DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final action is responsive to the application filed 9/4/2025 and IDS filed 1/8/2026.
In the application Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11 and 20 are the independent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 3-5, 10 and 13-15 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action & if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/8/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Priority
6. Acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority to 202411884014.4 (CN), filed 12/19/2024, however the certified priority documents have not been received yet.
Drawings
7. The Drawings filed on 9/4/2025 have been approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 6-9, 11-12 and 16-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LU (U.S. Pub 2012/0053772, filed Aug. 23, 2011).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Lu discloses A vehicle comprising:
a battery; a motor configured to receive power from the battery; an air conditioner configured to receive power from the battery (see paragraph 2, discloses a battery & paragraphs 6, 9 and 15, discloses an AC via large electric power consumer like air conditioning systems, thereby being a consumer of the battery fed vehicle);
a user interface; a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction, wherein the at least one instruction, executed by the processor, is configured to cause the vehicle to: determine, based on a user input received via the user interface, a target driving distance of the vehicle, wherein the user input indicates a destination of the vehicle (see paragraphs 17, 20 and 25, discloses an input unit wherein the driver enters the destination has the input step 10 and selects a mode at step 30. The processing hardware is disclosed in paragraphs 15 and 20-22),
identify a distance to empty (DTE) of the vehicle, compare the target driving distance with the DTE of the vehicle (see paragraphs 9 and 20-22, discloses entered destination at step 10 including a route computed at step 12 and range gap to the destination which is the target driving distance has the range gap is calculated against the route length),
change, based on the comparison of the target driving distance with the DTE of the vehicle, an operating intensity of the air conditioner (see paragraphs 4, 6, 15 and 20, discloses range prediction step 14 from the calculated route, stored and current energy consumption and SOC from step 16. Further teaching battery charge level input and cruising range thereby calculating how far the vehicle can go on the battery. In paragraphs 20 and 22 discloses whether the destination can be reached or if there is a range gap this performing a comparison. Also see paragraph 11 discloses AC consumption restricted in the energy saving mode), and
output, via the user interface, an indication of the changed operating intensity (see paragraphs 23-24, discloses REX activation is conveyed to the driver. Further paragraphs 17 and 24 indicate a proposed mode that includes AC limiting). Lu fails to teach that the resulting air conditioner level is displayed after the change. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have restricted the air conditioner when a comparison show the destination is out of reach, has Lu in paragraphs 8-9 addresses this problem.
Regarding Dependent claims 2 and 12, Lu discloses wherein the at least one instruction, executed by the processor, is configured to cause the vehicle to change the operating intensity based on at least one of: a minimum rotational speed, of the air conditioner, associated with characteristics of the air conditioner; the target driving distance; the DTE; or a current rotational speed of the air conditioner (see paragraphs 9, 20 and 22, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 6 and 16, Lu discloses wherein the at least one instruction, executed by the processor, is configured to cause the vehicle to output, based on the current rotational speed of the air conditioner being equal to the minimum rotational speed, a request to turn off the air conditioner via the user interface (see paragraphs 12 and 25, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 7 and 17, Lu discloses wherein the at least one instruction, executed by the processor, is configured to cause the vehicle to output, based on the current rotational speed of the air conditioner not being detected, a request to charge the vehicle via the user interface (see paragraphs 23, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 8 and 18, Lu discloses wherein the at least one instruction, executed by the processor, is configured to cause the vehicle to reduce the current rotational speed of the air conditioner in response to a user input requesting a change in the operating intensity or automatically reduce the current rotational speed of the air conditioner (see paragraph 12, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Dependent claims 9 and 19, Lu discloses wherein the at least one instruction, executed by the processor, is configured to cause the vehicle to reduce the current rotational speed of the air conditioner to the minimum rotational speed (see paragraph 12, including the explanation provided in the Independent claim).
Regarding Independent claim 11, Lu discloses A method performed by a vehicle, the method comprising:
determining, based on a location of the vehicle detected via at least one sensor of the vehicle and based on a user input received via a user interface of the vehicle, a target driving distance of the vehicle (see paragraphs 20-24, discloses position data of a navigation system that is used in route calculation including current position data with the destination entered);
identifying, based on a state of charge (SOC) of a battery of the vehicle, a distance to empty (DTE) of the vehicle (see paragraphs 20-24, discloses SOC determined in a battery state determining step 16);
comparing the target driving distance with the DTE of the vehicle; changing, based on the comparing of the target driving distance with the DTE of the vehicle, an operating intensity of an air conditioner of the vehicle by sending a control signal to the air conditioner (see paragraphs 4, 6, 15 and 20, discloses range prediction step 14 from the calculated route, stored and current energy consumption and SOC from step 16. Further teaching battery charge level input and cruising range thereby calculating how far the vehicle can go on the battery. In paragraphs 20 and 22 discloses whether the destination can be reached or if there is a range gap this performing a comparison. Also see paragraph 11 discloses AC consumption restricted in the energy saving mode); and
outputting, via the user interface, an indication of the changed operating intensity (see paragraphs 23-24, discloses REX activation is conveyed to the driver. Further paragraphs 17 and 24 indicate a proposed mode that includes AC limiting). Lu fails to teach that the resulting air conditioner level is displayed after the change. At the time of the invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have restricted the air conditioner when a comparison show the destination is out of reach, has Lu in paragraphs 8-9 addresses this problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giovanardi (U.S. Pub 2022/0281456, published March 1, 2012).
Regarding Independent claim 20, Lu discloses A vehicle comprising:
at least one sensor; a battery; a motor configured to receive power from the battery; an air conditioner configured to receive power from the battery (see paragraph 2, discloses a battery & paragraphs 6, 9 and 15, discloses an AC via large electric power consumer like air conditioning systems, thereby being a consumer of the battery fed vehicle);
a user interface; a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction, wherein the at least one instruction, executed by the processor, is configured to cause the vehicle to: determine, based on a location of the vehicle detected via the at least one sensor and based on a user input received via the user interface, a target driving distance of the vehicle (see paragraphs 20-24, discloses position data of a navigation system that is used in route calculation including current position data with the destination entered),
wherein the user input indicates a destination of the vehicle, identify, based on a state of charge (SOC) of the battery, a distance to empty (DTE) of the vehicle (see paragraphs 20-24, discloses SOC determined in a battery state determining step 16),,
compare the target driving distance with the DTE of the vehicle (see paragraphs 4, 6, 15 and 20, discloses range prediction step 14 from the calculated route, stored and current energy consumption and SOC from step 16. Further teaching battery charge level input and cruising range thereby calculating how far the vehicle can go on the battery. In paragraphs 20 and 22 discloses whether the destination can be reached or if there is a range gap this performing a comparison. Also see paragraph 11 discloses AC consumption restricted in the energy saving mode), and
change, based on the comparison of the target driving distance with the DTE of the vehicle, an operating intensity of the air conditioner by sending a control signal to the air conditioner (see paragraphs 17 and 24 indicate a proposed mode that includes AC limiting).
It is noted that any citation [[s]] to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. [[See, MPEP 2123]]
Conclusion
/Manglesh M Patel/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665
10/16/2026