DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to application no. 19/321,139 filed on 09/05/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 25 and 26 of copending application No. 18/622,837 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding the current claim 1, the claim is anticipated by claim 1 of the copending application ‘837. See table 1 below showing the comparison between the current claim and the claims of the copending application ‘837.
Dependent claims 2-18 are rejected based on their dependency from the rejected claim 1.
Regarding the current claim 19, the method claimed in claim 25 of the copending application ‘837 encompasses the same image processing method in the current claim 19. See table 1 below showing the comparison between the current claim and the claims of the copending application ‘837. The current claim 19 merely implements those methods using a conventional computing system comprising “ control circuitry; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the control circuitry, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for…” Such an implementation, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been obvious variation of the method in claim in the copending application ‘837. Accordingly, the difference between the current claim 19 and the claim of the copending application ‘837 do not render the claim patentably distinct.
Regarding the current claim 20, the claim is anticipated by claim 26 of the copending application ‘837. See table 1 below showing the comparison between the current claim and the claims of the copending application ‘837.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
TABLE 1
Current claims
Claims of copending application 18/622,837
1. A method for decoding video data, comprising: receiving a video bitstream including a current coding block of a current image frame, wherein the video bitstream includes a first syntax element for a multi-hypothesis cross- component prediction (MHCCP) mode; based on the first syntax element, determining that the MHCCP mode is enabled to reconstruct a first chroma sample of the current coding block based on a set of one or more luma samples; determining that three model parameters are used in the MHCCP mode, wherein the three model parameters correspond to a linear term, a non-linear term, and an offset term; combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters to generate the first chroma sample of the current coding block; and reconstructing the current image frame including the first chroma sample of the current coding block.
1. A method for decoding video data, comprising: receiving a video bitstream including a current coding block of a current image frame, wherein the video bitstream includes a first syntax element for a multi-hypothesis cross- component prediction (MH-CCP) mode; based on the first syntax element in the video bitstream, determining that the MH- CCP mode is enabled to reconstruct each of a plurality of chroma samples of the current coding block using at least a respective luma sample collocated with the respective chroma sample and one or more neighboring luma samples corresponding to the respective luma sample; determining a number of model parameters used in the MH-CCP mode for at least the current coding block, including determining one or more linear terms, one or more non-linear terms, and an offset term; identifying one or more neighboring luma samples of a first luma sample based on the number of model parameters; generating a first chroma sample that is collocated with the first luma sample based on the first luma sample and the one or more neighboring luma samples; and reconstructing the current coding block including the first chroma sample.
19.
25. A method for encoding video data, comprising: receiving video data including a current block of a current image frame; determining that a multi-hypothesis cross-component prediction (MH-CCP) mode is to be used for each of a plurality of chroma samples of the current block using at least a respective luma sample collocated with the respective chroma sample and one or more neighboring luma samples corresponding to the respective luma sample; determining a number of model parameters to be used in the MH-CCP mode for at least the current block, including determining one or more linear terms, one or more non- linear terms, and an offset term; identifying one or more neighboring luma samples of a first luma sample based on the number of model parameters; generating a first chroma sample that is collocated with the first luma sample based on the first luma sample and the one or more neighboring luma samples; encoding the current coding block including the first chroma sample; and signaling, via a video bitstream, a first syntax element indicating the MH-CCP mode for the current block.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs for execution by control circuitry of a computing system, the one or more programs comprising instructions for: obtaining a source video sequence including a current image frame having a current coding block; and performing a conversion between the source video sequence and a video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises: the current image frame having the current coding block; and a first syntax element for a multi-hypothesis cross-component prediction (MHCCP) mode indicating whether to reconstruct a first chroma sample of the current coding block based on a first luma sample and a set of one or more luma samples; wherein when the MHCCP mode is enabled, the set of one or more luma samples are combined using the model parameters corresponding to a linear term, a non-linear term, and an offset term to generate the first chroma sample of the current coding block.
26. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method, the video bitstream comprising: a plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to video data, the plurality of encoded blocks including a current block; and a first syntax element indicating whether the current block is encoded using a multi- hypothesis cross-component prediction (MH-CCP) mode; wherein the video encoding method comprises: determining that the MH-CCP mode is to be used for each of a plurality of chroma samples of the current block using at least a respective luma sample collocated with the respective chroma sample and one or more neighboring luma samples corresponding to the respective luma sample; determining a number of model parameters to be used in the MH-CCP mode for at least the current block, including determining one or more linear terms, one or more non-linear terms, and an offset term; identifying one or more neighboring luma samples of a first luma sample based on the number of model parameters; generating a first chroma sample that is collocated with the first luma sample based on the first luma sample and the one or more neighboring luma samples; and encoding the current coding block including the first chroma sample.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (US 20250150592 A1).
The applied reference (Ye et al. (US 20250150592 A1) has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches the claims as follows:
A method for decoding video data, comprising: receiving a video bitstream including a current coding block of a current image frame (¶0008-0011: The method includes receiving a video bitstream including a current coding block of a current image frame), wherein the video bitstream includes a first syntax element for a multi-hypothesis cross-component prediction (MHCCP) mode (¶0008-0011: The video bitstream includes a first syntax element for an MH-CCP mode); based on the first syntax element, determining that the MHCCP mode is enabled to reconstruct a first chroma sample of the current coding block based on a set of one or more luma samples (¶0008-0001: based on the first syntax element in the video bitstream, determining that the MH-CCP mode is enabled to reconstruct each of a plurality of chroma samples of the current coding block using at least a respective luma sample…); determining that three model parameters are used in the MHCCP mode, wherein the three model parameters correspond to a linear term, a non-linear term, and an offset term (¶0008-00011: The method further includes determining a number (N) of model parameters used in the MH-CCP mode for at least the current coding block…¶0078, 0093: The number (N) of model parameters is equal to 3 and corresponds to a three-parameter model 414B applied to reconstruct the first chroma sample 402C of the current coding block 406A in the MH-CCP mode. The first chroma sample is generated based on a weighted combination of a first number K1 of linear terms (e.g., wiLi in equation (1)), a second number K2 of non-linear terms (e.g., wPP in equation (1)), and a third number K3 of offset terms (e.g., wBB in equation (1))); combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters to generate the first chroma sample of the current coding block (¶0077-0078, 0093-0094: The first chroma sample 402C of the current coding block 406A is configured to be generated by combining at least the first luma sample 404C that is co-located with the first chroma sample 402C and one or more neighboring luma samples 404X… See eqs. (1)-(3)); and reconstructing the current image frame including the first chroma sample of the current coding block (¶0008-0011: reconstructing the current coding block including the first chroma sample).
Regarding claim 2, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the set of one or more luma samples includes a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and a second luma sample that is immediately above, or to the left of, the first luma sample (Figs. 5-7: ¶0079: north neighboring luma sample (also called a top luma sample) 404N… a west neighboring luma sample (also called a left luma sample) 404W. ¶0081: the first chroma sample 402C that is collocated with the first luma sample 404C); the linear term is the second luma sample (See eqs.(1)-(3): w0C, w1W, w2E, ¶0087: where C, W, and E are luma values of the first luma value 404C, the left neighboring luma sample 404W, and the right neighboring luma sample 404E, respectively) and further combined with a first model parameter (See eqs.(1)- (3): w0, w1, w2 ) and the non-linear term is a square of the first luma sample (¶0078: the nonlinear term P is equal to (L0×L0+B)>>bit depth, where L0 is a luma value of the first luma sample 404C ) and further combined with a second model parameter (See eqs. (1)-(3): weighing factors (e.g., w0, w1, w2, wP, wB)).
Regarding claim 3, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the set of one or more luma samples includes a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample (¶0081: the first chroma sample 402C that is collocated with the first luma sample 404C); the linear term is the first luma sample (See eq. (1)-(3): w0C, w1W, w2E, ¶0087: where C, W, and E are luma values of the first luma value 404C, the left neighboring luma sample 404W, and the right neighboring luma sample 404E, respectively) and further combined with a first model parameter (See eqs. (1)-(3): w0, w1, w2 ) and the non-linear term is a square of the second luma sample (¶0078: the nonlinear term P is equal to (L0×L0+B)>>bit depth, where L0 is a luma value of the first luma sample 404C ) and further combined with a second model parameter (See eqs. (1)-(3): weighing factors e.g., w0, w1, w2, wP, wB).
