This office action is in response to amendment filed 05/14/2026 in which the claims 1-7 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the rejections are respectfully traversed.
Amended claim 1 recites the following specific features that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest:
Feature 1) obtaining enablement information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image from the received bitstream; and
Feature 2) obtaining information on image resizing for the image from the bitstream based on the enablement information indicating to perform the image resizing for the image.
Specifically, according to paragraph [0318] of Hannuksela, whether to perform resampling is determined based on whether both the horizontal scale factor (ScaleFactorHor) and the vertical scale factor (ScaleFactorVer) are equal to 1. If the scale factors are not equal to 1, resampling is performed; otherwise, it is not. Furthermore, paragraph [0363] of Hannuksela explains that these scale factors are derived as the ratio of the size of the reference region within the current picture to the size of the reference region in the source picture.
In other words, under Hannuksela's approach, the decision to resize is implicitly made based on the calculated scale factors (i.e., whether the dimensional ratio equals 1).
In stark contrast, amended claim 1 requires that "enablement information" be explicitly obtained from the bitstream to determine whether to perform image resizing. Furthermore, the subsequent step of obtaining image resizing information is conditional upon this specific enablement information.
Since Hannuksela does not teach obtaining a separate syntax element (enablement information) from the bitstream to control the resizing decision, but rather relies on derived scale factors, it fails to disclose or suggest Features 1 and 2.
Given such contrary and deficient teachings of Hannuksela, the disclosure of Joshi is found to be ineffectual to the present patentability analysis. The Office cited Joshi for purportedly disclosing wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image. Even assuming arguendo that the Office's assertion about Joshi is correct, which Applicant is not acquiescing in, Joshi still fails to remedy the noted deficiencies of Hannuksela.
Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Hannuksela and Joshi does not disclose or suggest a method of decoding a current image with a decoding apparatus
obtaining enablement information indicating whether to perform
image resizing for the image from the received bitstream;
obtaining information on image resizing for the image from the bitstream based on the enablement information indicating to
perform the image resizing for the image
when taken in the context of claim 1.
Yamamoto purportedly teaches a value obtained by multiplying a syntax value of the corresponding reference region offset information by 2 is set as a reference region offset.
However, in view of the above remarks regarding the disclosures of Hannuksela, Joshi, and Yamamoto, it is respectfully submitted that neither Hannuksela, Joshi, Yamamoto, nor any combination of the same would disclose or suggest all respective features of each of claims 6 and
Examiner respectfully disagrees and clarifies that Hannuksela et al. discloses in Para[0332] that In HEVC, reference layer location offsets may be included in the PPS by the encoder and decoded from the PPS by the decoder. Reference layer location offsets may be used for but are not limited to achieving ROI scalability. Reference layer location offsets may comprise one or more of scaled reference layer offsets, reference region offsets, and resampling phase sets. Scaled reference layer offsets may be considered to specify the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the top-left luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer and the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the bottom-right luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer. A resampling phase set may be considered to specify the phase offsets used in resampling process of a source picture for inter-layer prediction. Different phase offsets may be provided for luma and chroma components.
Para [0356]-[0357] discloses resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders.
Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction Para[0388] teaches a decoder decodes from the bitstream one or more syntax elements whether sample locations outside a picture boundary are handled as described above or conventionally in inter-layer resampling. For example, the decoder may decode from the bitstream one or more syntax elements described above. The decoder uses the syntax elements to conclude which method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar.
Thus Hannuksela relies on resample_phase_set_present_flag to make the resizing decision by obtaining syntax element (e.g., the claimed "image resizing enablement information" and/or "image resizing information") from the bitstream, and it clearly disclose the amended features of Claim 1. Claims 6 and 7 have been amended to recite the similar features of Claim 1, and hence same response applies to Claims 6 and 7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/317,147 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are anticipated by the conflicting copending claims. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting copending claim is that the conflicting copending claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/317,151 (reference application) in view of Joshi et al. (US 2014/0226721 A1)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image” in the instant claim. However Joshi discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 , para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since enabling residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block. In order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,190 (reference application). in view of Joshi et al. (US 2014/0226721 A1)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image” in the instant claim. However Joshi discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 , para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since enabling residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block. In order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,192 (reference application) in view of Joshi et al. (US 2014/0226721 A1)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image” in the instant claim. However Joshi discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 , para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since enabling residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block. In order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,193 (reference application) in view of Joshi et al. (US 2014/0226721 A1)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image” in the instant claim. However Joshi discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 , para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since enabling residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block. In order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/414,697 (reference application). in view of Joshi et al. (US 2014/0226721 A1)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting copending claim
The difference between the instant and conflicting copending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image” in the instant claim. However Joshi discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 , para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting patent claim, since enabling residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block. In order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1) in view of Joshi et al. (US 2014/0226721 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela discloses a method for processing an image (Para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches a method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture), the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image; ; obtaining enablement information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image from the received bitstream; obtaining information on image resizing for the image from the bitstream based on the enablement information indicating to perform the image resizing for the image (Para [0356]-[0357] teaches resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar);); reconstructing the image by decoding the bitstream (Para0379] teaches it is indicated in the bitstream whether sample locations outside a picture boundary are handled in inter-layer resampling, Para [0444] teaches a decoder may decode the mapping from reference layer location offsets parsed from the bitstream, decoding the inter-layer predicted bitstream); and performing image resizing for the reconstructed image based on the information on image resizing (Fig. 10, illustrates enhancement layer 1030 having larger size than upsampled base layer 1010 and base layer 1020), wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each directions of the reconstructed image (para[0332] teaches scaled reference layer offsets may be considered to specify the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the top-left luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer and the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the bottom-right luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer & Fig. 10, enhancement layer 1030 being extended above, left, right, and below base layer by an offset scaling value. para[0394] teaches a decoder may decode scaled reference layer offset values instead of or in addition to reference region offset values, whereby the values indicate that an enhancement layer picture corresponds to a region in the reference-layer picture that crosses the picture boundary to the opposite side of the reference-layer picture).
