DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 28 and 30 recite the limitation "an air-liquid interface at the skin tissue sample." The air and liquid are not required elements of the claimed system. Thus, it is unclear as to the structure being claimed by said limitation. Further clarification is requested and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-14 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottardi et al. (US 2019/0076840; hereinafter “Gottardi”) in view of Qian et al. (US 2022/0064625; hereinafter “Qian”).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Gottardi discloses an ex vivo skin tissue system, comprising: an insert comprising at least one opening and a wall (insert (372) having an opening sealed by a sealing lid 374; see [0106], and FIG. 5E, annotated and reproduced below);
a tissue sample sealed inside the insert (a tissue sample (380) is sealed within the insert; see [0010], [0106], and FIG. 5E above); and a porous layer positioned inside the insert, wherein the porous layer has a first side facing the at least one opening and a second side facing opposite the at least one opening of the insert (i.e., a scaffold coupled to the cell layer; see, e.g., [0106], [0120], [0155], [0177], [0226],[0231], and FIG. 5E above), and wherein the porous layer comprises an arrangement relative to the tissue sample so as to promote mass transport of reagents and/or fluid into the tissue sample for supporting viability of the tissue sample for at least one week (the porous layer is coupled to the tissue sample; further, the porous layer of Gottardi is structurally the same as the instant porous layer and thus fully capable of performing the recited function of “to promote mass transport of reagents and/or fluid into the tissue sample for supporting viability of the tissue sample for at least one week.” Gottardi does not explicitly disclose wherein the tissue sample is a skin tissue sample. However, Gottardi discloses that various types of tissue samples can be incorporated into the insert to test various types of cells including skin tissue ([0006], [0010], [0092], [0188]-[0194], [0118]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the tissue sample of Gottardi with a skin tissue sample to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gottardi discloses that the tissue sample can be substituted with a skin tissue sample (see Gottardi at [0092], [0188]-[0194], [0118]). Gottardi does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one pore of the porous layer comprises a gyroid infill. However, Gottardi does disclose wherein various types of scaffolds can be used within the system (see, e.g., [0106], [0120], [0155], [0177], [0188], [0226],[0231]).
Qian discloses a cell culturing system comprising a porous layer (a three-dimensional (3D) printed structure) for culturing cells ([0209], [0235]). Qian further discloses wherein the 3D printed structure can have the shape of a gyroid with a lattice having a plurality of units in the shape of a gyroid pattern (gyroid infill ; see, FIG. 25a; [0285]-[00286]). In view of Qian, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the porous layer of Gottardi with a porous layer that comprises a gyroid infill as disclosed by Qian (FIG. 25a; [0285]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known porous layer with another for the predictable result of aiding in culturing cells, as suggested by Gottardi ([0155]) and Qian ([0209], [0235]). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitation of functional language "to promote mass transport of reagents and/or fluid into the skin tissue sample for supporting viability of the skin tissue sample for at least one week" is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, the intended uses of the apparatus do not further define any structural features to the porous layer but rather only define how the porous layer may be used. The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed porous layer and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 7, modified Gottardi discloses wherein the porous layer is in contact with the skin tissue sample (porous layer (cell layer) is contact with the skin tissue; see annotated FIG. 5E above). Modified Gottardi does not explicitly disclose an adipose layer positioned inside the insert. However, Gottardi discloses that a human adipose-derived stem cells in a gel layer can be arranged between tissue sample and cell layer (see annotated FIG. 5E above; [0010], [0121]-[0122]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a human adipose-derived stem cells in a gel layer between the tissue sample and cell layer of Gottardi to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gottardi discloses that the human adipose-derived stem cells in a gel layer between the tissue sample and cell layer aids in culturing cells in the insert ([0010], [0121]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 3, the limitations of claim 3 do not add any additional structural limitations to the claimed system. The adipose layer of Gottardi is structurally the same as the instant adipose layer of the instant claims, and thus considered to meet said limitation.