Regarding claim 4, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the set of one or more luma samples includes a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample, a second luma sample that is immediately above the first luma sample, and a third luma sample that is immediately to the left of, the first luma sample (Figs. 5-7: ¶0079: north neighboring luma sample (also called a top luma sample) 404N… a west neighboring luma sample (also called a left luma sample) 404W. ¶0081: the first chroma sample 402C that is collocated with the first luma sample 404C); the linear term is one of the first, second, and third luma samples (See eqs. (1)-(3): w0C, w1W, w2E, ¶0087: where C, W, and E are luma values of the first luma value 404C, the left neighboring luma sample 404W, and the right neighboring luma sample 404E, respectively) and is combined with a first model parameter (See eqs. (1)-(3): w0, w1, w2 ) and; and the non-linear term is a square of the one of the first, second, and third luma samples (¶0078: the nonlinear term P is equal to (L0×L0+B)>>bit depth, where L0 is a luma value of the first luma sample 404C ), and is combined with a second model parameter (See eqs. (1)-(3): weighing factors e.g., w0, w1, w2, wP, wB).
Regarding claim 5, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters further comprises: determining the linear term a weighted combination of a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and a second luma sample that is immediately above, or to the left of, the first luma sample (Figs. 5-7: ¶0079: north neighboring luma sample (also called a top luma sample) 404N… a west neighboring luma sample (also called a left luma sample) 404W. ¶0081: the first chroma sample 402C that is collocated with the first luma sample 404C. ¶0093: FIG. 6 illustrates an example scheme 600 for generating a first chroma sample 402C in an MH-CCP mode corresponding to a three-parameter model 414B having three model parameters… The first chroma sample is generated based on a weighted combination of a first number K1 of linear terms (e.g., w.sub.iL.sub.i in equation (1)), a second number K2 of non-linear terms (e.g., w.sub.PP in equation (1)), and a third number K3 of offset terms (e.g., w.sub.BB in equation (1))); and generating a product of a first model parameter and the weighted combination (See eqs. (7.1)-(7.2): e.g. w1Avg, ¶0109: the first linear term or the offset term B is equal to an average Avg of a subset of neighboring luma samples 404X of the first luma sample 404C).
Regarding claim 6, Ye teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the weighted combination is an average of the first luma sample and the second luma sample (¶0109: the first linear term or the offset term B is equal to an average Avg of a subset of neighboring luma samples 404X of the first luma sample 404C).
Regarding claim 9, Ye teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first luma sample and the second luma sample correspond to two predefined weights, the method further comprising: determining the weighted combination of the first luma sample and the second luma sample based on the two predefined weights (¶0088: weighing factors 416 (e.g., w.sub.i, W.sub.P, W.sub.B) are determined based on a set of one or more reference luma samples 404R… The plurality of weighing factors 416 (e.g., w.sub.i, W.sub.P, W.sub.B) are iteratively adjusted to reduce the LMS value, until the LMS value satisfies a predefined criterion …See eqs. (1)-(3)).
Regarding claim 10, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters further comprises: generating a product of a first model parameter and a weighted combination of a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and the offset term (See eqs. (1)-(7) representing weighted combination luma samples e.g. w0C, w1W, W2E, ¶0077-0078, 0081: a subset of terms of equation (1) is used to predict the first chroma sample 402C collocated with the first luma sample 404C).
Regarding claim 11, Ye teaches the method of claim 9, wherein combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters further comprises: generating a product of a second model parameter and a second luma sample that is immediately above, or to the left of, the first luma sample (See eqs. (1)-(7) representing weighted combination luma samples e.g. w0C, w1W, W2E, ¶0077-0078, 0081: a subset of terms of equation (1) is used to predict the first chroma sample 402C collocated with the first luma sample 404C. See Figs. 1-7: neighboring luma samples 404X ).
Regarding claim 12, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more luma samples includes a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and a second luma sample that is immediately above, or to the left of, the first luma sample, and combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters further comprises: generating a product of one of the three model parameters and a weighted combination of the second luma sample and the offset term (See eqs. (1)-(7) representing weighted combination luma samples e.g. w0C, w1W, W2E, and an offset term WBB ¶0077-0078, 0081: a subset of terms of equation (1) is used to predict the first chroma sample 402C collocated with the first luma sample 404C. See Figs. 1-7: neighboring luma samples 404X).
