DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to an application filed on 09/05/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lancelot, et al. (US 5,946,659 A1) in view of Aalami (US 2014/0164968 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Lancelot teaches a healthcare information analysis and presentation system comprising: at least one processor (see at least figure 1); and at least one tangible, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied therein computer program instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, perform computer processes (see at least column 7, lines 24-26, the arrangement 10 is a hardware and software system that facilitates the communication of patient information among computer systems) comprising: receiving point-of-care healthcare information associated with a patient in substantially real-time collected via at least one of a plurality of …computing devices (see at least column 4, lines 3-10, arrangement 10 enables a more efficient and effective communication of the patient information among a group of computer systems within the health care facility arrangement 10. In this regard, a group of patient bedside terminals or locations, such as a bedside location 14 for a patient 15, is used as an order entry computer system utilized by health care providers such as physicians and nurses to enter the patient information such as clinical orders for the patient 15; column 7, lines 6-13, the bedside station 16 includes a central processor 23, keyboard 24, video monitor 25 and a primary memory unit 26 such as a random access memory unit. The display station 16 is disposed at the patient bedside location 14 so the health care provider can be in close contact with the patient as information regarding the condition of the patient is entered into the system 10 column 8, lines 33, 41-42, Clinical Pathways Administrator software (CPA) operates as a real-time application); analyzing the healthcare information to generate a patient profile of the patient, the patient profile comprising a physiological status, a physiological assessment, and a treatment assessment (see at least column 7, lines 59-67, the central computer 12 receives the tailored or customized patient information, the central computer 12 causes customized patient information to be compiled based upon the critical care path information. In this regard, flowsheet information including clinical orders is initially stored in a universal format for displaying many possible patient management information received from the display station 16 and the group 17 of bedside data acquisition devices; figure 9, “Chest Pain R/O MI” [physiological status, physiological assessment, treatment assessment]); storing the patient profile in a centralized storage (see at least column 5, lines 29-31, central computer 12 and its associated software gathers and stores patient information); and generating at least one interactive graphical user interface element associated with the patient profile for presentation on a display device of a healthcare provider involved with care of the patient (see at least figure 9), wherein the at least one interactive graphical user interface element includes (a) a zoom map graphically representing a plurality of steps or processes of a clinical practice guideline associated with the physiological status, physiological assessment, and/or treatment assessment of the patient from the patient profile, the zoom map including objects that are user selectable via a computer input device to navigate to a particular step or section of the clinical practice guideline (see at least figure 9, “Chest Pain R/O MI” [physiological status, physiological assessment, treatment assessment]; column 11, lines 56 - column 12, line 12, Referring now to FIG. 9, it can be seen that the Clinical Pathways Administrator screen 900 can be scaled to better view the patient's pathways. To change the display size of a pathway 905, the "Zoom" icon 948 is selected. The Zoom Factor window 910 will appear. Click on the Up Arrow 912 to increase or the Down Arrow 914 to decrease the zoom factor. To save the new display size, click on the "OK" button 916. The pathway 905 will be sized on the screen per the set zoom factor. To display the clinical pathway in greater detail, to expand an item, hold down the right mouse button and select the desired item. The lower the element on the clinical pathway; the more items will appear. To close an item, hold down the right mouse button and select the item again. To locate all orders of an order type (i.e., Treatments, Medications, etc.) on a current clinical pathway, perform the following steps. Click on the "Filter" icon 946 (FIG. 9). The Filter Order window (not shown) will appear. Click on one or more order type. Click on the "OK" button. Those items in the pathway(s) that contain the filtered order type(s) will appear on the screen. To return the display of the pathway to all order types, deselect all selected order types in the Filter Orders window and click on the "OK" button).
Lancelot does not explicitly teach …mobile; …and (b) reference imagery including a graphical representation of a body part associated with the clinical practice guideline. Aalami teaches …mobile (see at least ¶ 0004); …and (b) reference imagery including a graphical representation of a body part associated with the clinical practice guideline (see at least ¶ 0004, capture image of patient body part and tag with information regarding the body region that was captured; ¶ 0009, one or more medical code tags [associated with the clinical practice guideline] can be provided with captured image). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the body part image capture system of Aalami with the patient clinical pathway display of Lancelot with the motivation of more efficiency in medical documentation (Aalami, ¶ 0002).
Claim 11 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 2, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the zoom map objects are color coded based clinical practice guideline categories (see at least column 11, lines 29-30, patient's clinical pathway is presented in elements, each of which is represented on the screen by a unique color).
Claim 12 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 3, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the display device comprises a monitor device (see at least figure 1).
