DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 28 October 2025 and 12 November 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05 September 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 17, 19, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "where n1and n2 can each have values between 0 and 5." The phrase "can each have" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 recites the limitation "polyethylene-glycol (PEG-8000), and thiourea (TU), benzotriazole (BTA), thiourea (CH4N2S)." It is unclear if "polyethylene-glycol (PEG-8000), and thiourea” is a single item in the least of possible electrolyte additives or two items in the list.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "polyethylene-glycol (PEG-8000), and thiourea (TU), benzotriazole (BTA), thiourea (CH4N2S)." It is unclear if "polyethylene-glycol (PEG-8000), and thiourea” is a single item in the least of possible electrolyte additives or two items in the list.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "high-nickel layered oxide (NMC811)." The term "high-nickel" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "high-nickel" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "high-nickel oxide" is indefinite.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "high-nickel layered oxide (NMC811)." The parentheses renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation (i.e., NMC811) within the parentheses is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Interpretation
The relative term "about" that is used in conjunction with numerical ranges in claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 21–25 is being treated in the broadest reasonable interpretation. The instant specification does not describe the degree of the term nor provide a definition for the term. As such, the term "about" will be interpreted as +30% of the stated value as evidenced by Kim (US 2019/0198865 A1), which provides a standard of degree for the term "about" in the art (see about, [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–4, 6–8, 10–16, 20–26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qin et al. (WO 2023/184154 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2024/0021879 A1; hereinafter Qin).
Regarding claim 1, Qin discloses a composition, comprising:
about 32 wt% to about 51 wt% of a first electrolyte solvent (FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]);
about 10 wt% to about 36 wt% of a halogenated ether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137]);
about 12 wt% to about 45 wt% of a salt (LIFSI, LIFTFSI, LIPF6; TABLE 1; [0137]); and
about 4 wt% to about 26 wt% of a second electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0137]),
the second electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0137]) different from the first electrolyte solvent (FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Qin discloses an electrolyte consisting of 2 M LiFSI in FEC/FEMC/HFE (3/4/3 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiI, which corresponds to 29.1 wt% of FEMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 21.8 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 21.8% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), and 27.2 wt % of LiFSI (i.e., salt). 29.1 wt% is "about" 32 wt% (i.e., ± 9.6 wt%).
Regarding claim 2, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a fluoroether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 3, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, fluorobutane, tetrahydropyran, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 4, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, tetrahydropyran, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, vinylene carbonate, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 6, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 1.5 wt% of a first additive (LiI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Qin discloses an electrolyte consisting of 2 M LiFSI in FEC/FEMC/HFE (3/4/3 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiI, which corresponds to 29.1 wt% of FEMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 21.8 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 21.8% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), and 27.2 wt % of LiFSI (i.e., salt). 2 wt% is "about" 1.5 wt% (± 0.5 wt%)
Regarding claim 7, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first additive includes at least one of lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl)imide, lithium bis(oxalato)borate, lithium hexafluorophosphate, lithium hexafluoroarsenate, lithium bis(trifluoromethane) sulfonimide, lithium trifluoromethanesulfonate, lithium perchlorate, lithium difluoro oxalato borate, lithium iodide, lithium bromide, lithium chloride, lithium hydroxide, lithium nitrate, lithium 2-trifluoromethyl-4,5-dicyanoimidazole, lithium sulfate, lithium tetrafluoroborate, or lithium difluorophosphate (LiI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 8, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the composition has a conductivity of at least about 7 mS/cm (Conductivity; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 10, Qin discloses a composition, comprising:
about 10 wt% to about 56 wt% of a first electrolyte solvent (FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]);
a second electrolyte solvent different from the first electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0137]);
a third electrolyte solvent different from the first electrolyte solvent and the second electrolyte solvent (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137]),
the third electrolyte solvent including a halogenated ether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137]);
about 10 wt% to about 30 wt% of a first salt including hexafluorophosphate ions (LiPF6; TABLE 1; [0137]); and
a second salt different from the first salt (LiFSI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 11, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the composition includes between about 4 wt% to about 19 wt% of the second salt (LiFSI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Qin discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1 M LiFSI and 1 M LiPF6 in FEC/FEMC/HFE (3/4/3 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiI, which corresponds to 29.9 wt% of FEMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 22.4 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 22.4% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 11.4 wt% of LiPF6 (i.e., first salt) and 14.0 wt % of LiFSI (i.e., second salt).
