DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on 9/8/2025.
Claims 1-30 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/8/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-13, 15, 18-21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0137580) and further in view of Monteuuis et al. (US Patent Number 11,405,786).
Regarding claim 1, Yang taught an electronic control unit (Yang Fig. 2 for example), comprising:
a communication circuit configured to receive intelligent transport system (ITS) messages (Yang Fig. 11 and Paragraph 0075 for example);
an authentication circuit configured to authenticate the received ITS messages (Yang Paragraphs 0033 and 0075 for example); and
a secure element to record said authenticated received ITS messages (Yang Paragraph 0045 for example).
Yang did not explicitly teach the secure element including a hardware-secure non-volatile memory and a continually active clock counter, wherein the secure element is configured to assign a timestamp data item from said continually active clock counter to each of the authenticated received ITS messages, or that the messages and their respective timestamp data are recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory.
Yang did not explicitly teach that a non-volatile memory is configured to record the authenticated received ITS messages, but Yang did disclose that the authenticated received ITS messages are recorded (Yang Paragraph 0045 for example).
Yang further taught that the memories of the system are used for storing data received via V2X messaging and other data received, generated, or used in connection with autonomous driving functionality (Yang Paragraph 0035).
Official Notice: Before the effective filing date of the invention, it was well known in the art of data storage to use of non-volatile memory to store data. As such, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before for the effective filing date to have utilized non-volatile memory to store the received messages of Yang. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated provide a commonly used data storage for the generically taught storing of the messages, as well as to ensure that the messages would remain stored even through loss of power.
Monteuuis taught in a V2X system that a System on Chip (SoC) including timers can be utilized to detect misbehavior by assigning and storing the time of receipt of V2X messages in memory of the SoC and ensuring that new messages from a sender are received within a proper time window from the previously received message from that sender (Monteuuis Col. 6 Lines 12-23 and Col. 19 Line 6 – Col. 20 Line 40 and Col. 32 Line 11 – Col. 33 Line 2).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the system on chip teachings of Monteuuis for implementing the systems 205 of Yang generating and storing the time of receipt for the received messages the non-volatile memory. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the required functionality with the advantages of the SoC including reduced footprint and reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 15, Yang taught a method for managing intelligent transport system (ITS) communications (Yang Fig. 2 for example), comprising:
receiving an ITS message (Yang Fig. 11 and Paragraph 0075 for example);
authenticating the received ITS message (Yang Paragraphs 0033 and 0075 for example).
Yang did not explicitly teach assigning each received and authenticated ITS messages a timestamp data item from a continually active clock counter belonging to a secure element of an electronic control unit; and recording said authenticated received ITS messages and their respective timestamp data in a hardware-secure non-volatile memory belonging to the secure element.
Yang did not explicitly teach that a non-volatile memory is configured to record the authenticated received ITS messages, but Yang did disclose that the authenticated received ITS messages are recorded (Yang Paragraph 0045 for example).
Yang further taught that the memories of the system are used for storing data received via V2X messaging and other data received, generated, or used in connection with autonomous driving functionality (Yang Paragraph 0035).
Official Notice: Before the effective filing date of the invention, it was well known in the art of data storage to use of non-volatile memory to store data. As such, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before for the effective filing date to have utilized non-volatile memory to store the received messages of Yang. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated provide a commonly used data storage for the generically taught storing of the messages, as well as to ensure that the messages would remain stored even through loss of power.
Monteuuis taught in a V2X system that a System on Chip (SoC) including timers can be utilized to detect misbehavior by assigning and storing the time of receipt of V2X messages in memory of the SoC and ensuring that new messages from a sender are received within a proper time window from the previously received message from that sender (Monteuuis Col. 6 Lines 12-23 and Col. 19 Line 6 – Col. 20 Line 40 and Col. 32 Line 11 – Col. 33 Line 2).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the system on chip teachings of Monteuuis for implementing the systems 205 of Yang generating and storing the time of receipt for the received messages the non-volatile memory. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the required functionality with the advantages of the SoC including reduced footprint and reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 7, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the communication circuit is configured for wireless communications according to an IEEE 802.11 standard protocol or a cellular data network protocol (Yang Paragraph 0025)
Office Notice: Before the effective filing date of the invention 802.11.p and 5G were commonly used wireless communication protocols of 802.11 and cellular data networks respectively. As such, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized either in the system of Yang for communications between the vehicles, roadside units, etc. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize specific commonly used communication standards in the technologies suggested by Yang.
