Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The title is not directed to what is claimed now (e.g. no drum cartridge claimed or belt unit claimed).
Claims 7-12 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 1-6. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The only difference is that in claim 1, line 8, the applicant uses “corresponds” and in claim 7, line 8, the applicant uses “identified”. Whether the dot count and maximum dot count “correspond” or are “identified” by the developer identification information is believed to be equivalent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,436,489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a developing cartridge including a developing roller, a developing memory storing developing identification information, a dot count corresponding to a number of dots printed; the developing cartridge reaching its lifetime being determined by the dot count, and a maximum dot count.
The only difference between the pending claims 1-4 and the patent ‘904 is that claim 1 of ‘904 additionally claims the memory storing a developing roller rotation number and determining whether the developer cartridge has reached its lifetime based on the developer rotation number and a maximum developer rotation number. In other words, the pending claims exclude a limitation which is included in the parent claims (the pending claims are broader than the parent claims).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the exclusion of elements from a claim is an obvious expedient. See In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 and Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2006/0051106).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Takahashi et al. teach a developing cartridge 48 including a developing roller 116, toner cartridge 52 and a memory chip 170 (Fig.5,7; par. 92-93,104,108). The memory chip 170 includes a non-volatile memory NVM 184 for storing developer identification information (manufacturer’s serial number 280 and manufacturing date 282) particular to that specific developing cartridge, a life count value 288 showing consumption of the developer cartridge up to a present time, and a lifetime (maximum) threshold value 284 indicating the lifetime of the developing cartridge (Fig.13, par. 140-142). The lifetime count value can be an accumulated drive time, pixel count, number of prints, etc (see par. 195). These values are used to determine the lifetime of the developer cartridge.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, the lifetime count value can be number of printed sheets (par. 195).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, the lifetime maximum threshold value 284 could correspond to the maximum number of printed sheets and the lifetime would be determined when the life count value 288 for printed sheets reaches the lifetime maximum threshold value 284 for printed sheets.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, the developer identification information 280, 282 would pertain to a specific developer cartridge out of a plurality of developer cartridges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2006/0051106).
Specifically, Takahashi et al. teach all that is claimed except the developing memory being separated into a first storage area and a second storage area. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that memory storage is divided into different addressable areas and thus it can be said that any data that is stored into different addressable sections of a memory would be stored in separate storage areas which would include a “first” or “second” storage area.
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2006/0051106) in view of Choi (U.S. 2006/0018673).
Takahashi et al. taught supra discloses most of what is claimed except the developer cartridge information includes a volume of the developing cartridge.
Choi teach a developing cartridge 110 having a memory 141 which stores data regarding the volume of the developing cartridge. A controller 140 will use this data, along with other information, to control the amount of developer which is supplied to the developer cartridge so that the space occupancy can be maintained in a predetermined range (see Fig.2, par. 45,55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to also include a volume information in the Takahashi et al. developing cartridge memory so that a developer amount can be maintained in a predetermined range as taught by Choi.
Claims 1-4,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spink et al. (U.S. 2013/0108285).
Spink et al. teach a replaceable unit (cartridge) 14 which applies images to print media (par. 31) which includes one or more a photoreceptor 30, charger 36, exposure station 38, developing unit 40, transferring unit 42 or cleaning device 44 (Fig. 1, par. 31-32); the replaceable unit includes a memory 60 which retains information pertaining to a particular replaceable unit (i.e. identification) and the life of the replaceable unit; the information includes end of life values such as maximum print count and maximum pixel usage and the cumulative values of print count and pixel usage at the present time (par. 38); the end of life of the replaceable unit is determined when the current cumulative usage reaches the end of life values (par. 39).
Specifically, Spink et al. teach all that is claimed except the developing unit mentioned in Sprink et al. as a replaceable unit has a developing roller and that the developing memory being separated into a first storage area and a second storage area.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that a developing unit would typically include a developing roller as a means to apply the toner to a photosensitive drum which is notoriously well known and of which the examiner takes Official Notice. Additionally, the memory storage being divided into different addressable areas and thus it can be said that any data that is stored into different addressable sections of a memory would be stored in separate storage areas which would include a “first” or “second” storage area.
Claims 1-4,6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 2006/0127105).
Lee teach a replaceable unit (cartridge) 200 which includes toner for printing and includes a memory 250 (par. 32) which retains information pertaining to a particular replaceable unit (i.e. identification) and the life of the replaceable unit (par. 45); the information includes end of life values such as maximum print count and maximum pixel usage and the cumulative values of print count and pixel usage at the present time (par. 47-49); the end of life of the replaceable unit is determined (i.e. toner low condition) when the current cumulative usage reaches the end of life values (par. 49) and printing ends (par. 15).
Specifically, Lee teach all that is claimed except the toner cartridge includes a developing unit/ developing roller and that the developing memory being separated into a first storage area and a second storage area.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that a toner cartridge would typically include a developing unit/ developing roller as a means to apply the toner to a photosensitive drum which is notoriously well known and of which the examiner takes Official Notice. Additionally, the memory storage being divided into different addressable areas and thus it can be said that any data that is stored into different addressable sections of a memory would be stored in separate storage areas which would include a “first” or “second” storage area.
Conclusion
/ROBERT B BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852