Regarding claim 12, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, fluorobutane, tetrahydropyran, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 13, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second electrolyte solvent includes at least one of 1,2-dimethoxyethane, bis-(2-fluoro-ethyl)-ether, 1,2-diethoxyethane, bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether, triethylene glycol dimethyl ether, tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether, diethyl ether, dipropyl ether, 1,2-dipropoxyethane, dibutoxyethane, 1,2-diethoxypropane, dimethyl carbonate, 1,3-dioxolane, 1,4-dioxolane, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dimethyl sulfoxide, ethyl vinyl sulfone, tetramethylene sulfone, ethyl methyl sulfone, ethylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, 4-vinyl-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, dimethyl sulfone, methyl butyrate, ethyl propionate, trimethyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, gamma-butyrolactone, 4-methylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, methylene ethylene carbonate, 4,5-dimethylene-1,3-dioxolan-2-one, allyl ether, triallyl amine, triallyl cyanurate, triallyl isocyanurate, water, carbonate, fluorobutane, tetrahydropyran, ethyl acetate, ethyl butyrate, methyl acetate, methyl butyrate, methyl propionate, methyl pentafluoropropionate, propyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl acetate, 2,2,2,-trifluoroethyl butyrate, or fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 14, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the composition includes about 10 wt% to about 25 wt% of the second electrolyte solvent (FEC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 15, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second salt includes bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide ions (LiFSI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 16, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 1.5 wt% of a first additive (LiI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 20, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a fluoroether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137])..
Regarding claim 21, Qin discloses an electrochemical cell (see lithium-ion secondary battery, [0140]), comprising: an anode disposed on an anode current collector (see negative electrode, [0139]); a cathode disposed on a cathode current collector (see positive electrode, [0138]); a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode (see separator, [0140]) ; and an electrolyte (see electrolyte solution, [0140]), the electrolyte comprising:
a first electrolyte solvent (FEC , FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]);
a second electrolyte solvent (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137]),
the second electrolyte solvent (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137]) different from the first electrolyte solvent (FEC , FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]),
the second electrolyte solvent including a halogenated ether (HFE; TABLE 1; [0137]);
about 10 wt% to about 30 wt% of a first salt including hexafluorophosphate ions (LiPF6; TABLE 1; [0137]); and
about 4 wt% to about 19 wt% of a second salt including bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide ions (LiFSI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Qin discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1 M LiFSI and 1 M LiPF6 in FEC/FEMC/HFE (3/4/3 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiI, which corresponds to 29.9 wt% of FEMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 22.4 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 22.4% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 11.4 wt% of LiPF6 (i.e., first salt) and 14.0 wt % of LiFSI (i.e., second salt).
Regarding claim 22, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical cell:
wherein the electrolyte includes about 10 wt% to about 25 wt% of the first salt (LiPF6; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 23, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical cell:
wherein the electrolyte includes about 4 wt% to about 10 wt% of the second salt (LiFSI; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Qin discloses an electrolyte consisting of 0.6 M LiFSI and 1.4 M LiPF6 in FEC/FEMC/HFE (3/4/3 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiI, which corresponds to 30.2 wt% of FEMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 22.6 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 22.6% of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), 16.1 wt% of LiPF6 (i.e., first salt) and 8.5 wt % of LiFSI (i.e., second salt).
Regarding claim 24, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical cell:
wherein the electrolyte includes about 10 wt% to about 56 wt% of the first electrolyte solvent (FEC , FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Regarding claim 25, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical cell:
wherein the electrolyte includes about 40 wt% to about 56 wt% of the first electrolyte solvent (FEC , FEMC, EMC; TABLE 1; [0137]).
Qin discloses an electrolyte consisting of 0.5 M LiFSI in FEC/FEMC/HFE (3/4/3 by weight) with 2 wt% of LiI, which corresponds to 36.6 wt% of FEMC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 27.4 wt% of HFE (i.e., halogenated ether), 27.4 % of FEC (i.e., second electrolyte solvent), and 8.6 wt % of LiFSI (i.e., salt). 8.6 wt% is "about" 12 wt% (i.e., ± 3.6 wt%) and 36.6 wt% is "about" 40 wt% (i.e., ± 12 wt%).
