DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhangzhou (CN 211520161 U).
Regarding claims 1, 6-8, 10, and 21, Zhangzhou discloses a packaging insulation liner comprising an insulation pad (101); and a foil paper (102/104) coupled to the insulation pad, the foil paper comprising a paper layer and a metallic layer directly attached the paper layer (see Par. 0024), wherein the foil paper is recyclable (Examiner considers Zhangzhou’s foil paper to be recyclable).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5, Zhangzhou discloses a packaging insulation liner wherein the insulation pad has a first surface and a second surface opposite of the first surface, and the foil paper is attached to the first surface (see Fig. 2). Examiner notes that the foil paper is attached on both sides of the insulation pad.
Regarding claim 4, Zhangzhou discloses a packaging insulation liner wherein a foil-free paper is attached to the second surface (Examiner notes that the portion of the foil paper that corrugated paperboard 102 is attached to the surfaces of the insulation pad and is free of a metallic layer). Examiner further notes that the polymer waterproof layer (106) is separate and distinct from the foil paper (102/104; see Fig. 2)
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palmer et al. (US 2011/0284556 A1; hereinafter Palmer).
Regarding claims 1, 6-8, 10, and 21, Palmer discloses an insulated shipping container comprising an insulation pad (6; see Fig. 3); and a foil paper (7) coupled to the insulation pad, the foil paper comprising a paper layer and a metallic layer directly attached the paper layer (see Par. 0020; Examiner notes that the foil paper is disclosed as an aluminum foil with a paper backing), wherein the foil paper is recyclable (Examiner considers Palmer’s foil paper to be recyclable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhangzhou in view of Tornblom et al. (US 2023/0249889 A1; hereinafter Tornblom).
Regarding claim 9, Zhangzhou discloses the claimed invention except for substrate binder fibers being bi-component thermoplastic polymer fibers. Tornblom teaches a packaging comprising a plurality of fibers including substrate fibers and binder fibers, the substrate fibers are made of the material selected from the group consisting of thermoplastic, cellulose (see Par. 0048), and combinations thereof, and the binder fibers are bicomponent fibers made of thermoplastic (see Par. 0051 and 0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Zhangzhou’s liner to incorporate bi-component thermoplastic binder finders in order to further provide shock absorption and insulative characteristics to Zhangzhou’s insulating pad (Tornblom; see Par. 0004).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer in view of Collison et al. (US 2019/0248573 A1; hereinafter Collison).
Regarding claim 11, Palmer discloses the claimed invention except for a cardboard box. Collison teaches an insulated shipping system including an insulative insert wherein the shipping system includes a container that is a cardboard box (see Par. 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to place Palmer’s insulative pad and liner within a cardboard box in order to provide a container that is environmentally friendly (Collison; see Par. 0005).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 07/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under USC 103(a)—Collison in view of Humphries have been fully considered and are persuasive. The combination lacks a metallic layer directly attached to the paper layer. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 102(a)(1)—Zhangzhou or Palmer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734