This office action is in response to amendment filed 04/23/2026 in which the claims 1-7 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment are made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an applications filed in KR10-2016-0127893, KR10-2016-0129391, KR10-2017-0090621. Certified copies of the priority documents received in parent case 16/372,270 is now accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. & 103
Applicant argues that the Examiner has rejected Claims 1-3 and 5-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hannuksela I in view of Hannuksela II. See OA at par. 15, pages 8-17. Among the rejected claims, Claims 1, 6, and 7 are independent.
In the present response, Claim 1 has been amended to recite:
1) "obtaining image resizing enablement information indicating whether to perform
image resizing for the image from a bitstream"; and
2) "obtaining image resizing information for the image from the bitstream based on
the image resizing enablement information indicating to perform image resizing
for the image." Emphasis added.
Support for the claim amendments can be found throughout the Original Specification, par. [000236].
Applicant respectfully submits that Hannuksela I and Hannuksela II, taken alone or in
combination, fail to disclose, otherwise teach or suggest, at least these amended features of Claim 1 for the following reasons.
Hannuksela I discloses that whether to perform resampling is determined based on both
of the horizontal scale factor (ScaleFactorHor) and the vertical scale factor (ScaleFactorVer) being equal to 1; Hannuksela I, pars. [0318] and [0363]. If the two scale factors are not equal to 1, resampling is performed; otherwise, resampling is not performed. Id. Hannuksela I further discloses that these scale factors are derived as a dimensional ratio of the size of the reference region within the current picture to the size of the reference region in the source picture. Hannuksela I, par. [0363].
In other words, Hannuksela I implicitly decides to (or not to) perform resampling based on the calculated scale factors (i.e., whether the dimensional ratio equals 1). See Id. Instead of obtaining a syntax element (e.g., image resizing enablement information) from a bitstream, Hannuksela I relies on the derived scale factors or a dimensional ratio to determine whether to perform resampling. Id.
In contrast, Claim 1, as amended, recites "obtaining image resizing enablement
information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image from a bitstream" and "obtaining image resizing information for the image from the bitstream based on the image resizing enablement information..." Emphasis added.
Hannuksela II is also silent about the amended features of Claim 1. Therefore, Hannuksela II does not cure the deficiencies of Hannuksela I. From the foregoing, Hannuksela I and Hannuksela II, taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest at least the amended features of Claim 1.
Claims 6 and 7 have been amended to recite the similar features of Claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and clarifies that Hannuksela et al. discloses in Para[0332] that In HEVC, reference layer location offsets may be included in the PPS by the encoder and decoded from the PPS by the decoder. Reference layer location offsets may be used for but are not limited to achieving ROI scalability. Reference layer location offsets may comprise one or more of scaled reference layer offsets, reference region offsets, and resampling phase sets. Scaled reference layer offsets may be considered to specify the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the top-left luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer and the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the bottom-right luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer. A resampling phase set may be considered to specify the phase offsets used in resampling process of a source picture for inter-layer prediction. Different phase offsets may be provided for luma and chroma components.
Para [0356]-[0357] discloses resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders.
Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction Para[0388] teaches a decoder decodes from the bitstream one or more syntax elements whether sample locations outside a picture boundary are handled as described above or conventionally in inter-layer resampling. For example, the decoder may decode from the bitstream one or more syntax elements described above. The decoder uses the syntax elements to conclude which method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar.
Thus Hannuksela relies on resample_phase_set_present_flag to make the resizing decision by obtaining syntax element (e.g., the claimed "image resizing enablement information" and/or "image resizing information") from the bitstream, and it clearly disclose the amended features of Claim 1. Claims 6 and 7 have been amended to recite the similar features of Claim 1, and hence same response applies to Claims 6 and 7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/317,147 in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0347026 A1) (hereinafter Hannuksela II).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation “and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image”. However Hannuksela discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image (para[0288]-[0289] teaches Yaw rotates around the one coordinate axis (e.g. Y-axis), Yaw may be defined to be in the range of 0, inclusive, to 360 exclusive; para[0358] teaches decode the video bitstream or at least the part of the bitstream representing the viewport or the spatial region based on the at least one value indicative of the quality of the viewport or the spatial region). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting copending claim, since including in a manifest information of an available media content. A viewport or a spatial region is indicated in the manifest. The viewport is a portion of a 360-degree video inter-view prediction can be utilized in multiview video coding to take advantage of inter-view correlation and improve compression efficiency.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/320,777 (reference application) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0347026 A1) (hereinafter Hannuksela II).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation “and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image”. However Hannuksela discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image (para[0288]-[0289] teaches Yaw rotates around the one coordinate axis (e.g. Y-axis), Yaw may be defined to be in the range of 0, inclusive, to 360 exclusive; para[0358] teaches decode the video bitstream or at least the part of the bitstream representing the viewport or the spatial region based on the at least one value indicative of the quality of the viewport or the spatial region). would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting copending claim, since including in a manifest information of an available media content. A viewport or a spatial region is indicated in the manifest. The viewport is a portion of a 360-degree video inter-view prediction can be utilized in multiview video coding to take advantage of inter-view correlation and improve compression efficiency.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,190 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are anticipated by the conflicting copending claims. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting copending claim is that the conflicting copending claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,192 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are anticipated by the conflicting copending claims. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting copending claim is that the conflicting copending claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,193 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are anticipated by the conflicting copending claims. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting copending claim is that the conflicting copending claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/414,697 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are anticipated by the conflicting copending claims. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting copending claim is that the conflicting copending claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0347026 A1) (hereinafter Hannuksela II).
Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela discloses a method for processing an image (Para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches a method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture), the method comprising: obtaining image resizing enablement information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image from a bitstream; obtaining image resizing information for the image from the bitstream based on the image resizing enablement information indicating to perform the image resizing for the image (Para [0356]-[0357] teaches resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar); reconstructing the image by decoding the bitstream (Para0379] teaches it is indicated in the bitstream whether sample locations outside a picture boundary are handled in inter-layer resampling, Para [0444] teaches a decoder may decode the mapping from reference layer location offsets parsed from the bitstream, decoding the inter-layer predicted bitstream); and performing the image resizing for the reconstructed image based on the image resizing information (Fig. 10, illustrates enhancement layer 1030 having larger size than upsampled base layer 1010 and base layer 1020), wherein the image resizing information comprises offset factors for each direction of the reconstructed image (para[0332] teaches scaled reference layer offsets may be considered to specify the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the top-left luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer and the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the bottom-right luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer & Fig. 10, enhancement layer 1030 being extended above, left, right, and below base layer by an offset scaling value. para[0394] teaches a decoder may decode scaled reference layer offset values instead of or in addition to reference region offset values, whereby the values indicate that an enhancement layer picture corresponds to a region in the reference-layer picture that crosses the picture boundary to the opposite side of the reference-layer picture).
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image. However Hannuksela II discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image (para[0288]- [0289] teaches Yaw rotates around the one coordinate axis (e.g. Y-axis), Yaw may be defined to be in the range of 0, inclusive, to 360 exclusive; para[0358] teaches decode the video bitstream or at least the part of the bitstream representing the viewport or the spatial region based on the at least one value indicative of the quality of the viewport or the spatial region). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, rotating the residual data of the residual block where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region of Hannuksela with the method involves including in a manifest information of an available media content. A viewport or a spatial region is indicated in the manifest. The viewport is a portion of a 360-degree video of Hannuksela II in order to provide a system in which inter-view prediction can be utilized in multiview video coding to take advantage of inter-view correlation and improve compression efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the image resizing is performed further considering scaling factors for both a lateral direction and a longitudinal direction, and the scaling factor for the lateral direction and the scaling factor for the longitudinal direction are obtained independently from each other (Para[0363] teaches The variables ScaledRefRegionWidthInSamplesY and ScaledRefRegionHeightInSamplesY may be set to the width and height, respectively, of the reference region within the current picture. The horizontal and vertical scale factors for the luma sample array may then be derived as the ratio of ScaledRefRegionWidthInSamplesY to the reference region width (in the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction, here denoted ScaledRefRegionWidthInSamplesY) and the ratio of ScaledRefRegionHeightInSamplesY to the reference region height (in the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction), respectively).
Regarding claim 3, Hannuksela discloses 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the image resizing is performed based on a resizing value, and the resizing value is obtained based on the offset factor included in the image resizing information and a decoding setting (para[0364] teaches the reference layer sample location corresponding to or collocating with (xP, yP) may be derived for a luma sample array on the basis of reference layer location offsets for example using the following process, process generates a sample location (xRef16, yRef16) specifying the reference layer sample location in units of 1/16-th sample relative to the top-left sample of the luma component. xRef16 is set equal to (((xP−ScaledRefLayerLeftOffset)*ScaleFactorHor+addHor+(1<<11))>>12)+refOffsetLeft, where addHor is set on the basis of horizontal phase offset for luma and refOffSetLeft is the left offset of the reference region in units of 1/16-th sample relative to the top-left sample of the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction. yRef16 is set equal to (((yP−ScaledRefLayerTopOffset)*ScaleFactorVer+addVer+(1<<11))>>12)+refOffsetTop, where addVer is set on the basis of vertical phase offset for luma and refOffSetTop is the top offset of the reference region in units of 1/16-th sample relative to the top-left sample of the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction).
Regarding claim 5, Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the image resizing for a chroma component is performed based on the image resizing for a luma component (Para[0306] teaches inter-component prediction takes place from the luma component (or sample array) to the chroma components (or sample arrays). Para [0327] an inter-layer resampling process for obtaining a resampled chroma sample value may be specified identically or similarly to the above-described process for a luma sample value, Para[0363] –[0364] For a particular direct reference layer with nuh_layer_id equal to rLId, the variables ScaledRefLayerLeftOffset, ScaledRefLayerTopOffset, ScaledRefLayerRightOffset and ScaledRefLayerBottomOffset may be set equal to scaled_ref_layer_left_offset[rLId], scaled_ref_layer_top_offset[rLId], scaled_ref_layer_right_offset[rLId] and scaled_ref_layer_bottom_offset[rLId], respectively, scaled (when needed) to be represented in units of luma samples of the current picture. The scale factors for chroma sample arrays may be derived similarly).
