DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent the limitations of claim 1-24 of the current application are included in claims 1-24 of the U.S. Patent No. 12432326 with obvious wording variations. As an example, claim 1 of the current application are compared with claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 in the following table:
Claim 1 of the current application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326
1. 1. A method comprising:
determining, by a monitoring device, content being output by a display device;
determining an effect associated with the content comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition;
determining a modification to the characteristic that reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and causing the display device to modify the characteristic.
1. A method comprising:
causing output of content;
comparing a first frame of the content to a second frame of the content;
determining, based on comparing the first frame to the second frame, that a visual effect associated with the content comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition;
determining a modification to the characteristic of the content, wherein the modification reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and
causing output of the modification of the characteristic of the content.
As disclosed above, claim 1 of the current application is broader version of claim 1 (also claims 7, 13 and 19) of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 with obvious wording variations.
For similar reasons disclosed above, independent claims 7, 13 and 19of the current application is broader version of independent claims 1, 7, 13 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 with obvious wording variations.
Claims 2, 8, 14 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 further includes the limitations of claims 2, 8, 14 and 20 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claim 3,9, 15 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 further includes the limitations of claims 3, 9, 15 and 21 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claim 4, 10, 16 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 further includes the limitations of claims 4, 10, 16 and 22 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claim 5, 11, 17 and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 further includes the limitations of claims 5, 11, 17 and 23 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claims 6, 12, 18 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12432326 further includes the limitations of claims 6, 12, 18 and 24 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-17 and 19-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3-6, 8, 10,11-13, 15 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent the limitations of claim 1-5, 7-11, 13-17 and19-23 of the current application are included in claims 1,3-6, 8, 10,11-13, 15 and 17 of the U.S. Patent No. 11627296 with obvious wording variations. As an example, claims 1 and 4 in combination of the current application are compared with claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296 in the following table:
Claim 1 of the current application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296
1. 1. A method comprising:
determining, by a monitoring device, content being output by a display device;
determining an effect associated with the content comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition;
determining a modification to the characteristic that reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and causing the display device to modify the characteristic.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic comprises:
comparing a first portion of the content to a second portion of the content; and
determining, based on the comparison of the first portion of the content to the second portion of the content, the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic.
1. A method, comprising, causing output of content at a first playback speed; receiving a command that indicates a second playback speed to output the content;
comparing a first frame of the content to a second frame of the content;
determining, based on the comparison of the first frame to the second frame, that a visual effect associated with the content when output at the second playback speed comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition; determining a modification to the characteristic of the content, wherein the modification reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and causing output of the modification of the characteristic of the content at the second playback speed.
As disclosed above, claim 1 and 4 in combination of the current application is broader version of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296 with obvious wording variations.
For similar reasons disclosed above, independent claims 7 and 10 in combination, 13 and 16 in combination, 19 and 22 in combination of the current application is broader version of independent claims1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296 with obvious wording variations.
Claims 4 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296 further includes the limitations of claims 2, 8, 14 and 20 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claim 5,6,12, 13 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296 further includes the limitations of claims 3, 9, 15 and 21 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claim 3 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11627296 further includes the limitations of claims 5, 11, 17 and 23 of the current application with obvious wording variations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aimone et al. (US 20140223462 A1) (Aimone).
Regarding claim 1, Aimone discloses A method comprising:
Figs 7- 18 for modulating content based on a person's brainwave data
determining, by a monitoring device, content being output by a display device;
[0018], [0154] and [0155] for a content analyzer component which may determine features of the presented digital content like scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods); face detection, and emotion estimation based on facial expression; and interest point detection based on other user data (e.g. could be accessed from a content server, based on a user's profile). Also for audio content, detecting beat detection…
determining an effect associated with the content comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition;
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
determining a modification to the characteristic that reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
causing the display device to modify the characteristic.
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
Regarding claim 2, Aimone discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the characteristic comprises one or more of contrast, color, volume, or brightness.
[0187] In one implementation, when a user scrolls over the text as they read, their bio-state affects the font (font-face, size, color) and thus encodes their reaction to the text as the user reads.
[0293] and [0356]
[0177] for as the user focused, the contrast of a scene could increase. If the user was frustrated, the image could have a red transparent filter on it with increasing opacity as the user became more frustrated, or a "shattered" effect could be added on top of the image. The line styles could also change from precise and fine to jagged and thick based on brain state. Similar applications may also apply to movie editing or viewing programs, or to any other program type.
[0243] FIG. 35 for The contrast, brightness, or other properties of the video stream may also be modified accordingly.
Regarding claim 3, Aimone discloses The method of claim 1, wherein causing the display device to modify the characteristic comprises sending, to the display device, an indication of the modification to the characteristic.
[0243] The video image itself may also be distorted to enlarge certain aspects of the chat participants visual appearance, or minimize other aspects, according to the chat participant's determined brain state and any modification rules provided by the computer system of the present invention.
