DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/08/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US 2017/0094305 in view of Xu et al. US 2019/0158870.
As to claim 1, Li teaches a decoder comprising: circuitry; [fig. 6; ¶ 0075] and memory, wherein, using the memory, [¶ 0049; ¶ 0089; ¶ 0112] the circuitry: in a first operating mode, derives first motion vectors for a first block obtained by splitting a picture, and generates a prediction image corresponding to the first block, with a bi-directional optical flow flag set to true, by referring to spatial gradients of luminance generated based on the first motion vectors; [abstract; figs. 4-6; ¶ 0037-0045; ¶ 0090-0095; ¶ 0101-0117] and and generates a prediction image corresponding to the sub-block, with the bi- directional optical flow flag set to false, [¶ 0102] wherein a size of the first block obtained by splitting the picture is variable [¶ 0066-0067]
Li does not explicitly teach in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4.
Xu teaches in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4. [¶ 0063]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Xu with the teachings of Li allowing for improved coding prediction and efficiency.
As to claim 2, Li teaches an encoder comprising: circuitry; [fig. 5; ¶ 0075] and memory, wherein, using the memory, [¶ 0049; ¶ 0089; ¶ 0112] the circuitry: in a first operating mode, derives first motion vectors for a first block obtained by splitting a picture, and generates a prediction image corresponding to the first block, with a bi- directional optical flow flag set to true, by referring to spatial gradients of luminance generated based on the first motion vectors; [abstract; figs. 4-6; ¶ 0037-0045; ¶ 0090-0095; ¶ 0101-0117] and generates a prediction image corresponding to the sub-block, with the bi- directional optical flow flag set to false, [¶ 0102] wherein a size of the first block obtained by splitting the picture is variable [¶ 0066-0067]
Li does not explicitly teach in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4.
Xu teaches in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4. [¶ 0063]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Xu with the teachings of Li allowing for improved coding prediction and efficiency.
As to claim 3, Li teaches a bitstream generation device comprising: circuitry; [figs. 5-6; ¶ 0075] and memory, wherein, using the memory, [¶ 0049; ¶ 0089; ¶ 0112] the circuitry: in a first operating mode, derives first motion vectors for a first block obtained by splitting a picture, and generates a prediction image corresponding to the first block, with a bi- directional optical flow flag set to true, by referring to spatial gradients of luminance generated based on the first motion vectors; [abstract; figs. 4-6; ¶ 0037-0045; ¶ 0090-0095; ¶ 0101-0117] generates a prediction image corresponding to the sub-block, with the bi- directional optical flow flag set to false; [¶ 0102] and generates a bitstream including information for deriving the first motion vectors or the second motion vectors, [fig. 1; figs. 5-6; ¶ 0108] wherein a size of the first block obtained by splitting the picture is variable [¶ 0066-0067]
Li does not explicitly teach in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4.
Xu teaches in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4. [¶ 0063]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Xu with the teachings of Li allowing for improved coding prediction and efficiency.
As to claim 4, Li teaches a method of transmitting a bitstream comprising: in a first operating mode, deriving first motion vectors for a first block obtained by splitting a picture, generating a prediction image corresponding to the first block, with a bi- directional optical flow flag set to true, by referring to spatial gradients of luminance generated based on the first motion vectors; [abstract; figs. 4-6; ¶ 0037-0045; ¶ 0090-0095; ¶ 0101-0117] in a second operating mode, deriving motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, deriving second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, and generating a prediction image corresponding to the sub-block, with the bi- directional optical flow flag set to false; [¶ 0102] generating the bitstream including information for deriving the first motion vectors or the second motion vectors; [fig. 1; figs. 5-6; ¶ 0108] and transmitting the bitstream, wherein a size of the first block obtained by splitting the picture is variable [¶ 0066-0067] and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4.
Li does not explicitly teach in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4.
Xu teaches in a second operating mode, derives motion vectors of a plurality of control points of a second block based on motion vectors of blocks spatially neighboring to the second block, the second block being obtained by splitting the picture, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] derives second motion vectors for a sub-block obtained by splitting the second block using the motion vectors of the plurality of control points, [¶ 0063; ¶ 0087-0099] and a size of the sub-block obtained by splitting the second block is 4x4. [¶ 0063]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Xu with the teachings of Li allowing for improved coding prediction and efficiency.
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483