Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 12/13/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekine et al. (hereafter Sekine)(US PgPub 2022/0024462).
Regarding claim 1, Sekine discloses an apparatus of a vehicle (Figures 1-2 and 4), the apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory (Figure 1, Element 80), is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine, via a sensor of the vehicle, whether grip conditions of a steering wheel of the vehicle are satisfied (Figure 1, Elements 10, 20, 30 and Paragraphs 0015-0032 and 0051-0054 where sensor(s) of the vehicle detect various vehicle, driver and surrounding environment variables to determine driving scenes), wherein the grip conditions are related to an output of a notification for requesting grip of the steering wheel to a driver of the vehicle (Figure 4, Element S1 and Paragraphs 0049-0055 where a steering wheel grip request is output to a driver of the vehicle), and wherein the output of the notification is based on at least one of a vehicle state of the vehicle during autonomous driving of the vehicle or a driver state of the driver during the autonomous driving of the vehicle (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0051-0065 where the grip request to the user is based on a state of the autonomous driving vehicle relative to the driving scenes), based on the determination of whether the grip conditions are satisfied, output a signal indicating whether to generate the notification or whether to release a previously generated notification (Figure 4, Elements S2-S3 and Paragraphs 0051-0065 where the user is determined to be gripping the steering wheel with two hands and the previously generated request is released), and based on the signal, perform at least one of: monitoring a grip on the steering wheel or adjusting the autonomous driving of the vehicle (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0051-0065 where the grip on the steering wheel is continuously monitored based on detected driving scenes relative to vehicle).
Regarding claim 2, Sekine discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to output, via a user interface of the vehicle, content of the grip conditions, wherein the grip conditions are determined to be satisfied (Figure 1, Element 611, Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0036, 0061, 0064 and 0065 where the display provides indication to the user to grip the steering wheel. Thereafter, the grip conditions are determined to be satisfied).
Regarding claim 3, Sekine discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to output, via a user interface of the vehicle and based on activation of autonomous driving of the vehicle, information indicating that the grip conditions are variably set (Figure 1, Element 611, Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0036, 0061, 0064 and 0065 where the display provides indication to the user to grip the steering wheel. Thereafter, the grip conditions are determined to be satisfied).
Regarding claim 4, Sekine discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine, based on the vehicle state or the driver state, a priority of the grip conditions, and set, based on the determined priority, the grip conditions (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0051-0065 where various grip requests are provided to the user based on determined driving scenes).
Regarding claim 5, Sekine discloses wherein the grip conditions comprise at least one of: a number of grip areas required to be detected on the steering wheel, a location of the grip areas on the steering wheel, an area of contact on the steering wheel, a strength level of the grip on the steering wheel, or a time duration for which the grip areas are maintained on the steering wheel (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0039 and 0051-0065 where various grip requests (i.e., one or two hand grips) are provided to the user based on determined driving scenes. The user satisfies grip requirements and the vehicle operates in a manual or autonomous mode dependent on driving scene).
Regarding claim 6, Sekine discloses wherein the vehicle state comprises at least one of: an abnormal state in which a sensor of the vehicle malfunctions, a controller fails, or a hardware defect occurs, a system boundary state in which autonomous driving of the vehicle is limited due to environmental or system performance constraints, or a collision risk state indicating a risk of collision between the vehicle and an object (Figure 1, Elements 10, 20, 30 and Paragraphs 0015-0032 and 0051-0054 where sensor(s) of the vehicle detect various vehicle, driver and surrounding environment variables to determine driving scenes).
Regarding claim 7, Sekine discloses wherein the driver state comprises at least one of: an inattention state in which the driver is determined to be inattentive; or an undetermined state in which the driver state is not determined due to a sensing failure or a monitoring constraint (Figure 1, Elements 10, 20, 30 and Paragraphs 0015-0032 and 0051-0054 where sensor(s) of the vehicle detect various vehicle, driver and surrounding environment variables to determine driving scenes).
