DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status:
Claims 13-20 are pending, of which claim 13 is independent.
Claims 1-12 are cancelled.
Claim 13 is amended.
Claims 13-20 are examined as follow:
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “processing device” in claims 20 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device" coupled with functional language “configured to monitor a mass content….” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “processing device" has been described in Paragraph 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0090 as some kind of controller, computer, processor, computing machine, microprocessor, circuit. However, there is not description that how such controller or what corresponding structural in the controller capable and allow such “processing device” to monitor a mass content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 20, the limitation “…processing device…” invoke 112f and there is insufficient description in the specification to reasonably convey that what structure provide the capability to perform the cited functional language of “to monitor a mass of contents contained in the vessel”, the specification only describing “…processing device…” some kind of controller, computer, processor, computing machine, microprocessor, circuit, there is no structure disclosed in the specification how the “…processing device…” actually capable to monitor the mass of contents, furthermore, this is not a method claim group, functional language required physical structure to support, the “…processing device…” only capable to monitor a signal not the actual reading or monitoring of “mass of content”.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 20, the limitation “…processing device…” invoked 112f and there is insufficient disclosure of how such device capable to perform the functional language of “…to monitor a mass of contents contained in the vessel …” and what structural limitation that allow the “processing device” to monitor “mass of content” exactly. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN115804537A (previously cited) herein set forth as CN4537A, in view of Takeuchi et al (US4829889 newly cited) herein set forth as Takeuchi.
Regarding claim 13, CN4537A discloses a centrifugal homogenization apparatus (refer to fig. 2) comprising:
a power base (refer to “power base” annotated in fig.4) comprising a motor drive system (motor assembly #52, fig.2), a control interface (refer to annotated “user interface” in fig.6, user interface #1003 fig.13 and NPL-Machine translate Page 21 2nd paragraph cited: “…The user interface 1003 may include a display, an input unit such as a Keyboard, and the optional user interface 1003 may also include a standard wired interface and a wireless interface…”), and a processing device (control assembly #20, fig.2 and processor #1001, fig.13) operatively coupled to the motor drive system (motor assembly #52, fig.2) and the control interface (refer to annotated “user interface” in fig.6, user interface #1003 fig.13 and NPL-Machine translate Page 21 2nd paragraph cited: “…The user interface 1003 may include a display, an input unit such as a Keyboard, and the optional user interface 1003 may also include a standard wired interface and a wireless interface…”);
a vessel (main machine #5, fig.1-2, 4 and 6-8) coupled to the power base (motor assembly #52, fig.2) for receiving a plant-based product (refer to NPL-machine translate page 22 6th paragraph cited: “…The invention claims the food processing machine can have two modes, wherein one is a conventional functional mode, and the other one is a plant milk beverage manufacturing mode…”), the vessel (main machine #5, fig.1-2, 4 and 6-8) comprising a lid (main machine cover #57, fig.1-2, 4, 6-8), a filter basket (filter body #1 and cylinder body #12, fig1-13), a blade cage assembly (processing cup assembly #57, fig.2) comprising a blender blade (refer annotated “blade” in fig.4), and a nozzle assembly (refer to annotated “nozzle assembly in fig.2) adapted for evacuation of liquid from the vessel (main machine #5, fig.1-2, 4 and 6-8), wherein the motor drive system (motor assembly #52, fig.2) is configured to independently drive rotation of the blender blade (refer annotated “blade” in fig.4) in a first direction (refer to the blade rotation) in a first stage of operation (refer as the first operation that turn the apparatus on) and the filter basket in a second direction opposite the first direction in a second stage of operation [refer to CN115804537A Machine Translate NPL Page 14, 3rd Paragraph cited: “…corresponding to the second working stage, at least the filter body 1 to rotate, namely the filter body 1 to rotate, the rotating mode of the first crushing cutter structure 21 is not limited, such as, can rotate in the same direction, reverse rotation, also can be stationary …”]; and
an interlock system (refer to “interlock system” annotated in fig.2) configured to determine an open state and closed state for each of the lid (main machine cover #54 fig.1-13) and the nozzle assembly (refer to annotated “nozzle assembly in fig.2).
CN4537A does not explicitly disclose wherein the motor drive system is disabled when at least the nozzle assembly is determined to be in the open state.
