Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the application of the prior art, Rapaka, in claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's arguments regarding the motivation to combine the Rapaka and Hannuksela references have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues one of ordinary skill in the art would not look to modify the teaching of Rapaka with the teachings of Hannuksela since Rapaka is directed toward micro level encoding while Hannuksela is directed toward a macro level network streaming architecture for 360 degree video and the references both provide completely different technical solutions in non-analogous fields (see remarks pg. 7, para. 1-6). The examiner contends both Rapaka and Hannuksela are analogous art since both are directed toward increasing coding efficiency for streaming a bitstream (Rapaka: [0003]; Hannuksela [0006], [0112], [0117]), albeit, while Hannuksela is directed toward streaming of view port images. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the encoding process taught by Rapaka to incorporate features (i.e. syntaxes) of the coding process taught by Hannuksela for more efficient coding dependent upon the application of the coding process of Rapaka (in this case, for performing viewport encoding and transmission).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,189 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/317,148 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,186 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,188 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,187 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,183 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 recite the amended limitation “wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding parts having a same type, the type for the plurality of default encoding parts is selected from a plurality of candidate types including a first type and a second type, the first type corresponds to the default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and the second type corresponds to the default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claims 3-5 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 recite the limitation “wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding parts having a same type, the type for the plurality of default encoding parts is selected from a plurality of candidate types including a first type and a second type, the first type corresponds to the default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit and the second type corresponds to the default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units. It is unclear how a partition may both be comprised of a plurality of similar type partitions when the first partition type consists of only a single sub unit.
Claims 3-5 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapaka et al. (Rapaka) (US 2016/0227214) in view of Hannuksela et al. (Hannuksela) (US 2017/0347026).
Regarding claim 1, Rapaka discloses a method for decoding an image, the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream for the image (FIG. 3, [0136], an encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30);
obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the bitstream ([0157], split information is signaled by the encoder and received by the decoder);
obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image based on the information on image partitioning ([0157], split information is signaled by the encoder and received by the decoder for partitioning an image); and
decoding the plurality of image partitions ([0144], [0145], the image blocks are reconstructed),
wherein each image partitions (please see the 35 USC 112(a) rejection regarding this limitation above) comprises a plurality of default encoding parts having a same type (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, each region is made of prediction units/sub prediction units), the type for the plurality of default encoding parts is selected from a plurality of candidate types including a first type and a second type (FIG. 5a-5d, [0016], FIGS. 5A-5D illustrate examples of how a coding unit may be partitioned into prediction units, in accordance with the techniques of the present disclosure;[0059], the coding unit is able to be partitioned into fixed size partitions (i.e. NxN and 2Nx2N)), the first type corresponds to the default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit (FIG. 5A) and the second type corresponds to the default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units (FIGs. 5B and 5C).
Rapaka is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], [0298], [0306], yaw information for the image (viewport) is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Rapaka for a more accurate reproduction of an image and to reduce the bit rate needed to transport the image (Hannuksela: [0006], [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Rapaka discloses wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating image partitioning ([0023], a split enable flag is signaled, [0157], [0164], In some examples, a video coder may code a syntax element that specifies whether a current PU is divided into a plurality of sub-PUs) and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form ([0157], In each of FIGS. 6A-6D, a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information. In some examples, a video coder may code one or more syntax elements that indicate a number of lines (i.e., rows or columns) that are in the sub-PUs. For instance, in the example of FIG. 6A, a video coder may code a syntax element that specifies how many lines are included in sub-PU0 (i.e., specifies the value of nL). In some examples, a video coder may code a syntax element that indicates whether the current PU is divided horizontally or vertically).
Regarding claim 6, Rapaka discloses a method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of partitioned regions included in the image ([0150]-[0158], the video coder partitions an image);
obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions ([0157], a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information);
encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream ([0157], a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information); and
encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream ([0087], [0092], [0165], coding units are partitioned into prediction units to generate a bitstream),
wherein each image partitions (please see the 35 USC 112(a) rejection regarding this limitation above) comprises a plurality of default encoding parts having a same type (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d, each region is made of prediction units/sub prediction units), the type for the plurality of default encoding parts is selected from a plurality of candidate types including a first type and a second type (FIG. 5a-5d, [0016], FIGS. 5A-5D illustrate examples of how a coding unit may be partitioned into prediction units, in accordance with the techniques of the present disclosure;[0059], the coding unit is able to be partitioned into fixed size partitions (i.e. NxN and 2Nx2N)), the first type corresponds to the default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit (FIG. 5A) and the second type corresponds to the default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units (FIGs. 5B and 5C).
Rapaka is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], [0298], [0306], yaw information for the image (viewport) is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Rapaka for a more accurate reproduction of an image and to reduce the bit rate needed to transport the image (Hannuksela: [0006], [0007]).
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1. Rapaka further discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream (FIG. 3, [0136], an encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30) and transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 3, [0136], an encoded bitstream is received by decoder 30).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapaka et al. (Rapaka) (US 2016/0227214) in view of Hannuksela et al. (Hannuksela) (US 2017/0347026), and further in view of Kirkenko et al. (Kirkenko) (US 2007/0086515).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Rapaka in view of Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Rapaka in view of Hannuksela is silent about wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition; and wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method.
Kirkenko from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition (pg. 5, ln. 29, syntax FMOChangeDirection signals box-out clockwise scan, raster scan, or wipe right scan); and wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method (pg. 5, ln. 29, syntax FMOChangeDirection signals box-out clockwise scan, raster scan, or wipe right scan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kirkenko into the teachings of Rapaka in view of Hannuksela for a more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2013/0136175) (FIGs. 4A-6, an image is divided into coding unit, prediction units, and transform units).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488