DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I (i.e., claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Roll stabilizing control unit” in claim 9, paragraph [0038], and figure 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Turner et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0228028 A1; hereinafter “Turner”).
In regard to claim 1, Turner discloses: A wellbore operation (abstract, paragraphs [0001, 0007-0009, 0018-0042], and figures 1-2) comprises:
rotating a drill string (12/14) in a wellbore (17), the drill string including a rotary steerable system (i.e., comprising system as shown in figure 2) having at least three pads (44 | “[...] although only two friction pad assemblies are shown in FIG. 2, more than two friction assemblies could be incorporated into each damping module” — paragraph [0028]) configured to contact the wellbore wall to steer a direction of drilling (paragraphs [0018-0042]);
measuring a high frequency torsional oscillation (HFTO) amplitude while rotating (at least paragraphs [0032-0035]);
comparing the measured HFTO amplitude with an HFTO threshold (at least paragraphs [0032-0035]); and
simultaneously actuating the at least three pads to mitigate HFTO oscillations when the measured HFTO amplitude exceeds the HFTO threshold (at least paragraphs [0032-0035]).
In regard to claim 2, Turner further discloses: wherein the measuring, the comparing, and the simultaneously actuating is automatically implemented using a processor (33) deployed in the rotary steerable system (at least paragraphs [0032-0035]).
In regard to claim 3, Turner further discloses: wherein the measuring further comprises measuring at least one of a collar rotation speed, a collar tangential acceleration, a bit tangential acceleration, and a bit torque (at least paragraph [0023]).
In regard to claim 4, Turner further discloses: the measuring further comprises measuring an HFTO frequency; and the simultaneously actuating comprises simultaneously actuating the at least three pads to mitigate HFTO oscillations when the measured HFTO amplitude exceeds the HFTO threshold and the measured HFTO frequency is within a predetermined HFTO frequency band (paragraphs [0018-0042]).
In regard to claim 5, Turner further discloses: wherein the simultaneously actuating comprises simultaneously actuating the at least three pads for a period of time that is at least 1.5 times a fundamental stick slip period (Examiner notes that this is intrinsically true due to the fact that the actuation is done simultaneous to the detection of the stick slip period being recognized which corresponds to surpassing the HFTO threshold — paragraphs [0032-0035]).
In regard to claim 6, Turner discloses: wherein the simultaneously actuating reduces a rotation rate of the drill string while said rotating by less than 10 percent (Examiner notes that this is intrinsically true in light of the frictional drag produced — paragraphs [0032-0035]).
In regard to claim 7, Turner further discloses: wherein the simultaneously actuating comprises simultaneously actuating the at least three pads using independently controlled electronic valves (56) in the rotary steerable system (at least paragraphs [0032-0035]).
In regard to claim 8, Turner further discloses: wherein the simultaneously actuating comprises sequentially actuating the at least three pads at a time interval of less than about 0.1 seconds (at least paragraphs [0032-0035, 0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner et al. (US Publication Number 2012/0228028 A1; hereinafter “Turner”) in view of Sugiura (US Publication Number 2015/0107903 A1; hereinafter “Sugiura”).
In regard to claim 9, Turner discloses claim 1, as introduced herein.
However, Turner is silent in regard to: the rotary steerable system comprises a roll stabilized control unit; and the simultaneously actuating comprises rotating the roll stabilized control unit in a direction opposite of a direction of the drill string rotation to achieve a differential rotation rate between a rotation rate of the drill string and a rotation rate of the roll stabilized control unit that exceeds 400 rpm. Examiner notes that the claim is presented as a contingent limitation in the parent claim and is not required by under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, see MPEP 2111.04, section “II”, i.e. the step of "simultaneous actuating” is only required "when the measured HFTO amplitude exceeds the HFTO threshold”, as disclosed in the parent claim.
Nonetheless, Sugiura teaches a downhole drilling assembly comprising steering pad(s) (paragraph [0035]), similar to that of Turner. Sugiura teaches that the combination of a “roll stabilizing control unit” and steering pad(s) may be used in drilling assemblies (paragraphs [0028-0035]).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modifying the steering assembly comprising steering pad(s), as taught by Turner, to include for a “roll stabilizing control unit”, as taught by Sugiura, to allow for combining prior art elements according to known methods to “[...] control the steering direction of the directional drilling tool” (paragraph [0019] — Sugiura). See MPEP 2143, section I, subsection A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references in the PTO-892 relate to dampening drilling assemblies.
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676