Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/320,189 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19/411,189 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
19/320,750 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; decoding information on partitioned regions for the image included in the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image based on the information on partitioned regions; and reconstructing the image by decoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions, wherein the reconstructing the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned region comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; and encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image based on the information on image partitioning; and decoding the plurality of image partitions, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; and encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/317,148 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19/320,750 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
19/411,148 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image based on the information on image partitioning; and decoding the plurality of image partitions, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; and encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; decoding information on partitioned regions for the image included in the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image based on the information on partitioned regions; and reconstructing the image by decoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions, wherein the reconstructing the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image and a residual block corresponding to the prediction block, wherein each partitioned region comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; and encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image and a residual block corresponding to the prediction block, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image and a residual block corresponding to the prediction block, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,186 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19/320,750 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
19/411,186 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image based on the information on image partitioning; and decoding the plurality of image partitions, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; and encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; decoding information on partitioned regions for the image included in the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image based on the information on partitioned regions; and reconstructing the image by decoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions, wherein the reconstructing the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image and residual block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned region comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; and encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image and a residual block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image and generating a residual block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,188 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19/320,750 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
19/411,188 (Differences highlighted in BOLD)
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image based on the information on image partitioning; and decoding the plurality of image partitions, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; and encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image; obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions; encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
1. A method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; decoding information on partitioned regions for the image included in the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image based on the information on partitioned regions; and reconstructing the image by decoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions, wherein the reconstructing the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned region comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating image partitioning and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
6. A method for encoding an image, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; and encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
7. A method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image; obtaining information on partitioned regions for the image based on the obtained partitioned regions; encoding the information on partitioned regions into a bitstream; encoding the image by encoding each of the plurality of partitioned regions into the bitstream; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the encoding the image comprises generating a prediction block for a block included in the image, wherein each partitioned regions comprises a plurality of default encoding part, the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on yaw rotation of the image.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapaka et al. (Rapaka) (US 2016/0227214) in view of Hannuksela et al. (Hannuksela) (US 2017/0347026).
Regarding claim 1, Rapaka discloses a method for decoding an image, the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream for the image (FIG. 3, [0136], an encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30);
obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the bitstream ([0157], split information is signaled by the encoder and received by the decoder);
obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image based on the information on image partitioning ([0157], split information is signaled by the encoder and received by the decoder for partitioning an image); and
decoding the plurality of image partitions ([0144], [0145], the image blocks are reconstructed),
wherein each partitioned region comprises a plurality of default encoding part (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, each region is made of prediction units/sub prediction units), the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, [0151], [0152], [0157], the image is divided into sub prediction units and a candidate split type is signaled and selected from the type in FIGs. 5a-5d and 6a-6d), each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, [0151], [0152], the image is divided into sub prediction units).
Rapaka is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], [0298], [0306], yaw information for the image (viewport) is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Rapaka for a more accurate reproduction of an image and to reduce the bit rate needed to transport the image (Hannuksela: [0006], [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Rapaka discloses wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit (FIGs. 5A, [0022], a coding unit is split into sub coding units, [0151], the coding unit (CU) is divided into a single prediction unit (PU or sub unit)) and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units (FIGs. 5B-5C, 6A-6D).
Regarding claim 3, Rapaka discloses wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating image partitioning ([0023], a split enable flag is signaled, [0157], [0164], In some examples, a video coder may code a syntax element that specifies whether a current PU is divided into a plurality of sub-PUs) and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form ([0157], In each of FIGS. 6A-6D, a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information. In some examples, a video coder may code one or more syntax elements that indicate a number of lines (i.e., rows or columns) that are in the sub-PUs. For instance, in the example of FIG. 6A, a video coder may code a syntax element that specifies how many lines are included in sub-PU0 (i.e., specifies the value of nL). In some examples, a video coder may code a syntax element that indicates whether the current PU is divided horizontally or vertically).
Regarding claim 6, Rapaka discloses a method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image ([0150]-[0158], the video coder partitions an image);
obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions ([0157], a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information);
encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream ([0157], a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information); and
encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream ([0087], [0092], [0165], coding units are partitioned into prediction units to generate a bitstream),
wherein each partitioned region comprises a plurality of default encoding part (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, each region is made of prediction units/sub prediction units), the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, [0151], [0152], [0157], the image is divided into sub prediction units and a candidate split type is signaled and selected from the type in FIGs. 5a-5d and 6a-6d), each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, [0151], [0152], the image is divided into sub prediction units).
Rapaka is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], [0298], [0306], yaw information for the image (viewport) is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Rapaka for a more accurate reproduction of an image and to reduce the bit rate needed to transport the image (Hannuksela: [0006], [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1. Rapaka further discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream (FIG. 3, [0136], an encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30) and transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 3, [0136], an encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapaka et al. (Rapaka) (US 2016/0227214) in view of Hannuksela et al. (Hannuksela) (US 2017/0347026), and further in view of Kirkenko et al. (Kirkenko) (US 2007/0086515).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Rapaka in view of Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Rapaka in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition; and wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
Kirkenko from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition (pg. 5, ln. 29, syntax FMOChangeDirection signals box-out clockwise scan, raster scan, or wipe right scan); and wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method (pg. 5, ln. 29, syntax FMOChangeDirection signals box-out clockwise scan, raster scan, or wipe right scan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kirkenko into the teachings of Rapaka in view of Hannuksela for a more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2013/0136175) (FIGs. 4A-6, an image is divided into coding unit, prediction units, and transform units).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488