DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Amendment
The following office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on 08/24/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 14, 15 and 20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments and 35 U.S.C. 103 sections below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 8, filed 08/24/2026 with respect to the objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections to the drawingsin the non-final rejection of 06/15/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 8-10, filed 08/24/2026 with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant has amended this claim to clarify that the processor is configured to, each time each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames is acquired, display, on the monitor in real time, the acquired ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber extracted from the acquired ultrasound image is superimposed. This amendment is based at least on paragraphs [0033], [0035], [0061]-[0065], and [0079] of the originally filed specification. Applicant amends independent claim 20 in a substantially similar manner as independent claim 1 in varying scope.
The Applicant notes that paragraphs [0049] and [0050] of Abe appear to disclose acquiring video data composed of a plurality of tomographic images of a heart of the subject. Paragraph [0052] of Abe appears to disclose reading out tomographic image data of a designated cardiac time phase from a storage 6 and displaying the tomographic image data.
The wording of "sequentially updates" in paragraphs [0107] and [0109] of Abe appears to describe updating and displaying the stored tomographic image of each cardiac time phase, an endocardium marker acquired after image processing, an epicardium marker, and wall movement information in an order of the cardiac time phase. Applicant submits that this is different from extracting a contour from the corresponding image and superimposing the contour on the corresponding image in response to the acquisition of each ultrasound image.
Thus, if a video acquisition disclosed in the paragraphs [0049] and [0050] of Abe and a sequential display of processing results disclosed in the paragraphs [0107] and [0109] are combined with each other, the correspondence relationship between items 1-4 (below) is not disclosed by Abe:
1. Acquirement of ultrasound images.
2. Extraction of the contour of the heart chamber.
3. Superimposing the contour on the corresponding ultrasound image.
4. Displaying in real time the ultrasound image on which the contour is
superimposed each time each of the ultrasound images is acquired.
In addition, acquisition of the video data in Abe does not inevitably accompany with the extraction of the contour at the time of acquisition of each ultrasound image and display of the contour superimposed on the ultrasound image.
Furthermore, the Examiner states that the contents of "each time each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames is acquired" are not disclosed by Abe and the amendments of the independent claims, including the above contents, would appear to overcome the rejection. See Interview Summary. Accordingly, the subject matter of the amended independent claims is not anticipated by or rendered obvious by Abe.
The examiner respectfully acknowledges that paragraphs [0049] and [0050] of Abe appear to disclose acquiring video data composed of a plurality of tomographic images of a heart of the subject. Furthermore, the examiner agrees that paragraph [0052] of Abe appears to disclose reading out tomographic image data of a designated cardiac time phase from a storage 6 and displaying the tomographic image data.
Additionally, the examiner recognizes that the term "sequentially updates" in paragraphs [0107] and [0109] of Abe appears to describe updating and displaying the stored tomographic image of each cardiac time phase, an endocardium marker acquired after image processing, an epicardium marker, and wall movement information in an order of the cardiac time phase. The examiner recognizes that this is different from extracting a contour from the corresponding image and superimposing the contour on the corresponding image in response to the acquisition of each ultrasound image.
The examiner agrees that if a video acquisition disclosed in the paragraphs [0049] and [0050] of Abe and a sequential display of processing results disclosed in the paragraphs [0107] and [0109] are combined with each other, the correspondence relationship between items 1-4 (i.e. 1. Acquirement of ultrasound images, 2. Extraction of the contour of the heart chamber, 3. Superimposing of the contour on the corresponding ultrasound image, and 4. Displaying in real time the ultrasound image on which the contour is superimposed each time each of the ultrasound images is acquired) is not disclosed by Abe.
Additionally, the examiner concedes that acquisition of the video data in Abe does not inevitably accompany with the extraction of the contour at the time of acquisition of each ultrasound image and display of the contour superimposed on the ultrasound image.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 in the non-final rejection of 06/15/2026 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Regarding claim 20, the examiner notes that this claim has been amended similarly to claim 1. Thus, this claim is subject to the reasoning disclosed therein. Therefore, claim 20 is subject to the new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
The separate patentability of the dependent claims 5-12, 16, and 19 is advocated.
