DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on September 9, 2025 and preliminary amendment filed September 24, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 9-10, 14-15, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if all double-patenting issues were overcome.
The cited prior art fails to disclose 1) wherein the first syntax element is a first flag indicating whether an affine motion model-based merge mode is used for the current block, or the second syntax element is a second flag indicating whether an affine motion model-based advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode is used for the current block when a slice that comprises the current block is a predicted (P)-type slice or a bi-directional predicted (B)-type slice or 2) wherein the first syntax element is a first flag indicating whether a subblock-based merge mode is used for the current block or the second syntax element is a second flag indicating whether an affine motion model-based advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP) mode is used for the current block when a slice that comprises the current block is a predicted (P)-type slice or a bi-directional predicted (B)-type slice.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9, and 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,706,417 in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0016789 (“Lou”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims although the claims of the ‘417 patent include additional limitations, they also include all the limitations of the claims of the current application. The current application adds only elements (e.g., inverse quantization, and quantization) that are were known in the art of lossy video coding and present in nearly every lossy video coding system at the time of the invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, 9, and 11-12 of the ‘417 patent in view of Lou and claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-18 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘417 patent in view of Lou:
Instant Application
‘417 Patent
1. A method comprising:
1. A … method comprising:
1. Limitation 1: parsing a received bitstream to obtain information corresponding to a quantized coefficient and a to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element in a current block, wherein the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element comprises a first syntax element in the current block or a second syntax element in the current block;
1. Limitation 1: parsing a received bitstream to obtain a to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element in a current block, wherein the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element comprises a first syntax element or a second syntax element;
1. Limitation 2: obtaining a first context model corresponding to the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element;
1. Limitation 2: obtaining a context model corresponding to the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element…
1. Limitation 3: performing entropy decoding on the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element based on the first context model;
1. Limitation 3: performing entropy decoding on the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element based on the context model…;
1. Limitation 4: obtaining the quantized coefficient based on the information;
1. Limitation 5: performing inverse quantization on the quantized coefficient to obtain an inverse quantized coefficient;
1. Limitation 6: performing inverse transformation on the inverse quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block;
1. Limitation 7: performing prediction processing on the current block based on a third syntax element that is in the current block and that is based on the entropy decoding in order to obtain a prediction block of the current block; and
1. Limitation 4: performing prediction processing on the current block based on the third syntax element to obtain a prediction block of the current block; and
1. Limitation 3: performing entropy decoding… to obtain a third syntax element;
1. Limitation 8: obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the prediction block and the reconstructed residual block.
1. Limitation 5: obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the prediction block of the current block.
With respect to claim 1, the claims of the ‘417 patent do not recite parsing a received bitstream to obtain information corresponding to a quantized coefficient…; obtaining the quantized coefficient based on the bitstream; performing inverse quantization on the quantized coefficient; performing inverse transformation on the quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block; and obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the … reconstructed residual block.
However, Lou discloses that parsing a received bitstream to obtain information corresponding to a quantized coefficient…; obtaining the quantized coefficient based on the bitstream; performing inverse quantization on the quantized coefficient; performing inverse transformation on the quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block; and obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the … reconstructed residual block was well known in the art (see Fig. 6, ¶¶32-36, describing parsing a received bitstream (“INPUT BITS” of Fig. 6) to obtain information including quantized coefficients based on the bitstream, performing dequantization (item 604), i.e., inverse quantization, on the quantized coefficients, performing inverse transformation on the quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block (item 606), and obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the reconstructed residual block).
Lou describes that such elements were known on coding systems using the HEVC standard (see ¶¶29, 34). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been familiar with such a standard and the components used by the standard for coding, including obtaining quantized coefficients, dequantizing them, detransforming them, obtaining a residual, and reconstructing an image using that residual (see citations above). Accordingly, to such a person, it would have been obvious to modify the claims of the ‘417 patent to include these well-known elements of the HEVC coding standard.
