DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to allow a pet to easily access the pet seat at the user’s desire.” The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the rt would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the limitation.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the frame" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “pet-friendly materials.” The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the rt would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the limitation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a securing mechanism and a sidecar attachment mechanism in at least claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringer et al. (US 20230217892 A1 and hereinafter “Stringer”) in view of Chappell (US 20200298897 A1).
Re Claim 1
Stringer discloses:
An attachable standalone pet seating apparatus (see all figs.) comprising:
a pet seat (124’s basket itself in figure 7 or the base / interior floor of 124’s basket itself upon which the pet sits) attached to the frame (122 has both a frame and also associated attachment mechanisms; see below regarding the attachment means; the frame includes 206 and 214);
…
wherein the pet seat includes a sidecar attachment mechanism comprising a top attachment means and a bottom attachment means with at least one of the top attachment means and the bottom attachment means having a telescoping shaft (see attachment mechanisms in figs. 3-5, a variety of which could plainly meet the limitations at issue; for example -- top attachment means 118 and bottom attachment means 208, see [0038] noting that 208 may telescope).
Stringer does not explicitly disclose:
an elevation piece attached to the front of the frame and designed to be positioned in an engaged position and a disengaged position by a user to allow a pet to easily access the pet seat at the user's desire, and the elevation piece including a walking surface for the pet to traverse;
a securing mechanism to secure the elevation piece in at least one of the engaged position and disengaged position;
the standalone pet seating apparatus being constructed for the elevation piece to be stored under the pet seat when in the disengaged position.
Chappell teaches the following for the purpose of having a storable and securable ramp for facilitating access by an animal / pet (see figs. 1-4 and 6-7; see [0010] and [0034] and [0043] of Chappel as well as the mapping below, incorporating the relevant features as mapped, described, and claimed and note the swiveling / pivoting as well):
an elevation piece (20) attached to the front of the frame (fig. 1) and designed to be positioned in an engaged position and a disengaged position by a user to allow a pet to easily access the pet seat at the user's desire (see figs. 1-4; see [0043] as well for example), and the elevation piece including a walking surface for the pet to traverse (see fig. 1; see [0028] and/or [0034] for example);
a securing mechanism to secure the elevation piece in at least one of the engaged position and disengaged position (110 and 112);
the standalone pet seating apparatus being constructed for the elevation piece to be stored under the pet seat when in the disengaged position (see figs. 1-4; see [0043] as well for example).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Stringer with the teachings of Chappell above for the purpose(s) as articulated above.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringer et al. (US 20230217892 A1 and hereinafter “Stringer”) in view of Chappell (US 20200298897 A1) and further in view of Lane et al. (US Patent No. US 12158006 B1 and hereinafter “Lane”) or Sloan et al. (US Patent No. US 5213060 A and hereinafter “Sloan”).
Re Claim 2
Stringer as modified above discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
further comprising at least one stability piece attached to the end of a bottom of the elevation piece.
Lane teaches a ramp which uses at least one stability piece attached to the end of a
bottom of the elevation piece (see resilient feet 50 which are non-skid) and Sloan
teaches the same at the end of a ramp (see feet 36), with both references teaching the
above for the purpose of increasing friction, improving stability, and/or improving
safety. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art
prior to the effective filing date to modify Stringer as modified above to include at least one stability piece attached to the end of a bottom of the elevation piece as taught by either Lane or Sloan for the purpose articulated above.
Re Claim 3
Stringer as modified above discloses:
further comprising a seat support structure aligned with the sides of the frame (e.g. side walls of 124 or 400 or 302 or a combination thereof) and a backpiece aligned with the back of the frame (e.g. back wall of 124 or 120 or 204 or 202 or a combination thereof).
Re Claim 4
Stringer as modified above discloses:
wherein the pet seat, seat support structure, and backpiece are made of pet-friendly materials ([0027], [0030], [0035], [0043], [0050], [0051], [0053], [0057], [0059]).
Re Claim 5
Stringer as modified above discloses:
wherein the elevation piece is made to swivel about at least one axis (see the teaching above incorporating the feature claimed; note that it is made to swivel per the figures in the reference; additionally, or alternatively, swiveling about one axis is rotating / pivoting in relation to the one axis, which the elevation piece does – see figs. 1-4 and 6-7; see [0010] and [0034] and [0043] of Chappel describing the structure incorporated in the teaching above).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringer et al. (US 20230217892 A1 and hereinafter “Stringer”) in view of Chappell (US 20200298897 A1) and further in view of Lane et al. (US Patent No. US 12158006 B1 and hereinafter “Lane”) or Sloan et al. (US Patent No. US 5213060 A and hereinafter “Sloan”) and further in view of Official Notice.
Re Claim 6
Stringer as modified above discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
wherein the elevation piece is a powered version having at least one actuator, a power supply, and a controller.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that providing a powered version of a manually operated element such as the elevation piece via having at least one actuator, a power supply, and a controller is old and well known in the art. Modifying Stringer as modified above such that the elevation piece is a powered version having at least one actuator, a power supply, and a controller would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date for the purpose of facilitating operation of the element, lowering the risk of injury to the operator, and/or assisting users who are impaired / disabled / young / elderly / or who lack sufficient strength to use the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional pet beds / seats and ramp structures are provided. Some of the ramp structures are linked with the pet beds / seats, whereas others are included as separately attachable structures. US 3415539 A is relevant insofar as it is a sidecar apparatus / pet seat as well. The same is true for US 3595600 A; see the top of column 7. US 3426368 A describes a pet carrier for vehicles which is of similar concept. US 20130199457 A1 is a sidecar attachment for a horseback rider to utilize. US 20180178703 A1 features a carrier system with a ramp and is considered highly relevant as well.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673