Claims 5 and 6 describe "a characteristic structure" that represents an anatomical structure different from a contour of a cardiac apex, mitral valve base, or interventricular septum, and are not the endocardium marker or the epicardium marker.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the examiner respectfully notes that the claims, as written do not specify what constitutes "a characteristic structure". Therefore, the examiner respectfully maintains that the “characteristic structure” can be interpreted broadly to include one or more of: an anatomical structure such as a cardiac apex, mitral valve base, interventricular septum, endocardium or epicardium.
However, due to their dependence on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, these claims are subject to the new grounds of rejection made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as stated in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claims 7 and 8 describe acquiring cardiac phase information based on the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber and correcting the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber corresponding to a plurality of ultrasound images having the same phase in different cardiac cycles. This is different from the correction between two initial contours in one heart period in Abe.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the examiner respectfully acknowledges that these claims describe acquiring cardiac phase information based on the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber and correcting the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber corresponding to a plurality of ultrasound images having the same phase in different cardiac cycles. However, the examiner respectfully maintains that the correction between two initial contours in one heart period performed Abe, necessarily requires the processor be configured to: acquire cardiac phase information based on the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber, and correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber corresponding to a plurality of ultrasound images having the same phase in different cardiac cycles are aligned with each other.
However, due to their dependence on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, these claims are subject to the new grounds of rejection made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as stated in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claims 9 and 10 describe calculating an edge line at which a brightness difference is maximized in a vicinity of the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber, and correcting the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber. This is different from contour detection using brightness information and a shape dictionary.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the examiner respectfully acknowledges that these claims describe calculating an edge line at which a brightness difference is maximized in a vicinity of the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber, and correcting the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber. The examiner respectfully maintains that Abe discloses that the image processor 10 detect the contour of the desired tissue based on the brightness information of the cross-sectional image data and the shape registered in the shape dictionary (See [0033]). In this case, in order to detect the contour based on brightness information, the processor must necessarily calculate an edge line at which a brightness difference is maximized in a vicinity of the extract contour of the cardiac chamber and perform correction of the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber such that the contour of the cardiac chamber is aligned with the edge line.
However, due to their dependence on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, these claims are subject to the new grounds of rejection made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as stated in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claims 11 and 12 describe displaying, in an enhanced manner, a portion of the ultrasound image related to the performed correction processing. The item to be displayed in claims 11 and 12 is different from the item to be displayed in the color display in response to the ratio of change of the wall thickness in Abe.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, the examiner respectfully acknowledges that these claims describe displaying, in an enhanced manner, a portion of the ultrasound image related to the performed correction processing. The examiner respectfully maintains that the claims as written to not specify the “enhanced manner” in which a portion of the ultrasound image related to the performed correction processing need be displayed. Therefore, these claims can be interpreted broadly to include displaying an item in the color display in response to the ratio of change of the wall thickness as disclosed in Abe.
However, due to their dependence on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, these claims are subject to the new grounds of rejection made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as stated in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claim 16 describes selecting the ultrasound image, which is the target for the correction, based on the acquired cardiac phase information. This is different from the designation of the arbitrary cardiac phase in Abe.
Regarding claim 16, the examiner respectfully acknowledges that this claim describes selecting the ultrasound image, which is the target for the correction, based on the acquired cardiac phase information. The examiner respectfully maintains that in order for image processor 10 to define initial contours within cross-sectional images representing the heart (i.e. based on the cross-sectional image data read from the storage 6 by display controller 7, see [0052), perform pattern matching, and designate a cardiac phase an ultrasound image had to have necessarily been selected from the storage.
However, due to its dependence on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, this claim is subject to the new grounds of rejection made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as stated in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claim 19 describes correcting the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber each time the contour of the cardiac chamber is extracted. This is different from the correction or smoothing of the tracking result for the stored ultrasound image in Abe.
Regarding claim 19, the examiner respectfully acknowledges that this claim describes correcting the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber each time the contour of the cardiac chamber is extracted. However, the examiner respectfully maintains that the position correction section 14 performs correction by obtaining the position of the contours in all time phases (i.e. each time the contour is extracted) and smoothens the contour position in the temporal direction.
