DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/29/2026 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/08/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: includes the typo “b ased”. Dependent claims 3 and 4 are objected to because they involve utilizing activity categories but independent claim 1 can be interpreted as not including activity categories due to claim language “based on at least one of:”. Similarly, dependent claim 11 is objected to because it involves body tracking but dependent claim 6 can be interpreted as not body tracking due to claim language “at least one of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leroux US 2024/0080529 A1, hereafter Leroux, in view of Pescaru et al. US 2021/0004575 A1, hereafter Pescaru.
Regarding claim 1, Leroux discloses a method for real-time frame adjustment on a video stream (methods for real-time processing of live media streams) [title], the method comprising:
obtaining, in real-time, one or more frames of the video stream (obtain video data for a video stream 302) [FIG. 3];
identifying one or more objects from the one or more frames (detect a first object in at least one video frame of the video stream 304; object movement: the system may prioritize setting video focus on object that are associated with greater amount of movement (e.g., shaking, turning, or otherwise movement of the object by the presenter; in operation 404, the streaming media management engine detects a first one of the select products in a video frame of the video stream. For example, the streaming media management engine may process a video frame depicting a scene that includes a broadcaster pointing to, holding up, or otherwise gesturing toward a featured product) [FIG. 3; 0045; 0090];
prioritizing one or more key focus areas from a set of key focus areas in the one or more activities (in the case of multiple products features concurrently in a video stream, the system may visually emphasize…a single one of the feature products as the object of interest; after detecting the first product, the streaming media management engine designates the detected first product as a current target object associated with the video stream, in operation 406. That is, the first product is set as the next object to visually emphasize in the video stream) [0040; 0091];
determining at least one of one or more target actions and one or more target effects, based on at least one of: a tracking of the one or more prioritized key focus areas, the set of key focus areas, and one or more activity categories of the one or more activities (tracking of objects of interest that are depicted in the video data associated with a live media stream) [0067]; and
applying, in real-time, at least one of the one or more target effects and the one or more target actions to the one or more frames of the video stream (the streaming media management engine may cause to be performed certain camera effects such as crop pan, and/or zoom…on one or more video frames…the one or more video frames may be digitally altered to simulate the effects of crop, pan, and/or zoom…the streaming media management engine may produce a zoom-in/-out or an image crop effect to ensure that the object of interest stays within the field of view) [0086].
However, while Leroux discloses processing a video frame depicting a scene that includes a broadcaster pointing to, holding up, or otherwise gesturing toward a featured product to detect an object [0090], Leroux fails to explicitly disclose identifying one or more activities from the one or more frames.
Pescaru, in an analogous environment, discloses identifying one or more activities from the one or more frames (recognizing human activity from a video stream) [abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize activities, as disclosed by Pescaru, with the invention disclosed by Leroux the motivation being efficiently recognizing human activity [0010].
Regarding claim 2, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the video stream is a live camera feed video stream (live media stream) [0036].
Regarding claim 3, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Pescaru further discloses the identifying the one or more activities comprises classifying the one or more activities in the one or more activity categories based on an analysis of the one or more frames using an artificial intelligence (AI) based activity classification engine (classify an image frame of the video stream in one or more classes of a set of pre-defined classes 302; the classifier 202 may be an algorithm-based classifier such as a convolutional neural network (CNN)) [FIG. 3; 0029].
Regarding claim 4, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses identifying the set of key focus areas in the one or more activities based at least on the one or more activity categories (in the case of multiple products features concurrently in a video stream, the system may visually emphasize…a single one of the feature products as the object of interest; after detecting the first product, the streaming media management engine designates the detected first product as a current target object associated with the video stream, in operation 406. That is, the first product is set as the next object to visually emphasize in the video stream) [0040; 0091].
Regarding claim 5, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the prioritizing the one or more key focus areas comprises prioritizing the one or more key focus areas from the set of key focus areas based on at least one of an effect intensity and the one or more activity categories (object movement: the system may prioritize setting video focus on object that are associated with greater amount of movement (e.g., shaking, turning, or otherwise movement of the object by the presenter) [0045].
