DETAILED ACTION
This patent application was filed September 4, 2025, which is a continuation of US Pat. App. 17/589,170, now abandoned, claiming priority from Chinese patent Application CN202110164809.5 filed February 5, 2021.
Status
This paper is responsive to the amendments filed on August 27, 2026 in which:
Claims 1, 5. 9 and 13 have been amended.
Claims 16 and 17 have been newly added.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 1, 5. 9 and 13 have been entered.
Newly added claim 16 has support in the specification and has been added.
Newly added claim 17 does not have support in the specification.
Regarding claim 17, which recites “receiving a downlink channel on the downlink RB of the symbol and transmitting the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol”. There is no support in the specification or drawings for a symbol having more than one resource block. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not determine that a same symbol would include an uplink RB and a downlink RB. The specification, paragraphs
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5. 9 and 13 and 16 and new claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes with respect to claim 17 and the independent claims, that Applicant argues that the specification teaches subband full duplex, but neither the drawings nor the specification teach “subband” full duplex. Rather, the specification and Fig. 4B address a carrier as a uplink transmission resource that is part of a “same RB set” wherein there are different RB sets in the carriers. Nowhere in the specification or drawings is there a teaching of a symbol with multiple resource blocks. The closest appears to be Fig. 4B which is described as “in a symbol, an intermediate part of the carrier is the uplink transmission resource, and two sides of the carrier (e.g., carrier #1) are the downlink transmission resources” This does not teach subband full duplex or a symbol with multiple resource blocks because it teaches carriers, not resource blocks. Furthermore, the specification and drawings do not support “receiving a downlink channel on the downlink RB of the symbol and transmitting the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In particular, claim 17 recites “The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a downlink channel on the downlink RB of the symbol and transmitting the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol
Nowhere in the specification or drawings is there a teaching of a symbol with multiple resource blocks. The closest appears to be Fig. 4B which is described as “in a symbol, an intermediate part of the carrier is the uplink transmission resource, and two sides of the carrier (e.g., carrier #1) are the downlink transmission resources” This does not teach subband full duplex or a symbol with multiple resource blocks because it teaches carriers, not resource blocks. Furthermore, the specification and drawings do not support “receiving a downlink channel on the downlink RB of the symbol and transmitting the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US. Pat. Pub. No 20210051672 to Nazanin Rastegardoost et al. (hereinafter Rastegardoost).
Regarding claim 1, Rastegardoost teaches A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information on frequency domain resources; (Rastegardoost Fig. 24A and 24C and para. [0313] teach a terminal receiving configurations for UL transmission from a base station at step 2410A, and allocation of frequency domain resources wherein the frequency resources may be semi-statically configured such that UL transmissions may be cancelled.
)
identifying based on the configuration information, that a symbol configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink-downlink configuration includes both an uplink resource block (RB) and a downlink RB; (Rastergardoost teaches that Fig. 24C is an example of “resource configuration” in which as shown, the configuration includes a UL transmission 2430C during a DL symbol 12.:
Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0313] and Fig. 24C that a “The resource may overlap with one or more DL symbols (e.g., semi-statically configured as DL and/or dynamically indicated as DL), and the UL transmission may be cancelled in that resource (e.g., the UL transmission 2430C may be canceled because the UL transmission 2430C overlaps in time with the last two DL symbols of the slot S1). )
and
in case that a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block comprising synchronization signals and a physical broadcast channel is in the symbol, skipping a transmission of an uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol. (Rastegardoost teaches that a transmission of an uplink channel on the uplink resource can be cancelled when it overlaps DL symbols, as shown in Figs. 24A and 24B. Further, Rastegardoost paras. [0288]-[0289] teaches that a wireless device may not transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH in symbols of a slot indicated as a downlink. Further “The wireless device may not send/transmit a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or a PRACH in a slot, for example, if the one or more symbols of the slot that are indicated, to the wireless device, by one or more RRC parameters for reception of SS/PBCH blocks.”)