However, due to its dependence on claim 1, either directly or indirectly, this claim is subject to the new grounds of rejection made in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi” as stated in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Abe et al. US 2010/0195887 A1 “Abe” and further in view of Yamauchi US 2002/0102023 A1 “Yamauchi”
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Abe teaches “An ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising: an ultrasound probe; a monitor; a processor configured to:” (Claim 1) (“An ultrasonic imaging apparatus 1 comprises: an ultrasonic probe 2; a transmission/reception section 3; a signal processor 4; an image generator 5; a storage 6; a display controller 7; a user interface (UI) 8; a controller 9; an image processor 10; and a motion-information calculator 20. Moreover, the storage 6, the display controller 7, the user interface (UI) 8, the image processor 10, and the motion-information calculator 20 may be used to compose a medical image processing apparatus” [0036]. The examiner notes that FIG. 1 shows the components of the ultrasonic imaging apparatus 1. As shown in FIG. 1, the user interface includes a display 81 and an operating section 82. Therefore, the ultrasonic imaging apparatus 1 represents an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus comprising: an ultrasound probe (i.e. ultrasonic probe 2), a monitor (i.e. display controller 7/user interface (UI) 8) and a processor (i.e. image processor 10).).
“A method of controlling an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus, the method comprising:” (Claim 20) (“The purpose of this invention is to provide a medical imaging apparatus, a medical image processing apparatus, an ultrasonic imaging apparatus, an ultrasonic image processing apparatus and a method of processing medical images in which, during processes of tracking a region of interest, deviations from the tracking position are unlikely to occur from when tracking is started, and even when there is a deviation in the tracking position, the tissue movement included in the region of interest may be evaluated more accurately by correcting the tracking position through simple operations” [0010]. The examiner notes that paragraphs [0129]-[0141] depict an example of a method carried out by the ultrasonic imaging apparatus 1. Therefore, Abe discloses a method of controlling an ultrasound diagnostic apparatus.);
“acquire(ing) ultrasound images of a plurality of frames as a moving image where a heart of a subject is imaged, by transmitting and receiving ultrasound beams using the ultrasound probe” (Claims 1 and 20) (“The ultrasonic imaging apparatus 1 related to the first illustrative embodiment acquires cross-sectional image data representing the heart of a subject in each cardiac phase by ultrasonically scanning the heart. In other words, the ultrasonic imaging apparatus 1 acquires moving image data representing the heart” [0049]; “For example, the ultrasonic imaging apparatus 1 acquires a plurality of cross-sectional image data (moving image data) representing the heart of a subject over one cardiac cycle or more by ultrasonically scanning the heart over one cardiac cycle or more” [0050]. Therefore, the method carried out by the apparatus involves acquiring ultrasonic images of a plurality of frames as a moving image where a heart of a subject is imaged, by transmitting and receiving ultrasound beams using the ultrasound probe.);
“extract(ing) a contour of a cardiac chamber from each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames” (Claims 1 and 20) (“The image processor 10 comprises a first tracking section 11, a second tracking section 12, a third tracking section 13, and a position correction section 14” [0053]; “The image processor 10 defines, as initial contours, the contour (region of interest) of a specific tissue specified on cross-sectional images representing the heart and performs pattern matching between two cross-sectional images acquired in different cardiac phases, in order to obtain the position of the contour in each cardiac phase” [0054]; “A specific example of the second illustrative embodiment will be described with reference to FIGS. 3-6. A case in which a longitudinal image is acquired and displayed using the second illustrative embodiment will be described. First, the processes from step S20 to step S22 described above are implemented. FIG. 3 shows the processing results up to step S22” [0176]; “As an example, the display controller 7 causes the display 81 to display a longitudinal image 100. Furthermore, the display controller 7 superimposes an endocardium marker 110 and an epicardium marker 120 on the longitudinal image 100 and causes the display 81 to display the same” [0177]. The endocardium marker 110 and epicardium marker 120 are shown in FIG. 3 and show a cardiac chamber. Therefore, the method carried out by the apparatus involves extracting a contour of a cardiac chamber from each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames.).;
