DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “stiffeners forming an extension of the stator vanes” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “stiffeners integral to the shroud or integrated into the shroud being disposed on a radially outer side of the shroud, the stiffeners forming an extension of the stator vanes in the radial direction or a contour of the stiffeners on the outer side of the shroud lies within an outer contour formed by a band around a projection of contours of the stator vane at a radially inner side onto the outer side of the shroud, a width of the band in the circumferential direction around the projection being no more than 20% of the thickness of the projection in the circumferential direction”. It appears that “stiffeners integral” is grouped with “the stiffeners forming an extension of the stator vanes” and the latter two limitations after the two instances of “or” are grouped together. However, this is not totally clear. This leads to issues when certain parts of the claim are selected. For example, “the stiffeners on the outer side of the shroud” lacks antecedent basis if the claim is read as only having “stiffeners integral to the shroud”. The grouping of optional limitations must be made clear.
Claim 12 recites “preferably”, and it is thus unclear what is required by the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freeman et al. (US2015/0016972).
Regarding claim 1, Freeman teaches a stator vane segment for a gas turbine, in particular an aircraft engine, comprising: a plurality of stator vanes (22); a radially outer shroud (26) connecting the plurality of stator vanes; stiffeners (201) integral to the shroud or integrated into the shroud being disposed on a radially outer side of the shroud, the stiffeners forming an extension of the stator vanes in the radial direction (the stiffeners are integrated with vane extensions) or a contour of the stiffeners on the outer side of the shroud lies within an outer contour formed by a band around a projection of contours of the stator vane at a radially inner side onto the outer side of the shroud a width of the band in the circumferential direction around the projection being no more than 20% of the thickness of the projection in the circumferential direction (the “or” makes the latter limitation interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 2, Freeman teaches the stiffeners are spaced apart in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 3, Freeman teaches the stiffeners are configured as ribs or beads.
Regarding claim 4, Freeman teaches a connector connecting two adjacent stiffeners is disposed between the two adjacent stiffeners and formed on the radially outer side of the shroud integral to the shroud or integrated into the shroud (the stiffeners are connected by the shroud sidewalls).
Regarding claim 5, Freeman teaches the stiffeners and the connectors form a common stiffening structure on the shroud, in particular in that all stiffeners and all connectors form a single common stiffening structure on the shroud (the stiffeners and connectors are all interconnected, see Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Freeman teaches all of the stiffeners and all of the connectors form a common stiffening structure on the shroud (see Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Freeman teaches the stiffeners have a lateral concavity (202) at least along a portion of a longitudinal extent.
Regarding claim 8, Freeman teaches the concavity forms an undercut (202).
Regarding claim 10, Freeman teaches the shroud has a forward, radially outwardly projecting connector structure (the leading edge outer shroud wall) in the region of a leading edge of the stator vanes, and at least one of the stiffeners begins in an axial direction at or aft of the connector structure in an axially forward region of the shroud between 0% and 50% of the axial extent of the shroud (the stiffeners begin at the leading edge shroud wall).
Regarding claim 11, Freeman teaches the shroud has a rearward, radially outwardly projecting connector structure (the trailing edge outer shroud wall) in the region of a trailing edge of the stator vanes, and the stiffeners end at or on the rearward connector structure (the stiffeners end at the trailing edge shroud wall).
Regarding claim 12, Freeman teaches the shroud has a forward, radially outwardly projecting connector structure in the region of a leading edge of the stator vanes (see rejection of claim 10), the shroud has a rearward, radially outwardly projecting connector structure in the region of a trailing edge of the stator vanes (see rejection of claim 11), and a groove (202) having a maximum radial groove depth is formed between the forward connector structure and the rearward connector structure, and wherein a maximum height of the stiffeners in the groove as measured from a groove base is no more than 100%, in particular no more than 50%, preferably 40% of the radial groove depth (the stiffeners appear flush with the connector structure).
Regarding claim 15, Freeman teaches a compressor (11) for an aircraft engine comprising the stator vane segment as recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Freeman teaches an aircraft engine (10) comprising a stator vane segment the stator vane segment as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman.
Regarding claim 9, Freeman teaches the stator vane segment as recited in claim 1 but fails to teach the stiffeners are conical in shape in the radial direction, or the stiffeners have a T-shaped cross section perpendicular to the axial direction.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having the stiffeners conical in shape or T-shaped solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that the stiffeners modulate vibration and it appears that the stiffeners of Freeman would perform equally well with a shape as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the stator vane segment of Freeman by utilizing the conical or T shape as claimed for the purpose of modulating vibration.
Regarding claims 13-14, Freeman teaches stator vane segment as recited in claim 1 wherein the shroud has a forward, radially outwardly projecting connector structure in the region of a leading edge of the stator vanes (see rejection of claim 10), the shroud has a rearward, radially outwardly projecting connector structure in the region of a trailing edge of the stator vanes (see rejection of claim 11), and a groove (202) having a maximum radial groove depth is formed between the forward connector structure and the rearward connector structure, but fails to teach a maximum height of the stiffeners in the groove as measured from a groove base is no more than 40% of the radial groove depth, or no more than 50% of the radial groove depth.
Since applicant has not disclosed that having a maximum height of the stiffeners in the groove as measured from a groove base is no more than 40% of the radial groove depth, or no more than 50% of the radial groove depth solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that the stiffeners modulate vibration and it appears that the stiffeners of Freeman would perform equally well with a height as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the stator vane segment of Freeman by utilizing the stiffener height as claimed for the purpose of modulating vibration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US references 20240254886, 11725518, 11225875, 10914180, 10876416, 9103218, 2013/0189108, 2012/0107123, 10428668, 3365173, 3319930 and 4832568 teach turbine airfoils with outer platform stiffener structure.
/CAMERON A CORDAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745