DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–14, 16–28, and 30 are pending.
Claims 15 and 29 are canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2026/0005313 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicants' amendments have overcome the rejections of claims 9, 17, 19, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–7, 10–14, and 16–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 110336078 A, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a composition, comprising:
about 32 wt% to about 51 wt% of a first electrolyte solvent (EMC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]);
about 10 wt% to about 18 wt% of a halogenated ether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]);
about 12 wt% to about 45 wt% of a salt (LiPF6 : LIFSI : LIODFB; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]); and
about 4 wt% to about 10 wt% of a second electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]),
the second electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]) different from the first electrolyte solvent (EMC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Liu discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1.1 mol/L LiPF6 : LiFSI : LiODFB (6 : 1 : 3 by moles) in EC : EMC : FEC : HFE (3 : 5 : 1 : 1 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiPF2O2, 2 wt% PFPI, 2 wt% of hexamethyl disilazane, and 2.5 wt% of LiNO3, which corresponds to 39 wt% of EMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 8 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 8% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), and 14 wt % of LiPF6 : LiFSI : LiODFB (i.e., salt). 8 wt% is "about" 10 wt%.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a fluoroether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, fluorobutane, tetrahydropyran, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (EMC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, tetrahydropyran, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, vinylene carbonate, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and a composition:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a compound having the following structure (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]):
where n1 and n2 each have values between 1 and 5 (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]),
X = F, Br, Cl, or I (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]), and
n = 1-5 per molecule (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 1.5 wt% of a first additive (LiPF2O2, PFPI, LiNO3; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Liu discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1.1 mol/L LiPF6 : LiFSI : LiODFB (6 : 1 : 3 by moles) in EC : EMC : FEC : HFE (3 : 5 : 1 : 1 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiPF2O2, 2 wt% PFPI, 2 wt% of hexamethyl disilazane, and 2.5 wt% of LiNO3, which corresponds to 39 wt% of EMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 8 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 8% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), and 14 wt % of LiPF6 : LiFSI : LiODFB (i.e., salt). 2 wt% and 2.5 wt% are "about" 1.5 wt%.
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first additive includes at least one of lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(oxalato)borate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium bis(trifluoromethane) sulfonimide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonate, lithium perchlorate, lithium difluoro oxalato borate, lithium iodide, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, lithium hydroxide, lithium nitrate, lithium 2-trifluoromethyl-4,5-dicyanoimidazole, lithium sulfate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, or lithium difluorophosphate (LiPF2O2, PFPI, LiNO3; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses a composition, comprising:
about 40 wt% to about 56 wt% of a first electrolyte solvent (EMC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]);
a second electrolyte solvent different from the first electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]);
a third electrolyte solvent different from the first electrolyte solvent and the second electrolyte solvent (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]),
the third electrolyte solvent including a halogenated ether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]);
about 10 wt% to about 30 wt% of a first salt including hexafluorophosphate ions (LiPF6; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]); and
a second salt different from the first salt (LiFSI, LiODFB; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]),
the second salt including bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide ions (LiFSI, LiODFB; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Liu discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1.5 mol/L LiPF6 : LiFSI : LiODFB (6 : 1 : 3 by moles) in EC : EMC : FEC : HFE (3 : 5 : 1 : 1 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiPF2O2, 2 wt% PFPI, 2 wt% of hexamethyl disilazane, and 2.5 wt% of LiNO3, which corresponds to 38 wt% of EMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 7 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 7% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 9 wt % of LiPF6 (i.e. first salt), 2 wt% of LiFSI (i.e., second salt), and 5 wt% of LiODFB (i.e., second salt). 38 wt% is "about" 40 wt%; and 9 wt% is about 10 wt%.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the composition includes between about 4 wt% to about 19 wt% of the second salt (LiFSI, LiODFB; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, fluorobutane, tetrahydropyran, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (EMC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, fluorobutane, tetrahydropyran, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the composition includes about 10 wt% to about 25 wt% of the second electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 1.5 wt% of a first additive (LiPF2O2, PFPI, LiNO3; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Liu discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1.5 mol/L LiPF6 : LiFSI : LiODFB (6 : 1 : 3 by moles) in EC : EMC : FEC : HFE (3 : 5 : 1 : 1 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiPF2O2, 2 wt% PFPI, 2 wt% of hexamethyl disilazane, and 2.5 wt% of LiNO3, which corresponds to 38 wt% of EMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 7 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 7% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 9 wt % of LiPF6 (i.e. first salt), 2 wt% of LiFSI (i.e., second salt), and 5 wt% of LiODFB (i.e., second salt). 2 wt% and 2.5 wt% are "about" 1.5 wt%.