Thereby, claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the ‘417 patent.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,445,616 in view of Lou. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims although the claims of the ‘616 patent include additional limitations, they also include all the limitations of the claims of the current application. The current application adds only elements (e.g., inverse quantization, and quantization) that are were known in the art of lossy video coding and present in nearly every lossy video coding system at the time of the invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-12 of the ‘616 patent in view of Lou and claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-18 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘616 patent in view of Lou:
Instant Application
‘616 Patent
1. A method comprising:
1. A method comprising:
1. Limitation 1: parsing a received bitstream to obtain information corresponding to a quantized coefficient and a to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element in a current block, wherein the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element comprises a first syntax element in the current block or a second syntax element in the current block;
1. Limitation 1: parsing a received bitstream to obtain information corresponding to a quantized coefficient and a to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element in a current block, wherein the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element comprises a first syntax element or a second syntax element…;
1. Limitation 2: obtaining a first context model corresponding to the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element;
1. Limitation 2: obtaining a first context model corresponding to the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element;
1. Limitation 3: performing entropy decoding on the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element based on the first context model;
1. Limitation 3: performing entropy decoding on the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element based on the first context model;
1. Limitation 4: obtaining the quantized coefficient based on the information;
1. Limitation 4: obtaining the quantized coefficient based on the information;
1. Limitation 5: performing inverse quantization on the quantized coefficient to obtain an inverse quantized coefficient;
1. Limitation 5: performing inverse quantization on the quantized coefficient to obtain an inverse quantized coefficient;
1. Limitation 6: performing inverse transformation on the inverse quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block;
1. Limitation 7: performing prediction processing on the current block based on a third syntax element that is in the current block and that is based on the entropy decoding in order to obtain a prediction block of the current block; and
1. Limitation 6: performing prediction processing on the current block based on a third syntax element that is in the current block and that is based on the entropy decoding in order to obtain a prediction block of the current block; and
1. Limitation 8: obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the prediction block and the reconstructed residual block.
1. Limitation 8: obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the prediction block….
With respect to claim 1, the claims of the ‘616 patent do not recite; performing inverse transformation on the quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block; and obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the … reconstructed residual block.
However, Lou discloses that performing inverse transformation on the quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block; and obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the … reconstructed residual block was well known in the art (see Fig. 6, ¶¶32-36, describing performing inverse transformation on the quantized coefficient to obtain a reconstructed residual block (item 606), and obtaining a reconstructed image of the current block based on the reconstructed residual block).
Lou describes that such elements were known on coding systems using the HEVC standard (see ¶¶29, 34). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been familiar with such a standard and the components used by the standard for coding, including detransforming quantized coefficients to obtain a residual and reconstructing an image using that residual (see citations above). Accordingly, to such a person, it would have been obvious to modify the claims of the ‘616 patent to include these well-known elements of the HEVC coding standard.
Thereby, claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the ‘616 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lou.
With respect to claims 16-20, patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id. However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id. Claims 16-20 are directed to a non-transitory medium storing an encoded bitstream, wherein the encoded bitstream comprises quantized coefficient information and a syntax elements and a wherein clauses that appears to describe how the bitstream is generated. These elements or steps are not performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight. Thus the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Lou which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (see ¶155).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Lou in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0003835 (“Sole Rojals”).
With respect to claim 6, Lou discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A video decoding device (see Fig. 6, item 600), comprising:
a non-transitory memory storage configured to store video data in a form of a bitstream, wherein the bitstream comprises information corresponding to a quantized coefficient and to a to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element in a current block, and wherein the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element comprises a first syntax element in the current block or a second syntax element in the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 16-18 above; Lou discloses a non-transitory memory storage for storing video data in the form of a bitstream); and
a video decoder coupled to the non-transitory memory storage (see Fig. 6, item 602, ¶155) and configured to:
[receive] the bitstream to obtain the information (see Figs. 5, 6, 11, items “BITS”, “INPUT BITS”, 602, 1106, 1112, ¶¶8, 10, 32, 35, 62-63, describing that the decoder receives, i.e., parses, a bitstream of compressed data, i.e., information, and that this data/information includes quantized coefficients and data to be passed to the entropy decoding block 602, i.e., to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element in a current block, e.g., coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag);
obtain a first context model corresponding to the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element (see Fig. 11, items 1106, 1112, ¶¶38, 63, 65, 69, 77, describing selecting, i.e., obtaining, context models corresponding to the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax elements, e.g., coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, from a context set ctxSet); and
perform entropy decoding on the to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element based on the first context model (see Fig. 6, item 602, ¶¶7, 35, 37-38, 62, describing performing entropy decoding on the coefficient levels, e.g., coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, based on the selected, i.e., first, context model);
obtain the quantized coefficient based on the information (see citations above, that the quantized coefficient is obtained by the entropy decoder based on the quantized coefficients in the bitstream and to-be-entropy-decoded syntax element);
perform inverse quantization on the quantized coefficient to obtain an inverse quantized coefficient (see Fig. 6, item 604, ¶36, describing a dequantizer that dequantizes, i.e., inverse quantizer that performs inverse quantization on, the quantized transform coefficients to obtain an dequantized, i.e., inverse quantized, coefficient);
perform inverse transformation on the quantized coefficient to a obtain reconstructed residual block (see Fig. 6, item 606, ¶36, describing an inverse transform block that performs inverse transformation on, the quantized coefficients to obtain a reconstructed residual PU/block);
perform prediction processing on the current block based on a third syntax element that is in the current block and that is based on entropy decoding in order to obtain a prediction block of the current block (see Fig. 6, items e’, 612, 614, x’,¶¶30, 33-36, showing and describing a prediction processor coupled to the entropy decoder for performing prediction processing on the current block based on the transform coefficients of the current PU/block to obtain a prediction residual PU/block e’ and prediction PU/block x’ - ¶62 describes that these transform coefficients are defined by their absolute level/coefficient level, i.e., the third syntax element, and the sign of the transform coefficient – in other words, it is clear from these paragraphs that the described prediction based on the transform coefficients is based on their coefficient levels/the third syntax element); and
obtain a reconstructed image of the current block based on the prediction block and the reconstructed residual block (see Fig. 6, summer, e’, x’, ¶36, describing obtaining a reconstructed video frame, i.e., image, of the current PU/block based on the prediction PU/block ‘x and reconstructed residual PU/block e’).