Regarding claim 8, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the secure element further comprises a first list of automatically excluded senders and wherein the electronic control unit is configured to directly reject a received ITS message from a sender on the first list, without performing authentication of this ITS message with the authentication circuit (Yang Paragraph 0075 for example).
Regarding claim 9, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the secure element further comprises a second list of automatically allowed senders, and the electronic control unit is configured to directly record a received ITS message from a sender from the second list in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory without performing the authentication of this received ITS message with the authentication circuit (Yang Figs. 14a and 14b and Paragraphs 0079-0082 for example – especially checking whether the sender’s ID corresponds to any VT IDs and if fusing the message with the VT – this skips over steps 1412, 1414, 1416, 1418, 1420, 1422, 1424, 1426, 1428, 1430, 1432, 1434, 1436, and 1438, which fall within the scope of “authentication”).
Regarding claim 10, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the secure element further comprises a second list of automatically allowed senders, and the electronic control unit is configured to directly record a received ITS message from a sender from the second list in a non-secure non-volatile memory without performing the authentication of this received ITS message with the authentication circuit (Yang Figs. 14a and 14b and Paragraphs 0079-0082 for example – especially checking whether the sender’s ID corresponds to any VT IDs and if fusing the message with the VT – this skips over steps 1412, 1414, 1416, 1418, 1420, 1422, 1424, 1426, 1428, 1430, 1432, 1434, 1436, and 1438, which fall within the scope of “authentication” – note that “hardware secure non-volatile memory” can be “non-secure” as well if it is not secure is some way, for example if it is unencrypted).
Regarding claim 11, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the authentication circuit comprises a hardware security module (HSM) configured to authenticate the received ITS messages (Yang Paragraph 0033 and Monteuuis Col. 32 Lines 11-19 for example).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the system on chip teachings of Monteuuis for implementing the systems 205 of Yang generating and storing the time of receipt for the received messages the non-volatile memory. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the required functionality with the advantages of the SoC including reduced footprint and reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 12, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the HSM uses a stored cryptographic key in performing the authentication of the received ITS messages (Yang Paragraph 0033 and Monteuuis Col. 32 Lines 11-19 for example).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the system on chip teachings of Monteuuis for implementing the systems 205 of Yang generating and storing the time of receipt for the received messages the non-volatile memory. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the required functionality with the advantages of the SoC including reduced footprint and reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 13, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the secure element comprises at least one of: an active shield, environmental parameter monitoring circuitry, fault injection protection circuitry, and side-channel attack protection circuitry (Yang Paragraph 0045 for example).
Regarding claim 18, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the communication circuit is configured for wireless communications according to an IEEE 802.11 standard protocol or a cellular data network protocol (Yang Paragraph 0025)
Office Notice: Before the effective filing date of the invention 802.11.p and 5G were commonly used wireless communication protocols of 802.11 and cellular data networks respectively. As such, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized either in the system of Yang for communications between the vehicles, roadside units, etc. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize specific commonly used communication standards in the technologies suggested by Yang.
Regarding claim 19, Yang and Monteuuis taught that a received ITS message is directly rejected without performing authentication if it is from a sender on a first list of automatically excluded senders contained in the secure element (Yang Paragraph 0075 for example), and, in combination, a received ITS message is directly recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory without performing authentication if it is from a sender on a second list of automatically allowed senders contained in the secure element (Yang Figs. 14a and 14b and Paragraphs 0079-0082 for example – especially checking whether the sender’s ID corresponds to any VT IDs and if fusing the message with the VT – this skips over steps 1412, 1414, 1416, 1418, 1420, 1422, 1424, 1426, 1428, 1430, 1432, 1434, 1436, and 1438, which fall within the scope of “authentication”).
Regarding claim 20, Yang and Monteuuis taught that a received ITS message is directly rejected without performing authentication if it is from a sender on a first list of automatically excluded senders contained in the secure element, and, in combination, a received ITS message is directly recorded in a non-secure non-volatile memory without performing authentication if it is from a sender on a second list of automatically allowed senders contained in the secure element (Yang Figs. 14a and 14b and Paragraphs 0079-0082 for example – especially checking whether the sender’s ID corresponds to any VT IDs and if fusing the message with the VT – this skips over steps 1412, 1414, 1416, 1418, 1420, 1422, 1424, 1426, 1428, 1430, 1432, 1434, 1436, and 1438, which fall within the scope of “authentication” – note that “hardware secure non-volatile memory” can be “non-secure” as well if it is not secure is some way, for example if it is unencrypted).