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first additive includes at least one of tris-(trimethylsilyl) phosphate, trimethoxy(3,3,3-trifluoropropyl)silane, triisobutyl phosphate, tributyl phosphate, trioctyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, tris(2-ethylhexyl)phosphate, triphenyl phosphate, pentafluorophenyltriethoxysilane, amphiphilic nonionic fluorosurfactants with hydrophilic part of ethylene glycol chains and hydrophobic part of fluoroalkyl chains, boric acid tris(trimethylsilyl) ester, tris-(pentafluorophenyl)silane, 1,10-sulfonyldiimidazole, trioxane, lithium difluorophosphate, prop-1-ene-1,3-sultone, 1,4-butane sultone, fluoropropane sultone, propargyl methanesulfonate, 1,3-propanediolcyclic, 1,3,2-benzodioxathiole 2,2-dioxide, dihydro-1,3,2-dioxathiolo [1,3,2] dioxathiole-2,2,5,5 tetraoxide, ethylene sulfite, vinyl ethylene sulfite, propylene sulfite, butylene sulfite, dimethyl sulfite, 1,3-propane sultone, methylene methanedisulfonate, sulfolane, di(methylsulfonyl)methane, methyl 2,2-dilfuoro-2-(fluorosulfonyl) acetate, p-toluenesulfonyl isocyanate, phenyl trans-styryl sulfone, N,N,N,N-tetraethyl sulfamide, 3-sulfopropionic anhydride, diphenyl disulfide, 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide, lithium difluoro oxalato borate, lithium nitrate, (pentafluorophenyl)diphenylphosphine, cetyltrimethylammonium bromide, sodium dodecyl sulfate, polyethylene-glycol, thiourea, benzotriazole, sodium dodecyl benzene sulfonate, LiTFSI, poly(vinyl alcohol), polyethylene glycol, or carboxymethyl cellulose (LiPF2O2, PFPI, LiNO3; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 5 wt% of a second additive (LiPF2O2, PFPI, LiNO3; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]),
the second additive being different from the first additive (LiPF2O2, PFPI, LiNO3; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Liu discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1.5 mol/L LiPF6 : LiFSI : LiODFB (6 : 1 : 3 by moles) in EC : EMC : FEC : HFE (3 : 5 : 1 : 1 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiPF2O2, 2 wt% PFPI, 2 wt% of hexamethyl disilazane, and 2.5 wt% of LiNO3, which corresponds to 38 wt% of EMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 7 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 7% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 9 wt % of LiPF6 (i.e. first salt), 2 wt% of LiFSI (i.e., second salt), and 5 wt% of LiODFB (i.e., second salt).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second additive includes at least one of tris-(trimethylsilyl) phosphate, trimethoxy(3,3,3-trifluoropropyl)silane, triisobutyl phosphate, tributyl phosphate, trioctyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, tris(2-ethylhexyl)phosphate, triphenyl phosphate, pentafluorophenyltriethoxysilane, amphiphilic nonionic fluorosurfactants with hydrophilic part of ethylene glycol chains and hydrophobic part of fluoroalkyl chains, boric acid tris(trimethylsilyl) ester, tris-(pentafluorophenyl)silane, 1,10-sulfonyldiimidazole (SDM), trioxane, lithium difluorophosphate, prop-1-ene-1,3-sultone, 1,4-butane sultone, fluoropropane sultone, propargyl methanesulfonate, 1,3-propanediolcyclic, 1,3,2-benzodioxathiole 2,2-dioxide, dihydro-1,3,2-dioxathiolo [1,3,2] dioxathiole-2,2,5,5 tetraoxide, ethylene sulfite, vinyl ethylene sulfite, propylene sulfite, butylene sulfite, dimethyl sulfite, 1,3-propane sultone, methylene methanedisulfonate, sulfolane, di(methylsulfonyl)methane, methyl 2,2-dilfuoro-2-(fluorosulfonyl) acetate, p-toluenesulfonyl isocyanate, phenyl trans-styryl sulfone, N,N,N,N-tetraethyl sulfamide, 3-sulfopropionic anhydride, diphenyl disulfide, 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide, lithium difluoro oxalato borate, lithium nitrate, (pentafluorophenyl)diphenylphosphine, cetyltrimethylammonium bromide, sodium dodecyl sulfate, polyethylene-glycol, thiourea, benzotriazole, sodium dodecyl benzene sulfonate, LiTFSI, poly(vinyl alcohol), polyethylene glycol, or carboxymethyl cellulose (LiPF2O2, PFPI, LiNO3; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031]).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a fluoroether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0021], [0023], [0027], [0029], [0031])..
