DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 08/28/2026
Claims 1 and 20 have been amended and claim 6 has been cancelled
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 8 and 12-19 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Waldrip (US 6,164,473) and Waisberg (US 3,124,264). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of Waisberg (US 3,124,264).
Claim 1. Benetti discloses a bottle (fig. 1):
a reservoir formed by one or more walls, the one or more walls having a first outer circumference 2 (fig. 1);
a first opening @8 on a first end of the bottle providing access to the reservoir (fig. 4);
a second opening @5’on a second end of the bottle providing access to the reservoir (fig. 5);
a removable base 9 covering the second opening (fig. 4-5).
Benetti fails to disclose a flexible lip received by the groove of the bottle. Alberghini discloses a bottle 10 comprising:
a reservoir formed by one or more walls, the one or more walls having a first outer circumference 12 (fig. 6);
a first opening @16 on a first end of the bottle providing access to the reservoir (col. 3, ll. 28-45);
a groove 18 formed adjacent to second end of the bottle; and
a removable base 20 covering the second end, the removable base having a flexible lip 36 configured to fit within an engage the groove to secure the removable base to the second end of the bottle (col. 5, ll. 1-25; fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace/modify the removable base connection of Benetti to include the groove and flexible lip portion of Alberghini to provide an alternate positive connective between the sidewall of the bottle and the removable base edge.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Benetti-Alberghini fails to disclose a gasket. Waisberg teaches wherein the removable base includes a gasket 25 configured to seal the removable base to the reservoir when the bottle sidewall and the removable base are engaged together (col. 2, ll. 13-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base of Benetti to include the gasket of Waisberg to create a better air and water tight seal of the base to the bottle.
Claim 2. Benetti-Alberghini-Waisberg discloses the bottle of claim 1 further comprising an ergonomic bottleneck (Benetti; fig. 1).
Claim 4. Benetti-Alberghini-Waisberg discloses the bottle of claim 1 wherein the removable base includes a recessed bottom (Benetti; fig. 3, 3a).
Claim 5. Benetti-Alberghini-Waisberg discloses the bottle of claim 1 wherein the bottle stores at least 750 mL of liquid (Benetti; [0004]). To modify the size of bottle to accommodate at least 750 ml of a liquid would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l V. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of in view of Waisberg (US 3,124,264) in view of Wechsler (US D472,473).
Claim 7. Benetti-Alberghini-Waisberg discloses the bottle of claim 1 but fails to disclose finger reliefs. Wechsler teaches the bottle further comprising a plurality of finger reliefs formed on the reservoir near the second end of the bottle and above the groove (see annotated figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bottle second end of Benetti-Alberghini to include the finger reliefs of Wechsler to provide stronger holding surface for the user.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of Waisberg (US 3,124,264) in view of Wechsler (US D472,473) in view of Waldrip (US 6,164,473).
Claim 8. Benetti-Alberghini-Waisberg-Wechsler discloses the bottle of claim 7, but fails to disclose a protruding lip. Waldrip teaches wherein the removable base further comprises a protruding lip 16 protruding outward along the edge of the removable base (fig. 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the openings of Benetti to include the alternate configuration of Waldrip to safely and easily fill the bottle.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of Waisberg (US 3,124,264) in view of Lau et al. (US 9,950,827).
Claims 9-10. Benetti-Alberghini-Waisberg discloses the bottle of claim 1 but fails to disclose feet. Lau teaches wherein the removable base further comprises a plurality of feet 1810A, D formed on the underside of the removable base 1125 configured to lift a bottom surface of the removable base and the reservoir above a surface on which the bottle is placed (col. 19, Il. 49-57; fig. 18, 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Benetti to include the feet of Lau to stabilize the bottle on surfaces and maintain the pressure inside the bottle.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of Waisberg (US 3,124,264) in view of Zimmerman (US D705,288).
Claim 11. Benetti-Alberghini discloses the bottle of claim 1, but fails to disclose a larger diameter at the first end. Zimmerman teaches wherein the one or more walls include an internal taper within the reservoir such that a first internal diameter located closer to the first opening is larger than a second internal diameter located closer to the second opening (fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the openings of Benetti to include the alternate configuration of Zimmerman to safely and easily fill the bottle.
Claim(s) 12-13, 15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of Waldrip (US 6,164,473).
Claim 12, 19-20. Benetti discloses a bottle (fig. 1):
a reservoir formed by one or more walls, the one or more walls having a first outer circumference 2 (fig. 1);
a first opening @8 on a first end of the bottle providing access to the reservoir (fig. 4);
a second opening @5’on a second end of the bottle providing access to the reservoir (fig. 5);
a removable base 9 covering the second opening (fig. 4-5).
Benetti fails to disclose a flexible lip received by the groove of the bottle. Alberghini discloses a bottle 10 comprising:
a reservoir formed by one or more walls, the one or more walls having a first outer circumference 12 (fig. 6);
a first opening @16 on a first end of the bottle providing access to the reservoir (col. 3, ll. 28-45);
a groove 18 formed adjacent to second end of the bottle; and
a removable base 20 covering the second end, the removable base having a flexible lip 36 configured to fit within an engage the groove to secure the removable base to the second end of the bottle (col. 5, ll. 1-25; fig. 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to replace/modify the removable base connection of Benetti to include the groove and flexible lip portion of Alberghini to provide an alternate positive connective between the sidewall of the bottle and the removable base edge.
It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Benetti-Alberghini discloses the bottle of claim 1, but fails to disclose a larger diameter at the first end. Waldrip teaches wherein the one or more walls include an internal taper within the reservoir such that a first internal diameter located closer to the first opening is larger than a second internal diameter located closer to the second opening (fig. 1,5b, 6);
a plurality of finger reliefs 60 formed on the reservoir near the second end of the bottle and above the groove (fig. 6),
wherein the removable base further comprises a protruding lip 16 protruding outward along the edge of the removable base (fig. 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the openings of Benetti to include the alternate configuration of Waldrip to safely and easily fill the bottle.
Claim 13. Benetti-Alberghini-Waldrip discloses the bottle of claim 12 further comprising an ergonomic bottleneck (Benetti; fig. 1).
Claim 15. Benetti-Alberghini-Waldrip discloses the bottle of claim 1 wherein the bottle stores at least 750 mL of liquid (Benetti; [0004]). To modify the size of bottle to accommodate at least 750 ml of a liquid would entail a mere change in size of the components and yield only predictable results. "[I]f a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person's skill." KSR Int 'l V. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1396 (2007). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of Waldrip (US 6,164,473) in view of Lau et al. (US 9,950,827).
Claims 17-18. Benetti-Alberghini-Waldrip discloses the bottle of claim 12 but fails to disclose feet. Lau teaches wherein the removable base further comprises a plurality of feet 1810A, D formed on the underside of the removable base 1125 configured to lift a bottom surface of the removable base and the reservoir above a surface on which the bottle is placed (col. 19, Il. 49-57; fig. 18, 20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Benetti to include the feet of Lau to stabilize the bottle on surfaces and maintain the pressure inside the bottle.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benetti (US 2009/0001043) in view of Alberghini (US 4,241,839) in view of Waldrip (US 6,164,473) in view of Waisberg (US 3,124,264).
Claim 16. Benetti-Alberghini-Waldrip discloses the bottle of claim 12 but fails to disclose a gasket. Waisberg teaches wherein the removable base includes a gasket 25 configured to seal the removable base to the reservoir when the bottle sidewall and the removable base are engaged together (col. 2, ll. 13-23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base of Benetti to include the gasket of Waisberg to create a better air and water tight seal of the base to the bottle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735