Regarding claim 6, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the tracking the one or more prioritized key focus areas comprises tracking at least one of: one or more actions corresponding to the one or more prioritized key focus areas, one or more gestures corresponding to the one or more prioritized key focus areas, and one or more motion parameters corresponding to the one or more gestures (object movement: the system may prioritize setting video focus on object that are associated with greater amount of movement (e.g., shaking, turning, or otherwise movement of the object by the presenter) [0045].
Regarding claim 7, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the determining the at least one of the one or more target actions and the one or more target effects is further based on the tracking of at least one of the one or more actions, the one or more gestures, and the one or more motion parameters (object movement: the system may prioritize setting video focus on object that are associated with greater amount of movement (e.g., shaking, turning, or otherwise movement of the object by the presenter) [0045].
Regarding claim 8, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 4 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the identifying the set of key focus areas is performed using a multi-focus recognition system comprising of at least one of a body tracking system, a facial expression tracking system and an object tracking system, and wherein each key focus area from among the set of key focus areas is one of a body part, an object and a facial expression (in the case of multiple products features concurrently in a video stream, the system may visually emphasize…a single one of the feature products as the object of interest; after detecting the first product, the streaming media management engine designates the detected first product as a current target object associated with the video stream, in operation 406. That is, the first product is set as the next object to visually emphasize in the video stream) [0040; 0091].
Regarding claim 9, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the prioritizing the one or more key focus areas is performed at a frame level and by using an artificial intelligence (AI) based priority identifier neural engine (the video frames may be processed using a machine learning model) [0073].
Regarding claim 10, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 5 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the effect intensity is one of a user defined effect intensity and an automatically defined effect intensity (object movement: the system may prioritize setting video focus on object that are associated with greater amount of movement (e.g., shaking, turning, or otherwise movement of the object by the presenter) [0045].
Regarding claim 11, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Pescaru further discloses the tracking the one or more actions is performed by using a body area tracking system, and wherein the tracking of at least one of the one or more gestures and the one or more motion parameters is performed using a gesture tracking system (hand, object in hand, body part) [0029].
Regarding claim 12, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Leroux further discloses the determining the at least one of the one or more target effects and the one or more target actions is performed using an artificial intelligence (AI) based recommender neural engine (the video frames may be processed using a machine learning model ; the streaming media management engine may cause to be performed certain camera effects such as crop pan, and/or zoom…on one or more video frames…the one or more video frames may be digitally altered to simulate the effects of crop, pan, and/or zoom…the streaming media management engine may produce a zoom-in/-out or an image crop effect to ensure that the object of interest stays within the field of view) [0073; 0086]
Regarding claim 13, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above.
Pescaru further discloses the analysis of the one or more frames using the artificial intelligence (AI) based activity classification engine comprises classifying the one or more frames into the one or more activities using at least one of: one or more three-dimensional convolutional neural network (3D CNN) engines, wherein each 3D CNN engine from among the one or more 3D CNN engines is pre-trained based on a plurality of activities, and one or more Visual Question Answering (VQA) engines (classify an image frame of the video stream in one or more classes of a set of pre-defined classes 302; the classifier 202 may be an algorithm-based classifier such as a convolutional neural network (CNN)) [FIG. 3; 0029].
Regarding claim 15, Leroux and Pescaru address all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Pescaru further discloses the AI based priority identifier neural engine is trained based on at least one of a plurality of activity categories, a plurality of activity intensities, a plurality of trackable body focus areas, a plurality of gestures, a plurality of trackable gestures, a plurality of gesture types, and a plurality of trackable focus area vectors (classify an image frame of the video stream in one or more classes of a set of pre-defined classes 302; the classifier 202 may be an algorithm-based classifier such as a convolutional neural network (CNN) trained to classify an image frame) [FIG. 3; 0029].
Claims 16-19 are drawn to an electronic apparatus adapted to implement the method of claims 1-4, and are therefore rejected in the same manner as above. However, the claims also recite a camera, at least one processor and memory comprising one or more storage mediums storing instructions, which Leroux also teaches (processor 700, memory 710) [FIG. 6A].
Computer readable storage claim 20 is drawn to the instructions corresponding to the method of claim 1. Therefore, computer readable storage claim 20 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of unpatentability as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Sharma US 2023/0370653 A1 discloses streaming with variable frame quality based on the identification of high-relevance regions of individual frames.
STEFAN GADOMSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2485
/STEFAN GADOMSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485