Regarding claim 13, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more luma samples includes a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and a second luma sample that is immediately above, or to the left of, the first luma sample, and combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters further comprises at least one of: generating a product of a first model parameter and a weighted combination of the first luma sample and the offset term; and generating a product of a second model parameter and a weighted combination of the second luma sample and the offset term (See eqs. (1)-(7) representing weighted combination luma samples e.g. w0C, w1W, W2E, and an offset term WBB ¶0077-0078, 0081: a subset of terms of equation (1) is used to predict the first chroma sample 402C collocated with the first luma sample 404C. See Figs. 1-7: neighboring luma samples 404X).
Regarding claim 14, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters further comprises: generating the non-linear term based on a non-linear combination of a subset of the set of one or more luma samples (¶0078: the nonlinear term P is equal to (L0×L0+B)>>bit depth, where L0 is a luma value of the first luma sample 404C).
Regarding claim 15, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more luma samples includes a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and a second luma sample that is immediately above, or to the left of, the first luma sample (Figs. 5-7: ¶0079: north neighboring luma sample (also called a top luma sample) 404N… a west neighboring luma sample (also called a left luma sample) 404W. ¶0081: 402C collocated with the first luma sample 404C), and combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters (¶0076-0078: The first chroma sample 402C of the current coding block 406A is configured to be generated by combining at least the first luma sample 404C that is co-located with the first chroma sample 402C and one or more neighboring luma samples 404X of the first luma sample 404C using a plurality of weighing factors…See eqs. (1)-(3) ) further comprises: generating a non-linear component based on a subset of the set of one or more luma samples ( ¶0078: the nonlinear term P is determined based on a subset of the first luma sample 404C and the plurality of neighboring luma samples 404X).
Regarding claim 16, Ye teaches the method of claim 15, wherein combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters further comprises at least one of: generating a product of a first model parameter and a weighted combination of the first luma sample and the non-linear component; and generating a product of a second model parameter and a weighted combination of the second luma sample and the non-linear component (See eqs. (1)-(7) representing weighted combination luma samples e.g. w0C, w1W, W2E, and a nonlinear term wpP ¶0077-0078, 0081: a subset of terms of equation (1) is used to predict the first chroma sample 402C collocated with the first luma sample 404C. See Figs. 1-7: neighboring luma samples 404X ).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deng et al. (US 20260113465 A1) hereinafter referred to as “Deng ‘465”
Regarding claim 19, Deng ‘465 teaches the claim as follows:
A computing system, comprising: control circuitry; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the control circuitry, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for: receiving video data comprising a current coding block of a current image frame (Figs. 1-3, 30: processing unit 2010, memory 3020 ¶0050: The video data may comprise one or more pictures. The video encoder 114 encodes the video data from the video source 112 to generate a bitstream); encoding the current image frame (¶0050-0075: encoding process of a current video block); transmitting the encoded current image frame via a video bitstream (¶0050: The encoded video data may be transmitted directly to destination device 120 via the I/O interface 116 through the network 130A); and signaling, via the video bitstream, a first syntax element for a multi-hypothesis cross-component prediction (MHCCP) mode indicating whether to reconstruct a first chroma sample of the current coding block based on a set of one or more luma samples (¶0327: For example, a syntax element (e.g., a flag, an index, etc.) may be signalled conditioned on whether the current block is CCRM coded. ¶0395: A final prediction may be generated from weighted sum of fusion/blending multiple hypotheses wherein at least one hypothesis is a CCRM based prediction. ¶0209-0210: cross-component residual model (CCRM) to predict chroma samples from reconstructed luma samples); wherein when the MHCCP mode is enabled (i.e., the syntax element (e.g., a flag, an index, etc.) signalled indicating CCRM mode), the set of one or more luma samples are combined using the model parameters corresponding to a linear term, a non-linear term, and an offset term to generate the first chroma sample of the current coding block (¶0209-0210, 0497: For example, different offset values may be used during the CCRM model coefficients derivation process and the CCRM model application process. Assume a 8-tap CCRM model consist of 6 spatial luma samples, a nonlinear term, and a bias term).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim and recites the limitation analogous to claim 19, and is rejected due to the same reason set forth above with respect to claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 20250150592 A1) in view of Deng et al. (US 20220210460 A1) hereinafter referred to as “Deng ‘460”.