Claims 1–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zou et al. (CN 111180796 A, hereinafter Zou).
Regarding claim 1, Zou discloses a composition, comprising:
about 32 wt% to about 51 wt% of a first electrolyte solvent (DEC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]);
about 10 wt% to about 18 wt% of a halogenated ether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]);
about 12 wt% to about 45 wt% of a salt (lithium hexafluorophosphate; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]); and
about 4 wt% to about 10 wt% of a second electrolyte solvent (TMSBC or EC; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]),
the second electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]) different from the first electrolyte solvent (DEC, EMC, EC; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]).
Zou discloses an electrolyte consisting of 2 mol/L LiPF6 in 20 or 25 wt% DEC, 20 or 25 wt% EMC, 20 wt% EC, 10 wt% TMSBC, and 20 or 30 wt% HFE with 1 wt% of LiPF2O2, 1 wt% DTD, and 3 wt% TFEP, which corresponds to 17 or 21 wt% DEC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 17 or 20 wt% EMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 12 wt% EC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 9 or 10 wt% TMSBC, and 10 or 16 wt% HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 1 wt% of LiPF2O2, 1 wt% DTD, 3 wt% TFEP, and 22 wt% LiPF6 (i.e., salt).
Regarding claim 2, Zou discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a fluoroether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]).
Regarding claim 3, Zou discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, fluorobutane, tetrahydropyran, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (DEC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]).
Regarding claim 4, Zou discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, tetrahydropyran, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, vinylene carbonate, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (EC; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]).
Regarding claim 5, Zou discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and a composition:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a compound having the following structure (HFE; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]):
where n1 and n2 each have values between 1 and 5 (HFE; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]),
X = F, Br, Cl, or I (HFE; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]), and
n = 1-5 per molecule (HFE; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]).
Regarding claim 6, Zou discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 1.5 wt% of a first additive (LiPO2F2, DTD, TFEP; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]).
Zou discloses an electrolyte consisting of 2 mol/L LiPF6 in 20 or 25 wt% DEC, 20 or 25 wt% EMC, 20 wt% EC, 10 wt% TMSBC, and 20 or 30 wt% HFE with 1 wt% of LiPF2O2, 1 wt% DTD, and 3 wt% TFEP, which corresponds to 17 or 21 wt% DEC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 17 or 20 wt% EMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 12 wt% EC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 9 or 10 wt% TMSBC, and 10 or 16 wt% HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 1 wt% of LiPF2O2, 1 wt% DTD, 3 wt% TFEP, and 22 wt% LiPF6 (i.e., salt).
Regarding claim 7, Zou discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first additive includes at least one of lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(oxalato)borate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium bis(trifluoromethane) sulfonimide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonate, lithium perchlorate, lithium difluoro oxalato borate, lithium iodide, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, lithium hydroxide, lithium nitrate, lithium 2-trifluoromethyl-4,5-dicyanoimidazole, lithium sulfate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, or lithium difluorophosphate (LiPO2F2, DTD, TFEP; TABLE 1; [0044]–[0090]).
Regarding claim 8, Zou discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the composition has a conductivity of at least about 7 mS/cm (TABLE 1, [0112]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21–28 and 30 are allowed.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The cited prior art of record do not disclose, teach or suggest the following distinguishing feature:
A composition comprising a halogenated ether includes a compound having the following structure:
where n1and n2 can each have values between 0 and 5, X = F, Br, Cl, or I, n = 1-4 per molecule.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–14 and 16–20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725