DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This action is in response to the application received on 9/2/25. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112.
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilobrov et al (US 10,275,578), and further in view of Postelnicu et al. (US 9,153,239).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 10,805,673).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A, Prong One asks: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea? See MPEP 2106.04 Part I. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04(a).
With respect to claim 1, 10, and 16, the limitation of “detecting, by the computing system, that a number of mismatches exceeds a threshold” and “validating, by the computing system, the new identification”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by the computing system,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by the computing system” language, “detecting” and “validating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally observing data. Similarly, the limitation of “engaging, by the computing system, in a new identification”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “by the computing system” language, “engaging” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking that a new identification is necessary. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At step 2a, prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite a computing system and processor to execute the operations, however, this is recited as a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Additionally, the claim recites “obtaining… a first plurality of digital reference fingerprints” and “obtaining… a second plurality of digital reference fingerprints.” These elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and provide only insignificant extra solution activity that is mere data gathering in conjunction with the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
With respect to “obtaining… a first plurality of digital reference fingerprints” and “obtaining… a second plurality of digital reference fingerprints”, the courts have found limitations directed towards data gathering to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
With respect to claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 13, 17 and 19, the limitations further define elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With respect to claims 3, 12, and 18, the limitations directed towards playing the particular media content item generally links the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use because the claims do not include specific limitations directed towards achieving the improvement of the invention. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
With respect to claims 5, 14, and 20 the limitations are further directed towards obtaining data, detecting a mismatch, and determining a mismatch.
With respect to “obtaining”, the courts have found limitations directed towards data gathering to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
With respect to “detecting” and “determining”, these are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “detecting” and “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally observing data.
With respect to claims 6 and 15, the limitations are further directed towards generating and sending… the digital query fingerprints and receiving … the second plurality of digital reference fingerprints and the metadata. With respect to “sending” and “receiving” the courts have found limitations directed towards data gathering to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information). With respect to “generating… the digital query fingerprints”, these are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “generating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally assigning an identifier to data.
With respect to claim 7, the limitations are further directed towards “determining… whether the new identification is correct” and “controlling … whether to present the obtained data.” these are processes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determining” and “controlling” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally making decisions.
With respect to claim 8, the limitations are further directed towards “presenting” or “forgoing from presenting” the metadata. The courts have found limitations directed towards presenting to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10, and 16 disclose “one of a sequence of digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item” in the “detecting” limitation and “digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item” in the “engaging” limitation. The claims later refer to “the digital query fingerprints” in the “validating” limitation, and the dependent claims. It is unclear which recitation of “digital query fingerprints” each reference is meant to refer to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilobrov et al (US 10,275,578), and further in view of Postelnicu et al. (US 9,153,239).
With respect to claim 1, Bilobrov teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: while a particular media content item is being presented:
obtaining, by a computing system, a first plurality of digital reference fingerprints representing a first media content item (Bilobrov, Col. 18 Li. 58-61, When a server receives a fingerprint, it stores the fingerprint and metadata in a fingerprint database and updates a database index.), wherein the particular media content item has been identified as being the first media content item, wherein the fingerprints in the first plurality of digital reference fingerprints are at a first resolution (Bilobrov, Col. 18 Li. 65-67, a fingerprint database may be a fragmented database comprising a plurality of segments, such as segments 1006, 1008, 1010 and 1012);
detecting, by the computing system, that a number of mismatches exceeds a threshold, wherein each mismatch comprises one of a sequence of digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item that does not match any of the first plurality of digital reference fingerprints representing the first media content item (Bilobrov, Fig. 15 step 1506, no & Col. 21 Li. 48-51, If it is determined, at step 1506 that there is at least one fingerprint that does not match, processing continues at step 1508 to determine whether or not the verification component is able to perform content identification locally.);
engaging, by the computing system, in a new identification of the particular media content item as being a second media content item based on fingerprint matching using digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item (Bilobrov, Fig. 15 step 1508 & Col. 21 Li. 49-58, processing continues at step 1508 to determine whether or not the verification component is able to perform content identification locally.);
obtaining, by the computing system, a second plurality of digital reference fingerprints representing the second media content item, wherein the fingerprints in the second plurality of digital reference fingerprints are at the first resolution (Bilobrov, Col. 21 Li. 56-58, fingerprints received in connection with one or more other verification groups serviced by the verification component.); and
validating, by the computing system, the new identification as a condition precedent to presenting metadata regarding the second media content item, wherein the validating comprises comparing the digital query fingerprints of each mismatch of the mismatches at the first resolution with the obtained second plurality of digital reference fingerprints (Bilobrov, Col. 21 Li. 49-58, processing continues at step 1508 to determine whether or not the verification component is able to perform content identification locally. By way of a non-limiting example, where the computing device having the verification component services more than one verification group, the verification component may compare the one or more fingerprints that did not match from the current verification group to fingerprints received in connection with one or more other verification groups serviced by the verification component.).
Bilobrov doesn’t expressly discuss engaging, by the computing system, in a new identification of the particular media content item as being a second media content item based on fingerprint matching using digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item at a second resolution, wherein the second resolution is different than the first resolution.
Postelnicu teaches engaging, by the computing system, in a new identification of the particular media content item as being a second media content item based on fingerprint matching using digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item at a second resolution, wherein the second resolution is different than the first resolution (Postelnicu, Col. 10 Li. 20-25, The subset of probe media file received from the client, for example, can include a second probe fingerprint that comprises a portion of the first probe fingerprint associated with the discrepancy regions identified and that is in greater detail for further determining an identical or exact match from among a plurality of matches identified.).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Bilobrov with the teachings of Postelnicu because it provides a more accurate way to identify a match of audio samples (Postelnicu, Col. 4 Li. 34-36).
