DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and similarly claim 19, states “the plural rigid sheets form plural columns, each column defined by plural volume of spaces defining a pathway extending from a first end of a rigid sheet to second end of the rigid sheet, wherein at least one pathway runs in a direction that is not parallel to at least one other pathway, wherein at least one column includes an intersection point with at least one other column” It is unclear how the columns that are defined by applicant as 118 in the Figures, can intersect with other columns 118, thus rendering the claim indefinite. Additionally, it is unclear what the exact relationship between the pathways and the columns are. For example, if the columns are the pathways, then how can the pathways intersect with other pathways, while also moving frass from the first end of the sheet to the second end of the sheet, and also from top to the bottom? If the columns are separate from the pathways, the it is unclear how the frass would be able to move from the top to the bottom, as the apexes of each of the pathways would be touching at the abutment points, and create no real up and down mobility for any frass or insects. The figures do not clarify these matters, as there does not appear be clear pathways from the top to the bottom that intersect with one another. For example in Figure 3 if a first pathway is G1 and a second pathway is G2, the columns would be the space between the sheet of g1 and the sheet of g2. If those two sheets are touching one another, then there would be no vertical column. If those two sheets are not touching one another, then there would be only one long “column” between the sheets, and there would be no other columns to intersect with.
Claim 2 states “facilitating passage of frass within its respective column in a direction from the top to the bottom without disruption of the living, breeding, and/or hiding spaces.” It is unclear how frass could move from a top to a bottom with no disruption of breeding or living spaces. If the frass passes through the pathways and columns, and the insects live within the pathways and columns, then frass will eventually intersect with a living area volume.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seeley et al. (US 2019/0120509)
Regarding Claim 1, Seeley discloses a habitat for insects, comprising: plural rigid sheets (sheets 22; “The sheets 22 are composed of any suitable material, such as cellulose paper, cellulose composite, natural fibers, wood, plastic, polyvinylchloride (PVC), glass, and/or metal.” Paragraph [0029]); wherein: one sheet is arranged adjacent to another sheet (Figure 2);
each sheet has a surface ornamentation to generate plural abutment points (“The sheets 22 are arranged such that the flutes 24 of adjacent sheets 22 are in contact with each other.” Paragraph [0030]) and plural volumes of spaces between two adjacent sheets (“When the evaporative media pad 12 is assembled, the flutes 24 create air channels 26 through the evaporative media pad 12” Paragraph [0029]);
each volume of space provides a living, breeding, and/or hiding space for an insect (air channels described in Paragraph [0029]);
the plural sheets form a structure having a top and a bottom (top and bottom of media pad 12 shown in Figures 1 and 2);
the plural rigid sheets form plural columns (gaps between sheets; shown in annotated Figure 2 below; as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above), each column defined by plural volume of spaces (see annotated Figure 2 below) defining a pathway extending from a first end of a rigid sheet to second end of the rigid sheet (pathways created by flutes 24; Figure 2), wherein at least one pathway runs in a direction that is not parallel to at least one other pathway (“In one embodiment, the flutes 24 of the first sheet 22 have a first angle of incidence α.sub.1 and the flutes 24 of the second or adjacent sheet 22 have a second angle of incidence α.sub.2 that is different than the first angle of incidence α.sub.1.” Paragraph [0029]; Figure 2), wherein at least one column includes an intersection point with at least one other column (the volumes would intersect at the intersection of flutes from different sheets; Figure 2; as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above);
at least one pathway facilitates passage of frass within its respective column in a direction from the top to the bottom (“water flows downward through the evaporative media pad 12 by gravity distribution, then flows out of the bottom of the evaporative media pad 12 and into the water collection reservoir 20.” Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding Claim 2, Seeley discloses the habitat of claim 1, wherein: the at least one pathway is configured to facilitate providing plural living, breeding, and/or hiding spaces for an insect while also facilitating passage of frass within its respective column in a direction from the top to the bottom without disruption of the living, breeding, and/or hiding spaces (Paragraph [0028] and [0029]; see 112b above).
Regarding Claim 19, Seeley discloses a habitat for insects, comprising:
plural rigid sheets (sheets 22; “The sheets 22 are composed of any suitable material, such as cellulose paper, cellulose composite, natural fibers, wood, plastic, polyvinylchloride (PVC), glass, and/or metal.” Paragraph [0029]);
wherein: one sheet is arranged adjacent to another sheet (Figure 2);
each sheet has a surface ornamentation to generate plural abutment points (“The sheets 22 are arranged such that the flutes 24 of adjacent sheets 22 are in contact with each other.” Paragraph [0030]) and plural volumes of spaces between two adjacent sheets (“When the evaporative media pad 12 is assembled, the flutes 24 create air channels 26 through the evaporative media pad 12” Paragraph [0029]);
each volume of space provides a living, breeding, and/or hiding space for an insect (air channels described in Paragraph [0029]);
the plural sheets form a structure having a top and a bottom (top and bottom of media pad 12 shown in Figures 1 and 2);
the plural rigid sheets form plural columns, each column defined by plural volume of spaces (flutes 24; as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above) defining a pathway extending from the top of the structure to the bottom of the structure (“water flows downward through the evaporative media pad 12 by gravity distribution, then flows out of the bottom of the evaporative media pad 12 and into the water collection reservoir 20.” Paragraph [0028]), wherein a pathway of one column runs in a direction that is not parallel to adjacent pathways of adjacent columns (“In one embodiment, the flutes 24 of the first sheet 22 have a first angle of incidence α.sub.1 and the flutes 24 of the second or adjacent sheet 22 have a second angle of incidence α.sub.2 that is different than the first angle of incidence α.sub.1.” Paragraph [0029]; Figure 2), wherein each column includes intersection points with adjacent columns (the volumes would intersect at the intersection of flutes from different sheets; Figure 2; as best understood in light of the 112b rejection above);
each pathway facilitates passage of frass within its column in a direction from the top of the structure to the bottom of the structure (Paragraph [0028]; Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seeley et al. (US 2019/0120509) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kopko (US 2004/0031282)
Regarding Claim 4, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: at least one sheet is made of cardboard.