In the similar field of beverage preparing and dispensing, Takeuchi discloses wherein the motor drive system (refer as “electric motor 94” in Col 7 line 54-56) is disabled when at least the nozzle assembly (refer to “extracting mechanism 20” in Col 7 line 54-56) is determined to be in the open state (refer to “open state” in Col 7 line 54-56) (refer to Col 7 line 54-56 cited: “…electric motor 94 is stopped, and extracting mechanism 20 is set in an open state …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4537A’s invention with wherein the motor drive system is disabled when at least the nozzle assembly is determined to be in the open state, as taught by Takeuchi, in order to provide a better, more effective control on dispensing, such that would reduce incorrect dispensing of beverage or ingredients.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of CN4537A and Takeuchi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, CN4537A further discloses wherein the control interface (refer to annotated “user interface” in fig.6, user interface #1003 fig.13 and NPL-Machine translate Page 21 2nd paragraph cited: “…The user interface 1003 may include a display, an input unit such as a Keyboard, and the optional user interface 1003 may also include a standard wired interface and a wireless interface…”) comprises an actuatable control (refer to Page 20 paragraph 12th cited: “…the control assembly 20 is set on the main machine 5, and electrically connected with the motor assembly 52 and the water supply assembly 10…”) for operating the power base (refer to “power base” annotated in fig.4) and a display device (refer to “display” cited in NPL-machine translate Page 21 2nd paragraph cited above), wherein the actuatable control allows for selection of an operation mode (refer to fig. 13, and Page 21 5-10th paragraph), and wherein the display device is configured to display (refer to “display” cited in NPL-machine translate Page 21 2nd paragraph cited above) the selected operation mode (refer to fig. 13, and Page 21 5-10th paragraph).
Regarding claim 16, the modification of CN4537A and Takeuchi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, CN4537A further discloses wherein the operation mode (refer to fig. 13, and Page 21 5-10th paragraph) corresponds to one of a plurality of options (refer to the for selecting a plant-based product, wherein each of the options is associated with a blending time duration, a centrifuging time duration (refer to NPL-Machine translate Page 9 6th paragraph cited: “…the first working stage and the second working stage is two working stage with time sequence relationship…”, Examiner note: this indicate control on the time duration between blending which is 1st stage and centrifuging as 2nd stage), a blending speed, and a centrifuging speed (refer to NPL-machine translate Page 20 8th paragraph cited: “…corresponding to the second working stage, the first crushing cutter structure 21 and the filter body 1 synchronously rotate, and the rotating speed is n, and 50r/min less than or equal to 2000r/min, on the basis of ensuring good filtering effect…”, Examiner note: this indicate control of blending speed and centrifuging speed).
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN115804537A (previously cited) herein set forth as CN4537A, in view of Takeuchi et al (US4829889 newly cited) herein set forth as Takeuchi, and further in view Mills et al (US2015/0182063A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Mills.
Regarding claim 15, the modification of CN4537A and Takeuchi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 14, CN4537A does not disclose wherein a time of operation is displayed on the display device when the selected operation mode is initiated.
In the similar field of beverage preparing, Mills discloses wherein a time of operation is displayed on the display device when the selected operation mode is initiated (refer to Paragraph 0034 cited: “…The user interface 260 may also include user controls for selecting a tea brewing or steeping time by setting a timer 262. After the user selects a tea brewing time and starts the brewing, the timer 262 is activated for the selected period of time and the hot water delivery system 242 delivers hot water through a conduit 244 and a brewing arm 246 to a tea filter 234 located in a brewing basket 220. A valve 238 in the brewing basket 220 remains closed as the hot water fills a chamber 225 in the brewing basket 220 …”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4537A’s apparatus with wherein a time of operation is displayed on the display device when the selected operation mode is initiated, as taught by Mills, in order to provide the ability to set time period for beverage or juice preparation, such that would get a better control on preparing.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of CN4537A and Takeuchi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 14, CN4537A does not disclose wherein the lid comprises a hinged-style coupling to the vessel.
In the similar field of beverage preparing, Mills discloses wherein the lid (hinged lid #111, fig.3) comprises a hinged-style coupling (refer to the term “hanged” for #111) to the vessel (brewing region #112, fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4537A’s apparatus with wherein the lid comprises a hinged-style coupling to the vessel, as taught by Mills, in order to provide a more secured lid, such that would reduce accident spill and splashes that may cause injury or messes.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN115804537A (previously cited) herein set forth as CN4537A, in view of Takeuchi et al (US4829889 newly cited) herein set forth as Takeuchi, and further in view Ismert et al (US2023/0228068A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Ismert.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of CN4537A and Takeuchi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, CN4537A already discloses the lid is coupled to the vessel in claim 13, CN4537A does not explicitly disclose wherein the lid comprises a bayonet-style coupling to the vessel.