Regarding claim 8, Sekine discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to determine, based on historical driving data of the driver, the grip conditions (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0049-0065 where grip requests are provided to the user based on previously detected data relative to the vehicle and user).
Regarding claim 9, Sekine discloses wherein the vehicle state comprises a state in which sensor value input is not allowed due to a sensor of the vehicle being obscured (Paragraphs 0044 and 0054 where vehicle sensors are obscured due to glare).
Regarding claim 10, Sekine discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to further determine, based on feedback data of the driver in response to the notification, the grip conditions (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0051-0065 where grip conditions are determined to be satisfied).
Regarding claim 11, Sekine discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to determine, based on a surrounding environmental state of the vehicle, the grip conditions (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0051-0065 where various grip requests (i.e., one or two hand grips) are provided to the user based on determined driving scenes).
Regarding claim 12, Sekine discloses wherein the surrounding environmental state comprises at least one of: a road state, a weather state, or a state of an object adjacent to the vehicle (Figure 1, Elements 10, 20, 30 and Paragraphs 0015-0032 and 0051-0054 where sensor(s) of the vehicle detect various vehicle, driver and surrounding environment variables to determine driving scenes).
Method claims 13-17 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claims 1-12. Therefore method claims 13-17 correspond to apparatus claims 1-12 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 18, Sekine discloses a vehicle (Figures 1-2) comprising: a sensor (Figure 1, Elements 10, 20, 30 and Paragraphs 0015-0032 and 0051-0054 where sensor(s) of the vehicle detect various vehicle, driver and surrounding environment variables to determine driving scenes); a processor; and a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory (Figure 1, Element 80), is configured to cause the vehicle to: obtain, via the sensor, during autonomous driving of the vehicle, state information comprising at least one of a vehicle state of the vehicle or a driver state of a driver of the vehicle (Figure 1, Elements 10, 20, 30 and Paragraphs 0015-0032 and 0051-0054 where sensor(s) of the vehicle detect various vehicle, driver and surrounding environment variables to determine driving scenes relative to the user and vehicle), identify, based on the state information, grip conditions to be satisfied by the driver when gripping a steering wheel of the vehicle (Figure 4, Element S1 and Paragraphs 0049-0055 where a steering wheel grip request is output to a driver of the vehicle), determine, via a sensor associated with the steering wheel, whether the driver satisfies the grip conditions (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0049-0065 where it is determined whether the user is properly gripping the steering wheel with one or two hands), output, based on a determination that the grip conditions are not satisfied, a signal requesting grip of the steering wheel (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0049-0065 where the user is provided with warnings/notifications to maintain proper grip with the steering wheel), and adjust autonomous driving control of the vehicle based on whether the grip conditions are satisfied in response to the signal (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0039 and 0049-0065 where various grip requests (i.e., one or two hand grips) are provided to the user based on determined driving scenes. The user satisfies grip requirements and the vehicle operates in a manual or adjusted autonomous mode dependent on driving scene).
Regarding claim 19, Sekine discloses wherein the state information comprises at least one of: accumulated driving data of the driver, feedback data of the driver for the signal, or a surrounding environmental state of the vehicle comprising a road state, a weather state, or a state of an object adjacent to the vehicle (Figure 1, Elements 10, 20, 30 and Paragraphs 0015-0032 and 0051-0054 where sensor(s) of the vehicle detect various vehicle, driver and surrounding environment variables to determine driving scenes).
Regarding claim 20, Sekine discloses wherein the adjusting of the autonomous driving control comprises: restricting at least one autonomous driving function of the vehicle, or transitioning control of the vehicle from an autonomous driving mode to a manual driving mode based on the grip conditions remaining unsatisfied for a predetermined time after the output of the signal (Figure 4 and Paragraphs 0039 and 0049-0065 where various grip requests (i.e., one or two hand grips) are provided to the user based on determined driving scenes. The user satisfies grip requirements and the vehicle operates in a manual or adjusted autonomous mode dependent on driving scene).
Conclusion
/THOMAS D ALUNKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686