Regarding claim 21, Yang and Monteuuis taught that a received ITS message is directly recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory or a non-secure non-volatile memory without performing authentication if it is from a sender on a second list of automatically allowed senders contained in the secure element (Yang Figs. 14a and 14b and Paragraphs 0079-0082 for example – especially checking whether the sender’s ID corresponds to any VT IDs and if fusing the message with the VT – this skips over steps 1412, 1414, 1416, 1418, 1420, 1422, 1424, 1426, 1428, 1430, 1432, 1434, 1436, and 1438, which fall within the scope of “authentication”).
Regarding claim 23, Yang and Monteuuis taught that the ITS messages comprise at least one of: basic safety messages (BSMs), weather alerts, stopped car alerts, accident alerts, and signaling malfunction alerts (Yang Paragraph 0031 for example).
Regarding claim 25, Yang and Monteuuis taught use of timestamp data items having a granularity or the order of a microsecond (Monteuuis Col. 29 Lines 50-55 for example – further, the granularity of the timestamp is simply a design choice with the order of a microsecond being an obvious choice. Furthermore, the instant specification provides no particular reasoning or advantage for using a granularity on the order of a microsecond, and as such this choice would have simply been an obvious design choice).
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Monteuuis, and further in view of Ruelke et al. (US Patent Number 10,491,235).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, while Yang and Monteuuis taught the continually active clock counter is configured to generate a current reference time base value in an active secure element operating mode (Yang Paragraph 0075-0077 and Monteuuis Col. 19 Lines 30-41 and Col. 38 Lines 19-33 for example), they did not explicitly teach also doing so in a standby operating mode.
Ruelke taught in a communication system a method and system for the communication system to generates timestamps even during standby mode (Ruelke Col. 14 Line 24 – Col. 15 Line 27 for example).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the teachings of Ruelke in the time based authentication system of Yang and Monteuuis by utilizing the timestamp generation to continuously generate the timestamp, even in a standby mode. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to ensure that the time data used for authenticating the V2X messages remained synchronized.
Claims 2-4, 6, 17, 22, 26-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Monteuuis, and further in view of Misawa et al. (JP 2017046080 A).
Regarding claims 2-4, 6 and 17, while Yang and Monteuuis taught time tolerance windows, they did not explicitly teach including circuitry configured to manage the received ITS messages by assigning a lifetime to each of the authenticated received ITS messages recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory, and directly rejecting a received ITS message that repeats a previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory if the lifetime of the previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message has not yet expired.
Misawa taught in a V2X system, managing received ITS messages by assigning a lifetime to each of the authenticated received ITS messages, and directly rejecting a received ITS message that repeats a previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message if the lifetime of the previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message has not yet expired (Misawa Paragraph 0047 – See the translation Pages 8-9 text associated with S153 for example).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the teachings of Misawa in the V2X messaging system of Yang and Monteuuis by assigning a verification period to received messages and upon detecting copies of received messages during their verification period determining a replay attack is occurring and stop processing the detected replayed message. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to detect and mitigate replay attacks in the V2X communication system.
Regarding claim 22, while Yang and Monteuuis taught time tolerance windows, they did not explicitly teach including circuitry configured to manage the received ITS messages by assigning a lifetime to each of the authenticated received ITS messages recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory, and directly rejecting a received ITS message that repeats a previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory if the lifetime of the previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message has not yet expired; and before authenticating a received ITS message, verifying both whether the received ITS message matches a previously authenticated ITS message recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory and whether the lifetime of the previously authenticated ITS message has not expired.
Misawa taught in a V2X system, managing received ITS messages by assigning a lifetime to each of the authenticated received ITS messages, and directly rejecting a received ITS message that repeats a previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message if the lifetime of the previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message has not yet expired (Misawa Paragraph 0047 – See the translation Pages 8-9 text associated with S153 for example).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the teachings of Misawa in the V2X messaging system of Yang and Monteuuis by assigning a verification period to received messages and upon detecting copies of received messages during their verification period determining a replay attack is occurring and stop processing the detected replayed message. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to detect and mitigate replay attacks in the V2X communication system.