Claim 13 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 4, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the healthcare information comprises at least one of surgeries, symptoms, type of injury, severity of injury, mechanism of trauma, and trauma location (see at least column 3, line 67 – column 4, line 2, critical care flowsheet information for multiple treatment diagnoses, whether medical, surgical or a combination thereof).
Claim 14 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 5, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the clinical practice guideline relates to trauma healthcare services (see at least column 5, lines 11-14, patient receiving treatment in emergency room [trauma]).
Claim 15 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 6, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the clinical practice guideline relates to surgical healthcare services (see at least column 3, line 67 – column 4, line 2, critical care flowsheet information for multiple treatment diagnoses, whether medical, surgical or a combination thereof).
Claim 16 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 7, Aalami teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of mobile computing devices comprise a smartphone and a tablet computing device (see at least ¶ 0004). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the body part image capture system of Aalami with the patient clinical pathway display of Lancelot with the motivation of more efficiency in medical documentation (Aalami, ¶ 0002).
Claim 17 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 8, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the healthcare information comprises user input and device input (see at least figure 1, column 6, lines 1-9, column 7, lines 41-44, central computer receives healthcare input from healthcare providers via various computers and receives device input from various devices).
Claim 18 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 9, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the graphical user interface element comprises a dashboard (see at least figure 9).
Claim 19 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 10, Lancelot teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the dashboard is configured to receive health information user input through at least one field (see at least To create a new order to a pathway, move the cursor to the Step where the New Order will reside. Hold down the right mouse button. Click on the New Order option. The Order Screen 1000 will appear (FIG. 10). Select an order category from a Category Selection window 1010 by double clicking. The selected order category will appear on the screen 1010. Fields not applicable to the selected category will be "grayed" out. Enter in the desired information. To exit from the category selected and clear all fields on the screen, click on another order category or click on the "Cancel" button 1020. The cursor can be moved in the Order Entry Screen 1000 with the keyboard [Tab] and the [Shift] keys. The [Tab] key moves the cursor forward to the next field. The [Shift] [Tab] key moves the cursor backward to the previous field. Type in your data in free text and press the [Enter] key; OR click once on the desired choice list item in the choice list and press the [Enter] key; OR click twice on the desired choice list item in the choice list. A "filter" field for choice list items is available at the top of the choice list window and will display choice list items that match the text typed in the filter field. The order must contain Order Time and Name for the order to be accepted. For IV Drugs and Medications, the Dose must be also entered).
Claim 20 recites similar limitations regarding the method of the system and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen, et al. (US 2015/0286787 A1) which discloses systems for automated transmission of communications to a patient following clinical treatment comprising: electronic datastores storing: a clinical profile reflective of characteristics of (i) the patient; and (ii) clinical treatment undergone by the patient; a response profile reflective of characteristics of responses by the patient to past communications; and a communication modality profile reflective of characteristics of communication channels or devices available for transmission of communications; communication interfaces associated with respective communication channels or devices; processors in communication with electronic datastores, the processors configured for: generating a communication to the patient based on the clinical profile, the communication providing a recommendation or inquiry to the patient; selecting communication channels or devices based on at least one of (i) the clinical profile and (ii) the response profile; and transmitting the generated communication to the patient by way of the communication interface associated with the selected communication channel or device.
Englund, et al. (US 2013/0110547 A1) which discloses a portable electronic device includes a memory and processor. The memory stores automatic configuration instructions, which are part of a healthcare mobile software application (MedMaster Mobility) and called upon when the device attempts connectivity. The instructions cause the device to serve as an EHR-agnostic, native mobile tablet front-end solution to virtually any existing Health Information Technology (HIT) systems, thus allowing practitioners to use MedMaster Mobility at multiple facilities that may each be running a disparate HIT system. Built entirely on independent modules, MedMaster Mobility provides a seamless way to populate the Electronic Health record (EHR). It is designed to fit in the workflow, style and work habits of users. MedMaster Mobility is not a basic cluttered view of clinical data from a PC using a Web access client such as Remote Desktop type products.
Zargaran E, Schuurman N, Nicol AJ, et al. The electronic Trauma Health Record: design and usability of a novel tablet-based tool for trauma care and injury surveillance in low resource settings. Journal of the American College of Surgeons. 2014 Jan;218(1):41-50. DOI: 10.1016/j.jamcollsurg.2013.10.001. PMID: 24355875 which discloses ninety percent of global trauma deaths occur in under-resourced or remote environments, with little or no capacity for injury surveillance. We hypothesized that emerging electronic and web-based technologies could enable design of a tablet-based application, the electronic Trauma Health Record (eTHR), used by front-line clinicians to inform trauma care and acquire injury surveillance data for injury control and health policy development.
/JOSEPH D BURGESS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685