Regarding claim 6, modified Gottardi further discloses at least one of an inlet channel and outlet channel positioned lateral to the porous layer (Gottardi at [0106] and FIG. 5E; inlet and outlet channels (384,384, 388,390]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Gottardi discloses a cell composition seeded within the porous layer between the first side and the second side (i.e., scaffold seeded with cells forming cell layer; see, e.g., FIG. 5E above, [0106], [0120], [0155], [0177], [0226],[0231]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Gottardi discloses the cell composition but does not explicitly disclose wherein the seeded cell composition comprises one or more of endothelial cells, primary cells, iPSCs, keratinocytes, fibroblasts, melanocytes, resident immune cells, circulating immune cells, stem cells, adipocytes, microbes, or a combination thereof. However, modified Gottardi discloses that a combination of various types of cells can be incorporated into the insert to test various types of cells responses including adipose ([0188]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the seeded cells in the porous layer of modified Gottardi with the claimed cells to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gottardi discloses that the cells seeded within the porous layer can be substituted with other types of cells ([0188]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Gottardi further discloses wherein an interior surface of a wall perpendicular to the first side of the porous layer comprises a plurality of pores (see Gottardi at FIG. 5E and [0107]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Gottardi further discloses wherein the plurality of pores penetrate a desired thickness of the wall (see Gottardi at FIG. 5E and [0107]).
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of claim 14 do not add any additional structural limitations to the claimed system. The system of Gottardi is structurally the same as the instant system and thus fully capable of culturing the skin tissue sample and forming an ex vivo skin model.
Regarding claims 28-29, modified Gottardi discloses wherein the skin tissue sample faces the at least one opening (insert (372) having an opening sealed by a sealing lid 374; see [0106]), and said opening is fully capable of providing an air-liquid interface.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottardi in view of Qian as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gingras (US 2006/0141012).
Regarding claim 11, modified Gottardi discloses the ex vivo skin tissue system according to claim 1. Modified Gottardi discloses the claimed porous layer but does not explicitly disclose wherein the porous layer comprises a porosity gradient of at least one gyroid, and wherein the porosity gradient comprises a lower density of pores in a center of the porous layer relative to an outer boundary of the porous layer. Gingras discloses a three-dimensional tissue scaffold (Abstract). Gingras further discloses wherein the features of the three-dimensional tissue scaffold can be controlled to suit desired application ([0095]-[0096]). Gingras discloses wherein a porosity gradient of the three-dimensional scaffold includes a lower density of pores in a center of the three-dimensional tissue scaffold relative to an outer boundary of the three-dimensional tissue scaffold ([0005], [0128], [0131]). In view of Gingras, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the porous layer of modified Gottardi such that a porosity gradient of the porous layer comprises a lower density of pores in a center of the porous layer relative to an outer boundary of the porous layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gingras discloses that features of the scaffold can be varied including pore density based on desired application and preferred structure of the three-dimensional scaffold (see Gingras, [0005], [0095]-[0096], [0105]-[0106], [0128]).
Claim(s) 15-23, 25-27 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottardi et al. (US 2019/0076840; hereinafter “Gottardi”) in view of Qian et al. (US 2022/0064625; hereinafter “Qian”) and Miklas et al. (US 2016/0282338; hereinafter “Miklas”).
Regarding claims 15, 17-18 and 23, Gottardi discloses an ex vivo skin tissue system, comprising: an insert comprising at least one opening and a wall (insert (372) having an opening sealed by a sealing lid 374; see [0106], and FIG. 5E, annotated and reproduced below);
a tissue sample (a tissue sample (380) within the insert; see [0010], [0106], and FIG. 5E above); and a porous layer positioned inside the insert, wherein the porous layer has a first side facing the at least one opening and a second side facing opposite the at least one opening of the insert (i.e., a scaffold coupled to the cell layer comprising a plurality of pores; see, e.g., [0106], [0120], [0155], [0177], [0226],[0231], and FIG. 5E above), and wherein the porous layer comprises an arrangement relative to the tissue sample so as to promote mass transport of reagents and/or fluid into the tissue sample for supporting viability of the tissue sample for at least one week (the porous layer is coupled to the tissue sample; further, the porous layer of Gottardi is structurally the same as the instant porous layer and thus fully capable of performing the recited function of “to promote mass transport of reagents and/or fluid into the tissue sample for supporting viability of the tissue sample for at least one week.”
Modified Gottardi does not explicitly disclose wherein the tissue sample is a skin tissue sample. However, Gottardi discloses that various types of tissue samples can be incorporated into the insert to test various types of cells including skin tissue ([0006], [0010], [0092], [0188]-[0194], [0118]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the tissue sample of Gottardi with a skin tissue sample to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gottardi discloses that the tissue sample can be substituted with a skin tissue sample (see Gottardi at [0092], [0188]-[0194], [0118]). Modified Gottardi does not explicitly disclose an adipose layer positioned inside the insert. However, modified Gottardi discloses that a combination of various tissues or organs can be included in the system ([0188]-[0194]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated adipose layer into the insert of modified Gottardi to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gottardi discloses that a combination of various tissues or organs can be employed in the system in order to model tissue/cell response in vivo ([0188]-[0194]).
