DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 12, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Ziarati (US 2015/0323617 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ziarati discloses a modular video playback system for a patient on a patient table in a magnetic resonance device, the modular video playback system comprising (see Figure 1): a display module (see system #50) comprising first and second display units for a left and right eye, respectively, of the patient, the first and second display units
comprising (see display units 70R and 70L for the right and left eye respectively): a display; a support arrangement configured to hold the display a distance from a head of the patient to facilitate the patient lying laterally on the patient table when the display module is in a use position (see Figure 1 showing housing #52 to support the display units 70R and 70L to facilitate the patient lying laterally on the patient table as seen on the Figure); and an optical arrangement fastened to the support arrangement at least partially in front of a respective left or right eye of the patient (see Figure 1 showing eye pieces
70R and 70L in housing #52 fastened to head coil #14 and in front of a respective left or right eye of the patient), the optical arrangement being configured to project an image output by the display onto the respective left or right eye of the patient (according to paragraph 0044); a holder configured to be detachably connected to the display module and comprising a fastener configured to detachably fasten the holder to a component arranged on the patient table (see paragraphs 0049 and 0061; see Figure 11 labeled by the examiner showing fastening means F in base holder #57 to detachably fasten the holder to head coil #14 arranged on the patient table as seen on Figure 1); a data transmission arrangement configured to be connected to the display module (beam splitter assemblies #90L and #90R for the left and right eyes respectively function to reflect visible image light from the displays onto the patient's eyes therefore, data transmission where the data transmitted is the image data from display devices #70 as discussed above through reflection); and a power supply arrangement configured to be connected to the display module (see paragraphs 0046-0049 discussing power cabling #58 as seen on Figure 2A to inherently teaching a power supply).
With respect to claim 2, Ziarati discloses plurality of interchangeable holders for components assigned to different lying positions of the patient and/or fastening positions on the component (see paragraphs 0045, and 0049-0053; as seen on Figure 3).
With respect to claim 3, Ziarati discloses support arrangement of each of the first and second display units is configured to be connected to a support facility of the display module via a connecting means (see Figure 3 showing center plate #102E considered as the claimed support facility to connect both display units #60L and #60R via clamps #102A and 102B considered as the claimed connecting means).
With respect to claim 4, Ziarati discloses the holder of each of the first and second display units comprises a pivot facility configured to facilitate the display module being moved between the use position and a non-use position (see paragraphs 0050-0054 disclosing the rotation pieces #102F as shown Figure 3).
With respect to claim 5, Ziarati discloses the power supply arrangement of each of the first and second display units comprises one or more of a magnetic- resonance-compatible rechargeable battery, a photovoltaic module, a cable, or a plug (see paragraphs 0046-0049 discussing power cabling #58 as seen on Figure 2A as the claimed a power supply arrangement).
With respect to claim 6, Ziarati discloses the data transmission arrangement of each of the first and second display units comprises an interface configured to play images optically received via one or more of a fiber-optic cable, a Li-Fi interface, or an infrared link interface (see paragraphs 0044 0057 disclosing fiber optic and infrared).
With respect to claim 7, Ziarati discloses one or more of the displays, the power supply arrangement, or the data transmission arrangement of each of the left and right display units comprises a radio-frequency (RF) shield (see paragraphs 0043 and 0052).
With respect to claim 8, Ziarati discloses the RF shield at least partially comprises a layer structure in which a metallic mesh layer is arranged between two carbon-fiber layers (see paragraph 0043).
With respect to claim 9, Ziarati discloses the metallic mesh layer comprises copper (see paragraph 0052).
With respect to claim 12, Ziarati discloses the power supply arrangement and the data transmission arrangement of each one of the first and second display units are at least partially arranged as a common assembly in a common housing (see paragraphs 0046-0049 discussing power cabling #58 as seen on Figure 2A as the claimed a power supply arrangement).
With respect to claim 18, Ziarati discloses the component arranged on the patient table is from among a plurality of components comprising a head support element and a local coil facility, and wherein at least part of the power supply arrangement and/or the data transmission arrangement of each one of the left and right display units is integrated in the local coil facility (see Figure 1 showing the system #50 with the power supply arrangement and/or the data transmission arrangement as previously discussed integrated in the local coil on the patient table).
With respect to claim 20, Ziarati discloses a magnetic resonance device, comprising (see Figure 1 showing the MRI #10): a patient table configured to receive a patient to undergo a magnetic resonance examination (see patient table T labeled by the examiner herein); and a modular video playback system (see system #50), comprising a display module comprising first
and second display units for a left and right eye, respectively, of the patient, the first and second display units comprising: a display (see display units 70R and 70L for the right and left eye respectively); a support arrangement configured to hold the display a distance from a head of the patient to facilitate the patient lying laterally on the patient table when the display module is in a use position (see Figure 1 showing housing #52 to support the display units 70R and 70L to facilitate the patient lying laterally on the patient table as seen on the Figure); and an optical arrangement fastened to the support arrangement at least partially in front of a respective left or right eye of the patient (see Figure 1 showing eye pieces
70R and 70L in housing #52 fastened to head coil #14 and in front of a respective left or right eye of the patient), the optical arrangement being configured to project an image output by the display onto the respective left or right eye of the patient (according to paragraph 0044); a holder configured to be detachably connected to the display module and comprising a fastener configured to detachably fasten the holder to a component arranged on the patient table (see paragraphs 0049 and 0061; see Figure 11 labeled by the examiner showing fastening means F in base holder #57 to detachably fasten the holder to head coil #14 arranged on the patient table as seen on Figure 1); a data transmission arrangement configured to be connected to the display module (beam splitter assemblies #90L and #90R for the left and right eyes respectively function to reflect visible image light from the displays onto the patient's eyes therefore, data transmission where the data transmitted is the image data from display devices #70 as discussed above through reflection); and a power supply arrangement configured to be connected to the display module (see paragraphs 0046-0049 discussing power cabling #58 as seen on Figure 2A to inherently teaching a power supply).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziarati (US 2015/0323617 A1) in view of Poeze et al. (US 10,912,502 B2).
With respect to claim 10, Ziarati discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for specifying that the RF shield comprises at least one glass layer coated with one or more of indium tin oxide (ITO), silver, or gold; wherein the at least one glass layer is from among a plurality of glass layers covering a display surface of the display of each one of the first and second display units. However, Poeze discloses at least one glass layer coated with one or more of indium tin oxide (ITO), silver, or gold; wherein the at least one glass layer is from among a plurality of glass layers (Column 11, lines 24-44). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to have the RF shield comprises at least one glass layer coated with one or more of indium tin oxide (ITO), silver, or gold; wherein the at least one glass layer is from among a plurality of glass layers covering a display surface of the display of each one of the first and second display units for disclosing a material as taught by Poeze with Ziarati’s shield for the purpose of disclosing a preferred material according to its suitability between all the known materials to form a shield that performs the function of shielding a component as intended and known by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziarati (US 2015/0323617 A1) in view of Jeung et al. (US 2006/0079763 A1).
With respect to claim 19, Ziarati discloses the claimed invention as stated above except for audio output means for providing audio. However, Jeung discloses audio output means for providing audio (see paragraph 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have audio output means for providing audio as taught by Jeung in combination with Ziarati visual device for the purpose of adding another element to the sensorial experience to calm the patient during the imaging process, provide comfort and reduce claustrophobia.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional prior art cited in the PTO 892 not relied upon discloses MRI devise having a video system.
/DIXOMARA VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798