[0353]-[0356]
Regarding claim 4, Aimone discloses The method of claim 1, wherein determining the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic comprises:
comparing a first portion of the content to a second portion of the content; and determining, based on the comparison of the first portion of the content to the second portion of the content, the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic.
[0154] Output from the content analyzer for video content, may include: scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods)
Regarding claim 5, Aimone discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the effect comprises one or more of a change in image contrast, a change in image patterns, a change in brightness, a change in volume, or a specific color.
[0129] for Modulating, or modifying presentation of the digital content, may include changing how the digital content appears or sounds, displaying or playing additional digital content. Changing appearance of the content may include scaling or moving elements of the digital content on a display, or modifying the opacity, contrast, or colour of particular elements of the digital content. The types of digital content to be displayed or modified is not limited to any particular content or modifications.
Regarding claim 6, Aimone discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring device comprises a camera to determine the content being output by the display device.
[0252] and As shown in FIG. 37, a user may be wearing a Google Glass-style device including a glasses-mounted camera. The computing device may be configured to activate the camera when a bio-signal sensor detects a particular brain state in the user.
Regarding claim 7, Aimone discloses An apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
determine content being output by a display device;
[0018], [0154] and [0155] for a content analyzer component which may determine features of the presented digital content like scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods); face detection, and emotion estimation based on facial expression; and interest point detection based on other user data (e.g. could be accessed from a content server, based on a user's profile). Also for audio content, detecting beat detection…
determine an effect associated with the content comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition;
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
determine a modification to the characteristic that reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify avideo based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
cause the display device to modify the characteristic.
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify avideo based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
Regarding claim 8, Aimone discloses The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the characteristic comprises one or more of contrast, color, volume, or brightness.
[0187] In one implementation, when a user scrolls over the text as they read, their bio-state affects the font (font-face, size, color) and thus encodes their reaction to the text as the user reads.
[0293] and [0356]
[0177] for as the user focused, the contrast of a scene could increase. If the user was frustrated, the image could have a red transparent filter on it with increasing opacity as the user became more frustrated, or a "shattered" effect could be added on top of the image. The line styles could also change from precise and fine to jagged and thick based on brain state. Similar applications may also apply to movie editing or viewing programs, or to any other program type.
[0243] FIG. 35 for The contrast, brightness, or other properties of the video stream may also be modified accordingly.
Regarding claim 9, Aimone discloses The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to cause the display device to modify the characteristic, cause the apparatus to send, to the display device, an indication of the modification to the characteristic.
[0243] The video image itself may also be distorted to enlarge certain aspects of the chat participants visual appearance, or minimize other aspects, according to the chat participant's determined brain state and any modification rules provided by the computer system of the present invention.
[0353]-[0356]
Regarding claim 10, Aimone discloses The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to determine the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic, cause the apparatus to:
compare a first portion of the content to a second portion of the content; and determine, based on the comparison of the first portion of the content to the second portion of the content, the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic.
[0154] Output from the content analyzer for video content, may include: scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods)
Regarding claim 11, Aimone discloses The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the effect comprises one or more of a change in image contrast, a change in image patterns, a change in brightness, a change in volume, or a specific color.
[0129] for Modulating, or modifying presentation of the digital content, may include changing how the digital content appears or sounds, displaying or playing additional digital content. Changing appearance of the content may include scaling or moving elements of the digital content on a display, or modifying the opacity, contrast, or colour of particular elements of the digital content. The types of digital content to be displayed or modified is not limited to any particular content or modifications.
Regarding claim 12, Aimone discloses The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the apparatus comprises a camera to determine the content being output by the display device.
[0252] and As shown in FIG. 37, a user may be wearing a Google Glass-style device including a glasses-mounted camera. The computing device may be configured to activate the camera when a bio-signal sensor detects a particular brain state in the user.
Regarding claim 13, Aimone discloses One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
determine content being output by a display device;
[0018], [0154] and [0155] for a content analyzer component which may determine features of the presented digital content like scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods); face detection, and emotion estimation based on facial expression; and interest point detection based on other user data (e.g. could be accessed from a content server, based on a user's profile). Also for audio content, detecting beat detection…
determine an effect associated with the content comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition;
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
determine a modification to the characteristic that reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
cause the display device to modify the characteristic.
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify avideo based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
Regarding claim 14, Aimone discloses The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the characteristic comprises one or more of contrast, color, volume, or brightness.
[0187] In one implementation, when a user scrolls over the text as they read, their bio-state affects the font (font-face, size, color) and thus encodes their reaction to the text as the user reads.
[0293] and [0356]
[0177] for as the user focused, the contrast of a scene could increase. If the user was frustrated, the image could have a red transparent filter on it with increasing opacity as the user became more frustrated, or a "shattered" effect could be added on top of the image. The line styles could also change from precise and fine to jagged and thick based on brain state. Similar applications may also apply to movie editing or viewing programs, or to any other program type.
[0243] FIG. 35 for The contrast, brightness, or other properties of the video stream may also be modified accordingly.