“perform(ing) correction processing on a plurality of contours of the cardiac chamber extracted from the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames such that the plurality of contours of the cardiac chamber smoothly change in time series” (Claims 1 and 20) (“In this illustrative embodiment, as an example, the image processor 10 performs pattern matching for contours specified in two cardiac phases by defining the contours as the initial contours in their respective cardiac phases and also corrects the contour position in each cardiac phase so that the position passes through the two initial contour positions” [0055]. “It is preferable that the position correction section 14 smoothens the contour position in the temporal direction in the cardiac phase for which a correction has been specified in order to smoothly connect the contours near the specified cardiac phase” [0117]. Therefore, the method carried out by the apparatus involves performing correction processing on a plurality of contours of the cardiac chamber extracted from the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames such that the plurality of contours of the cardiac chamber smoothly change in time series.);
[…] and
“display(ing) the ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber on which the correction processing is performed is superimposed, on the monitor” (Claims 1 and 20) (“Then, the display controller 7 superimposes the endocardium marker and the epicardium marker over the cross-sectional image in each cardiac phase and causes the display 81 to display the same in the order of cardiac phases” [0118]. As shown in FIG. 3, the endocardium marker 110 and the epicardium marker 120 are displayed on the image 100. Therefore, the method carried out by the apparatus involves displaying the ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber on which the correction processing is performed is superimposed, on the monitor (i.e. display 81).).
However, Abe does not teach “each time each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames is acquired, display(ing), on the/a monitor in real-time, the acquired ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber extracted from the acquired ultrasound image is superimposed” (Claims 1 and 20).
Yamauchi is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an ultrasonic diagnostic device that includes an automatic contour extracting unit (See [Abstract]).
Yamauchi teaches “each time each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames is acquired, displaying, on the/a monitor in real-time, the acquired ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber extracted from the acquired ultrasound image is superimposed” (Claims 1 and 20) (“Here, the ultrasonic diagnostic device may further include an image display unit for displaying at least one of the ultrasound image and the final contour. The real time control unit may control the image display unit and the measurement display unit so that the calculated capacity is displayed in synchronization with the display of the at least one of the ultrasound image and the final contour” [0042]; “For this construction, the operator can view changes in the contour of the heart and its capacity in real time and so perform examination of the heart with improved accuracy” [0043]; “Here, the ultrasonic diagnostic device may further include: a real time control unit for having an operation repeatedly performed at a fixed frame rate, the operation including (a) generation of the ultrasound image, (b) the extraction of the final contour by the automatic contour extracting unit, and (c) the calculation of the capacity; and a moving image storing unit for accumulating ultrasound images generated through the repeatedly performed operation to generate and store moving images for the object” [0046]; “For this construction, the ultrasound images and contours obtained in real time can be accumulated to be precisely analyzed later as in close examination” [0047].