Modified Gottardi does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one pore of the porous layer comprises a gyroid infill. However, Gottardi does disclose wherein various types of scaffold can be used within the system (see, e.g., [0106], [0120], [0155], [0177], [0188], [0226],[0231]).
Qian discloses a cell culturing system comprising a porous layer (a three-dimensional (3D) printed structure) for culturing cells ([0209], [0235]). Qian further discloses wherein the 3D printed structure can have the shape of a gyroid with a lattice having a plurality of units in the shape of a gyroid pattern (gyroid infill ; see, FIG. 25a; [0285]-[00286]). In view of Qian, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the porous layer of modified Gottardi with a porous layer that comprises a gyroid infill as disclosed by Qian (FIG. 25a; [0285]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known porous layer with another for the predictable result of aiding in culturing cells, as suggested by modified Gottardi ([0155]) and Qian ([0209], [0235]). Modified Gottardi discloses wherein the skin tissue and the adipose layer arranged within the insert, but does not explicitly disclose an adhesive film configured to at least contact or seal the adipose layer within the insert. Miklas discloses that a scaffold can be coupled to a well by any means including adhesive ([0300], [490]-[0493]). In view of Miklas, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling means of the adipose layer to the inset of modified Gottardi with the coupling means as disclosed by Miklas (e.g., adhesive; ([0300], [490]-[0493]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because said modification would have been the simple substitution of one known coupling means for another for the predictable result of coupling a three-dimensional construct to a receptacle as disclosed by Miklas ([0300], [490]-[0493]).
Furthermore, it is noted that the recitation of functional language "to promote mass transport of reagents and/or fluid into the skin tissue sample for supporting viability of the skin tissue sample for at least one week" is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, the intended uses of the apparatus do not further define any structural features to the porous layer but rather only define how the porous layer may be used. The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed porous layer and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of claim 16 do not add any additional structural limitations to the claimed system. The adipose layer of Gottardi is structurally the same as the instant adipose layer of the instant claims, and thus considered to meet said limitation.
Regarding claim 19, modified Gottardi further discloses at least one of an inlet channel and outlet channel positioned lateral to the porous layer (Gottardi at [0106] and FIG. 5E; inlet and outlet channels (384,384, 388,390]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Gottardi does not explicitly disclose a gel layer in contact with the second side, wherein the gel layer is configured to receive one or more of adipose- derived cells, dermal cells, and endothelial cells. However, Gottardi discloses that a human adipose-derived stem cells in a gel layer can be arranged between tissue sample and cell layer (see annotated FIG. 5E above; [0010], [0121]-[0122]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a human adipose-derived stem cells in a gel layer between the tissue sample and cell layer of Gottardi to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gottardi discloses that the human adipose-derived stem cells in a gel layer between the tissue sample and cell layer aids in culturing cells in the insert ([0010], [0121]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Gottardi discloses a cell composition seeded within the porous layer between the first side and the second side (i.e., scaffold seeded with cells forming cell layer; see, e.g., FIG. 5E above, [0106], [0120], [0155], [0177], [0226],[0231]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Gottardi discloses the cell composition but does not explicitly disclose wherein the seeded cell composition comprises one or more of endothelial cells, primary cells, iPSCs, keratinocytes, fibroblasts, melanocytes, resident immune cells, circulating immune cells, stem cells, adipocytes, microbes, or a combination thereof. However, modified Gottardi discloses that a combination of various types of cells can be incorporated into the insert to test various types of cells responses including adipose ([0188]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the seeded cells in the porous layer of modified Gottardi with the claimed cells to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gottardi discloses that the cells seeded within the porous layer can be substituted with other types of cells ([0188]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Gottardi further discloses wherein an interior surface of a wall perpendicular to the first side of the porous layer comprises a plurality of pores (see Gottardi at FIG. 5E and [0107]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Gottardi further discloses wherein the plurality of pores penetrate a desired thickness of the wall (see Gottardi at FIG. 5E and [0107]).
Regarding claim 27, the limitations of claim 27 do not add any additional structural limitations to the claimed system. The system of Gottardi is structurally the same as the instant system and thus fully capable of culturing the skin tissue sample and forming an ex vivo skin model.
Regarding claims 30-31, modified Gottardi discloses wherein the skin tissue sample faces the at least one opening (insert (372) having an opening sealed by a sealing lid 374; see [0106]), and said opening is fully capable of providing an air-liquid interface.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gottardi in view of Qian and Miklas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gingras (US 2006/0141012).
