DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 12 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (US 7,431,242).
Regarding claim 1, Brown et al. discloses an atmospheric re-entry vehicle (Fig. 1), comprising: a body defining a first end of the vehicle (aft); and a heat shield at a second end (fore) of the vehicle opposite the first end, the heat shield including a heat shield outer surface that is configured to be exposed to a high enthalpy flow during atmospheric re-entry; wherein a centerline of the heat shield is offset relative to a centerline of the body (the fore-body heatshield of Brown et al. is offset relative to a centerline of the body, Fig. 1); and wherein at least a portion of the heat shield outer surface (the outer edge of the base of the fore-body) is at least substantially axisymmetric relative to the centerline of the heat shield.
Regarding claim 2, Brown et al. discloses that the body includes a body outer surface that is at least substantially axisymmetric relative to the centerline of the body (Figs. 1, 6c).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Brown et al. discloses that the body includes a body outer surface; wherein the centerline of the body is perpendicular to a tangent of the body outer surface at the first end of the vehicle; and wherein the centerline of the heat shield is perpendicular to a tangent of the heat shield outer surface at the second end of the vehicle (Brown et al. teaches this feature since the fore-body heat shield is asymmetrically arranged relative to the centerline of the body).
Regarding claim 4, Brown et al. discloses that the centerline of the heat shield is offset relative to the centerline of the body by an offset angle within a range of 1 degree to 10 degrees (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Brown et al. inherently teaches that the heat shield outer surface is configured such that net aerodynamic forces acting on the heat shield outer surface during atmospheric re-entry are at an angle relative to the centerline of the body.
Regarding claim 6, Brown et al. discloses that the heat shield outer surface is configured such that net aerodynamic forces acting on the heat shield outer surface generate lift during atmospheric re-entry at a zero angle of attack (Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 12 – 16, the discussion of claims above is relied upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. in view of Buehler et al. (US 2006/0145020).
Regarding claim 7, Brown et al. fails to teach that the heat shield is actively cooled. However, Buehler et al. discloses a reentry vehicle with a heat shield that is actively cooled through pores (330) by injecting a cool layer of gas (320). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, with reasonable expectation of success, to include the active cooling taught by Beuhler et al. in the reentry vehicle of Brown et al. in order to prevent overheating.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 – 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While Applicant has annotated Fig. 1 of Brown with an arbitrary line passing through XL to indicate the “alleged” centerlines of the body and the heat shield, Brown explicitly discloses at col. 3, lines 37 – 38 that the shape is not generally rotationally symmetric about the axis Lx. The equations (2-1 and 2-2) in col. 3, lines 51 – 57 illustrate that the forebody generating ellipses C5 and C6 have geometric centers Z5 and Z6 that are explicitly offset from the longitudinal body axis Lx (z = 0). Therefore, Examiner maintains that Brown inherently and explicitly discloses a centerline of the forebody/headshield being offset relative to a centerline of the body.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALENTINA XAVIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642