Therefore, since the ultrasound diagnostic device includes 1) an image display unit for displaying the ultrasound image and the final contour and 2) a real-time control unit to cause the ultrasound image and the final contour to be displayed with the calculated capacity (see [0042]), such that the operator can view changes in the contour of the heart and its capacity in real-time (see [0043]), and multiple ultrasound images and contours obtained in real time can be accumulated (i.e. in a memory/storage) and analyzed later (see [0047]), the processor is configured to each time each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames is acquired, display, on the monitor in real-time, the acquired ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber extracted from the acquired ultrasound image is superimposed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Abe such that the processor is configured to each time each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames is acquired, display, on the monitor in real-time, the acquired ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber extracted from the acquired ultrasound image is superimposed as disclosed in Yamauchi in order to allow an operator to view changes in the contour of the heart in real time such that examination of the heart can be performed with improved accuracy (See Yamauchi: [0043]). Displaying the contour of a cardiac chamber in real time, as a plurality of ultrasound images are acquired, is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to analyze the heart with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound diagnostic apparatus of Abe such that the processor is configured to each time each of the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames is acquired, display, on the monitor in real-time, the acquired ultrasound image on which the contour of the cardiac chamber extracted from the acquired ultrasound image is superimposed as disclosed in Yamauchi would yield the predictable result of allowing an operator to view changes in the contour of the heart in real time such that examination of the heart can be performed with improved accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to extract the ultrasound image, which is a target for measurement, from among the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames based on the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber” (See [0050] and [0054] as discussed in claim 1. Therefore, since the ultrasonic imaging apparatus acquires a plurality of cross-sectional images of the heart of a subject and defines initial contours on the cross-sectional images, the processor is configured to extract the ultrasound image, which a target for measurement, from among the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames based on the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber (i.e. corresponding to the endocardium marker 110 and the epicardium marker 120).).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and Abe further teaches "wherein the processor is configured to correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber such that consistency with the contour of the cardiac chamber in preceding and succeeding frames is ensured” (See [0053], [0055] and [0117] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, since the image processor 10 includes a position correction section 14 (see [0053]) and corrects the contour position in each cardiac phase so that the position passes through the two initial contour positions (see [0055]) and the position correction section 14 smoothens the contour position in the temporal direction in the cardiac phase for which correction has been specified in order to smoothly connect the contours near the specified cardiac phase (see [0117]), the processor is configured to correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber such that consistency with the contour of the cardiac chamber in preceding and succeeding frames is ensured (i.e. smoothly connect the contours).).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber based on positional information of a characteristic structure of the cardiac chamber” (See [0053], [0055] and [0117] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, since the image processor 10 includes a position correction section 14 (see [0053]) and corrects the contour position in each cardiac phase so that the position passes through the two initial contour positions (see [0055]) and the position correction section 14 smoothens the contour position in the temporal direction in the cardiac phase for which correction has been specified in order to smoothly connect the contours near the specified cardiac phase (see [0117]), the processor is configured to correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber based on positional information of a characteristic structure (i.e. endocardium marker 110 and epicardium marker 120) of the cardiac chamber.).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to: acquire cardiac phase information based on the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber” (See [0054] and [0055] as discussed in claim 1 and “The display controller 7 reads the cross-sectional image data from the storage 6 and causes the display 81 to display cross-sectional images based on the cross-sectional image data. For example, when an operator specifies an arbitrary cardiac phase by using the operating section 82, information indicating the specified cardiac phase is output from the user interface (UI) 8 to the display controller 7. The display controller 7 reads the cross-sectional image data in connection with the specified cardiac phase from the storage 6 and causes the display 81 to display a cross-sectional image based on the cross-sectional image data” [0052] and “For example, when a first initial contour position IC1 is specified during the end diastole ED and a second initial contour position IC2 is specified during the end systole ES, the image processor 10 obtains the contour position in each cardiac phase by using the first initial contour position IC1 and also obtains the contour position in each cardiac phase by using the second initial contour position IC2” [0056]. Therefore, the processor (i.e. image processor 10) is configured to: acquire cardiac phase information (i.e. end diastole ED, end systole ES) based on the extracted contour (i.e. contour position) of the cardiac chamber.); and
“correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber by referring to the cardiac phase information such that positions of the contour of the cardiac chamber corresponding to a plurality of ultrasound images having the same phase in different cardiac cycles are aligned with each other” (See [0055] and [0117] as discussed in claim 1. Therefore, the processor is configured to correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber by referring to the cardiac phase information such that positions of the contour of the cardiac chamber corresponding to a plurality of ultrasound images having the same phase in different cardiac cycles are aligned with each other.).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to: calculate an edge line at which a brightness difference is maximized in a vicinity of the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber; and correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber such that the contour of the cardiac chamber is aligned with the edge line” (See [0055] and [0117] as discussed in claim 1, and “The image processor 10 detects the contour of the desired tissue based on the brightness information of the cross-sectional image data and the shape registered in the shape dictionary. For example, generic shapes of the endocardium and the epicardium of the heart are registered in advance in the shape dictionary. The image processor 10 detects the endocardial or epicardial contour based on the brightness information of the cross-sectional image data and the generic shape of the endocardium or the epicardium” [0133].
