Double Patenting
Claims 1-23, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over issued claim of U.S. Patent No. 12434898. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because from a basic review the parent issued claims define all of the current claim structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-10,15-20,25-28,30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hall (USPN 8,763,886).
With respect to claim 2, Hall shows a thermal insulation article (fig. 1) for placement in a shipping container (20) to hold an item, comprising: a flexible thermally insulating pad (10) shaped to be positioned in a cavity of a rectangular prism shipping container (20) to be adjacent to and cover from two to five out of a floor, four side walls and cover of the container while leaving an interior space to receive the item, wherein the thermally insulating pad comprises: a flexible panel (52) that holds together as a single unit and is formed primarily of paper fiber; and a flexible film (160) secured to the panel along at least a portion of opposite surfaces of the panel (52), wherein the thermal insulating pad is recyclable (paper base column 4 line 32).
With respect to claim 3, Hall shows wherein the flexible film (160) comprises a first paper sheet (176) and a second paper sheet (174) that sandwich and are directly secured to the flexible panel (52). (see figs. 6-9)
With respect to claim 4, Hall shows wherein the first paper sheet (176) is positioned on an opposite external surface of the flexible panel (52) than the second paper sheet (174).
With respect to claim 5, Hall shows wherein the flexible panel (52) is formed of a material sufficiently soft to be manually folded. (paper based, shown as corrugated cardboard in fig. 1, but can be other materials see column 4 paragraphs 2-5)
With respect to claim 6, Hall shows wherein the flexible panel (52) is formed primarily of plant fiber (cellulose fiber disclosed column 4 line 26).
With respect to claim 7, Hall shows wherein the plant fiber comprises fibers from wood (paper is made from wood).
With respect to claim 8, Hall shows wherein the flexible panel (52) has a thickness between about inch and about 1 inch. ( 0.2 - 2 inches column 10 line 55)
With respect to claim 9, Hall shows wherein the flexible film (160) comprises paper (column 4 line 10).
With respect to claim 10, Hall shows wherein the flexible film (160) comprises a water- resistant or water-proof coating (plastic or foil, paragraph 4 line 13) on a surface facing the flexible panel (52).
With respect to claim 15, Hall shows a thermal insulation article (fig. 1) for placement in a shipping container (20) to hold an item, comprising: a flexible thermally insulating pad (10) shaped to be positioned in a cavity of a rectangular prism shipping container (20) to be adjacent to and cover from two to five out of a floor, a plurality of side walls and cover of the container while leaving an interior space to receive the item, wherein the thermally insulating pad comprises: a flexible panel (52) that holds together as a single unit and is formed primarily of paper fiber (paper based col 4 line 10) ; and a flexible paper film (160, column 4 line 13 discloses paper) forming a pocket (fig. 8) enclosing the flexible panel (52) and providing both an interior surface of the pad to face the interior space and an exterior surface of the pad to face the respective floor (see fig.1 ), the plurality of side walls, or the cover, wherein the thermal insulating pad is recyclable (column 4 line 29).
With respect to claim 16, Hall shows wherein the flexible paper film (160) comprises a first paper sheet (176) and a second paper sheet (174) that sandwich and are directly secured to the flexible panel (52).
With respect to claim 17, Hall shows wherein the flexible paper film comprises a first paper sheet (176) and a second paper sheet (174), and wherein one or more edges of the first paper sheet (176) and one or more edges of the second paper sheet (174) are sealed together. (fig. 8)
With respect to claim 18, Hall shows wherein the flexible panel (52) has a thickness between about .25 inch and about 1 inch. ( 0.2 - 2 inches column 10 line 55)
With respect to claim 19, Hall shows wherein the flexible paper film (160) comprises a water-resistant or water-proof coating(foil and plastic disclosed column 4 line 13) on a surface facing the flexible panel (52).
With respect to claim 20, Hall shows wherein the flexible panel (52) sits loose inside the pocket such that the flexible panel (52) can slide inside the pocket relative to the flexible paper film (160) (fig. 8 show panel being slid into pocket).
With respect to claim 25, Hall shows a thermal insulation article (fig. 1) for placement in a shipping container (20) to hold an item, comprising: a flexible thermally insulating pad (10) shaped to be positioned in a cavity of a rectangular prism shipping container (20) while leaving an interior space to receive the item, wherein the thermally insulating pad comprises: a flexible panel (52) that holds together as a single unit and is formed primarily of organic fiber (cellulose fiber column 4 line 26); and a flexible paper film (160) positioned on the panel along at least a portion of opposite surfaces of the panel, wherein the thermal insulating pad is recyclable (column 4 line 29).
With respect to claim 26, Hall shows wherein the flexible paper film (160) comprises a first paper sheet (176) and a second paper sheet (174) that sandwich and are directly secured to the flexible panel (52).
With respect to claim 27, Hall shows wherein the flexible paper film comprises a first paper sheet (176) and a second paper sheet (174), and wherein one or more edges of the first paper sheet (176) and one or more edges of the second paper sheet (174) are sealed together thereby enclosing the flexible panel (52) in a pocket. (fig. 8 shows pocket being filled by the panel sliding into a sealed pocket)
With respect to claim 28, Hall shows wherein the flexible panel (52) sits loose inside the pocket such that the flexible panel (52) can slide inside the pocket relative to the flexible paper film (160) (see again fig. 8).
With respect to claim 30, Hall shows wherein the flexible paper film (160) comprises a water-resistant or water-proof coating (plastic or foil column 4 line 13) on a surface of the flexible paper film facing the flexible panel (52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12,21-23,29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall.
Hall discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Hall shows voids in the corrugated panel (50) in (fig. 1), but it cannot be compared or determined how much they occupy.
However Hall does not disclose claim 11,21,, wherein the flexible panel (52) comprises pores or voids that occupy 50% to 75% of the volume of the flexible panel (52),claim 12,22, wherein the flexible panel (52) comprises pores or voids that occupy 25% to 50% of the volume of the flexible panel (52), claims 13,23,29, wherein the flexible panel (52) comprises pores or voids that occupy 25% to 75% of the volume of the flexible panel (52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to choose the amount of voids to occupy, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Denser less voids would be trougher and more impact resistant for heavier content and vis versa.
Claims 14,24 and 31, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall.
Hall discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
However Hall does not disclose wherein the
Youngs modulus is a stress strain measurement and Hall is silent on this claimed property and applicant has not defined that this property is critical or novel in the specific ion. It is the office’s view that this claimed property is interpreted as inherent to the many disclosed materials of Hall. See MPEP 2112.01 copied below.
Conclusion
/SHAWN M BRADEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736