DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Applicant had claimed priory to a foreign application, however, no certify copy of the foreign application had been filed on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Pub. No.: US 2025/0388200 A1) in view of Luomaranta et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0075315 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake apparatus for a vehicle comprising:
a vehicle electro-mechanical brake provided on a wheel of a vehicle (e.g., electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) provided to the vehicle’s wheels (par. 27 and Figure 1));
a vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller configured to control the vehicle electro-mechanical brake (e.g., wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) configures to control the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) of the vehicle’s wheels (par. 26-27 and Figure 1)); and
a controller including a communication circuit, connected to the vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller through the communication circuit (e.g., central controller 120 connected to the wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) (par. 25 and Figure 1) via transceivers / communication lines (151 and 152) (par. 36 and Figures 1 ) ), and configured to transmit a first control signal for controlling the vehicle electro-mechanical brake to the vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) ).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose the controller is configured to be connectable to a trailer electro-mechanical brake controller configured to control a trailer electro-mechanical brake provided on a wheel of a trailer coupled to the vehicle through the communication circuit, and the controller is configured to transmit a second control signal for controlling the trailer electro-mechanical brake to the trailer electro-mechanical brake controller.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking system comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 – via actuator (par. 12) based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller device, in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer (par. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake apparatus wherein the controller is configured to transmit the first control signal to the vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller based on an output signal of a pedal displacement sensor associated with a brake pedal of the vehicle (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) based on braking request signal detected by pedal sensor 110 (par. 23) ).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose the controller is configured to transmit the second control signal to the trailer electro-mechanical brake controller based on an output signal of a pedal displacement sensor associated with a brake pedal of the vehicle.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking system comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4) – for instance, based on braking request signal detected by pedal sensor 110 (Kim’s par. 23) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller based on transmitted request signal from the vehicle central control unit / electronic brake system – for instance, based braking request signal detected by the vehicle pedal sensor , in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer(par. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to transmit the first control signal to the vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller based on slip of the wheel of the vehicle (e.g., ., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) based on wheel slip state (par. 33) ).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose the controller is configured to transmit the second control signal to the trailer electro-mechanical brake controller based on slip of the wheel of the vehicle.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking system comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4) – for instance, based on wheel slip state (Kim’s par. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller based on transmitted request signal from the vehicle central control unit / electronic brake system – for instance, based wheel slip state (Kim’s par. 33), in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer(par. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to identify the slip of the wheel of the vehicle based on an output signal of a wheel speed sensor associated with the wheel of the vehicle (e.g., e.g., the central controller 120 configured to perform wheel slip control of a vehicle using the vehicle speed estimated from the wheel speed information (par. 33) detected via wheel speed sensor(s) (par. 22)).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake apparatus, wherein: the first control signal includes a signal for controlling the vehicle electro-mechanical brake to be re-clamped a first predetermined number of times (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) based on wheel slip state (par. 33), which covers re-clamping the mechanical brake a predetermined number of time as the brake is controlled during wheel slip state).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose the second control signal includes a signal for controlling the trailer electro-mechanical brake to be re-clamped a second predetermined number of times.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking system comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4) and demand of a slip control (par. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller based on transmitted request signal from the vehicle central control unit / electronic brake system – for instance, based wheel slip state (Kim’s par. 33) / slip control , in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer(par. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake method for a vehicle, the method comprising:
by a controller (e.g., a central controller 120), transmitting a first control signal for controlling a vehicle electro-mechanical brake, provided on a wheel of the vehicle, to a vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller configured to control the vehicle electro-mechanical brake (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) ).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose communicationally connecting the controller of a vehicle and a trailer electro-mechanical brake controller configured to control a trailer electro-mechanical brake provided on a wheel of a trailer coupled to the vehicle; and transmitting a second control signal for controlling the trailer electro-mechanical brake to the trailer electro-mechanical brake controller.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking method comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 – via actuator (par. 12) based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller device, in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer (par. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake method, wherein the transmitting of the first control signal comprises transmitting the first control signal for controlling the vehicle electro-mechanical brake to the vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller based on an output signal of a pedal displacement sensor associated with a brake pedal of the vehicle (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) based on braking request signal detected by pedal sensor 110 (par. 23) ).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose wherein the transmitting of the second control signal comprise transmitting the second control signal for controlling the trailer brake to the trailer electro-mechanical brake controller based on an output signal of a pedal displacement sensor associated with a brake pedal of the vehicle.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking system comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4) – for instance, based on braking request signal detected by pedal sensor 110 (Kim’s par. 23) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller based on transmitted request signal from the vehicle central control unit / electronic brake system – for instance, based braking request signal detected by the vehicle pedal sensor , in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer(par. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake method, wherein the transmitting of the first control signal comprises transmitting the first control signal for controlling the vehicle electro-mechanical brake to the vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller based on slip of the wheel of the vehicle (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) based on wheel slip state (par. 33) ).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose wherein the transmitting of the second control signal comprises transmitting the second control signal for controlling the trailer electro-mechanical brake to the trailer electro-mechanical brake controller based on slip of the wheel of the vehicle.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking system comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4) – for instance, based on wheel slip state (Kim’s par. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller based on transmitted request signal from the vehicle central control unit / electronic brake system – for instance, based wheel slip state (Kim’s par. 33), in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer(par. 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake method, further comprising, by the controller, identifying the slip of the wheel of the vehicle based on an output signal of a wheel speed sensor associated with the wheel of the vehicle (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to perform wheel slip control of a vehicle using the vehicle speed estimated from the wheel speed information (par. 33) detected via wheel speed sensor(s) (par. 22)).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses an electronic mechanical brake method, wherein: the first control signal includes a signal for controlling the vehicle electro-mechanical brake to be re-clamped a first predetermined number of times e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (par. 25-27 and Figure 1) based on wheel slip state (par. 33), which covers re-clamping the mechanical brake a predetermined number of time as the brake is controlled during wheel slip state).
