DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action for application number 19/318,929, ROTATING RACK ASSEMBLY, filed on September 4, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: "30B" in Fig. 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has ambiguous claim terminology where it is unclear whether latter recitations of originally cited terminology are intended to refer to the originally cited terms. It is unclear if "a dishwasher rack" in line 2 of the claim is intended to refer to the original recitation of the term "A rotatable dishwasher rack" in line 1 of the claim.
Claim 7 has ambiguous claim terminology where it is unclear whether latter recitations of originally cited terminology are intended to refer to the originally cited terms. It is unclear if "a dishwasher rack" in line 2 of the claim is intended to refer to the original recitation of the term "A rotatable dishwasher rack" in line 1 of the claim.
Claim 15 has ambiguous claim terminology where it is unclear whether latter recitations of originally cited terminology are intended to refer to the originally cited terms. It is unclear if "a dishwasher" in line 2 of the claim is intended to refer to the original recitation of the term "A dishwasher" in line 1 of the claim.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/629,446 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-20 of copending Application No. 19/629,446 in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,731 to Harr. Here claims 15-20 of copending Application No. 19/629,446 recites a dishwasher having a dishwasher housing having an interior cavity and at least one set of parallel wheel tracks, a rack, a mounting frame, a plurality of wheels, a skid plate, a plurality of brackets, and an inner race, an outer race, and a ball bearing assembly. The dishwasher of claims 15-20 of the copending Application No. 19/626,446 differ from claims 15-20 herein that it fails to disclose a plurality of handles. Harr teaches a dishwasher (100) having a housing having an interior cavity and at least one set of parallel wheel tracks (T), a dishwasher rack (400), a mounting frame with a front edge, a rear edge, and side edges, a handle (445) coupled to the rack, and a plurality of wheels (415) coupled to the mounting frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rack in copending Application No. 19/639,446 to have included a handle as taught by Harr for the purpose of providing a grip for the rack in order to move the rack from one position to another. It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle in Harr to have included a plurality of handles, since such a modification would have merely involved a duplication in part and would not have yielded any unpredictable results.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over German Publication DE102018109699 to Bogdanski in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,731 to Harr. Bogdanski discloses a dishwasher (1) comprising: a housing having an interior cavity and at least one set of parallel wheel tracks; a dishwasher rack (2); mounting frame (9) with a front edge, a rear edge, and side edges; a rotatable member (6) positioned between the dishwasher rack and the mounting frame; a plurality of wheels (10) coupled to the mounting frame, the plurality of wheels engaging the tracks when the rack is removed from the interior cavity; and wheel tracks is on an inside surface of a door that is coupled to the dishwasher housing.
Bogdanski discloses the claimed invention except for the limitation of a plurality of handles coupled to the dishwasher rack.
Harr teaches a dishwasher (100) having a housing having an interior cavity and at least one set of parallel wheel tracks (T), a dishwasher rack (400), a mounting frame with a front edge, a rear edge, and side edges, a handle (445) coupled to the rack, and a plurality of wheels (415) coupled to the mounting frame.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rack in Bogdanski to have included a handle as taught by Harr for the purpose of providing a grip for the rack in order to move the rack from one position to another.
It would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the handle in Harr to have included a plurality of handles, since such a modification would have merely involved a duplication in part and would not have yielded any unpredictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 2,702,558 to Blanchard is directed to an efficient washing machine having a rotatable rack.
/ANITA M KING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 September 29, 2026