DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
This application (19/317,919)
Parent Patent (US 12,452,409)
[8] A method of video decoding, the method comprising
[10] A method of video decoding, the method comprising
decoding, from a data stream, a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message associated with a sequence of pictures
decoding a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message from a data stream,
determining that the SEI message indicates that
the SEI message indicating that
encoding of all RASL pictures within the sequence of pictures
coding of all random access skipped leading (RASL) pictures within a sequence of pictures is
was constrained by excluding at least one coding tool
constrained in a manner excluding a predetermined set of one or more coding tools
a sequence of pictures including at least one random access skipped leading (RASL) picture and a clean random access (CRA) picture associated with the at least one RASL picture
the sequence of pictures comprising at least one random access skipped leading (RASL) picture and a clean random access (CRA) picture associated with the at least one RASL picture.
decoding the at least one RASL picture
video decoding… of all random access skipped leading (RASL) pictures
without using the at least one coding tools
excluding a predetermined set of one or more coding tools
[9] coding tool comprises: a cross-component linear-model based prediction tool.
[10] the predetermined set comprising a cross-component linear-model based prediction tool, and,
[10] cross-component linear-model based prediction tool is for predicting a chroma component of a picture block from a luma component of the picture block using a linear model with parameters based on luma and chroma values of a previously decoded blocks neighbouring the picture block.
[inherent: this is the definition of cross-component linear-model]
[11] the at least one coding tool comprises: a decoder-side motion vector refinement tool
[10] the predetermined set comprising … a decoder-side motion vector refinement tool
[12] the decoder-side motion vector refinement tool modifies a signaled motion vector using at least one motion vector candidate selected from a plurality of motion vector candidates associated with previously decoded blocks neighbouring a picture block, wherein the signaled motion vector is coded in the data stream for inter-predicting a inter-predicted block from a reference picture.
[inherent: this is the definition of decoder-side motion vector refinement]
[13] determining that the SEI message further indicates that coding of the at least one RASL picture is constrained so that no collocated reference picture used for temporal motion vector prediction (TMVP) or subblock temporal motion vector prediction (sbTMVP) of a motion vector of the at least one RASL picture precedes the CRA picture associated with the RASL picture in decoding order.
[11] wherein the SEI message further indicates that coding of the at least one RASL picture is constrained so that no collocated reference picture used for temporal motion vector prediction (TMVP) or subblock temporal motion vector prediction (sbTMVP) of a motion vector of the at least one RASL picture precedes the CRA picture associated with the RASL picture in decoding order.
[14] resampling a reference picture of an inter-predicted block to bridge a (i) sample resolution deviation between the reference picture and a current picture in which the inter- predicted block is contained or (ii) scaling window size deviation; and generating an inter-prediction signal for the inter-predicted block based on the resampled reference picture.
[12] performing reference picture resampling, wherein, according to the reference picture resampling, a reference picture of an inter-predicted block is resampled so as to bridge a scaling window size deviation or sample resolution deviation between the reference picture and a picture in which the inter-predicted block is contained to provide an inter-prediction signal for the inter-predicted block.
Claims 1-5, 8-12, 15-17, 20-22, 25-27, 30-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,452,409. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because there is no significant change in the language to indicate a change in scope.
Claims 6, 13, 18, 23, 28, 33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,452,409. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because there is no significant change in the language to indicate a change in scope.
Claims 7, 14, 19, 24, 29, 34 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,452,409. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because there is no significant change in the language to indicate a change in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14-15, 17, 19-20, 22, 24-25, 27, 29-30, 32, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0060692) in view of Skupin (US PG Publication 2019/0014363).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0060692) discloses a decoder for video decoding (video decoder apparatus [0022]), the decoder comprising at least one processor (computer software, firmware, or hardware [0732]), the at least one processor configured (non-transitory memory with instructions thereon, wherein the instructions upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to implement the method [0612]) to:
decode, from a data stream (a bitstream to be decoded [0110]), a [] information message (e.g., parameter set [0073]-[0080], Table 1, Table 2) associated with a sequence of pictures (sequence parameter set, Table 1) including at least one random access skipped leading picture (RASL picture [0052]) and a clean random access picture (CRA picture [0052]) associated with the at least one RASL picture (CRA pictures with associated RASL pictures [0052]);
determine that … encoding of all RASL pictures (decode RASL pictures with resampled reference pictures [0103]; if the reference picture has a different resolution than the current picture [0487] – [0520]) within the sequence of pictures (Segments starting with a CRA picture contain RASL pictures for which at least one reference picture is in the previous Segment … open GOP) was constrained by excluding at least one coding tool (coding tool X is disabled [0487]);
and decode the at least one RASL picture (decoding process for RASL pictures [0028]) without using the at least one coding tools (coding tool X is disabled [0487]).
Zhang does not disclose, but Skupin (US PG Publication 2019/0014363) teaches
supplemental enhancement information message (supplemental enhancement information [0076]);
the SEI message indicates (information may be conveyed from server to client [0073]; SEI allows providing information [0076]) that encoding of all RASL pictures (RASL [0076]) within the sequence of pictures (video stream [0076]) was constrained (maximum distance [0076]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to use the SEI message of Skupin to convey information in the bitstream of Zhang because supplemental enhancement information is a known video coding metadata structure and does not interfere with the coding of pixel data, and Skupin suggests that using SEI to inform resolution switching in streaming services improves the adaptive streaming experience for the user [0004], improving quality of experience.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0060692) discloses the decoder of Claim 1, wherein the at least one coding tool comprises:
a decoder-side motion vector refinement tool (DMVR [0506]).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0060692) discloses the decoder of Claim 4, wherein:
the decoder-side motion vector refinement tool modifies a signaled motion vector using at least one motion vector candidate selected from a plurality of motion vector candidates associated with previously decoded blocks neighbouring a picture block, wherein the signaled motion vector is coded in the data stream for inter-predicting a inter-predicted block from a reference picture (DMVR [0506]; DMVR is a term of art and has a standard definition).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0060692) discloses the decoder of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
resample a reference picture (resampling a reference picture [0056]) of an inter-predicted block (reference pictures are re-scaled and inter prediction is applied [0065]) to bridge (warping parameters and resampling algorithm [0056]) a (i) sample resolution deviation between the reference picture and a current picture (having a different source format than the picture being predicted [0056]) in which the inter-predicted block is contained (reference pictures are re-scaled and inter prediction is applied [0065]) or (ii) scaling window size deviation;
and generate an inter-prediction signal for the inter-predicted block (inter predictor, motion compensation, Fig. 12) based on the resampled reference picture (resampled from decoded picture buffer, Fig. 12).
Regarding Claim 8, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in 4.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0060692) discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions (computer software, firmware, or hardware [0732]). The remainder of the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 20, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 24, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 25, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 27, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 29, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 30, Zhang (US PG Publication 2022/0060692) discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions (computer software, firmware, or hardware [0732]). The remainder of the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 32, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 34, the claim is rejected on the grounds provided in Claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
JVET-N0279 – Adaptive resolution change
WO 2023052141 A1 – disabling sub block tmvp
/SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485