DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 2 of claim 2 the claim states “a rotation of the staple shaft…” Claim 1 as amended already claims “a rotation of the staple shaft” making it unclear if claim 2 is referring to a separate rotation. For clarity claim 2 should read “the rotation of the staple shaft.”
It is noted that in withdrawn claim 27, “a coupling mechanism” should be changed to “the coupling mechanism” since amended withdrawn claim 26 added “a coupling mechanism.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Betz et al. (US Pub 2023/0310169).
With respect to claim 13, Betz discloses an orthopedic implant device (see fig 4B below) comprising: a cage (fig 4B, 460) having a proximal end (by 470) and a distal end (by 442); one or more staple (Fig 4B, 442) positioned near the distal end of the cage; the one or more staple configured to translate (fig 4B, 442L) relative to the cage and to rotate (fig 4B, 442A) relative to the cage; a coupling mechanism (fig 4B, 430 and nut in paragraph 34) comprising a coupling element (paragraph 34 nut) configured to constrain the one or more staple longitudinally relative to the cage (paragraph 34); and the coupling element further configured to translate the one or more staple longitudinally relative to the cage (paragraph 34) and to rotate the one or more staple relative to the cage (paragraph 202).
With respect to claim 14, Betz discloses wherein: the orthopedic implant device having a drive coupler (paragraph 203 mating engagement with a tool) configured to engage the coupling element; the drive coupler configured to rotate about a drive coupler rotation axis; and the one or more staple is configured to translate to an extended position along one or more staple longitudinal axis (fig 4B shows the movement of the staple) that is non-parallel (fig 4B shows rotation angles that are not parallel) to the drive coupler rotation axis.
With respect to claim 17, Betz discloses wherein: the orthopedic implant device is configured to be inserted towards a vertebral body from an approach trajectory (paragraph 20); and the approach trajectory of the implant device is one of a posterior approach trajectory, a posterior lateral approach trajectory or a posterior oblique approach trajectory (paragraph 20 discloses an oblique approach).
With respect to claim 18, Betz discloses wherein: the orthopedic implant device is configured to be inserted towards a vertebral body from an approach trajectory (paragraph 20); and the one or more staple is configured to be movable about one or more axis that is non- parallel (fig 3A the staple is shown at an angle relative to the trajectory) to the approach trajectory of the orthopedic implant device.
With respect to claim 19, Betz discloses wherein the implant device is configured to be secured to a vertebral body in an interbody fusion procedure comprising one of a posterior lumbar interbody fusion (PLIF) procedure or a transforaminal lumbar interbody fusion (TLIF) procedure (the device is capable of being inserted posteriorly).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-8, 12 and 31 are allowed.
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 25 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-14 and 17-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C/Examiner, Art Unit 3773 /EDUARDO C ROBERT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773