Regarding claim 26, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical cell:
wherein the anode includes at least one of carbon, graphite, hard carbon, activated carbon, silicon, SiO, Sn, SnS, SnS2, Sn3P4, Sb, SbS, Bi, P, TiO2, antimony, tin, aluminum, silver, copper, ZnO, Cu2O, or LTO (see negative electrode, [0139]).
Regarding claim 28, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical cell:
wherein the cathode includes at least one of LFP, conductive carbon particles, or high-nickel layered oxide (see positive electrode, [0138]).
Claims 10 and 16–19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 109713367 A, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses a composition, comprising:
about 10 wt% to about 56 wt% of a first electrolyte solvent (TABLE 2, [0072]);
a second electrolyte solvent different from the first electrolyte solvent (TABLE 2, [0072]);
a third electrolyte solvent different from the first electrolyte solvent and the second electrolyte solvent (TABLE 2, [0072]),
the third electrolyte solvent including a halogenated ether (see BTTE, [0072]);
about 10 wt% to about 30 wt% of a first salt including hexafluorophosphate ions (LiPF6; TABLE 2; [0072]); and
a second salt different from the first salt (TABLE 2, [0072]).
Qin discloses an electrolyte consisting of 10.20 g PC, 4.1 g EP, 11.30 g PP, 2.7 FEC, 0.68 g VEC, 0.34 g PS, 2.73 g LiBF4, 8.19 g LiFSI, 12.29 g LiPF6, 12.29 g LiODFB, 1.23 g LiTFSI, 1.23 g LiBOB, and 32.41 g BTFE. The total weight of the electrolyte is approximately 100 g and the mass of each component corresponds to the weight percent. Li discloses 10.20 wt% PC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 4.1 wt% EP, 11.30 wt% PP (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 2.7 FEC (i.e., first additive), 0.68 wt% VEC (i.e., first additive), 0.34 wt% PS (i.e., first additive), 2.73 wt% LiBF4, 8.19 wt% LiFSI (i.e., second salt), 12.29 wt% LiPF6 (i.e., first salt), 12.29 wt% LiODFB, 1.23 wt% LiTFSI (i.e., first additive), 1.23 wt% LiBOB (i.e., first additive), and 32.41 wt% BTFE (i.e., halogenated ether).
Regarding claim 16, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 1.5 wt% of a first additive (TABLE 2, [0072]).
Li discloses an electrolyte consisting of 10.20 wt% PC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 4.1 wt% EP, 11.30 wt% PP (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 2.7 FEC (i.e., first additive), 0.68 wt% VEC (i.e., first additive), 0.34 wt% PS (i.e., first additive), 2.73 wt% LiBF4, 8.19 wt% LiFSI (i.e., second salt), 12.29 wt% LiPF6 (i.e., first salt), 12.29 wt% LiODFB, 1.23 wt% LiTFSI (i.e., first additive), 1.23 wt% LiBOB (i.e., first additive), and 32.41 wt% BTFE (i.e., halogenated ether).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the first additive includes at least one of tris-(trimethylsilyl) phosphate, trimethoxy(3,3,3-trifluoropropyl)silane, triisobutyl phosphate, tributyl phosphate, trioctyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, tris(2-ethylhexyl)phosphate, triphenyl phosphate, pentafluorophenyltriethoxysilane, amphiphilic nonionic fluorosurfactants with hydrophilic part of ethylene glycol chains and hydrophobic part of fluoroalkyl chains, boric acid tris(trimethylsilyl) ester, tris-(pentafluorophenyl)silane, 1,10-sulfonyldiimidazole, trioxane, lithium difluorophosphate, prop-1-ene-1,3-sultone, 1,4-butane sultone, fluoropropane sultone, propargyl methanesulfonate, 1,3-propanediolcyclic, 1,3,2-benzodioxathiole 2,2-dioxide, dihydro-1,3,2-dioxathiolo [1,3,2] dioxathiole-2,2,5,5 tetraoxide, ethylene sulfite, vinyl ethylene sulfite, propylene sulfite, butylene sulfite, dimethyl sulfite, 1,3-propane sultone, methylene methanedisulfonate, sulfolane, di(methylsulfonyl)methane, methyl 2,2-dilfuoro-2-(fluorosulfonyl) acetate, p-toluenesulfonyl isocyanate, phenyl trans-styryl sulfone, N,N,N,N-tetraethyl sulfamide, 3-sulfopropionic anhydride, diphenyl disulfide, 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide, lithium difluoro oxalato borate, lithium nitrate, (pentafluorophenyl)diphenylphosphine, cetyltrimethylammonium bromide, sodium dodecyl sulfate, polyethylene-glycol, and thiourea, benzotriazole, thiourea, sodium dodecyl benzene sulfonate, LiTFSI, poly(vinyl alcohol), polyethylene glycol, or carboxymethyl cellulose (PS; TABLE 2; [0072]).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition, further comprising:
about 0.5 wt% to about 5 wt% of a second additive (LiODFB; TABLE 2; [0072]),
the second additive being different from the first additive (TABLE 2, [0072]).