Regarding claim 15, Aimone discloses The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to cause the display device to modify the characteristic, cause the at least one processor to send, to the display device, an indication of the modification to the characteristic.
[0243] The video image itself may also be distorted to enlarge certain aspects of the chat participants visual appearance, or minimize other aspects, according to the chat participant's determined brain state and any modification rules provided by the computer system of the present invention.
[0353]-[0356]
Regarding claim 16, Aimone discloses The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to determine the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic, cause the at least one processor to:
compare a first portion of the content to a second portion of the content; and determine, based on the comparison of the first portion of the content to the second portion of the content, the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic.
[0154] Output from the content analyzer for video content, may include: scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods)
Regarding claim 17, Aimone discloses The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the effect comprises one or more of a change in image contrast, a change in image patterns, a change in brightness, a change in volume, or a specific color.
[0129] for Modulating, or modifying presentation of the digital content, may include changing how the digital content appears or sounds, displaying or playing additional digital content. Changing appearance of the content may include scaling or moving elements of the digital content on a display, or modifying the opacity, contrast, or colour of particular elements of the digital content. The types of digital content to be displayed or modified is not limited to any particular content or modifications.
Regarding claim 18, Aimone discloses The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is associated with a camera to determine the content being output by the display device.
[0252] and As shown in FIG. 37, a user may be wearing a Google Glass-style device including a glasses-mounted camera. The computing device may be configured to activate the camera when a bio-signal sensor detects a particular brain state in the user.
Regarding claim 19, Aimone discloses A system comprising:
a display device configured to:
output content; and
a monitoring device configured to:
determine the content being output by the display device;
[0018], [0154] and [0155] for a content analyzer component which may determine features of the presented digital content like scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods); face detection, and emotion estimation based on facial expression; and interest point detection based on other user data (e.g. could be accessed from a content server, based on a user's profile). Also for audio content, detecting beat detection…
determine an effect associated with the content comprises a characteristic that impacts a viewer with a condition;
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
determine a modification to the characteristic that reduces the impact of the characteristic on the viewer with the condition; and
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify avideo based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
cause the display device to modify the characteristic.
[0019], [0238] and [0239] The system may include a content recommendation engine component which may use brain state data and analysis from the content analyzer component of content to make better recommendations. For example for each content item presented, the user's brain state data may be detected and associated with the respectively presented content item or The user may be asked to confirm the determined brain state determined by the computer system before associating it with the presented content item. the associated data may be used to modify a video based on the editor's emotional reaction to the video content
Regarding claim 20, Aimone discloses The system of claim 19, wherein the characteristic comprises one or more of contrast, color, volume, or brightness.
[0187] In one implementation, when a user scrolls over the text as they read, their bio-state affects the font (font-face, size, color) and thus encodes their reaction to the text as the user reads.
[0293] and [0356]
[0177] for as the user focused, the contrast of a scene could increase. If the user was frustrated, the image could have a red transparent filter on it with increasing opacity as the user became more frustrated, or a "shattered" effect could be added on top of the image. The line styles could also change from precise and fine to jagged and thick based on brain state. Similar applications may also apply to movie editing or viewing programs, or to any other program type.
[0243] FIG. 35 for The contrast, brightness, or other properties of the video stream may also be modified accordingly.
Regarding claim 21, Aimone discloses The system of claim 19, wherein to cause the display device to modify the characteristic, the monitoring device is configured to send, to the display device, an indication of the modification to the characteristic.
[0243] The video image itself may also be distorted to enlarge certain aspects of the chat participants visual appearance, or minimize other aspects, according to the chat participant's determined brain state and any modification rules provided by the computer system of the present invention.
[0353]-[0356]
Regarding claim 22, Aimone discloses The system of claim 19, wherein to determine the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic, the monitoring device is configured to:
compare a first portion of the content to a second portion of the content; and determine, based on the comparison of the first portion of the content to the second portion of the content, the effect associated with the content comprises the characteristic.
[0154] Output from the content analyzer for video content, may include: scene change detection in video content (e.g. may use frame differencing methods)
Regarding claim 23, Aimone discloses The system of claim 19, wherein the effect comprises one or more of a change in image contrast, a change in image patterns, a change in brightness, a change in volume, or a specific color.
[0129] for Modulating, or modifying presentation of the digital content, may include changing how the digital content appears or sounds, displaying or playing additional digital content. Changing appearance of the content may include scaling or moving elements of the digital content on a display, or modifying the opacity, contrast, or colour of particular elements of the digital content. The types of digital content to be displayed or modified is not limited to any particular content or modifications.
Regarding claim 24, Aimone discloses The system of claim 19, wherein the monitoring device comprises a camera to determine the content being output by the display device.
[0252] and As shown in FIG. 37, a user may be wearing a Google Glass-style device including a glasses-mounted camera. The computing device may be configured to activate the camera when a bio-signal sensor detects a particular brain state in the user.
Conclusion
/SAMIRA MONSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422