Regarding claim 6, Hannuksela discloses method for processing an image Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining the image (para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches a method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture); encoding the image into a bitstream (Para[0311] teaches inter-layer prediction may for example depend on the coding profile according to which the bitstream or a particular layer within the bitstream is being encoded); encoding image resizing enablement information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image into the bitstream (Para [0356]-[0357] teaches resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar); and encoding image resizing information for the image into the bitstream based on the image resizing enablement information indicating to perform the image resizing for the image (Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction. For example, the encoder may include one or more of the following indications, or similar, into the bitstream); wherein the image resizing information is used for performing image resizing for the image when being reconstructed, wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each direction of the image (Para[0318] teaches the encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair. resampling may be pre-defined for example in a coding standard and/or indicated by the encoder in the bitstream (e.g. as an index among pre-defined resampling processes or filters) and/or decoded by the decoder from the bitstream)
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image. However Hannuksela II discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image (para[0288]- [0289] teaches Yaw rotates around the one coordinate axis (e.g. Y-axis), Yaw may be defined to be in the range of 0, inclusive, to 360 exclusive; para[0358] teaches decode the video bitstream or at least the part of the bitstream representing the viewport or the spatial region based on the at least one value indicative of the quality of the viewport or the spatial region). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, rotating the residual data of the residual block where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region of Hannuksela with the method involves including in a manifest information of an available media content. A viewport or a spatial region is indicated in the manifest. The viewport is a portion of a 360-degree video of Hannuksela II in order to provide a system in which inter-view prediction can be utilized in multiview video coding to take advantage of inter-view correlation and improve compression efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Hannuksela discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream (Para[0280] teaches portions of the bitstream to be transmitted to the receiver Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream), the method comprising: obtaining an image (Para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches a method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture); encoding the image into a bitstream Para[0311] teaches inter-layer prediction may for example depend on the coding profile according to which the bitstream or a particular layer within the bitstream is being encoded ); encoding image resizing enablement information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image into the bitstream; encoding image resizing information for the image into the bitstream based on the image resizing enablement information indicating to perform the image resizing for the image (Para [0356]-[0357] teaches resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar); Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction. For example, the encoder may include one or more of the following indications, or similar, into the bitstream); and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the image resizing information is used for performing image resizing for the image when being reconstructed (Para[0318] teaches the encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair. resampling may be pre-defined for example in a coding standard and/or indicated by the encoder in the bitstream (e.g. as an index among pre-defined resampling processes or filters) and/or decoded by the decoder from the bitstream), wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each direction of the image (para[0332] teaches scaled reference layer offsets may be considered to specify the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the top-left luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer and the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the bottom-right luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer & Fig. 10, para[0394] teaches a decoder may decode scaled reference layer offset values instead of or in addition to reference region offset values, whereby the values indicate that an enhancement layer picture corresponds to a region in the reference-layer picture that crosses the picture boundary to the opposite side of the reference-layer picture).
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image. However Hannuksela II discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image (para[0288]- [0289] teaches Yaw rotates around the one coordinate axis (e.g. Y-axis), Yaw may be defined to be in the range of 0, inclusive, to 360 exclusive; para[0358] teaches decode the video bitstream or at least the part of the bitstream representing the viewport or the spatial region based on the at least one value indicative of the quality of the viewport or the spatial region.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, rotating the residual data of the residual block where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region of Hannuksela with the method involves including in a manifest information of an available media content. A viewport or a spatial region is indicated in the manifest. The viewport is a portion of a 360-degree video of Hannuksela II in order to provide a system in which inter-view prediction can be utilized in multiview video coding to take advantage of inter-view correlation and improve compression efficiency.
16. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0347026 A1) (hereinafter Hannuksela II) and Yamamoto et al. (US 2017/0034532 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hannuksela in view of Hannuksela II discloses the method of claim 3, Hannuksela in view of Hannuksela II does not explicitly disclose wherein the resizing value is calculated as equal to the offset factor multiplied by 2 according to a decoding setting. However Yamamoto discloses wherein the resizing value is calculated as equal to the offset factor multiplied by 2 according to a decoding setting (Para[0273] teaches a value obtained by multiplying a syntax value of the corresponding reference region offset information by 2 is set as a reference region offset). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, rotating the residual data of the residual block where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region and orientation of a viewport is indicated in a manifest and/or parsed from a manifest of Hannuksela in view of Hannuksela II with the method of expansion reference layer offset syntax related with reference layer, reference layer offset syntax, and phase offset syntax between layers are used of Yamamoto in order to provide a system with hierarchy image decoding which decodes the coding data encoded hierarchically.
Conclusion
17. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425