DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 4 ¶3-Page 6 ¶2, filed 07/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under §102 with CN 201284749 and evidence by Horng US 2011/0091338 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gui US 2023/0092355. It is noted that Gui US 2023/0092355 teaches the spring
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6 ¶4-Page 8 Line 2, filed 07/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under §103 with Kim US 2021/0344250 in view of Li US 2002/0031428 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim US 2021/0344250 in view of Gui US 2023/0092355.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 8 ¶2-¶3: Applicant argues that the prior art of CN 1976177 is unable to make claim 2 obvious because in CN 1976177 the circuit board is inside the housing and not outside the housing as claimed.
--In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the rejections below claim 2 is rejected under §103 by Kim US 2021/0344250 in view of Gui US 2023/0092355, and further in view of CN 1976177. The prior art of Kim US 2021/0344250 teaches a circuit board 430 and conductive pins 433 connected to the stator, which passthrough the rear cover and are placed outside the housing (as seen in Fig 5, ¶0150-¶0152). Thus it follows that Kim US 2021/0344250 as modified by Gui US 2023/0092355 teaches the features of claim 2 except for the welded connection of the pins to the circuit board. However CN 1976177 teaches welding the pins to the circuit board. Accordingly, the combination of prior art teaches the language of the claim as it is currently written.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 8 ¶4-¶6: Applicant argues the prior art of Kim does not teach six pins in a circular array around the circuit board as claimed.
--The examiner disagrees. Since the six pins of Kim are each connected to the circumference of the circuit board as shown in Fig 17 of Kim they are in a circular array as claimed. Additionally Fig 12 shows how the pins are arranged about the motor, thus they are in a circular array as shown.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 8 ¶7-Page 9 ¶1: Applicant argues the prior art does not teach the language of claim 4 because claim 4 requires insulating plastic.
--Arguments not persuasive. Applicant admits on Page 9 Line 1-2 of the REM filed on 07/04/2026 that JI US 2023/0006512 discloses an insulating plastic end cover for weight reduction and insulation. Thus Applicant admits that the prior art of JI US 2023/0006512 teaches an insulating plastic.
Accordingly, when the rear cover 390 of Kim is formed from the insulating plastic taught in ¶0050 of JI US 2023/0006512, the rear cover would be made from insulating plastic as claimed, thus the combination of prior art teaches insulating plastic.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 9 ¶2-¶3: Applicant argues that Kim does not teach the deflectors of claim 5 because the frame is not taught as having a middle through chamber.
--Arguments not persuasive. Applicant is arguing features which are not claimed. Claim 5 does not require the deflectors to be inside the frame as argued. Rather in claim 5, the deflectors are claimed as being located between the frame and a chamber wall of the middle through chamber. The prior art of Kim shows in Fig 5 the deflectors 270 located between chamber wall 252 of the middle through chamber and frame 260 as claimed. Thus the prior art addresses the language of the claim as written.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 9 ¶4-Page 10 Line 2: Applicant argues that Kim does not teach air guide holes as claimed.
--Examiner disagrees. As explained in the rejection of claim 6, the language of claim 6 is very broad, and the prior art of Kim is able to address the broad scope of claim 6 as it is currently written. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the air guide holes of the prior art are not for backflow prevention and stator/rotor cooling as taught in ¶0025 of the SPEC) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 10 ¶1-¶3: Applicant argues that deflectors 270 of Kim are not air guide holes, and because of this the prior art does not teach the conductive pins pass through the air guide holes are required in claim 7.
--Arguments not persuasive. The examiner notes that deflectors 270 of Kim are not identified as being air guide holes. Instead the arc shaped voids which are formed between adjacent arms of the three arms correspond to the air guide holes in the rear cover. And as seen in Figs 2-3 and Fig 5 a pair of pins pass through each respective air guide hole in the rear cover. Thus the prior art addresses the language of the claim 7 as written.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gui US 2023/0092355.