However, Kim failed to specifically disclose the second control signal includes a signal for controlling the trailer electro-mechanical brake to be re-clamped a second predetermined number of times.
However, Luomaranta et al. teach a trailer braking system comprising an electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 13 and Figure 1) and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (par. 4) and demand of a slip control (par. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the central controller taught by Kim, such that the central controller is configured to control trailer wheel brakes via a trailer brake controller based on transmitted request signal from the vehicle central control unit / electronic brake system – for instance, based wheel slip state (Kim’s par. 33) / slip control , in view of Luomaranta et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of integrating an electronic trailer brake during EBS function for improved stopping performance while a vehicle is towing a trailer(par. 1 and 3).
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (Pub. No.: US 2025/0388200 A1) in view of Luomaranta et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0075315 A1) and Sullivan et al. (US Pat. No.: 4,768,840)
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kim, as modified by Luomaranta et al., teach transmit / transmitting the first control signal to the vehicle electro-mechanical brake controller ( (e.g., the central controller 120 configured to send braking command to wheel controllers (131, 132, 133, and 134) for controlling the electronic mechanical brakes (161, 162, 163 and 164) (Kim’s par. 26-27 and Figure 1)) and the second control signal to the trailer electro-mechanical brake controller (e.g., electronic trailed brake 14 / controller device 15 connected to a vehicle’s central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 and configured to control trailer wheel brakes 17 – via actuator (par. 12) based on transmitted request signal from central control unit 16 / electronic brake system (EBS) 12 (Luomaranta et al.’s par. 13, 4 and Figure 1par. 4))
However, Kim, as modified by Luomaranta et al., failed to specifically disclose the first and second control signals are based on a total weight including the vehicle and the trailer exceeding a predetermined maximum weight.
However, Sullivan et al. teach a brake control system configured to distribute brake effort in proportion to load applied to a tractor and trailer axles – detected by a load sensor 130 - to maximize vehicle braking capability and stability (col 2, lines 9-18; col. 4, lines 60-64, col. 11, line 44 – col. 12, line 2, col. 7, lines 26-31 and Figures 3-4), which covers a total weight including the vehicle and the trailer exceeding a predetermined maximum weight.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to further modify the vehicle electronic mechanical brake apparatus as taught by the combination of Kim in view of Luomaranta et al., such that vehicle electronic mechanical brake apparatus controls the wheel brake of the vehicle and trailer for distributing brake effort in proportion to load applied to the vehicle and trailer axles in view of Sullivan et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of distributing the braking effort between the individually controllable vehicle brake sites, such as the wheels, axles, sets of axles and/or sub-vehicle brake systems to achieve balanced braking, proportional braking or a compromise thereof (col 1, lines 13-20).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kim, as modified by Luomaranta et al., failed to specifically disclose determine / determining the total weight based on output signals of at least one sensor associated with a suspension of the vehicle to obtain information on at least one of a change in the suspension of the vehicle or a load of the vehicle, and at least one sensor associated with a suspension of the trailer to obtain information on at least one of a change in the suspension of the trailer or a load of the trailer (added remarks).
However, Sullivan et al. teach a brake control system configured to distribute brake effort in proportion to load applied to a tractor and trailer axles – detected by a load sensor 130 - to maximize vehicle braking capability and stability (col 2, lines 9-18; col. 4, lines 60-64, col. 11, line 44 – col. 12, line 2, col. 7, lines 26-31 and Figures 3-4), which covers a total weight including the vehicle and the trailer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to further modify the vehicle electronic mechanical brake apparatus as taught by the combination of Kim in view of Luomaranta et al., such that vehicle electronic mechanical brake apparatus controls the wheel brake of the vehicle and trailer for distributing brake effort in proportion to load applied to the vehicle and trailer axles in view of Sullivan et al., with reasonable expectation of success, since doing so would have achieved the benefit of distributing the braking effort between the individually controllable vehicle brake sites, such as the wheels, axles, sets of axles and/or sub-vehicle brake systems to achieve balanced braking, proportional braking or a compromise thereof (col 1, lines 13-20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 2024/0409073 A1) is directed to electronic mechanical brake configured to generate a braking force corresponding to the required braking force by using an actuator.
Reid (US 8,930,114 B1) is directed to electronic anti-lock trailer braking system configured to prevent wheel slip based on wheel speed data.
/Jorge O Peche/Examiner, Art Unit 3656