bore;
and a tool comprising:
an interface body configured to engage the tool interface; and a tool bore configured to receive the anchoring member.
The dependent application claims are mapped to the patent claims as set forth in the table below:
Appl. 19/316248
Pat. 12,414,860
1
1
2
2
3
6
4
3
5
4
6
5
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
13
14
14
15
15
16
16
17
17
18
18
19
19
20
20
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached PTO-892).
In particular, Predick et al. (2017/0239053) teaches an anchoring member with a threaded bore in head 14 (Fig. 3; para. 0025).
DAVID C. COMSTOCK
Examiner
Art Unit 3773
/DAVID C COMSTOCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3773
/EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773