Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6, and 7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/326,156 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,201 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/411,202 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because any differences between the application’s claims and the claims of the co-pending application are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, and 7 recite the limitations “wherein the lower coding unit is partitioned into a plurality of prediction unit…based on that the default encoding unit is partitioned into four lower coding units” and “wherein the lower coding unit is not partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on that the default coding unit is partitioned into two lower coding units”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose these limitations. The examiner notes, in the applicant’s remarks filed 5/18/2026 cite [0156], [0641], and [0643] of the applicant’s specification as disclosing these limitations (see remarks pg. 6, para. 1). However, [0156] is only directed toward possible NxN partition types for a block and does not teach or disclose basing the partition type on whether or not a default coding unit is partitioned into two or four sub blocks. The examiner notes while [0156] discloses using NxN (square) partitions for partitioning a default encoding block, [0156] does not limit the partition types to only include NxN (square) partition types. Further, [0641] and [0643] merely disclose instances of using type based vs tree based partitioning without disclosing conditions for partitioning a block to include a quad or binary partition type.
Claims 2-5 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 6, and 7, the term “lower coding unit” is not clearly defined by the applicant’s specification and the term “lower coding unit” is not commonly used in the art for establishing an acceptable meaning. The examiner notes the examiner is interpreting the term “lower coding unit” to mean a unit (a coding block being a coding unit (CU), prediction unit (PU) or transformation unit (TU)) produced by partitioning a default coding unit (or coding unit (CU)) as defined by FIG. 3e and [0147] of the applicant’s specification.
Claims 2-5 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiu et al. (Xiu) (US 2020/0045336) in view of Hannuksela (US 2017/0347026).
Regarding claim 1, Xiu discloses a method for decoding an image, the method comprising:
receiving a bitstream including information on the image (FIG. 3, [0090] [0097], a bitstream including a flag is received);
acquiring partitioning information for a default coding unit included in the image from the bitstream ([0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled);
partitioning the default coding unit into a plurality of lower coding units based on the partitioning information for the default coding unit (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed); and
decoding each of the lower coding units to reconstruct the image ([0049], the image is reconstructed via decoding),
wherein the lower coding unit is partitioned into a plurality of prediction units ([0048], [0062], coding units (CU) are partitioned into prediction units (PU)) based on a size of the lower coding unit ([0062], partitioning of a node (i.e. a coding unit) is based on the size of the node (coding unit)) and based on that the default encoding unit is partitioned into four lower coding units ([0062], a first quad split block is further partitioned; the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction),
wherein the lower coding unit is not partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on that the default coding unit is partitioned into two lower coding units ([0062], The binary tree node may be used as the basic unit of prediction and/or transform without further partitioning).
Xiu is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], yaw information is encoded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Xiu for more efficient image streaming and reproduction in a 360 degree image encoding system.
Regarding claim 2, Xiu discloses the lower coding unit is partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on type-based partitioning ([0062], the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction).
Regarding claim 3, Xiu discloses wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on whether the default coding unit is quad-tree partitioned ([0062], the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction).
Regarding claim 5, Xiu discloses wherein the default coding unit is partitioned using a tree-based partitioning including a quad-tree partitioning and a binary-tree partitioning ([0062], quad tree binary tree partitioning).
Regarding claim 6, Xiu discloses a method for encoding an image, the method comprising:
obtaining a default coding unit included in the image ([0062], a coding tree unit (CTU) representing a root of a quad tree);
partitioning the default coding unit into a plurality of lower coding units (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed);
determining partitioning information for the default coding unit (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed); and
encoding the partitioning information (FIG. 14, [0062], [0090], a split flag for partitioning a CTU is signaled and partitioning is performed) and each of the lower coding units into a bitstream (FIG. 7, a bitstream 620 is encoded),
wherein the lower coding unit is partitioned into a plurality of prediction units ([0048], [0062], coding units (CU) are partitioned into prediction units (PU)) based on a size of the lower coding unit ([0062], partitioning of a node (i.e. a coding unit) is based on the size of the node (coding unit)) and based on that the default encoding unit is partitioned into four lower coding units ([0062], a first quad split block is further partitioned; the quad-tree node may be partitioned (e.g., further partitioned) using binary tree in horizontal or vertical direction),
wherein the lower coding unit is not partitioned into the plurality of prediction units based on that the default coding unit is partitioned into two lower coding units ([0062], The binary tree node may be used as the basic unit of prediction and/or transform without further partitioning).
Xiu is silent about wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image ([0288], yaw information is encoded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of Xiu for more efficient image streaming and reproduction in a 360 degree image encoding system.
Regarding claim 7, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 (see claim 6 above). Xiu further discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream and transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 8, the bitstream 202 is received at decoder 208).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiu et al. (Xiu) (US 2020/0045336) in view of Wang et al. (Wang) (US 2017/0344843), and further in view of Liu et al. (Liu) (US 2013/0022129).
Regarding claim 4, Xiu discloses the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Xiu is silent about wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a prediction mode of the default coding unit.
Liu from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein whether to further partition the lower coding unit is determined based on a prediction mode of the default coding unit ([0020], Once the splitting of CU hierarchical tree is done, each leaf CU is subject to further split into prediction units (PUs) according to prediction type and PU partition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu into the teachings of Xiu in view of Wang for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488