Regarding claim 24, modified Gottardi discloses the ex vivo skin tissue system according to claim 1. Modified Gottardi discloses the claimed porous layer but does not explicitly disclose wherein the porous layer comprises a porosity gradient of at least one gyroid, and wherein the porosity gradient comprises a lower density of pores in a center of the porous layer relative to an outer boundary of the porous layer. Gingras discloses a three-dimensional tissue scaffold (Abstract). Gingras further discloses wherein the features of the three-dimensional tissue scaffold can be controlled to suit desired application ([0095]-[0096]). Gingras discloses wherein a porosity gradient of the three-dimensional scaffold includes a lower density of pores in a center of the three-dimensional tissue scaffold relative to an outer boundary of the three-dimensional tissue scaffold ([0005], [0128], [0131]). In view of Gingras, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the porous layer of modified Gottardi such that a porosity gradient of the porous layer comprises a lower density of pores in a center of the porous layer relative to an outer boundary of the porous layer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Gingras discloses that features of the scaffold can be varied including pore density based on desired application and preferred structure of the three-dimensional scaffold (see Gingras, [0005], [0095]-[0096], [0105]-[0106], [0128]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 19 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gottardi and Qian fail to disclose or even suggest all claim elements. In particular, Applicant argues that the lattice of Qian for holding cells is distinct from a “gyroid infill” as recited in amended claim 1. See Remarks at pages 8 to 9.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection, Gottardi discloses the use of a scaffold for culturing cells. The type of scaffold employed for culturing cells in not limited to one specific type of scaffold. See, Gottardi at, e.g., paragraphs [0155], [0177] and [0188]. Quin is relied upon for disclosing a scaffold for culturing cells, wherein the scaffold has the shape of gyroid with a lattice having a plurality of units in the shape of a gyroid pattern. The gyroid can be infilled with desired materials including polymer-cell culture solution, a mixture and polymer-encapsulated whole cells (see, e.g., [0225]-[0228]). In Gottardi, similar to Quin, the pores within the scaffolds are used for culturing cells and providing culture medium to the cells. Thus, both Gottardi and Quin disclose the use of scaffold for culturing cells within the scaffold. As such, substituting the scaffold of Gottardi with the scaffold of Quin would have been a simple substitution of one known scaffold for another for the predictable result of culturing cells.
Applicant further argues that replacing the porous structure of the insert of Gottardi with the structures of Qian not yield predictable results (Remarks at page 10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, both Gottardi and Quin disclose the use of scaffolds for culturing cells arranged within the scaffold. Moreover, Gottardi discloses that various types of scaffolds can be employed with system for culturing cells. Therefore, substituting the scaffold of Gottardi with scaffold of Quin would have been a simple substitution of one known scaffold for another for the predictable result of culturing cells and disclosed by both Gottardi and Quin.
Applicant further argues that the Office cites to two different embodiments of a “porous layer” in Quin, without guidance as to how these embodiments can be combined with Gottardi (Remarks at pages 11 to 12).
In response, Quin was relied upon for disclosing a 3D printed structure having the shape of a gyroid with a lattice having a plurality of units in the shape of a gyroid pattern (FIG. 25a; [0285]). Paragraph [0235] of Quin was cited to disclose a method of printing a scaffold. Applicant’s argument that FIGS. 25a-25c and FIGS. 19A-19c are directed to two different embodiments is not persuasive, because both figures are related to 3D printed scaffolds. Furthermore, while the Office cites paragraph [0235] for disclosing a method of printing a scaffold, the Office explicitly cites FIG. 25a and paragraph [0285] for disclosing the claimed at least one pore having a gyroid infill. See page 6 of Office action dated November 19, 2025. As such, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that the combination of Gottardi with Qian would render Gottardi unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. In particular, the Applicant argues that “if Gottardi were combined with Qian, the insert in Gottardi would not allow for the lateral fluid flow. It would thus defeat the purpose of Gottardi to modify its insert with the 3D structure in Qian to allow for vertical fluid flow.” See Remarks at pages 13 to 14.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination of Gottardi and Qian merely modifies the structure of at least one pore within the scaffold of Gottardi, and not the entire structure of the scaffold. Furthermore, the scaffold of modified Gottardi would be able to allow fluid flow through the scaffold. As such, it is respectfully submitted that combination would not render Gottardi unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.
Applicant further argues that the proposed modification of Gottardi would change its principle of operation. See Remarks at pages 15 to 16.
In response, the examiner would respectfully reiterate the response to the argument provided at section 34 of this Response to Arguments as to why Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LIBAN M HASSAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7636. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM.
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799