Regarding claim 7, Ye teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining the weighted combination of the first luma sample and the second luma sample based on the at least one weight (See eqs. (1)-(3): representing weighted combination luma samples e.g. w0C, w1W, W2E).
Ye does not teach determining at least one weight based on a prediction block size of a prediction block including the first chroma sample.
Deng ‘460 teaches determining at least one weight based on a prediction block size of a prediction block including the first chroma sample (¶0227-0231: The weights of TPM chroma prediction samples may align with the weights of collocated luma prediction samples…The weights of TPM chroma prediction samples may be dependent on the collocated luma block width and height).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Deng ‘460 as noted above, in order to improve the compression performance of the video coding (Deng ‘460: ¶0032).
Regarding claim 8, Ye teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining the weighted combination of the first luma sample and the second luma sample based on the at least one weight (See eqs. (1)-(3): representing weighted combination luma samples e.g. w0C, w1W, w2E).
Ye does not teach identifying a chroma subsampling format of the current coding block; and determining at least one weight based on the chroma subsampling format.
Deng ‘460 teaches identifying a chroma subsampling format of the current coding block; and determining at least one weight based on the chroma subsampling format (¶0231-0233: The weights of TPM chroma prediction samples may be dependent on the collocated luma block width and height, and/or color formats, including the chroma subsampling ratio. a) In one example, for 4:4:4 chroma format, the weight of a TPM chroma prediction sample may be same as the weight of collocated luma prediction sample for each position inside the block. b) In one example, for 4:2:0 and 4:2:2 chroma formats, the weights of TPM chroma prediction samples may be subsampled from the weights of TPM luma prediction samples).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Deng ‘460 as noted above, in order to improve the compression performance of the video coding (Deng ‘460: ¶0032).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 20250150592 A1) in view of Deng et al. (US 20250343916 A1) hereinafter referred to as “Deng ‘916”
Regarding claim 17, Ye teaches the method of claim 1, wherein combining the set of one or more luma samples using the three model parameters (See eqs. (1)-(3): e.g. w0, w1, w2)
Ye does not teach determining the linear term based on a product of a first model parameter and a weighted combination of a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and two or more neighboring luma samples.
However, Deng ‘916 teaches determining the linear term based on a product of a first model parameter and a weighted combination of a first luma sample that is collocated with the first chroma sample and two or more neighboring luma samples (¶0098-0101: The adjustment is tilting the linear function which maps luma values to chroma values with respect to a center point determined by the average luma value of the reference samples…chromaVal=a*lumaVal+b. ¶0160: a center (C) luma sample which is collocated with the chroma sample).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Deng ‘916 as noted above, in order to improve coding efficiency and effectiveness (Deng ‘916: ¶0005).
Regarding claim 18, Ye does not teach determining the three model parameters based on reference samples of a reference area of the current coding block using at least one division operation.
However, Deng ‘916 teaches determining the three model parameters based on reference samples of a reference area of the current coding block using at least one division operation (¶0119: two intra modes are derived from the reconstructed neighbor samples, and those two predictors are combined with the planar mode predictor with the weights derived from the gradients. The division operations in weight derivation are performed utilizing the same lookup table (LUT) based integerization scheme used by the CCLM. See also the equations in paragraph [0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ye’s image encoding/decoding technique by incorporating the teaching of Deng ‘916 as noted above, in order to improve coding efficiency and effectiveness (Deng ‘960: ¶0005).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi et al. (US 20250267285 A1) describes an image encoding/decoding method and apparatus that perform convolutional cross-component model (CCCM) prediction.¶0004-0013.
Chiang et al. (US 20250063155 A1) describes a new video coding tool for intra prediction using cross-component linear model in a video coding system.¶0002.
Ye et al. (US 20240267545 A1) describes a cross component intra prediction with multiple parameters. Abstract.
Ye et al. (US 20250119526 A1) describes systems and methods for processing video data using multi-hypothesis cross-component prediction (MH-CCP).¶0002
Ye et al. (US 20250240403 A1) describes systems and methods for processing video data using multi-hypothesis cross-component prediction (MH-CCP).¶0002
Conclusion
/NATHNAEL AYNALEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488