DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to allow a pet to easily access the pet seat at the user’s desire.” The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the rt would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the limitation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a securing mechanism and a sidecar attachment mechanism in at least claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringer et al. (US 20230217892 A1 and hereinafter “Stringer”) in view of Chappell (US 20200298897 A1).
Re Claim 1
Stringer discloses:
A human-pet co-seating apparatus (see all figures) comprising:
a frame (figure 3, e.g. 122) having a front, a back, and two sides (figure 3);
a sidecar pet seat (e.g. 124) attached to the frame (figure 1);
a sidecar attachment mechanism (118) attached to the frame (figs. 1 and 3) and designed to attach (fig. 1) the sidecar pet seat to a chair (fig. 1) made for at least one human to sit in (fig. 1) …
Stringer does not explicitly disclose:
an elevation piece attached to the front of the frame and designed to be positioned in an engaged position and a disengaged position by a user to allow a pet to easily access the sidecar pet seat at the user's desire, and the elevation piece including a walking surface for the pet to traverse;
a securing mechanism to secure the elevation piece in at least one of the engaged position and disengaged position; and
the human-pet co-seating apparatus constructed for the elevation piece to be stored under the sidecar pet seat when in the disengaged position.
Chappell teaches the following for the purpose of having a storable and securable ramp
for facilitating access by an animal / pet (see figs. 1-4 and 6-7; see [0010] and [0034]
and [0043] of Chappel as well as the mapping below, incorporating the relevant features
as mapped, described, and claimed and note the swiveling / pivoting as well):
an elevation piece (20) attached to the front of the frame (fig. 1) and designed to be positioned in an engaged position and a disengaged position by a user to allow a pet to easily access the pet seat at the user's desire (see figs. 1-4; see [0043] as well for example), and the elevation piece including a walking surface for the pet to traverse (see fig. 1; see [0028] and/or [0034] for example);
a securing mechanism to secure the elevation piece in at least one of the engaged position and disengaged position (110 and 112);
the human-pet co-seating apparatus being constructed for the elevation piece to be stored under at least one of the human seat and the pet seat when in the disengaged position (see figs. 1-4; see [0043] as well for example).
It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date to have modified Stringer with the teachings of Chappell above for
the purpose(s) as articulated above.
Re Claim 4
Stringer as modified above discloses:
wherein the sidecar attachment mechanism is adjustable to accommodate attaching to chairs of different widths, sizes, and seat heights (118, see also [0028] - [0030]).
Re Claim 5
Stringer as modified above discloses:
wherein the sidecar attachment mechanism is detachable and stored within the frame to convert the human-pet co-seating apparatus into a standalone pet seating apparatus (118, see also [0028] - [0030]; removable and capable of simply being stored within the confines of the frame, particularly so when merely a tie or velcro attachment).
Re Claim 6
Stringer as modified above discloses:
wherein the elevation piece has at least one intermediate position which the elevation is capable of being locked in by the securing mechanism (see Chappell teaching above and note that the at least one intermediate position is just any position which is not fully extended or retracted; note further that it is capable of being locked in by the securing mechanism because the claim merely requires the capability).
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stringer et al. (US 20230217892 A1 and hereinafter “Stringer”) in view of Chappell (US 20200298897 A1) and further in view of Official Notice.
Re Claim 2
Stringer as modified above discloses an elevation piece which is a ramp (see teaching of Chappell above), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the elevation piece comprises a foldable ramp having an extension piece. Examiner hereby takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to have ramps which are foldable and have an extension piece for the purpose of facilitating storage and/or extension of a support / walking / ramp surface for a user (human and/or pet). It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Stringer as modified above such that the elevation piece comprises a foldable ramp having an extension piece for the reason(s) articulated above.
Re Claim 3
Stringer as modified above discloses all claim limitations, see above, except:
wherein the elevation piece comprises at least one step.
Examiner hereby takes official notice that it is old and well known in the art to utilize elevation pieces which comprise at least one step for the purpose of facilitating entry by a user (human and/or pet). It would therefore have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Stringer as modified above such that the elevation piece comprises at least one step for the purpose as articulated above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. Claim 7 requires that the sidecar attachment mechanism includes a counterweight. While a counterweight is provided in the Stringer reference ([0033]), it is on the non-attached arm of the desk chair. There is no teaching, suggestion, motivation, or other reason to provide the sidecar attachment mechanism with a counterweight. Doing so would likely unbalance the apparatus and defeat the purpose of the arrangement of the elements. Claims 8-9 depend from claim 7. No other references were found with a counterbalance as claimed which would be reasonably combined with Stringer as modified above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional pet beds / seats and ramp structures are provided. Some of the ramp structures are linked with the pet beds / seats, whereas others are included as separately attachable structures. US 3415539 A is relevant insofar as it is a sidecar apparatus / pet seat as well. The same is true for US 3595600 A; see the top of column 7. US 3426368 A describes a pet carrier for vehicles which is of similar concept. US 20130199457 A1 is a sidecar attachment for a horseback rider to utilize. US 20180178703 A1 features a carrier system with a ramp and is considered highly relevant as well.
/DAVID E. SOSNOWSKI/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3673
/David E Sosnowski/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673