Annotated Figure 5 of Gui US 2023/0092355 (Attached Figure A)
Regarding Claim 1: A miniature high-speed fan (the fan is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising a housing 10, a blade wheel (generally indicated by element 25 in Fig 1, ¶058), a stator (22, ¶0040) and a rotor (23, ¶0041), wherein the housing is provided with a middle through chamber (13, ¶0037, ¶0043, Fig 8); the housing is provided with a frame (11,21) in the middle through chamber(¶0043, Fig 5) ; the stator is fixedly installed inside the frame (Fig 5); the rotor is located in the middle of the stator (Fig 5); the frame is provided with a through opening at one end (see Annotated Figure 5 of Gui US 2023/0092355 (Attached Figure A) above) and a rear cover (i.e. rear cover portion of the frame identified in Attached Figure A) at the other end (as seen in Attached Figure A the identified through opening is provided at one end of the frame and the rear cover is provided at the other end; additionally it is noted that since the claim states that the frame is provided with … a rear cover, the claim can be read as the rear cover being part of the frame; accordingly the art of Gui addresses the language of the claim as written); a bearing installation groove (Attached Figure A) is formed in each of the through opening (Attached Figure A) and the rear cover (Attached Figure A); bearings (233,234, ¶0042) at shaft rods at two ends of the rotor (i.e. at opposite ends of shaft rod 231 just like in Fig 3 of the instant application) are respectively installed in the bearing installation groves such (Fig 5) that the rotor 23 is positioned between the through opening and the rear cover (as understood from Fig 4 and Attached Figure A the rotor 23 is positioned between the through opening and rear cover as claimed); a pre-compressed spring (235, since spring 235 is disclosed as being positioned between bearing 233 and magnetic ring 232 to reduce mechanical noise in ¶0054, the spring 235 would inherently be compressed/pre-compressed in the assembled state of the device of Gui) is arranged on at least one shaft rod of the rotor (as seen in Figure 5 spring 235 is arranged on the top half (i.e. top end) of shaft 231 in Fig 5), at an end of the at least one shaft rod remote from the blade wheel (as understood from Fig 4 and Attached Figure A, the spring 235 surrounds the top half/end of rod 231 which is remote from the blade wheel as claimed), and one end of the spring (Attached Figure A) abuts against an inner ring of the corresponding bearing (Attached Figure A), such that bearings (i.e. ball bearings of bearing 234, and ball bearings of bearing 233) at the two ends are subject to an outward pushing force (since in the art of Gui spring 235 pushes upward in Fig 5 on the inner race of bearing 233, this would cause the inner race to move slightly upward and result in the ball bearing of bearing 233 being subject to a radially outward pushing force due to the position of the inner race moving upward in Fig 5; additionally, since the bottom of the spring 235 pushes against first shaft sleeve 236, which acts on magnetic ring 232, which acts on second shaft sleeve 237, which acts on the inner ring of bearing 234 as seen in Attached Figure A, this would result in the inner race of bearing 234 to move slightly downward and result in the ball bearing of bearing 234 being subject to a radially outward pushing force due to the position of the inner race moving downward) to provide a pre-tightening force when the bearings are installed in the bearing installation grooves (since, the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and anticipated by the prior art of Gui US 2023/0092355 that would enable the provision of a pre-tightening force when the bearings are installed in the bearing installation grooves. Thus, because the structure of Gui US 2023/0092355 anticipated the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation); the blade wheel is arranged at the end symmetrical to the rear cover (as seen in Attached Figure A) and connected to the shaft rods of the rotor (as seen in Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 5: characterized in that: deflectors 131 are arranged between the frame and a chamber wall of the middle through chamber (chamber wall of the middle through chamber = outer ring 12 illustrated in Fig 8, ¶0058; the deflectors 131 are arranged between inner ring 11 of the frame 11,21 and the chamber wall 12 as seen in Fig 8 and Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2021/0344250 in view of Gui US 2023/0092355.