As detailed above, Lou does not explicitly state that its entropy decoder parses the bitstream to obtain the syntax, rather it describes receiving the bitstream.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Sole Rojals discloses that it was known to for such decoders to not only receive the bitstream, but also perform a parsing operation to extract syntax elements from it (see Fig. 6, ¶121, describing that it was known to for the entropy decoder to receive the bitstream and perform a parsing operation on it to extract syntax elements from the bitstream).
As detailed above, Lou discloses that a bitstream is received and syntax elements are obtained from that bitstream by the entropy decoder, but does not explicitly disclose how these syntax elements are obtained. At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with obtaining syntax from a bitstream for entropy decoding and the methods for doing so and have understood that, as evidenced by Sole Rojals, one known way to do so would be for the entropy decoder to parse the bitstream to extract such syntax. Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, doing so in the entropy decoding system of Lou would have represented nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to predictable results and/or the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a mechanism for parsing the bitstream to extract syntax elements in the entropy decoder of Lou as taught by Sole Rojals.
With respect to claim 7, Lou discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Lou in view of Sole Rojals discloses all the elements of independent claim 6. Lou/Sole Rojals additionally discloses:
wherein a second context model corresponding to the first syntax element is based on a preset context model set, wherein the video decoder is further configured to determine a context index of the first syntax element based on a fourth syntax element and a fifth syntax element in a left neighboring block of the current block and based on a sixth syntax element and a seventh syntax element in an upper neighboring block of the current block, and wherein the context index indicates the second context model (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 6 above and Lou Figs. 9, 16, items 902, 1602, ¶¶123-154, describing that the entropy decoder may determine a first context model/index (¶¶40, 46, 125, and 140 describe that the context model may be represented by a context index and that this context index may be based on a set of context models formed from a base context index and a context increment for that syntax element – i.e., a second context model corresponding to the first syntax element and based on a preset context model set) for decoding the coefficient level, i.e., including the first syntax element coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, based on syntax elements (e.g., neighbor x position, neighbor y position, neighbor significant coefficient flags, etc.) from neighboring blocks, including left and upper neighboring blocks (see, e.g., Fig. 9, item 902) of the current block, i.e., based on a fourth syntax element and a fifth syntax element in a left neighboring block of the current block and a sixth syntax element and a seventh syntax element in an upper neighboring block of the current block).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 6 also apply to claim 7.
With respect to claim 8, Lou discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Lou in view of Sole Rojals discloses all the elements of independent claim 6. Lou/Sole Rojals additionally discloses:
wherein a second context model corresponding to the second syntax element is based on a preset context model set, wherein the video decoder is further configured to determine a context index of the second syntax element based on a fourth syntax element and a fifth syntax element in a left neighboring block of the current block and based on a sixth syntax element and a seventh syntax element in an upper neighboring block of the current block, and wherein the context index indicates the second context model (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 6 and 7 above, describing that the entropy decoder also determines a context model/index corresponding to coeff_abs_level_greater2_flag, i.e., a second syntax element, based on syntax elements from neighboring blocks, including left and upper neighboring blocks of the current block, i.e., based on a fourth syntax element and a fifth syntax element in a left neighboring block of the current block and a sixth syntax element and a seventh syntax element in an upper neighboring block of the current block and that this context model – the second context model may be represented by a context index and based on a set of context models formed from a base context index and a context increment for that syntax element – i.e., wherein the second context index indicates a third context model corresponding to the second syntax element and based on a preset context model set).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 6 also apply to claim 8.
