DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 46-48, 51-52, 57-58, and 60-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "the retractor strut" and “the first outer layer” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Prior to this recitation, multiple retractor struts were introduced, as were multiple layers. It is unclear if this recitation is referring to one or both of the pair of retractor struts. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this recitation to read, “at least one of the pair of retractor struts” and “a first outer layer of the one or more layers”, respectively.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "the retractor strut" and “the first and second outer layers” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Prior to this recitation, multiple retractor struts were introduced, as were multiple layers. It is unclear if this recitation is referring to one or both of the pair of retractor struts. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this recitation to read, “at least one of the pair of retractor struts” and “a first and second outer layer of the one or more layers”, respectively.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "the core", “the first layer”, and “the second outer layer” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. None of these features were introduced in claim 43, upon which claim 48 depends. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this claim to be dependent on claim 46, and furthermore to read, “a first layer of the one or more layers” and “a second outer layer of the one or more layers”, respectively.
Claim 51 recites the limitation "to third shaft" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether applicant is referring to a third shaft introduced in claim 50, or whether applicant is introducing a new third shaft component. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this claim to read “to the third shaft”.
Claim 52 recites the limitation "the first joint and second joint" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No first and second joints have been introduced prior to this recitation. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this to read, “a first joint and second joint of the one or more articulating joints”.
Claim 57 recites the limitation "the one or more sensors”, “the retractor strut”, and “the first outer layer" in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No first outer layer was introduced prior to this recitation in the claim. Likewise, multiple retractor struts have been introduced; it is unclear which one applicant is referring to. For examination purposes, the office will interpret these to read “a retractor strut of the first pair of retractor struts” and “a first outer layer of the one or more outer layers”, respectively. Furthermore, in order to introduce clarity into the claim, the office will interpret “the one or more sensors” to read “the one or more force sensors”.
Claim 58 recites the limitation "the first and second outer layers" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Prior to this recitation, no first and second outer layers were introduced. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this to be dependent on claim 56 read “a first outer layer and a second outer layer of the one or more layers”.
Claim 60 recites the limitation "to third shaft" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether applicant is referring to a third shaft introduced in claim 59, or whether applicant is introducing a new third shaft component. For examination purposes, the office will interpret this claim to read “to the third shaft”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 43, 45, 49, 50, 54, 56, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heinrich (US 20050165280 A1).
Regarding claim 43 (first interpretation), Heinrich teaches a system (see Fig. 1) for organ retraction comprising:
a surgical retraction device (10), comprising:
a first shaft (20) comprising a distal end (22) and a proximal end (24) extending along a longitudinal axis (see Para. [0031]);
a first pair of retractor struts (40, 42, 44) extending from the distal end (22) toward the proximal end (24; note that the struts extend inside shaft 20), wherein the first pair of retractor struts (42, 44) are configured to be positionable between a collapsed configuration for navigating the device through a patient's body to a target retraction site (see Para. [0032]), and an expanded configuration with middle portions of the first pair of retractor struts bowed away from the longitudinal axis (deployed position, see Para. [0042]), wherein in the expanded configuration the first pair of retractor struts are configured to retract an organ of a patient during a surgical procedure (see Para. [0038]); and
one or more force sensor elements (see Para. [0036]) on at least one of the retractor struts (42, 44), wherein the one or more force sensor elements are configured to sense external forces on the at least one retractor strut (see Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 45, Heinrich teaches the system of claim 43, wherein at least one of the retractor struts (40, 42, 44) comprises a core (46) and one or more layers (62).
Regarding claim 49, Heinrich teaches the system of claim 43, further comprising:
a controller (60) configured to actuate the first pair of retractor struts (42, 44) between the collapsed configuration and the expanded configuration (see Para. [0032]),
wherein the controller (60) is further configured to determine an amount of organ retraction with feedback from the one or more force sensors (see Paras. [0031] and [0036]).
Regarding claim 43 (second interpretation), Heinrich teaches a system (see Fig. 5A) for organ retraction comprising:
a surgical retraction device (400), comprising:
a first shaft (421) comprising a distal end (see labelled diagram of Fig. 5A below) and a proximal end (see labelled diagram of Fig. 5A below) extending along a longitudinal axis (axis of shaft 421);
a first pair of retractor struts (426, 442, 444) extending from the distal end toward the proximal end (note that the struts extend inside 440), wherein the first pair of retractor struts (442, 444) are configured to be positionable between a collapsed configuration for navigating the device through a patient's body to a target retraction site (see Para. [0045]), and an expanded configuration with middle portions of the first pair of retractor struts bowed away from the longitudinal axis (deployed position, see Para. [0045]), wherein in the expanded configuration the first pair of retractor struts are configured to retract an organ of a patient during a surgical procedure (see Para. [0045]); and
one or more force sensor elements (see Para. [0036]) on at least one of the retractor struts (442, 444), wherein the one or more force sensor elements are configured to sense external forces on the at least one retractor strut (see Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 50, Heinrich teaches wherein the first shaft (421) is connected to a third shaft (431) by one articulating joint (440; note that a joint is defined by Merriam-Webster as "a place where two things or parts are joined").
Regarding claim 54, Heinrich teaches a method for organ retraction (see Para. [0003]) comprising:
inserting the surgical retraction device of claim 43 (see second interpretation as applied to claim 43 above), with a controller (60), into a surgical space of a patient in the collapsed configuration (see Para. [0045]); and
positioning the first pair of retractor struts (442, 444) proximate to an organ (200) and transitioning the first pair of retractor struts to the expanded configuration, with the controller, in order to retract the organ (see Para. [0045]), wherein the first pair of retractor struts comprises one or more force sensors connected to the controller (see Para. [0036]); and
determine an amount of organ retraction with feedback from the one or more force sensors (see Para. [0036]).
Regarding claim 59, Heinrich teaches the method of claim 56, wherein the first shaft (421) is connected to a third shaft (431) by one articulating joint (440; note that a joint is defined by Merriam-Webster as "a place where two things or parts are joined").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 44, 53, 55, and 62 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the claimed combination of limitations recited in dependent claims 44, 53, 55, and 62. In particular, none of the cited references teach or suggest “wherein the one or more force sensors comprises an optical fiber extending around at least one of the first pair of retractor struts in a tortuous path” or “wherein the one or more articulating joints comprises sequentially coupled articulating joints” as required by claims 44 and 55, and 53 and 62, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/H.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773