DETAILED ACTION
Continuation Data
This application is a Continuation in Part of application 17/873,693, filed July 26, 2022, which claims priority to Provisional application 63/225,719, filed July 26, 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boozer et al (2014/0136996), hereinafter Boozer in view of Rasheed (2018/0053021) and in further view of Abarbanel (2014/0180845).
With respect to claims 1, 16, and 20, Boozer discloses a deceased person information system (figure 1) comprising: a database for storing information related to a deceased person (see paragraphs 0009, 0078, and 0086); a QR generating unit (paragraph 0126); a QR code generated by a QR generation unit (paragraph 0126); a website server comprising a website generation module configured to generate a customizable website related to the deceased person (figure 32, paragraphs 0075 and 0126), wherein the QR generation unit is coupled to the website server (paragraph 0126); and a computing device having an imaging device for scanning the QR code and connecting a user to the customizable website of the website server (paragraph 0126); wherein the website having the database of the stored information of the deceased person (paragraphs 0075 and 0126).
With respect to claim 2, Boozer teaches in paragraph 0126, the imaging device having a camera for scanning the QR code.
With respect to claim 3, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0071, 0072, and 0075, a wireless network for connecting the computing device with the website server.
With respect to claim 4, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0009, 0089, and 0126, wherein the stored information is selected from a group consisting of an obituary, a social media compilation, an audio recording, a video recording, an image, a photo, a picture, a life summary, and a life history.
With respect to claim 5, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0075-0077, wherein the website server is selected from a group consisting of a central database, a cloud database, and a distributed database.
With respect to claim 6, Boozer teaches in paragraph 0126, having a website generation module configured to generate and provide a customized website for displaying the stored information about the deceased person.
With respect to claim 7, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0075 and 0126, the website server includes a redirected URL for directing the scanned QR code to the stored information.
With respect to claim 8, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0009, 0011, and 0111, a login authentication module for logging in an approved member to the website server for updating and editing the stored information.
With respect to claim 9, Boozer teaches in paragraph 0125, a subscription service for accessing the website server.
With respect to claim 10, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0009, 0011, 0111, and 0125, wherein the subscription service for accessing the login authentication module.
With respect to claim 11, Boozer teaches in paragraph 0125, wherein the subscription service has a payment module for processing payments of the user (monthly or yearly).
With respect to claim 12, Boozer teaches in paragraph 0125, wherein the subscription service having an initial cost and a periodic fee.
With respect to claims 13 and 20, Boozer teaches in paragraph 0126, wherein the QR code mounted to a headstone, a gravestone, a memorial site, or an urn.
With respect to claim 14, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0009-0010, 0089, and 0126, wherein the social media compilation having a link to a social media account.
With respect to claim 15, Boozer teaches in paragraphs 0009, 0089, and 0119, wherein the audio recording includes voice recordings of the deceased person.
With further respect to claims 16-18, Boozer teaches in paragraph 0073, the dual-state behavior including prompting a user to create a memorial account (paragraphs 0009, 0073, and 0077) or directing a user to a publicly viewable memorial page. Paragraph 00126 discloses directing a user to a publicly viewable memorial page.
With respect to claim 19, Boozer illustrates in figure 1, including a wireless network for connecting the computing device with the website server.
Boozer’s teachings above fail to specifically teach the printed code comprising a scratch resistant code, evaluating the stored information for obscene material, and including an AI-based content filtration engine.
With respect to claims 1 and 20, Rasheed teaches in paragraph 0038, the QR code comprising a scratch resistant code (printed on materials including materials which are able to withstand degradation and weathering, specifically stainless steel, which is scratch resistant). Rasheed further teaches in paragraph 0096, evaluating stored information for obscene material (restrict access to sensitive and personal information). Paragraphs 0011 and 0019-0020, including an augmented reality engine for content filtration (augmented reality is a form of AI).
In view of Rasheed’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the QR code taught by Boozer, be scratch resistant as is disclosed by Rasheed. One would be motivated to have a scratch resistant QR code, in order to preserve the integrality of the printed QR code. One would further be motivated to include an AI content filtration in order to indicate which content is best to make available to share.
Boozer’s teachings in combination with the teachings of Rasheed are discussed above. The combination however fails to specifically teach the website comprising video, image, social media link, and voice recording icons and also fails to teach the website being configured to create a slide show from the stored information tailored to the deceased.
With respect to claims 1 and 20, Abarbanel discloses in paragraphs 0019 and 0024 a website which comprises video, image, social media link, and a voice recording icons (website includes a graphical interface for presenting a pet memorial, wherein the website includes digital media content including text, images, and slide show) – paragraph 0109. Paragraph 0088 discloses including social media and paragraphs 0096-0098 disclose a sharing option, which is considered a social media link icon.
wherein the QR code comprises a laser printed, scratch resistant code and a digital code; wherein the website having the database of the stored information of the deceased person; wherein the website comprises a video icon, an image icon, at least one social media link icon, and a voice recording icon; wherein the website is further configured to create a slide show from the stored information tailored to the deceased; and further wherein the website is further configured to evaluate the stored information for obscene material.
In view of Abarbanel’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the website taught by Boozer, comprise various icons for accessing video, images, social media links, voice recordings, and slide shows as is taught by Abarbanel. One would be motivated to include these icons in order to easily access various information from the remembrance system.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See attached PTO form 892, Refence Cited.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [allyson.trail@uspto.gov].
/ALLYSON N TRAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
March 5, 2026