However, Kopko teaches a similar apparatus (Abstract), wherein: at least one rigid sheet is made of cardboard (“FIGS. 14a, 14b, and 14c show an alternate gas-to-gas heat exchanger design using paper and cardboard. Sheets of paper 800 are supported between first spacers 801 and second spacers 802. The spacers are preferably made of corrugated cardboard” Paragraph [0096])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be cardboard as taught by Kopko, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help strengthen the apparatus, to help prevent collapsing.
Regarding Claim 5, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: each sheet is made of cardboard.
However, Kopko teaches a similar apparatus, wherein: each rigid sheet is made of cardboard (“FIGS. 14a, 14b, and 14c show an alternate gas-to-gas heat exchanger design using paper and cardboard. Sheets of paper 800 are supported between first spacers 801 and second spacers 802. The spacers are preferably made of corrugated cardboard” Paragraph [0096]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be cardboard as taught by Kopko, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help strengthen the apparatus, to help prevent collapsing.
Regarding Claim 10, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: at least one rigid sheet is adhered to an adjacent sheet via an adhesive.
However, Kopko teaches the apparatus, wherein: at least one rigid sheet is adhered to an adjacent sheet via an adhesive (“Waterproof adhesive material, such as one based on acrylic or linseed oil, can coat the paper or cardboard and joins the layers together to form a single unit.” Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be connected by adhesive as taught by Kopko, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help strengthen the apparatus, to help prevent collapsing.
Regarding Claim 11, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: each rigid sheet is adhered to an adjacent sheet via an adhesive.
However, Kopko teaches the habitat, wherein: each rigid sheet is adhered to an adjacent sheet via an adhesive (“Waterproof adhesive material, such as one based on acrylic or linseed oil, can coat the paper or cardboard and joins the layers together to form a single unit.” Paragraph [0039]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be connected by adhesive as taught by Kopko, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help strengthen the apparatus, to help prevent collapsing.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seeley et al. (US 2019/0120509) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Noble (US 2013/0284357).
Regarding Claim 6, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: at least one sheet is made of non-recycled cardboard.
However, Noble teaches a similarly constructed media pad, wherein: at least one sheet (panel 10; Figures 1, 9, and 10) is made of non-recycled cardboard (“Known "wet-process" panels include mostly low-density cardboards,” Paragraph [0007]; “The panel may be manufactured using a modified "wet-process”” Paragraph [0057]; “Many virgin fiber, as well as pre- and post-consumer fiber sources of raw materials, are available in forested areas in the northwest and southeast U.S., and elsewhere, and such materials may also be used in panel manufacture.” Paragraph [0085]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be non-recycled cardboard as taught by Noble, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help increase the overall strength of the device, while helping avoid potentially toxic materials.
Regarding Claim 7, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: each sheet is made of non-recycled cardboard.
However, Noble teaches a similarly constructed media pad, wherein: each sheet (panel 10; Figures 1, 9, and 10) is made of non-recycled cardboard (“Known "wet-process" panels include mostly low-density cardboards,” Paragraph [0007]; “The panel may be manufactured using a modified "wet-process”” Paragraph [0057]; “Many virgin fiber, as well as pre- and post-consumer fiber sources of raw materials, are available in forested areas in the northwest and southeast U.S., and elsewhere, and such materials may also be used in panel manufacture.” Paragraph [0085]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be non-recycled cardboard as taught by Noble, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help increase the overall strength of the device, while helping avoid potentially toxic materials.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seely et al. (US 2019/0120509) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inman (US 2661143).
Regarding Claim 8, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: at least one sheet is made of cardboard coated with cellulose.
However, Inman teaches a similar apparatus, wherein: at least one sheet is made of cardboard coated with cellulose (“The invention is embodied in the present instance in a container made from a cardboard blank… the entire surface of both sides of which may be coated or otherwise treated with paraffin, or other waxes, or cellulose lacquers,” Col. 1 lines 40-47).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be cardboard coated with cellulose as taught by Inman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help increase the overall strength of the device, while helping prevent water or moisture damage to the apparatus (Inman Col. 1 lines 40-47).
Regarding Claim 9, Seeley discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Seeley fails to disclose the habitat, wherein: each sheet is made of cardboard coated with cellulose.
However, Inman teaches a similar apparatus, wherein: each sheet is made of cardboard coated with cellulose (“The invention is embodied in the present instance in a container made from a cardboard blank… the entire surface of both sides of which may be coated or otherwise treated with paraffin, or other waxes, or cellulose lacquers,” Col. 1 lines 40-47).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the paper of Seeley, to be cardboard coated with cellulose as taught by Inman, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to help increase the overall strength of the device, while helping prevent water or moisture damage to the apparatus (Inman Col. 1 lines 40-47).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/25/26 with respect to claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly added references Seely et al. (US 2019/0120509) and Kopko (US 2004/0031282) teach the claims as amended, as discussed in the currently presented rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642