Li discloses an electrolyte consisting of 10.20 wt% PC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 4.1 wt% EP, 11.30 wt% PP (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 2.7 FEC (i.e., first additive), 0.68 wt% VEC (i.e., first additive), 0.34 wt% PS (i.e., first additive), 2.73 wt% LiBF4, 8.19 wt% LiFSI (i.e., second salt), 12.29 wt% LiPF6 (i.e., first salt), 12.29 wt% LiODFB, 1.23 wt% LiTFSI (i.e., first additive), 1.23 wt% LiBOB (i.e., first additive), and 32.41 wt% BTFE (i.e., halogenated ether).
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composition:
wherein the second additive includes at least one of tris-(trimethylsilyl) phosphate, trimethoxy(3,3,3-trifluoropropyl)silane, triisobutyl phosphate, tributyl phosphate, trioctyl phosphate, triethyl phosphate, tris(2-ethylhexyl)phosphate, triphenyl phosphate, pentafluorophenyltriethoxysilane, amphiphilic nonionic fluorosurfactants with hydrophilic part of ethylene glycol chains and hydrophobic part of fluoroalkyl chains, boric acid tris(trimethylsilyl) ester, tris-(pentafluorophenyl)silane, 1,10-sulfonyldiimidazole (SDM), trioxane, lithium difluorophosphate, prop-1-ene-1,3-sultone, 1,4-butane sultone, fluoropropane sultone, propargyl methanesulfonate, 1,3-propanediolcyclic, 1,3,2-benzodioxathiole 2,2-dioxide, dihydro-1,3,2-dioxathiolo [1,3,2] dioxathiole-2,2,5,5 tetraoxide, ethylene sulfite, vinyl ethylene sulfite, propylene sulfite, butylene sulfite, dimethyl sulfite, 1,3-propane sultone, methylene methanedisulfonate, sulfolane, di(methylsulfonyl)methane, methyl 2,2-dilfuoro-2-(fluorosulfonyl) acetate, p-toluenesulfonyl isocyanate, phenyl trans-styryl sulfone, N,N,N,N-tetraethyl sulfamide, 3-sulfopropionic anhydride, diphenyl disulfide, 1,3,2-dioxathiolane 2,2-dioxide, lithium difluoro oxalato borate, lithium nitrate, (pentafluorophenyl)diphenylphosphine, cetyltrimethylammonium bromide, sodium dodecyl sulfate, polyethylene-glycol, and thiourea, benzotriazole, thiourea, sodium dodecyl benzene sulfonate, LiTFSI, poly(vinyl alcohol), polyethylene glycol, or carboxymethyl cellulose (LiODFB; TABLE 2, [0072]).
Li discloses 10.20 wt% PC (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 4.1 wt% EP, 11.30 wt% PP (i.e., first electrolyte solvent), 2.7 FEC (i.e., first additive), 0.68 wt% VEC (i.e., first additive), 0.34 wt% PS (i.e., first additive), 2.73 wt% LiBF4, 8.19 wt% LiFSI (i.e., second salt), 12.29 wt% LiPF6 (i.e., first salt), 12.29 wt% LiODFB, 1.23 wt% LiTFSI (i.e., first additive), 1.23 wt% LiBOB (i.e., first additive), and 32.41 wt% BTFE (i.e., halogenated ether).