With respect to claim 2, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the particular media content item being presented comprises audio content, wherein the first and second media content items are songs (Bilobrov, Col. 6 Li. 53-55, Embodiments of the present disclosure can be used with any type media, media content or media content item, including without limitation digital content such as audio).
With respect to claim 3, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the computing system is implemented at least in part at a media client configured to play the particular media content item for consumption by at least one end user, wherein the sequence of digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item are generated by the media client (Bilobrov, Col. 8 Li. 3-11, a recording device, e.g., a device capturing content such as client device 106, … receives a content stream 116 and generates a fingerprint 112, which may be generated from a portion of audio and/or video of the input content stream 116. & Col. 20 Li. 60-62, the client device generates a fingerprint using at least a portion of the received input content stream).
With respect to claim 4, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the particular media content item has been identified as being the first media content item based on a server in network communication with the media client fingerprint matching using second digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item at the second resolution (Bilobrov, Col. 8 Li. 17-21, In a content identification phase, client device 106 forwards a fingerprint 112 generated from content 116 to a default device executing an identification component, such as identification server 102, which is coupled to fingerprint database 104. In response to receiving fingerprint 112, server 102 compares fingerprint 112 with one or more reference fingerprints stored in fingerprint database 104 to identify a match between the received fingerprint 112 and a reference fingerprint stored in fingerprint database 104.).
With respect to claim 5, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the first plurality of digital reference fingerprints representing the first media content item are obtained by the media client receiving the first plurality of digital reference fingerprints from the server, wherein a mismatch is detected by the media client comparing one of the sequence of digital query fingerprints with the first plurality of digital reference fingerprints representing the first media content item and determining that the one of the sequence of the digital query fingerprints does not match any of the first plurality of digital reference fingerprints (Bilobrov, Col. 10 Li. 1-3, where a match is not found , the verification may be repeated one or more times to ensure that a fingerprint 112 is being generated from different content & Fig. 15, step 1506, no match & Col. 21 Li. 48-51, If it is determined, at step 1506 that there is at least one fingerprint that does not match, processing continues at step 1508 to determine whether or not the verification component is able to perform content identification locally.).
With respect to claim 6, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4 wherein engaging in the new identification comprises generating and sending from the media client to the server the digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item (Postelnicu, Col. 10 Li. 16-20, The method 700, therefore, can further comprise receiving the subset of the probe media file in response to communicating the request, in which the subset of the probe media file received includes a greater number of discrepancy regions than the first probe fingerprint), and wherein obtaining the second plurality of digital reference fingerprints comprises receiving by the media client from the server, in response to the media client sending to the server the digital query fingerprints representing the particular media content item, the second plurality of digital reference fingerprints and the metadata (Bilobrov, Col. 8 Li. 28-36, fingerprint database, or an associated data store, may contain information identifying content 116, so that where a reference fingerprint stored in fingerprint database 104 matching the received fingerprint 112 may be used to access information about content 116, including a reference identifier (ID), for example… Where a match is found, response 114 comprises information identifying the content, such as a reference ID).
With respect to claims 10-15, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 1-6 and are rejected for the same reasons.
With respect to claims 16-20, the limitations are essentially the same as claims 1-5 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 10,805,673).
With respect to claim 7, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein validating the new identification as the condition precedent to presenting the metadata comprises: determining, by the media client, based at least on the comparing the digital query fingerprints of each mismatch of the mismatches with the obtained second plurality of digital reference fingerprints, whether the new identification is correct (Bilobrov, Col. 21 Li. 54-58, the verification component may compare the one or more fingerprints that did not match from the current verification group to fingerprints received in connection with one or more other verification groups serviced by the verification component.).
Bilobrov doesn't expressly discuss based on the determination of whether the new identification is correct, controlling whether to present the obtained metadata.
Lee teaches based on the determination of whether the new identification is correct, controlling whether to present the obtained metadata (Lee, Col. 16 Li. 13-19, the media presentation device could then detect a threshold mismatch between a fingerprint stream of the media content that it is rendering and a reference fingerprint stream of the identified channel, the media presentation device could take or cause to be taken action in response, such as changing a channel-specific overlay superimposed on the media content presentation.).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Bilobrov to have included the teachings of Lee because presenting metadata provides information about the content.
With respect to claim 8, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein controlling whether to present the obtained metadata comprises: if the determination is that the new identification is correct, then presenting the obtained metadata; and if the determination is that the new identification is not correct, then forgoing from presenting the obtained metadata (Lee, Col. 13 Li. 35-43, Once the server matches at least the first pair of these fingerprints (and perhaps a first threshold number of such pairs), the server may thus conclude that the channel being rendered by the media presentation device is the channel represented by the matching reference fingerprint stream. Therefore, the server could begin to take action specific to that determined channel, such as superimposing or causing to be superimposed particular channel-specific content on the media being rendered by the media presentation device.).
With respect to claim 9, Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, as discussed above.
Lee teaches wherein the threshold is one and the number of mismatches is at least two (Lee, Col. 13 Li. 56-58, Continuing further, the server then determines that the right-most query fingerprint does not match the expected next reference fingerprint in the reference fingerprint stream. Thus, the server could conclude at this point that the media content of the identified channel is no longer being rendered by the media presentation device, possibly because a user changed channels.).
It would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Bilobrov in view of Postelnicu with the teachings of Lee because it allows determination of a change in media on the client device (Lee, Col. 15 Li. 14-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stojancic et al. (US 2019/0373312) discusses matching fingerprints to determine metadata of media content.
/BRITTANY N ALLEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169