Regarding claim 26, Yang disclosed an intelligent transport system (ITS) (Yang Fig. 2 for example), comprising:
a network of vehicle stations, roadway infrastructure stations, and at least one central station (Yang Fig. 1 and Paragraphs 0024-0027 for example);
wherein vehicles are configured to communicate with neighboring vehicle stations through car-to-car messages, with neighboring road infrastructure stations through car-to-infrastructure messages, and with the central station through car-to-infrastructure messages via at least one of a telecommunication network and the roadway infrastructure stations (Yang Paragraph 0031 for example);
an authentication circuit within at least one of the vehicles, vehicle stations, and neighboring road infrastructure stations configured to authenticate a received message (Yang Fig. 11 and Paragraph 0075 for example).
Yang did not explicitly teach that the authentication circuit is configured to assign a timestamp data item from a continually active clock counter belonging to a secure element of an electronic control unit to the messages, and record the messages in a hardware-secure non-volatile memory belonging to the secure element along with the respective timestamp data; and circuitry associated with the authentication circuit and configured to manage the messages by assigning a lifetime to the authenticated received ITS messages recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory, directly rejecting a received message repeating a previously received, authenticated message recorded in the hardware-secure non-volatile memory, the lifetime of which has not run out.
Yang did not explicitly teach that a non-volatile memory is configured to record the authenticated received ITS messages, but Yang did disclose that the authenticated received ITS messages are recorded (Yang Paragraph 0045 for example).
Yang further taught that the memories of the system are used for storing data received via V2X messaging and other data received, generated, or used in connection with autonomous driving functionality (Yang Paragraph 0035).
Official Notice: Before the effective filing date of the invention, it was well known in the art of data storage to use of non-volatile memory to store data. As such, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before for the effective filing date to have utilized non-volatile memory to store the received messages of Yang. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated provide a commonly used data storage for the generically taught storing of the messages, as well as to ensure that the messages would remain stored even through loss of power.
Monteuuis taught in a V2X system that a System on Chip (SoC) including timers can be utilized to detect misbehavior by assigning and storing the time of receipt of V2X messages in memory of the SoC and ensuring that new messages from a sender are received within a proper time window from the previously received message from that sender (Monteuuis Col. 6 Lines 12-23 and Col. 19 Line 6 – Col. 20 Line 40 and Col. 32 Line 11 – Col. 33 Line 2).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the system on chip teachings of Monteuuis for implementing the systems 205 of Yang generating and storing the time of receipt for the received messages the non-volatile memory. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the required functionality with the advantages of the SoC including reduced footprint and reduced power consumption.
Misawa taught in a V2X system, managing received ITS messages by assigning a lifetime to each of the authenticated received ITS messages, and directly rejecting a received ITS message that repeats a previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message if the lifetime of the previously received, authenticated, and recorded ITS message has not yet expired (Misawa Paragraph 0047 – See the translation Pages 8-9 text associated with S153 for example).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the teachings of Misawa in the V2X messaging system of Yang and Monteuuis by assigning a verification period to received messages and upon detecting copies of received messages during their verification period determining a replay attack is occurring and stop processing the detected replayed message. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to detect and mitigate replay attacks in the V2X communication system.
Regarding claim 27, while Yang, Monteuuis, and Misawa taught a digital signature being encoded in the message (Yang Paragraph 0033 for example), they did not explicitly teach that the authentication circuit is configured to decipher a digital signature of a sender of the message.
Official Notice: It was well known in the art of message security before the effective filing date of the invention that messages signed by encryption using a secret key are verified by decrypting the signature and as such it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have done so in the system of Yang.
Regarding claim 28, Yang, Monteuuis, and Misawa taught that the continually active clock counter is configured to generate a current reference time base value used to evaluate whether a lifetime of the messages has run out (Yang Paragraph 0075-0077 and Monteuuis Col. 19 Lines 30-41 and Col. 38 Lines 19-33 for example).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed the system on chip teachings of Monteuuis for implementing the systems 205 of Yang generating and storing the time of receipt for the received messages the non-volatile memory. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the required functionality with the advantages of the SoC including reduced footprint and reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 30, Yang, Monteuuis, and Misawa taught that the vehicle stations are configured to communicate with the central station indirectly through the roadway infrastructure stations acting as relay nodes (Yang Fig. 1 and Paragraphs 0024-0027 for example).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 17 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,432,554. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-28 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,432,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims essentially anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1, 7-10, 15, 17-23, and 25-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,468,796. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims essentially anticipate the instant claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-30 have been rejected.
/MATTHEW T HENNING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491