Claims 21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 111276744 A, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses an electrochemical cell (see battery, [0034]), comprising: an anode disposed on an anode current collector (see negative electrode, [0034]); a cathode disposed on a cathode current collector (see positive electrode, [0034]); a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode ; and an electrolyte (see electrolyte system, [0034]), the electrolyte comprising:
a first electrolyte solvent (see fluoroethylene carbonate and diethyl carbonate [0034]);
a second electrolyte solvent (see fluoromethyl-1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoroiso propyl ether, [0034]),
the second electrolyte solvent (see fluoromethyl-1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoroiso propyl ether, [0034]) different from the first electrolyte solvent (see fluoroethylene carbonate and diethyl carbonate [0034]),
the second electrolyte solvent including a halogenated ether (see fluoromethyl-1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoroiso propyl ether, [0034]);
about 10 wt% to about 30 wt% of a first salt including hexafluorophosphate ions (LiPF6, [0034]); and
about 4 wt% to about 19 wt% of a second salt including bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide ions (LiFSI, [0034]).
Zhang discloses an electrolyte consisting of 1.5 M LiFSI, 0.5 M LiPF6, FEC and DEC (1:4, v:v), fluoromethyl-1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoroiso propyl ether, and 1.5 wt% tris(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) borate. Zhang discloses fluoromethyl-1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoroiso propyl ether is added to make the concentration 2 M from 6 M. The volume ratio of fluoromethyl-1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoroiso propyl ether to FEC and DEC is 2:1. Zhang discloses 14.2 wt% LiFSI, 5.2 wt% LiPF6, 6.9 wt% FEC, 16.4 wt% DEC, 56.6 wt% fluoromethyl-1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoroiso propyl ether, and 1.5 wt% tris(2,2,2-trifluoroethyl) borate. 5.2 wt% is "about" 10 wt%.
Regarding claim 27, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrochemical cell:
wherein the anode includes lithium metal (see negative electrode, [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (WO 2023/184154 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2024/0021879 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Deng et al. (CN 112382792 A, hereinafter Deng).
Regarding claims 5 and 29, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a composition or an electrochemical cell:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a compound having the following structure:
where n1 and n2 each have values between 1 and 5,
X = F, Br, Cl, or I, and
n = 1-5 per molecule.
Deng discloses a composition comprising a halogenated ether includes a compound having the following structure:
(see II, [0064]) where n1 and n2 each have values between 1 and 5 (see II, [0064]), X = F, Br, Cl, or I (see II, [0064]), and n = 1-5 per molecule (see II, [0064]); wherein the halogenated ether does not include a hydrofluoroether (see II, [0064]) to improve the safety and charging characteristics of the battery (see electrolyte, [0023]). Qin and Deng are analogous because they are directed to electrolytes for lithium batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the composition and electrochemical cell of Qin with the halogenated ether of Deng in order to improve the safety and charging characteristics of the battery.
Claims 9 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (WO 2023/184154 A1; see English language equivalent, US 2024/0021879 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Noguchi et al. (US 2020/0091559 A1, hereinafter Noguchi).
Regarding claims 9 and 30, Qin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a composition or an electrochemical cell:
wherein the halogenated ether includes a compound having the following structure:
where n1and n2 can each have values between 0 and 5,
X = F, Br, Cl, or I,
n = 1-4 per molecule; and
wherein the halogenated ether does not include a hydrofluoroether.
Noguchi discloses a composition comprising a halogenated ether includes a compound having the following structure:
(see fluorinated ether, [0072]), where n1and n2 can each have values between 0 and 5 (see formula (I), [0074]), X = F, Br, Cl, or I (see fluorinated ether, [0072]), n = 1-4 per molecule (see fluorine substitution ratio, [0076]); and wherein the halogenated ether does not include a hydrofluoroether (see fluorine substitution ratio, [0076]) to improve the ion conductivity and charge and discharge characteristics electrolyte solution, [0074]). Qin and Noguchi are analogous because they are directed to electrolytes for lithium batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the composition and electrochemical cell of Qin with the halogenated ether of Noguchi in order to Noguchi.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725