In the field of connection and coupling system, Ismert discloses the teaching of using a bayonet-style coupling [refer to Paragraph 0042 cited: “…a threaded or bayonet-style coupling among a variety of other combinations that may be determined based on a particular application of the coupling system…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4537’s apparatus with wherein the lid comprises a bayonet-style coupling to the vessel, as taught by Ismert, in order to provide a better, faster and easier coupling that can be coupled securely, such that would reduce the time use on connecting and disconnecting.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN115804537A (previously cited) herein set forth as CN4537A, in view of Takeuchi et al (US4829889 newly cited) herein set forth as Takeuchi, and further in view Joseph (US2015/0344285A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Joseph.
Regarding claim 19, the modification of CN4537A and Takeuchi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, CN4537A does not disclose wherein the interlock system is provided via one or more Hall effect sensors integrated into one or more of the lid or the nozzle assembly.
In the similar field of beverage preparing, Joseph disclose wherein the interlock system is provided via one or more Hall effect sensors integrated into one or more of the lid or the nozzle assembly (refer to Paragraph 0017 cited: “…the lid state sensor is a Hall Effect sensor comprising a first Hall Effect sensor portion integrated in said faucet head assembly and a second Hall Effect sensor portion integrated into said lid component…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4537A’s apparatus with wherein the interlock system is provided via one or more Hall effect sensors integrated into one or more of the lid or the nozzle assembly, as taught by Joseph, in order to provide the monitoring of the lid is closed securely or not, such that would better prevent operating with the lid accidently opened, and reducing accidental spill or splashes,
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN115804537A (previously cited) herein set forth as CN4537A, in view of Takeuchi et al (US4829889 newly cited) herein set forth as Takeuchi, further in view Tran et al (US10022614B1 previously cited) herein set forth as Tran, and further in view of Arceneaux et al (US2022/0316308A1 previously cited) herein set forth as Arceneaux.
Regarding claim 20, the modification of CN4537A and Takeuchi discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 13, CN4537A does not explicitly at least one load cell disposed on a supporting portion of the power base and operatively coupled to the processing device, wherein the processing device is configured to monitor a mass of contents contained in the vessel.
In the similar field of smart device, Tran discloses the use of battery to power apparatus [refer to Col 29 line 55-57 cited: “…power supply 56 can be a lithium or other rechargeable battery. Additionally, standard batteries such as AA or AAA batteries can be utilized.…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4537A’s apparatus with at least one load cell disposed on a supporting portion of the power base and operatively coupled to the processing device, as taught by Tran, in order to provide the portability, the smaller size and easier to operate in remote area, such that would increase the adaptability and marketability of the apparatus.
CN4537A or Tran does not explicitly discloses wherein the processing device is configured to monitor a mass of contents contained in the vessel.
In the field of monitor contents processing or transporting, Arceneaux discloses the teaching of using weight sensor to monitor weight before blender [refer to Paragraph 0009 cited: “…weight sensors to help meter the sand concentration needed directly into the frac blender mixing tub—bypassing the auger system in the frac blender…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CN4537A’s apparatus with wherein the processing device is configured to monitor a mass of contents contained in the vessel, as taught by Arceneaux, in order to provide accurate monitoring of the weight that would can better result of blending, product better mixture, also would extend the operational life span of the blade.
Response to Amendment
With respect to the Drawing Objection: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on May 12th 2026 that overcame the Drawing objection in the previous office action.
With respect to the Notification of 112f: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on May 12th 2026 that overcame some of the Notification of 112f in the previous office action. However “processing device” as cited in claim 20 that still invoked 112f.
With respect to the Rejection 112a: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on May 12th 2026 that overcame some of the Rejection 112a in the previous office action. The 112a Rejection on “processing device” is still remain.
With respect to the Rejection 112b: the applicant’s amendment/argument filed on May 12th 2026 that overcame the Rejection 112b in the previous office action. However, The 112b Rejection on “processing device” is still remain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12th 2026 have been fully considered:
Regarding the argument on Drawing objection, it is noted that the argument has clarified and persuasive, the drawing objection is withdrawn.
Regarding the argument on 112f, it is noted that the argument on “motor drive system” and “display device” has clarified and persuasive, the 112f are not invoked on those term.
However, the argument on “processing device” is not clarified or persuasive.
It is noted that “processing device” does not have sufficient corresponding structure cited in the claim to clearly perform the cited functional language. Therefore, the 112f is required to invoke to allow examiner to understand and capable to examine the claim.
Regarding the argument on 112a and 112b, it is noted that the argument on “motor drive system” is clarifying and persuasive. The 112a and b on “motor drive system” are withdrawn.
However, the argument on “processing device” is not clarifying or persuasive. Just as explained in the 112a or b above, in line with the 112f, what “processing device” is just a generic computer that does not have the ability to monitor a specific subject, such “processing device” required other structure to be able to perform the cited functional language.
Regarding to the argument of the new amended limitation, it is expressed that the argument is persuasive and therefore a new ground of rejection is being made above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 May 27th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761