Regarding Claim 1: Kim US 2021/0344250 discloses the limitations: A miniature high-speed fan (the fan is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising a housing (251, Fig 5), a blade wheel (210, Fig 5), a stator (280, Fig 5, ¶0140, ¶0131) and a rotor (340, ¶0137, Fig 5), wherein the housing is provided with a middle through chamber (middle through chamber = space inside 251 where the fan is located in the figures; wall 252 in Figures 2-3 defines the middle through chamber); the housing is provided with a frame (frame = 260, ¶0119, Fig 5) in the middle through chamber (as seen in Fig 5); the stator is fixedly installed inside the frame (Fig 5, ¶0156); the rotor is located in the middle of the stator (as seen in Fig 5); the frame is provided with a through opening (through opening = 266,265 in Fig 5) at one end (i.e. at a left end of the frame 260 in Fig 5) and a rear cover (rear cover = 390, Figs 5-6, ¶0147) at the other end (i.e. at a right end of frame 260 in Fig 5); a bearing installation groove (265, 381) is formed in each of the through opening (a bearing installation groove of the through opening = 265, ¶0155; it is noted that the bearing installation groove of the through opening of Kim ‘250 corresponds to the same structure as the bearing installation groove 15 of the through opening in Fig 3 of the instant application) and the rear cover (a bearing installation groove of the rear cover = 381, ¶0147; it is noted that the bearing installation groove of the rear cover of Kim ‘250 corresponds to the same structure as the bearing installation groove 15 of the rear cover in Fig 3 of the instant application); bearings (360a,360b, ¶0143) at shaft rods at two ends of the rotor (shaft rod at left end of rotor = left half of shaft 341 in Fig 5, shaft rod at the right end of rotor = right half of shaft 341 in Fig 5; as seen in Fig 5 the bearings are located at shaft rod ends of the rotor340 as claimed) are respectively installed in the bearing installation grooves (as seen in Fig 5) such that the rotor is positioned between the through opening and the rear cover (as seen in Fig 5); the blade wheel 210 is arranged at the end symmetrical to the rear cover (as seen in Fig 5) and connected to the shaft rods of the rotor (as seen in Fig 5). Kim US 2021/0344250 is silent regarding the limitations: a pre-compressed spring is arranged on at least one shaft rod of the rotor, at an end of the at least one shaft rod remote from the blade wheel, and one end of the spring abuts against the corresponding bearing, such that the bearings at the two ends are subject to an outward pushing force to provide a pre-tightening force when the bearings are installed in the bearing installation grooves. The prior art of Gui US 2023/0092355 which is directed to an axial fan (Figs 1-Fig 6) like Kim US 2021/0344250, is noted.
However, Gui US 2023/0092355 does disclose the limitations: a pre-compressed spring (235, since spring 235 is disclosed as being positioned between bearing 233 and magnetic ring 232 to reduce mechanical noise in ¶0054, the spring 235 would inherently be compressed/pre-compressed in the assembled state of the device of Gui) is arranged on at least one shaft rod of the rotor (as seen in Figure 5 spring 235 is arranged on the top half (i.e. top end) of shaft 231 in Fig 5), at an end of the at least one shaft rod remote from the blade wheel (as understood from Fig 4 & Attached Figure A, the spring 235 surrounds the top half/end of rod 231 which is remote from the blade wheel as claimed), and one end of the spring (Attached Figure A) abuts against an inner ring of the corresponding bearing (Attached Figure A), such that bearings (i.e. ball bearings of bearing 234, and ball bearings of bearing 233) at the two ends are subject to an outward pushing force (since in the art of Gui spring 235 pushes upward in Fig 5 on the inner race of bearing 233, this would cause the inner race to move slightly upward and result in the ball bearing of bearing 233 being subject to a radially outward pushing force due to the position of the inner race moving upward in Fig 5; additionally, since the bottom of the spring 235 pushes against first shaft sleeve 236, which acts on magnetic ring 232, which acts on second shaft sleeve 237, which acts on the inner ring of bearing 234 as seen in Attached Figure A, this would result in the inner race of bearing 234 to move slightly downward and result in the ball bearing of bearing 234 being subject to a radially outward pushing force due to the position of the inner race moving downward) to provide a pre-tightening force when the bearings are installed in the bearing installation grooves (since, the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and made obvious by the prior art of Kim US 2021/0344250 as modified by Gui US 2023/0092355 that would enable the provision of a pre-tightening force when the bearings are installed in the bearing installation grooves. Thus, because the structure of Kim US 2021/0344250 as modified by Gui US 2023/0092355 makes obvious the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the shaft 341, permanent magnet 345, the bearing remote from the blade wheel (360b) and, the bearing closest to the impeller (360a) of Kim US 2021/0344250 with the spring 235, first shaft sleeve 236, and second shaft sleeve 237, with the spring being arranged between the bearing 233 and the first shaft sleeve 236 (Figs 4-5) as taught by Gui US 2023/0092355 in order to reduce the mechanical noise caused by bearing clearance and improve the use experience of the motor (¶0055, ¶0026).
Regarding Claim 5: Kim US 2021/0344250 discloses: characterized in that: deflectors 270 are arranged between the frame and a chamber wall of the middle through chamber (a chamber wall of the middle through chamber = wall 252 in Fig 7; as described in ¶0127-¶0128 vanes 270 are arranged between the frame and the wall of the middle through chamber as claimed).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2021/0344250 in view of Gui US 2023/0092355 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of CN 1976177. Examiners Note: For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiners submitted English translation of CN 1976177, filed in the file wrapper on 04/06/2026, is referenced hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2: Kim US 2021/0344250 discloses: further comprising a circuit board (430, Fig 17, ¶0150), wherein conductive pins (433, ¶0151, Fig 17) are arranged on the stator (as described in ¶0151), one ends of the conductive pins are connected to a coil of the stator (i.e. coil portions of the U-phase, V-phase, and W-phase of the stator, ¶0151), and the other ends of the conductive pins pass through the rear cover and are placed outside the housing (as seen in Fig 5, ¶0150-¶0152).