Therefore, since the image processor 10 detects the contour based on the brightness information and the generic shape of the endocardium and epicardium (i.e. endocardium marker 110 and epicardium marker 120 in FIG. 3, for example) and the image processor 10 corrects the contour position in each cardiac phase so that the position passes through the two initial contour positions (see [0055]), the processor is configured to calculate an edge line (i.e. corresponding to the endocardium marker 110 and the epicardium marker 120 in FIG. 3, for example) at which a brightness difference is maximized in a vicinity of the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber; and correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber such that the contour of the cardiac chamber is aligned with the edge line.).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 2 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to display, in an enhanced manner, a portion of the ultrasound image related to the performed correction processing” (See [0055], [0117] and [0177] as discussed in claim 1 above and “For example, the display controller 7 assigns colors corresponding to the degree of the ratio of change in wall thickness to each location between the endocardium marker 110 and the epicardium marker 120, superimposes the colors on the longitudinal image 100, and causes the display 81 to display the same” [0188].
Therefore, since the display controller 7 superimposes an endocardium marker 110 and an epicardium marker 120 on the image (see [0177]) and the display controller 7 assigns colors corresponding to the degree of the ratio of change in wall thickness to each location between the endocardium marker 110 and the epicardium marker 120, the processor is configured to display, in an enhanced manner, a portion of the ultrasound image related to the performed correction processing (see [0055], [0117]).).
Regarding claim 13, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to select the ultrasound image, which is a target for correction of the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber, from among the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames” (See [0055] and [0117] as discussed in claim 1, and “First, using the operating section 82, the operator issues an instruction for a correction and the instruction is output to the controller 9. The controller 9 issues the correction instruction to the image processor 10. Then, using the operating section 82, the operator specifies an arbitrary cardiac phase in which to correct the endocardial contour position or the epicardial contour position” [0111].
In this case, since the image processor 10 receives the correction instruction from the controller 9 and carries out correction (see [0055] and [0117]), the processor is configured to select the ultrasound image, which is a target for correction of the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber, from among the ultrasound images of the plurality of frames.).
Regarding claim 14, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 13 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to select the ultrasound image selected by a user as the target for the correction” (See [0111] as discussed in claim 13 above. In order for the user to issue an instruction for correction, the user must be viewing an uncorrected ultrasound image. Therefore, since the operator issues an instruction for correction, using the operating section 82, and the controller 9 issues the correction instruction to the image processor 10, such that it performs the correction of the endocardial or epicardial contour position (see [0111]), the processor is configured to select the ultrasound image selected by a user as the target for the correction.).
Regarding claim 15, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 14 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to, upon selecting a new ultrasound image as the target for the correction after displaying the ultrasound image on which the corrected contour of the cardiac chamber is superimposed, on the monitor, correct the contour of the cardiac chamber again” (See [0111] as discussed in claim 13 above, and “For example, when correcting the endocardial contour position, the operator uses the operating section 82 and refers to the endocardium represented in the cross-sectional image to specify a new two-dimensional contour of the endocardium” [0112]; “The display controller 7 sequentially causes the display 81 to display cross-sectional images based on the cross-sectional image data acquired in each cardiac phase for each cardiac phase. Furthermore, the display controller 7 identifies the display position of the endocardium marker in the cross-sectional images based on the coordinate information of the endocardium marker in each cardiac phase, superimposes the endocardium marker in each cardiac phase over the cross-sectional image of each cardiac phase, and sequentially causes the display 81 to display the same. In the same way, the display controller 7 identifies the display position of the epicardium marker in the cross-sectional images based on the coordinate information of the epicardium marker in each cardiac phase, superimposes the epicardium marker in each cardiac phase over the cross-sectional image of each cardiac phase, and sequentially causes the display 81 to display the same. Then, the display controller 7 sequentially updates the cross-sectional image and the markers and causes the display 81 to display the same” [0107].