Regarding claim 3, Rastegardoost teaches The method of claim 1 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the SS/PBCH block is configured by an ssb-PositionsInBurst parameter. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 4, Rastegardoost teaches The method of claim 1 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 5, Rastegardoost teaches A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal, configuration information on frequency domain resources; (Rastegardoost Fig. 24A and 24C and para. [0313] teach a terminal receiving configurations for UL transmission from a base station at step 2410A, and allocation of frequency domain resources.
)
receiving, from the terminal, an uplink channel; (Rastegardoost Fig. 26B and para. [0316]-[0317] teach uplink channel transmissions such as PUSCH:
and
transmitting, to the terminal, a downlink channel, wherein a symbol configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink – downlink configuration includes both an uplink resource block (RB) and a downlink RB based on the configuration information,and wherein, in case that a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block comprising synchronization signals and a physical broadcast channel is in the symbol, a reception of the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol is skipped. (Rastergardoost teaches that Fig. 24C is an example of “resource configuration” in which as shown, the configuration includes a UL transmission 2430C during a DL symbol 12.:
Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0313] and Fig. 24C that a “The resource may overlap with one or more DL symbols (e.g., semi-statically configured as DL and/or dynamically indicated as DL), and the UL transmission may be cancelled in that resource (e.g., the UL transmission 2430C may be canceled because the UL transmission 2430C overlaps in time with the last two DL symbols of the slot S1).
Rastegardoost also teaches that a transmission of an uplink channel on the uplink resource can be cancelled when it overlaps DL symbols, as shown in Figs. 24A and 24B. Further, Rastegardoost paras. [0288]-[0289] teaches that a wireless devices may not transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH in symbols of a slot indicated as a downlink. Further “The wireless device may not send/transmit a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or a PRACH in a slot, for example, if the one or more symbols of the slot that are indicated, to the wireless device, by one or more RRC parameters for reception of SS/PBCH blocks.”)
Regarding claim 7, Rastegardoost teaches The method of claim 5 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the SS/PBCH block is configured by an ssb-PositionsInBurst parameter. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 8, Rastegardoost teaches The method of claim 5 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the configuration information is transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 9, Rastegardoost teaches A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising:
a transceiver; (Rastegardoost Fig. 15A, wireless device 1502 illustrates a RX processing system 1522 and TX processing system 1520 and air interface 1506)
and
a processor coupled with the transceiver (Rastegardoost Fig. 15, processing system 1518) and configured to:
receive, from a base station, configuration information on frequency domain resources, (Rastegardoost Fig. 24A and 24C and para. [0313] teach a terminal receiving configurations for UL transmission from a base station at step 2410A, and allocation of frequency domain resources wherein the frequency resources may be semi-statically configured such that UL transmissions may be cancelled.
)
Identify, based on the configuration information, that a symbol configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink – downlink configuration includes both an uplink resource block (RB) and a downlink RB, (Rastergardoost teaches that Fig. 24C is an example of “resource configuration” for TDD in which as shown, the configuration includes a UL transmission 2430C during a DL symbol 12.:
Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0313] and Fig. 24C that a “The resource may overlap with one or more DL symbols (e.g., semi-statically configured as DL and/or dynamically indicated as DL), and the UL transmission may be cancelled in that resource (e.g., the UL transmission 2430C may be canceled because the UL transmission 2430C overlaps in time with the last two DL symbols of the slot S1). )
and
in case that a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block comprising synchronization signals and a physical broadcast channel is in the symbol, skip a transmission of an uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol. (Rastegardoost teaches that a transmission of an uplink channel on the uplink resource can be cancelled when it overlaps DL symbols, as shown in Figs. 24A and 24B. Further, Rastegardoost paras. [0288]-[0289] teaches that a wireless devices may not transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH in symbols of a slot indicated as a downlink. Further “The wireless device may not send/transmit a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or a PRACH in a slot, for example, if the one or more symbols of the slot that are indicated, to the wireless device, by one or more RRC parameters for reception of SS/PBCH blocks.”)