With respect to claim 1, claim 1 recites the elements of claim 6 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 6 also applies to claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, claim 2 recites the elements of claim 7 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 7 also applies to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, claim 3 recites the elements of claim 8 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure recited with respect to claim 8 also applies to claim 3.
With respect to claim 11, Lou discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above, Lou in view of Sole Rojals discloses each and every element of independent claim 6, the combination of which is incorporated herein. Lou/Sole Rojals additionally discloses:
A video encoder (see Fig. 5, item 500) comprising:
one or more memories configured to store programming instructions (see ¶155, describing that the invention may be embodied in program code/instructions stored in a computer-readable storage medium, i.e., memory, and executed by a processor); and
one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the programming instructions (see citations and arguments with respect to element above) to cause the video encoder to:
obtain a residual block of a current block (see Fig. 5, items subtractor, x, x’, and e, ¶30, describing that predicted PU x’ is subtracted from input PU x to obtain a residual PU/block e of a current block);
obtain a transform coefficient of the current block by performing transformation on the residual block (see Fig. 5, items e, E, 506, ¶¶30-31, describing obtaining transform coefficients of the current block by performing transformation on the residual block);
obtain a quantized coefficient based on the transform coefficient (see Fig. 5, item 508, ¶¶30-32, describing that the encoder obtains a quantized transform coefficient by performing quantization on the transform coefficient, i.e., based on the transform coefficient);
obtain a to-be-entropy-encoded syntax element in a current block, and wherein the to-be-entropy-encoded syntax element comprises a first syntax element or a second syntax element in the current block (see Figs. 5, 11, items E, 510, “BITS”, 1106, 1112, ¶¶7, 9, 30-32, 62-63, describing that the encoder obtains data including syntax elements in a current block and that this data is passed to the entropy coding block 510, i.e., obtain a to-be-entropy-encoded syntax element in a current block, and that this entropy coding block 510 encodes syntax elements, including coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag and coeff_abs_level_greater2_flag, i.e., wherein the to-be-entropy-encoded syntax element comprises a first syntax element or a second syntax element in the current block);
obtain a first context model corresponding to the to-be-entropy-encoded syntax (see Fig. 11, items 1106, 1112, ¶¶38, 63, 65, 69, 77, describing selecting, i.e., obtaining, context models corresponding to syntax elements coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag by determining a first context model corresponding to coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag from a context set ctxSet);
perform entropy encoding on the to-be-entropy-encoded syntax element based on the first context model to obtain an entropy coded syntax element (see ¶¶7, 30, 32, 62, describing performing entropy decoding on the coefficient levels, e.g., coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag based on the selected context model, to obtain syntax elements, e.g., coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, i.e., an entropy coded syntax element);
generate a bitstream comprising information corresponding to the quantized coefficient and the entropy encoded syntax element (see Figs. 5-6, items “BITS” and “INPUT BITS”, ¶¶7-10, 30-33, 35, 62-63, describing that the encoder generates a bitstream and that the bitstream includes information corresponding to the quantized transform coefficients and comprises entropy encoded data, including the entropy encoded syntax element, e.g., coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag); and
transmit the bitstream to a video decoding device (see Figs. 5-6, items “BITS” and “INPUT BITS”, ¶35, showing and describing a transmission of the bitstream to video decoder 600).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 6 also apply to claim 11.
With respect to claim 12, Lou discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Lou in view of Sole Rojals discloses all the elements of independent claim 11. Lou/Sole Rojals additionally discloses:
wherein a second context model corresponding to the second syntax element is based on a preset context model set, wherein the one or more processors further cause the video encoding device to determine a first context index of the first syntax element based on a third syntax element and a fourth syntax element in a left neighboring block of the current block and a fifth syntax element and a sixth syntax element in an upper neighboring block of the current block, and wherein the first context index indicates a second context model corresponding to the first syntax element and based on a preset context model set (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 7 and 11 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 6 also apply to claim 12.
With respect to claim 13, Lou discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Lou in view of Sole Rojals discloses all the elements of independent claim 11. Lou/Sole Rojals additionally discloses:
wherein a second context model corresponding to the second syntax element is based on a preset context model set, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the programming instructions to cause the video encoder to determine a context index of the second syntax element based on a third syntax element and a fourth syntax element in a left neighboring block of the current block and a fifth syntax element and a sixth syntax element in an upper neighboring block of the current block, and wherein the context index indicates a the second context model (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 8 and 11 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 6 also apply to claim 13.
Conclusion
/LINDSAY J UHL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481