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image. However Joshi discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 , para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region of Hannuksela with the method of enables residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block of Joshi in order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the image resizing is performed further considering scaling factors for both a lateral direction and a longitudinal direction, and the scaling factor for the lateral direction and the scaling factor for the longitudinal direction are obtained independently from each other (Para[0363] teaches The variables ScaledRefRegionWidthInSamplesY and ScaledRefRegionHeightInSamplesY may be set to the width and height, respectively, of the reference region within the current picture. The horizontal and vertical scale factors for the luma sample array may then be derived as the ratio of ScaledRefRegionWidthInSamplesY to the reference region width (in the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction, here denoted ScaledRefRegionWidthInSamplesY) and the ratio of ScaledRefRegionHeightInSamplesY to the reference region height (in the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction), respectively).
Regarding claim 3, Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the image resizing is performed based on a resizing value, and the resizing value is obtained based on the offset factor included in the information on image resizing and a decoding setting (para[0364] teaches the reference layer sample location corresponding to or collocating with (xP, yP) may be derived for a luma sample array on the basis of reference layer location offsets for example using the following process, process generates a sample location (xRef16, yRef16) specifying the reference layer sample location in units of 1/16-th sample relative to the top-left sample of the luma component. xRef16 is set equal to (((xP−ScaledRefLayerLeftOffset)*ScaleFactorHor+addHor+(1<<11))>>12)+refOffsetLeft, where addHor is set on the basis of horizontal phase offset for luma and refOffSetLeft is the left offset of the reference region in units of 1/16-th sample relative to the top-left sample of the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction. yRef16 is set equal to (((yP−ScaledRefLayerTopOffset)*ScaleFactorVer+addVer+(1<<11))>>12)+refOffsetTop, where addVer is set on the basis of vertical phase offset for luma and refOffSetTop is the top offset of the reference region in units of 1/16-th sample relative to the top-left sample of the luma sample array of the source picture for inter-layer prediction).
Regarding claim 5, Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the image resizing for a chroma component is performed based on the image resizing for a luma component (Para[0306] teaches inter-component prediction takes place from the luma component (or sample array) to the chroma components (or sample arrays). Para [0327] an inter-layer resampling process for obtaining a resampled chroma sample value may be specified identically or similarly to the above-described process for a luma sample value, Para[0363] –[0364] For a particular direct reference layer with nuh_layer_id equal to rLId, the variables ScaledRefLayerLeftOffset, ScaledRefLayerTopOffset, ScaledRefLayerRightOffset and ScaledRefLayerBottomOffset may be set equal to scaled_ref_layer_left_offset[rLId], scaled_ref_layer_top_offset[rLId], scaled_ref_layer_right_offset[rLId] and scaled_ref_layer_bottom_offset[rLId], respectively, scaled (when needed) to be represented in units of luma samples of the current picture. The scale factors for chroma sample arrays may be derived similarly).
Regarding claim 6, Hannuksela a method for processing an image (Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream), the method comprising: generating a bitstream by encoding the image (Para[0422] & Fig. 14 teaches a method comprises coding or decoding samples of a border region of a 360-degree panoramic picture); encoding enablement information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image into the bitstream (Para [0356]-[0357] teaches resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar); and encoding information on image resizing for the image into the bitstream based on the enablement information indicating to perform the image resizing for the image; (Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction. For example, the encoder may include one or more of the following indications, or similar, into the bitstream); wherein the information on image resizing is used for performing image resizing for the image when being reconstructed, wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each directions of the image (Para[0318] teaches the encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair. resampling may be pre-defined for example in a coding standard and/or indicated by the encoder in the bitstream (e.g. as an index among pre-defined resampling processes or filters) and/or decoded by the decoder from the bitstream).
Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image. However Joshi discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 , para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20). would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region of Hannuksela with the method of enables residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block of Joshi in order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, Hannuksela discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream (Para[0280] teaches portions of the bitstream to be transmitted to the receiver Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream), the method comprising: generating a bitstream by encoding the image (Para[0311] teaches inter-layer prediction may for example depend on the coding profile according to which the bitstream or a particular layer within the bitstream is being encoded ); encoding enablement information indicating whether to perform image resizing for the image into the bitstream; encoding information on image resizing for the image into the bitstream based on the enablement information indicating to perform the image resizing for the image Para [0356]-[0357] teaches resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 1 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is present in the PPS. resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] equal to 0 specifies that the i-th resampling phase set is not present in the PPS. When not present, the value of resample_phase_set_present_flag[i] is inferred to be equal to 0. The i-th resampling phase set specifies the phase offsets used in resampling process of the direct reference layer picture with nuh_layer_id equal to ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]. When the layer specified by ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i] is not a direct reference layer of the current layer, the values of the syntax elements phase_hor_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_ver_luma[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]], phase_hor_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] and phase_ver_chroma_plus8[ref_loc_offset_layer_id[i]] are unspecified and shall be ignored by decoders. Further Para[0463] teaches resampled as determined by reference layer location offsets. The encoder may indicate the creation of the two occurrences in the bitstream through using reference picture list reordering syntax or similar); Para[0379] teaches method of handling sample locations outside picture boundaries is in use for inter-layer resampling, the encoder indicates the method in the bitstream. The signaling may be specific to handling sample locations outside picture boundaries in inter-layer resampling or may be combined with handling sample locations outside picture boundaries for inter prediction. For example, the encoder may include one or more of the following indications, or similar, into the bitstream);; and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the information on image resizing is used for performing image resizing for the image when being reconstructed (Para[0318] teaches the encoder and/or the decoder may derive a horizontal scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorHor) and a vertical scale factor (e.g. stored in variable ScaleFactorVer) for a pair of an enhancement layer and its reference layer for example based on the reference layer location offsets for the pair. resampling may be pre-defined for example in a coding standard and/or indicated by the encoder in the bitstream (e.g. as an index among pre-defined resampling processes or filters) and/or decoded by the decoder from the bitstream), wherein the information on image resizing comprises offset factors for each directions of the image, and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (para[0332] teaches scaled reference layer offsets may be considered to specify the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the top-left luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer and the horizontal and vertical offsets between the sample in the current picture that is collocated with the bottom-right luma sample of the reference region in a decoded picture in a reference layer & Fig. 10, para[0394] teaches a decoder may decode scaled reference layer offset values instead of or in addition to reference region offset values, whereby the values indicate that an enhancement layer picture corresponds to a region in the reference-layer picture that crosses the picture boundary to the opposite side of the reference-layer picture).
Hannuksela does not expclity disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image. However Joshi discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0071] teaches a rotation value for the residual block may be explicitly signaled in a bitstream between video encoder 20 and video decoder 30, para[0112] teaches video decoder 30 may be configured to perform the techniques of this disclosure, including skipping an inverse transform for a residual block, and determining whether to rotate the residual block. Reposition unit 94 of video decoder 30 may determine whether or not to rotate the residual block. In some examples, reposition unit 94 determines whether to rotate the residual block based on syntax elements in the bitstream that indicate a rotation value for the residual block used at video encoder 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region of Hannuksela with the method of enables residual data comprises one of rotating or flipping the residual data of the residual block of Joshi in order to provide a system to improve entropy coding efficiency.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0085917 A1) in view of Joshi et al. (US 2014/0226721 A1) and Yamamoto et al. (US 2017/0034532 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hannuksela in view of Joshi discloses the method of claim 3, Hannuksela in view of Joshi does not explicitly disclose wherein the resizing value is calculated as equal to the offset factor multiplied by 2 according to a decoding setting. However Yamamoto discloses wherein the resizing value is calculated as equal to the offset factor multiplied by 2 according to a decoding setting (Para[0273] teaches a value obtained by multiplying a syntax value of the corresponding reference region offset information by 2 is set as a reference region offset). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which the reference region is determined to cross a picture boundary of the 360-degree panoramic source picture, rotating the residual data of the residual block where reference region is included with the sample values of an opposite side border region, the variable values are matched with the blocks of the opposite side border region of Hannuksela in view of Joshi with the method of expansion reference layer offset syntax related with reference layer, reference layer offset syntax, and phase offset syntax between layers are used of Yamamoto in order to provide a system with hierarchy image decoding which decodes the coding data encoded hierarchically.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Pendleton can be reached at (571) 272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425