DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Application filed on 2/7/2025 in which claims 1-9 were presented for examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it repletes with confusing language. It appears as if it was written by AI. Below are two examples of the indefinite language but they are not the only two. Applicant is respectfully requested to review the entire disclosure and correct any language that does not make sense. For example:
Page 4, first para. Discloses that the wing guard 5 is placed between the shin and knee guard 1, 3, but according to Fig. 1 it is placed between the knee guard 3 and upper thigh guard 7.
Page 4, last two lines of the first para. Discloses “The shin and knee…sewing lines 11”. However, Fig. 5 illustrates that 11 is actually a strap.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Wing guard BETWEEN the shin and knee guards
Split into three parts.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 6, line 2 change “the top” to –a top--. change “the rest” to –a rest--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claims 1-9 are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited. It appears as if the claims are written by AI.
Claim 1, line 1-2 recites that the wing guard is between the shin and knee guards, however the drawings are showing the wing guard (5) is between the lower knee guard (3) and the upper thigh guard (7). It is unclear what the applicant is trying to claim.
Claim 1, line 2 recites “the guards” it is unclear which guard the applicant is claiming, which guards?
Claims 1 recites a split which is indefinite because it is unclear what is the split the applicant is trying to claim, the drawings and specification do not clarify what the split is, splitting the shin guard into three parts is not clear. The figure is showing the shin guard as a one piece.
Claim 3 recites “knee protector” which is indefinite, did the applicant meant to claim –knee guard--?
Claim 8 is very confusing, it starts with “The foam system” it should start with –The dual-purpose leg protector--. Then it recites “the knee structure” which is indefinite because it is unclear what the metes and bounds the applicant is trying to claim.
Claim 9 is confusing because it is unclear if it is an independent claim or dependent claim.it was interpreted that it depends from claim 1, applicant must clarify if the claim is dependent and change the start of the claim with --The dual-purpose leg protector--.
Claims 2 and 4-7 are rejected because they depend directly or indirectly from rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Specifically, these claims recite human body parts, of which limitations positively reciting non-statutory subject matter. Claim 1, line 6 recite a knee cap, it is recommended to utilize “configured to” or adapted to” in order to overcome the rejection, for example “wing guards positioned over the knee pad” change to –wing guards configured to be positioned over the knee cap--. Claim 4, line 2 change “to cover” to –configured to cover--.
Claims 2-3 and 5-9 are rejected because they depend from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Budda (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0083527 A1) as best understood.
Regarding claim 1, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector (Fig. 1 identifier 10) comprising
a lower shin guard (18, 20, 22), a knee guard (12,14) and wing guards (16) between the shin and knee guards (See Fig. 1), wherein the guards (12, 22) each have a separate padding layer (Fig. 2 identifiers 24, 26) and (the guards) are joined together by means of straps (32) wherein,
the shin guard (18, 20, 22) is split into two parts (18, 20 and 22);
the knee guard (12, 14) is above the shin guard (18, 20, 22 as shown in Fig. 1), and
inside and outside wing guards (18) are (capable) positioned over the knee cap (of the wearer when worn), (capable to) act as a stabilizer and facilitate catcher movement (because they are hingly connected as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector (capable to be worn by) a baseball catcher. The introductory statement of intended use and all other functional statements have been carefully considered but deemed not to impose any structural limitations on the claims distinguishable over the Referenced device which is capable of being used as claimed if one desired to do so. MPEP 2112.
Regarding claim 3, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector wherein the shin and knee protectors are configured with the three parts being held together by a precise conjunction of straps, rivets and sewing lines (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector, the recitation “wherein the inside wing guard area moves into position to cover any exposed area on the inside and outside of the leg between shin and knee guards” is considered as functional, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable of performing the claimed function.
Regarding claim 5, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector wherein the wing guard acts as a stabilizer providing support for the catcher's knees to ensure that a knee does not roll out of the shin guard during use of the protector” is considered as functional, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable of performing the claimed function.
Regarding claim 6, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector wherein a retainer strap (34), the recitation “holds a part of the shin guard and prevents the top third of the shin guard from completely coming off the rest of the shin guard” is considered as functional, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable of performing the claimed function.
Regarding claim 7, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector comprising a lightweight foam system reinforced with multiple foams (Fig. 2 identifier 24, 26).
Regarding claim 8, Budda discloses a dual-purpose leg protector, the recitation “ensures integration between the leg protector and the knee structure and eliminates gaps that could compromise protection” is considered as functional, the device of the prior art discloses substantially all of the claimed structural elements and therefore it is fully capable of performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budda (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0083527 A1) in view of Brown et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2007/0250977 A1) as best understood.
Regarding claim 9, Budda discloses the invention substantially as claimed above.
Budda does not disclose an elongated, adjustable toe cap and built-in ankle protection, including a bellowed ankle design that prevents digging and enhances comfort during prolonged use.
However, Brown et al. “Brown” teaches yet another dual-purpose leg protector (See Fig. 1) further comprising an elongated, adjustable toe cap and built-in ankle protection, including a bellowed ankle design that prevents digging and enhances comfort during prolonged use (See Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have manufactured Budda device with an elongated, adjustable toe cap and built-in ankle protection, including a bellowed ankle design that prevents digging and enhances comfort during prolonged use as taught by Brown in order to enhance protection to the feet of the wearer preventing potential injuries to the feet of the wearer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered (See PTO-892) pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KHALED ANNIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732