CTNF 19/321,362 CTNF 94084 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 9/08/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 10, the limitation in line 2 of “q surface” should be replaced with “a surface” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 5, 8, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Eichardt et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20120101359) hereinafter Eichardt . Regarding claim 1, Eichardt teaches: A body part cushion for supporting a body part during a magnetic resonance examination with a magnetic resonance device (abstract; [0010], used in MRI scanners; [0014]; [0029]; [0032]), comprising: at least one presence sensor configured to acquire presence data related to the presence of the body part ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”; [0025]; [0049]; [0052]; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]); and a communication apparatus configured to transmit the presence data to a receiver ([0018]-[0019]; [0020], “and processes the data of the means for the measurement of pressure and/or air flow.”; [0021], control units such as operator panels form a receiver data is communicated and transmitted to; [0023]-[0037] and [0055]-[0057], processing of the device operate in conjunction with the sensor measurements, which forms communication of the presence data to a receiver associated with the imaging device; figure 1). Regarding claim 5, Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Eichardt further teaches: wherein at least one of the at least one presence sensor is a pressure sensor ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”; [0025]; [0049]; [0052]; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]). Regarding claim 8, Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Eichardt further teaches: wherein at least one of the at least one presence sensors is a strain gage integrated in a foam element of the body part cushion ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”; [0025]; [0049]; [0052]; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]). Regarding claim 11, Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Eichardt further teaches: A magnetic resonance device (abstract; [0010], used in MRI scanners; [0014]; [0029]; [0032]), comprising: a body part cushion as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); a receiver configured to receive presence data from the body part cushion ([0018]-[0019]; [0020], “and processes the data of the means for the measurement of pressure and/or air flow.”; [0021], control units such as operator panels form a receiver data is communicated and transmitted to; [0023]-[0037] and [0055]-[0057], processing of the device operate in conjunction with the sensor measurements, which forms communication of the presence data to a receiver associated with the imaging device; figure 1); and a control device connected to the receiver and configured to evaluate the presence data ([0018]-[0019]; [0020], “and processes the data of the means for the measurement of pressure and/or air flow.”; [0021], control units such as operator panels form a receiver data is communicated and transmitted to; [0023]-[0037] and [0055]-[0057], processing of the device operate in conjunction with the sensor measurements, which forms communication of the presence data to a receiver associated with the imaging device; figure 1), wherein the control device is configured to use the presence data to determine presence information indicating the presence of the associated body part on the body part cushion ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”. Detection of movements forms a presence information of the body part on the cushion as well as detection of position; [0025], detection of movements; [0035], position registration; [0049]; [0052]-[0055], detection of movements form a presence of the body part on the cushion; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]). Regarding claim 15, Eichardt teaches: A method for determining a presence of a body part of a patient in a magnetic resonance device (abstract; [0010], used in MRI scanners; [0014]; [0029]; [0032]), wherein the method comprises: providing a body part cushion, which is arranged in the magnetic resonance device ([0010], used in MRI scanners; [0014]; [0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”; [0025]; [0049]; [0052]; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]); acquiring presence data with a presence sensor, which is arranged in or on the body part cushion ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”; [0025]; [0049]; [0052]; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]), transmitting the presence data to a control device via a communication link between a communication apparatus of the body part cushion and a receiver ([0018]- [0019]; [0020], “and processes the data of the means for the measurement of pressure and/or air flow.”; [0021], control units such as operator panels form a receiver data is communicated and transmitted to; [0023]-[0037] and [0055]-[0057], processing of the device operate in conjunction with the sensor measurements, which forms communication of the presence data to a receiver associated with the imaging device; figure 1); and determining presence information describing the presence of the associated body part on the body part cushion by the control device from the presence data ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”. Detection of movements forms a presence information of the body part on the cushion as well as detection of position; [0025], detection of movements; [0035], position registration; [0049]; [0052]-[0055], detection of movements form a presence of the body part on the cushion; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichardt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hetz et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180231622) hereinafter Hetz . Regarding claim 2, primary reference Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: further comprising: a magnetic field sensor configured to acquire a local magnetic field as position data, wherein the communication apparatus is also configured to transmit the position data to the receiver However, the analogous art of Hetz of a magnetic resonance imaging system with a positioning device for positioning a patient (abstract) teaches: further comprising: a magnetic field sensor configured to acquire a local magnetic field as position data ([0011], magnetic field sensor; [0033]-[0035]; [0036]-[0037]; [0087]-[0088], sensors 60), wherein the communication apparatus is also configured to transmit the position data to the receiver ([0011], magnetic field sensor; [0033]-[0035]; [0036]-[0037]; [0087]-[0088], sensors 60) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the magnetic field sensor as taught by Hetz because it enables further tracking of the magnetic field properties within the magnetic resonance imaging system (Hetz, [0011]; [0034]-[0035]). By determining position in relation to the magnetic field, more accurate positioning can occur leading to higher quality image outputs . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichardt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Livermore et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20050111620) hereinafter Livermore . Regarding claim 3, primary reference Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Eichardt further teaches: wherein at least one of the at least one presence sensor is positioned on the body part cushion ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”; [0025]; [0049]; [0052]; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]) Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: wherein at least one of the at least one presence sensor is a temperature sensor However, the analogous art of Livermore of a local environment information system for medical imaging devices (abstract) teaches: wherein at least one of the at least one presence sensor is a temperature sensor ([0022], thermometer for temperature sensing would be incorporated into the cushion as taught by Eichardt in the combined invention; [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the temperature sensor as taught by Livermore because it provides additional insight into the local conditions at the imaging system and enables more precise adjustments of imaging parameters based upon real-time data (Livermore, [0022]; [0035]). Regarding claim 4, the combined references of Eichardt and Livermore teach all of the limitations of claim 3. Primary reference Eichardt further teaches: wherein the sensor is aimed at a neck or ears of a patient and/or is foamed in a foam element of the body part cushion ([0019], “In a preferred embodiment pressure sensors in cushions of the second type are used to detect movements and/or movement intentions of the patient automatically. In another preferred embodiment pressure strain gauges implemented into cushions of the first type and/or into the bed of the imaging device comprising the fixation device are used to monitor the position and/or the movement of the patient”; [0025]; [0049]; [0052]; figure 1; see also [0043]-[0055]; Note: Livermore teaches to particularly a temperature sensor in the combined prior art invention as provided in the rejection of claim 3 above) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichardt as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Song et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20090121826) hereinafter Song . Regarding claim 6, primary reference Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 5. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: upper and lower parallel base plates arranged at different heights in a lower area of the body part cushion, of which the upper plate is movable against the lower base plate, and between which multiple pressure sensors are arranged However, the analogous art of Song of a apparatus that includes a measurement of a subject on a bed (abstract) teaches: upper and lower parallel base plates arranged at different heights in a lower area of the body part cushion, of which the upper plate is movable against the lower base plate, and between which multiple pressure sensors are arranged ([0035], figure 3, plates 111 and 112 form upper and lower plates at different heights in which movement between the plates is registered by multiple pressure sensors of 113). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the plate-based pressure sensing system as taught by Song because it provides accurate presence and movement of a subject rather than precise detection of weight (Song, [0035]). This leads to higher quality movement data, and increased tracking accuracy over a measurement period. Regarding claim 7, the combined references of Eichardt and Song teach all of the limitations of claim 6. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: further comprising: at least five pressure sensors arranged between the base plate, with one arranged in a center and four at corners of the upper and lower parallel base plates However, the analogous art of Song of a apparatus that includes a measurement of a subject on a bed (abstract) teaches: further comprising: at least five pressure sensors arranged between the base plate, with one arranged in a center and four at corners of the upper and lower parallel base plates ([0035], as depicted in figure 3, pressure sensors 113 are at least five in number with center placement and four corner placement relative to the parallel base plates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt and Song to incorporate the plate-based pressure sensing system with five spaced pressure sensors as taught by Song because it provides accurate presence and movement of a subject rather than precise detection of weight (Song, [0035]). This leads to higher quality movement data, and increased tracking accuracy over a measurement period . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichardt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Audic (U.S. Pub. No. 20210212636) hereinafter Audic . Regarding claim 9, primary reference Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: wherein at least one of the at least one presence sensors is a capacitive sensor However, the analogous art of Audic of a flexible mat for use with a patient support apparatus (abstract) teaches: wherein at least one of the at least one presence sensors is a capacitive sensor ([0046]-[0048], figure 12, sensor 19 with pressure sensing capacitive plates). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the capacitive pressure sensing system as taught by Audic because capacitance changes readily occur with the presence of a human body on the system, leading to precision measurements of the condition or position of a patient on the structure (Audic, [0046]-[0055]). Regarding claim 10, the combined references of Eichardt and Audic teach all of the limitations of claim 9. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: wherein the capacitive sensor is aligned at least primarily according to an expected progression of q surface of the body part and/or is foamed in a foam element of the body part cushion However, the analogous art of Audic of a flexible mat for use with a patient support apparatus (abstract) teaches: wherein the capacitive sensor is aligned at least primarily according to an expected progression of q surface of the body part and/or is foamed in a foam element of the body part cushion ([0046]-[0048], figure 12, sensor 19 with pressure sensing capacitive plates are aligned across the region in which the patient would be laying; see also [0049]-[0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the capacitive pressure sensing system across the entire body part region as taught by Audic because capacitance changes readily occur with the presence of a human body on the system, leading to precision measurements of the condition or position of a patient on the structure (Audic, [0046]-[0055]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichardt as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hetz, in further view of Sison et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20240050738) hereinafter Sison . Regarding claim 12, primary reference Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: wherein the body part cushion also comprises a magnetic field sensor configured to acquire a local magnetic field as position data and the communication apparatus is also configured to transmit the position data to the receiver, However, the analogous art of Hetz of a magnetic resonance imaging system with a positioning device for positioning a patient (abstract) teaches: wherein the body part cushion also comprises a magnetic field sensor configured to acquire a local magnetic field as position data and the communication apparatus is also configured to transmit the position data to the receiver ([0011], magnetic field sensor; [0033]-[0035]; [0036]-[0037]; [0087]-[0088], sensors 60) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the magnetic field sensor as taught by Hetz because it enables further tracking of the magnetic field properties within the magnetic resonance imaging system (Hetz, [0011]; [0034]-[0035]). By determining position in relation to the magnetic field, more accurate positioning can occur leading to higher quality image outputs. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: wherein the control device is configured to use the presence information to determine a trigger for the acquisition of position data and/or to predict a specific absorption rate in an evaluation using the position data However, the analogous art of Sison of a magnetic resonance imaging system based upon a magnetic field sensor output (abstract) teaches: wherein the control device is configured to use the presence information to determine a trigger for the acquisition of position data and/or to predict a specific absorption rate in an evaluation using the position data ([0067], magnetic fields detector by the sensors are utilized to determine a trigger of an MRI mode which forms a acquisition of position data of the region of interest). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt and Hetz to incorporate the use of the magnetic field information for MRI scan acquisition as taught by Sison because it provides more accurate placement of regions of interest relative to the magnetic fields and MRI coils during an acquisition (Sison, [0067]). This leads to better signal acquisition and higher quality image output . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichardt as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Daley (U.S. Pub. No. 20120198621) hereinafter Daley . Regarding claim 13, primary reference Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: wherein the control device is configured to determine a weight of an object placed on the body part cushion and to compare this to a permissible weight range for the associated body part, when using at least one pressure sensor when determining the presence information from its presence data However, the analogous art of Daley of a surgical table for use in patient placement in medical environments including MRI (abstract; [0022]) teaches: wherein the control device is configured to determine a weight of an object placed on the body part cushion and to compare this to a permissible weight range for the associated body part, when using at least one pressure sensor when determining the presence information from its presence data ([0029], weight of the patient is measured and compared to permissible weight range for determining whether the table support is overloaded). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the weight measurement with overload warning as taught by Daley because it prevents the table from being overstressed, leading to mechanical failure or patient injury (Daley, [0029]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichardt as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Bohm et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20080313816) hereinafter Bohm . Regarding claim 14, primary reference Eichardt teaches all of the limitations of claim 11. Primary reference Eichardt further fails to teach: wherein the control device is configured to evaluate presence data that is available at multiple points during a period of time to determine change information, and/or at least one of the at least one presence sensors is a temperature sensor and the control device is configured to determine state information from the presence data of the temperature sensor, which describes a physiological and/or psychological state of a patient However, the analogous art of Bohm of a method for placement of a patient using a cushion (abstract) teaches: wherein the control device is configured to evaluate presence data that is available at multiple points during a period of time to determine change information, and/or at least one of the at least one presence sensors is a temperature sensor and the control device is configured to determine state information from the presence data of the temperature sensor, which describes a physiological and/or psychological state of a patient ([0025], temperature of the surface of the body is tracked and adjusted; [0027], sensors for tracking including changing the temperature of the cushion; [0046], “temperature and moisture sensors provide information regarding the local state of the skin”; [0062], test results from sensors processed for temperature measurements and changes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging system cushion with movement tracking of Eichardt to incorporate the temperature sensor monitoring for determining physiological state of the patient as taught by Bohm because it provides accurate measurements of physiological conditions such as the temperature of the surface of the body and/or the core of the body. By further adjusting a temperature feedback system, a predetermined temperature of the surface of the body or of the core of the body is obtained, leading to better patient outcomes during a procedure (Bohm, [0025]; [0027]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20100023098) teaches to a medical warming system that includes temperature sensing and a heating element for adjustment of a patient temperature for body part regions during a magnetic resonance imaging procedure. Niebler et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20130083894) teaches to an x-ray apparatus movement control system that utilizes pressure sensors to determine the weight of a patient during a procedure ([0044]). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SEAN A FRITH whose telephone number is (571)272-1292. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 8:00-5:30 Second Fri 8:00-4:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Keith Raymond can be reached at 571-270-1790. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SEAN A FRITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 2 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 3 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 4 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 5 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 6 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 7 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 8 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 9 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 10 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 11 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 12 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 13 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 14 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 15 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 16 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 17 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 18 Art Unit: 3798 Application/Control Number: 19/321,362 Page 19 Art Unit: 3798