Regarding claim 11, Rastegardoost teaches The terminal of claim 9 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the SS/PBCH block is configured by an ssb-PositionsInBurst parameter. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 12, Rastegardoost teaches The terminal of claim 9 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 13, Rastegardoost teaches A base station (Rastegardoost Fig. 15A base station 1504) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:
a transceiver; (Rastegardoost Fig. 15A, wireless device 1504 illustrates a RX processing system 1512 and TX processing system 1510 and air interface 1506).
and
a processor coupled with the transceiver (Rastegardoost Fig. 15A processing system 1508) and configured to:
transmit, to a terminal, configuration information on frequency domain resources, (Rastegardoost Fig. 24A and 24C and para. [0313] teach a terminal receiving configurations for UL transmission from a base station at step 2410A, and allocation of frequency domain resources wherein the frequency resources may be semi-statically configured such that UL transmissions may be cancelled.
)
receive, from the terminal, an uplink channel, (Rastegardoost Fig. 26B and para. [0316]-[0317] teach uplink channel transmissions such as PUSCH:
)
and
transmit, to the terminal, a downlink channel, wherein a symbol a symbol configured by a time division duplex (TDD) uplink – downlink configuration includes both an uplink resource block (RB) and a downlink RB based on the configuration information, (Rastergardoost teaches that Fig. 24C is an example of “resource configuration” for TDD in which as shown, the configuration includes a UL transmission 2430C during a DL symbol 12.:
Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0313] and Fig. 24C that a “The resource may overlap with one or more DL symbols (e.g., semi-statically configured as DL and/or dynamically indicated as DL), and the UL transmission may be cancelled in that resource (e.g., the UL transmission 2430C may be canceled because the UL transmission 2430C overlaps in time with the last two DL symbols of the slot S1). )
, and wherein, in case that a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block comprising synchronization signals and a physical broadcast channel is in the symbol, a reception of the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol is skipped. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0285] that a base station may indicate to the wireless device via RRC message one or more downlink channels/signals wherein the downlink signals may indicate one or more uplink channels/signals. Further, Rastegardoost teaches that a transmission of an uplink channel on the uplink resource can be cancelled when it overlaps DL symbols, as shown in Figs. 24A and 24B. Further, Rastegardoost paras. [0288]-[0289] teaches that a wireless devices may not transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH in symbols of a slot indicated as a downlink. Further “The wireless device may not send/transmit a PUSCH, a PUCCH, and/or a PRACH in a slot, for example, if the one or more symbols of the slot that are indicated, to the wireless device, by one or more RRC parameters for reception of SS/PBCH blocks.”)
Regarding claim 14, Rastegardoost teaches The base station of claim 13 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the uplink RB and the downlink RB are included in one carrier, and wherein the configuration information is transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) signaling. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 15, Rastegardoost teaches The base station of claim 13 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost teaches wherein the SS/PBCH block is configured by an ssb-PositionsInBurst parameter. (Rastegardoost teaches in para. [0300] that “for reception of SS/PBCH blocks by one or more RRC messages (e.g., ssb-PositionsInBurst in SystemInformationBlockType1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon).”)
Regarding claim 16, Rastergardoost teaches the method of claim 1 as stated. Rastergardoost further teaches wherein the SS/PBCH block is configured by an ssb-PositionsInBurst parameter. (Rasterdardoost teaches in para. [0319) that SSB indexes are provided by ssb-PositionsinBurst.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost in view of 3GPP TS 38.213 V16.4.0 (2020-12) hereinafter 38.213.
