DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cutout” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig.2 points to a latch element and does not detail what is meant by the latch having a cutout. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “a cam rotably secured to a cavity” is a structure element secured to empty space of a cavity. The recitation does not convey a limitation that is physically possible. The recitation is interpreted broadly until otherwise corrected by the applicant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berkseth et al. (2007/0007773).
Regarding claim 1, Berkseth et al. discloses a latch assembly comprising a housing (102), a latch (101) movable at least partially within the housing from an extended position (Fig. 12) to a retracted position (Fig. 14), and a cam (210) rotatably secured to a cavity inside the housing, the latch comprising a cutout having two cam surfaces (177, left and right) diverging between a back end to a front end of the cam surfaces, the cam comprising a nose (175) engaged with at least one cam surface at the back end when the latch is in the extended position, and engaged with one of the cam surfaces towards the front end of one of the cam surfaces in the retracted position.
Annotated Figure taken from Berkseth et al. (2007/0007773)
Regarding claim 2, Berkseth et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 1, wherein the nose of the cam comprises a protrusion (256) engaging the at least one cam surfaces.
Regarding claim 5, Berkseth et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 1, further comprising one or more springs (233) to urge the latch towards the extended position.
Regarding claim 6, Berkseth et al. discloses a door lock assembly comprising an inside handle assembly, an outside handle assembly (Abstract), and the latch assembly of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Berkseth et al. discloses the door lock assembly of claim 6, further comprising a spindle ([0008]) coupled to the cam between an inside handle of the inside handle assembly and an outside handle of the outside handle assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Berkseth et al. discloses a latch assembly comprising a housing (102), a latch(101) comprising a cam surface (annotated Fig.7) extending between a first end of the latch and a second end of the latch, and a cam (210), wherein a portion of the cam slides along the cam surface of the latch to retract the latch (Fig. 14) at least partially inside the housing between an extended position (Fig. 12 and a retracted position (Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 9, Berkseth et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the latch comprises two cam surfaces (annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim 10, Berkseth et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 9, wherein the cam surfaces diverge between the first end of the latch to the second end of the latch (annotated Fig.7).
Regarding claim 11, Berkseth et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the portion of the cam comprises a protrusion (256) extending away from a surface of the cam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Berkseth et al. (2007/0007773) in view of Fink et al. (US 2015/0035288) (R).
Regarding claim 3, Berkseth et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 2, wherein the cam further comprises the protrusion to reduce friction between the cam and the latch.
Berkseth et al. does not disclose: a roller sleeved around the protrusion.
Fink et al. teaches a roller (72) sleeved around the protrusion for the purpose of friction reduction while securing the latch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berkseth et al. with a roller sleeved around the protrusion as taught by Fink et al. for the expected benefit of friction reduction while securing the latch.
Regarding claim 4, Berkseth et al. as modified by Fink et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 3, wherein the cam is an eccentric cam (Fig.8).
Regarding claim 12, Berkseth et al. as modified by Fink et al. discloses the latch assembly of claim 8, wherein the portion of the cam in contact with the cam surfaces.
Berkseth et al. does not disclose: a roller (72; Fink et al.) in contact with the cam surfaces (Fig.4; Fink et al.).
Fink et al. teaches a roller (72) sleeved around the protrusion for the purpose of friction reduction while securing the latch.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berkseth et al. with a roller (72; Fink et al.) in contact with the cam surfaces (Fig.4; Fink et al.) as taught by Fink et al. for the expected benefit of friction reduction while securing the latch.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675