DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they are grey scale and of poor line quality. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. See MPEP 608.02 and 37 CFR 1.84.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 11-12 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,429,049. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. Note: Applicant has moved limitations / alternative limitations from the independent claims in the patent to the new dependent claims in the present application.
Claims 1, 5-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 10-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,429,049. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are only broader/narrower than the patented claims. Under the same logic that a narrower species will always anticipate the broader genus (MPEP §2131.02, subsection 1), and that a generic disclosure will anticipate a claimed species covered by that disclosure even when the reference describes the limitations but does not expressly spell out the limitations (MPEP §2131.02, subsection III), claims which are only narrower cannot be held patentably distinct from claims which are only broader.
Present claims 1, 5-7 is/are only broader/narrower than patented claims 1-4, 10-13 through their alternative shifting of independent/dependent limitations (e.g. claim 1 of the present application is broader than patented claim 1 by generically reciting “mounting component” where patent claim 1 recites a flange or flow block; etc…) and overlapping alternative limitations and/or nomenclature (e.g. flange / flow block; portion having a wall thickness greater than the lubricator body wall thickness / widest and lowest portion of the lubricator; etc…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casey (US 20170044882).
Regarding claim 1, Casey teaches: A plunger lubricator comprising:
(a) a lubricator body (Casey comprising at least one of near 11, 50, 22, 60 [0044, 0046-0089]) defining an internal longitudinal bore (Casey 54) and having a wall thickness (Casey near 50);
(b) an upper lubricator assembly (Casey comprising 52) capping an upper end of the lubricator body;
(c) a mounting component (Casey near one of 22/98/58/26) for mounting the lubricator body to a wellhead component; and
(d) a plunger catcher (Casey 26) positioned below the lubricator body in a portion of the lubricator having a wall thickness greater (Casey see increase in thickness near 26 in Fig. 4-6; near 22 Fig. 7) than the lubricator body wall thickness.
Regarding claim 2, Casey teaches: The plunger lubricator of claim 1 wherein the mounting component is a lower flange (Casey near one of 22/98/58/26).
Regarding claim 3, Casey teaches: The plunger lubricator of claim 1 wherein the mounting component is a flow block (Casey near one of 22/98/58/26).
Regarding claim 4, Casey teaches: The plunger lubricator of claim 1 wherein the plunger catcher is positioned (Casey near 22/58) in the widest and/or lowest portion of the lubricator.
Regarding claim 5, Casey teaches: The plunger lubricator of claim 1 comprising a one-piece integral (Casey Figs. 5-6 / Figs. 7-9) lubricator body comprising an upper cylindrical portion (Casey near 50) and the mounting component (Casey near 58/22), and the plunger lubricator is positioned in the mounting component.
Regarding claim 7, Casey teaches: The plunger lubricator of claim 5 wherein the mounting component is a flow block (Casey Fig. 5-6).
Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Ricker (US 1836874) teaches a lubricator comprising a plunger catch in the widest body portion of the lubricator.
Fletcher (US 2030436) teaches a lubricator comprising a plunger catch installed in the widest and lowest body portion of the lubricator.
Conclusion
/David Carroll/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674