Therefore, since the operator uses the operating section 82 to provide an instruction for correction, the image processor 10 performs correction (See [0055]) and the display controller 7 causes the display 81 to display the endocardium and epicardium markers (See FIG. 3, for example), the processor is configured to, upon selecting a new ultrasound image (i.e. of the cross-sectional images corresponding to at least two cardiac phases, see [0055]) as the target for the correction after displaying the ultrasound image on which the corrected contour of the cardiac chamber is superimposed, on the monitor, correct the contour of the cardiac chamber again (see [0055]).).
Regarding claim 16, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 13 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to: acquire cardiac phase information based on the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber” (See [0054] and [0055] as discussed in claim 1, and “The display controller 7 reads the cross-sectional image data from the storage 6 and causes the display 81 to display cross-sectional images based on the cross-sectional image data. For example, when an operator specifies an arbitrary cardiac phase by using the operating section 82, information indicating the specified cardiac phase is output from the user interface (UI) 8 to the display controller 7. The display controller 7 reads the cross-sectional image data in connection with the specified cardiac phase from the storage 6 and causes the display 81 to display a cross-sectional image based on the cross-sectional image data” [0052] and “For example, when a first initial contour position IC1 is specified during the end diastole ED and a second initial contour position IC2 is specified during the end systole ES, the image processor 10 obtains the contour position in each cardiac phase by using the first initial contour position IC1 and also obtains the contour position in each cardiac phase by using the second initial contour position IC2” [0056]. Therefore, the processor (i.e. image processor 10) is configured to: acquire cardiac phase information (i.e. end diastole ED, end systole ES) based on the extracted contour (i.e. contour position) of the cardiac chamber).; and
“select the ultrasound image, which is the target for the correction, based on the acquired cardiac phase information” (See [0054] and [0055] as discussed in claim 1 above. In this case, since the image processor 10 defines initial contours on cross-sectional images, performs pattern matching for contours, corrects the contour position (i.e. within the cross-sectional images) in each cardiac phase, and receives a correction instruction from controller 9 (i.e. having received an operator instruction via the operating section 82, see [0111]), the processor is configured to select the ultrasound image, which is the target for correction, based on the acquired cardiac phase information (i.e. end diastole ED, end systole ES).).
Regarding claim 17, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to measure a cardiac function using the ultrasound image which is the target for the measurement and on which the corrected contour of the cardiac chamber is superimposed” (“The longitudinal image 100 shown in FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional image acquired in the cardiac phase ES (end systole). Moreover, the display controller 7 causes the display 81 to display wall-motion information obtained by the motion-information calculator 20” [0178]; “As an example, the display controller 7 causes the display 81 to display graphs 201-206” [0179]; “Graph 201 is a graph showing changes over time in the ratio of change in wall thickness (transversal strain (%)) in region A of the myocardium” [0180].
In order to display the transversal strain % (i.e. indicative of cardiac function) at different locations (see regions A-F in FIG. 3), the processor must be configured to measure a cardiac function. Therefore, since the longitudinal image 100 and the wall-motion information (i.e. transversal strain %) are displayed, the processor is configured to measure a cardiac function using the ultrasound image which is the target for the measurement and on which the corrected contour of the cardiac chamber is superimposed (see endocardium marker 110 and epicardium marker 120).).
Regarding claim 18, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 17 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to display a measurement result of the cardiac function on the monitor together with the ultrasound image on which the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber is superimposed” (See FIG. 3 and [0178] and [0180] as discussed in claim 17 above. As shown in FIG. 2, the cardiac function (i.e. transversal strain %) is displayed along with the ultrasound image on which the endocardium marker 110 and epicardium marker 120 is presented. Thus, the processor is configured to display a measurement result of the cardiac function on the monitor together with the ultrasound image on which the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber is superimposed.).
Regarding claim 19, Abe in view of Yamauchi discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Abe further teaches “wherein the processor is configured to correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber each time the contour of the cardiac chamber is extracted” (See [0055] and [0117] as discussed in claim 1 above. Therefore, since the image processor 10 includes a position correction section 14 which smoothens the contour position in the temporal direction in the cardiac phase (See [0117]) and corrects the contour positions in each cardiac phase so that the position passes through the two initial contour positions (See [0055]), the processor is configured to correct the extracted contour of the cardiac chamber each time the contour of the cardiac chamber is extracted.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797