While, Kim US 2021/0344250 discloses that the circuit board is connected to the stator, they are silent regarding how the connection is made. Thus Kim US 2021/0344250 is silent regarding the limitations: the pins are welded to the circuit board. The prior art of CN 1976177 which is directed to an axial fan like Kim US 2021/0344250, is noted.
However, CN 1976177 does disclose the limitations: one end of the coil winding 37 is connected to one axial side of the pin 371 and the other side of the pin is inserted into pin insertion hole 382 of the circuit board 38, and then the pin is welded to the circuit board 38 so that the coil is electrically connected with the circuit board (Line 145-158).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect the conductive pins 433 to the circuit board 430 of Kim US 2021/0344250 with the welded connection taught by CN 1976177 in order to reliably connect the pins to the circuit board, so that the circuit board can be electrically connected to the stator (Line 145-158).
Regarding Claim 3: Kim US 2021/0344250 discloses: characterized in that six conductive pins are provided and respectively arranged in a circular array around the circuit board (as seen in Fig 17).
Regarding Claim 6: Kim US 2021/0344250 discloses: characterized in that: an end of the frame, that is located at the blade wheel (i.e. left end of the frame generally indicated by 266 in Fig 5), and the rear cover (i.e. right end of the rear cover generally indicated by 385 in Fig 5) are provided with air guide holes (--it is noted that the language are provided with air guide holes merely requires a plurality of holes between the end of the frame and the rear cover; Accordingly the air guide holes = 266 (in the frame) and 385 (rear cover) OR the air guide holes = 266 (in the frame) and the three arc-shaped voids which are formed between adjacent arms of the three arms (Fig 6 & Fig 12) which form the rear cover 380), and the air guide holes are in communication with the interior of the frame (as understood from Fig 5 – the air guide hole 266 communicates with the interior of the frame via bearing 360a; also as understood from Fig 5 air guide hole 385 communicates with the interior of the frame via bearing 360b; also as understood from Fig 12 & Fig 5 the three arc-shaped voids which are formed between adjacent arms of the three arms (e.g. three air guide holes formed by the arc-shaped voids) would each communicate with the interior of the frame via 385 and bearing 360b).
Regarding Claim 7: Kim US 2021/0344250 discloses: characterized in that: the conductive pins pass through the air guide holes (as understood from Figs 2-3 & Fig 5 a pair of pins 433 passes through each of the arc-shaped voids (i.e. guide holes) in the rear cover).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US 2021/0344250 in view of Gui US 2023/0092355 and CN 1976177 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Ji US 2023/0006512.
Regarding Claim 4: Kim US 2021/0344250 in view of Gui US 2023/0092355 and CN 1976177 discloses in the above mentioned Figures and Specifications the limitations set forth in claim 3. Kim US 2021/0344250 is silent regarding the limitations: characterized in that the rear cover is made of an insulating plastic. The prior art of Ji US 2023/0006512 which is directed to a fan like Kim US 2021/0344250, is noted.
However Ji US 2023/0006512 does disclose the limitations: an insulating end cover 5 (¶0028, ¶0030, ¶0034, ¶0040) and that when parts of the fan are made from plastic, the fan is light weight, has good insulation, low manufacturing costs, and is easy to manufacture.
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the rear cover 390 of Kim US 2021/0344250 from plastic, since Ji US 2023/0006512 teaches using plastic for parts of the fan reduces weight, and manufacturing costs (¶0050).
Examiner's Note: The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention.
It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123).
Additionally the origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention, as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). (See MPEP § 2125).
The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Furthermore: with respect to the prior art and the determination of obviousness, it has been held that Prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. The "mere existence of differences (i.e. a gap) between the prior art and an invention DOES NOT ESTABLISH the inventions nonobviousness." Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 230, 189 USPQ 257, 261 (1976). Rather, in determining obviousness the proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts. And factors other than the disclosures of the cited prior art may provide a basis for concluding that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bridge the gap. (See MPEP § 2141).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/JOSEPH S. HERRMANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746