Regarding claim 2, Rastegardoost teaches The method of claim 1 as stated. Further Rastegardoost in view of 38.213 teaches wherein the uplink RB and the downlink RB are included in one carrier. (38.213, page 128, Section 11.1 “Slot configuration”, teaches “For operation on a single carrier in unpaired spectrum, for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to a UE by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon, for reception of SS/PBCH blocks, the UE does not transmit PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH in the slot if a transmission would overlap with any symbol from the set of symbols and the UE does not transmit SRS in the set of symbols of the slot. The UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as uplink by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated, when provided to the UE.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Rastegardoost with 38.213 to teach a single carrier with UL and DL RB on a single carrier. Each of Rastegardoost and 38.213 are in the field of wireless communications and shared spectrum. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Rastegardoost with 38.213 in order to follow the wireless 3GPP standards for physical layer procedures for control operations in 5G NR as taught on page 6, Section 1 of the 38.213.
Regarding claim 6, Rastegardoost teaches The method of claim 5 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost in view of 38.213 teaches wherein the uplink RB and the downlink RB are included in one carrier. 38.213 teaches wherein the uplink RB and the downlink RB are included in one carrier. (38.213, page 128, Section 11.1 “Slot configuration”, teaches “For operation on a single carrier in unpaired spectrum, for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to a UE by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon, for reception of SS/PBCH blocks, the UE does not transmit PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH in the slot if a transmission would overlap with any symbol from the set of symbols and the UE does not transmit SRS in the set of symbols of the slot. The UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as uplink by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated, when provided to the UE.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Rastegardoost with 38.213 to teach a single carrier with UL and DL RB on a single carrier. Each of Rastegardoost and 38.213 are in the field of wireless communications and shared spectrum. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Rastegardoost with 38.213 in order to follow the wireless 3GPP standards for physical layer procedures for control operations in 5G NR as taught on page 6, Section 1 of the 38.213.
Regarding claim 10, Rastegardoost teaches The terminal of claim 9 as stated. Further, Rastegardoost in view of 38.213 teaches wherein the uplink RB and the downlink RB are included in one carrier. (38.213, page 128, Section 11.1 “Slot configuration”, teaches “For operation on a single carrier in unpaired spectrum, for a set of symbols of a slot indicated to a UE by ssb-PositionsInBurst in SIB1 or ssb-PositionsInBurst in ServingCellConfigCommon, for reception of SS/PBCH blocks, the UE does not transmit PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH in the slot if a transmission would overlap with any symbol from the set of symbols and the UE does not transmit SRS in the set of symbols of the slot. The UE does not expect the set of symbols of the slot to be indicated as uplink by tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated, when provided to the UE.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Rastegardoost with 38.213 to teach a single carrier with UL and DL RB on a single carrier. Each of Rastegardoost and 38.213 are in the field of wireless communications and shared spectrum. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Rastegardoost with 38.213 in order to follow the wireless 3GPP standards for physical layer procedures for control operations in 5G NR as taught on page 6, Section 1 of the 38.213.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost in view of US Pat. Pub. 20230144233 to Alexandros Manolakos et al. (hereinafter Manolakos)
Regarding claim 17, Rastegardoost teaches the method of claim 1 as stated. Rastegardoost does NOT teach receiving a downlink channel on the downlink RB of the symbol and transmitting the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos teaches receiving a downlink channel on the downlink RB of the symbol and transmitting the uplink channel on the uplink RB of the symbol. (Manolakos teaches in para. [0143] that a same symbol may include in some cases an uplink portion and a downlink portion concurrently, stating “the uplink portion may include an uplink bandwidth part and the downlink portion may include a downlink bandwidth part. In some cases, the uplink portion and the downlink portion are concurrently included in the same component carrier and the same symbol.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Rastegardoost with Manolakos to teach an uplink and a downlink RB in the symbol. Each of Rastegardoost and Manolakos are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Rastegardoost and Manolakos in order to improve on the techniques for selecting a precoder by a base station when operating in full duplex as taught in para. [0060] of Manolakos.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412