DETAILED ACTION
This application is a continuation of U.S. Application No. 17/695,443.
Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-10 are rejected.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0004], line 12, the term “
” appears to contain a typographical error. Amending this term to read “~80%” (consistent with paragraph [0004] of parent app. No. 17/695443) can overcome this objection.
The last sentence on page 1 of the specification (¶ [0004]) appears to be cut off, i.e., the end of the sentence, as well as the beginning of the following sentence, appear to be missing. This is evident when comparing to paragraph [0004] of the parent application no. 17/695,443. Correction is required.
Paragraph [0023], the term “I0-15%” appears to contain a typographical error. Amending this term to read “10-15%” (emphasis added) can overcome this objection.
Paragraph [0029] recites that the hydrodynamic size of the CNCs is “-140 nm”. This appears to be a typographical error. Amending this term to read “~140 nm” (consistent with paragraph [0029] of parent app. No. 17/695443) can overcome this objection.
Paragraph [0020], line 5, the term “Jig” appear to be a typographical error. Amending this term to read “J / g” (consistent with paragraph [0020] of parent app. No. 17/695443) can overcome this objection.
Paragraph [0034], line 5, the term “I%” appear to be a typographical error. Amending this term to read “1%” can overcome this objection.
Paragraph [0035],
line 3, the term “Zave -154 nm for pure CNC verses -233 nm” appears to contain typographical errors. Amending this term to read “Zave ~154 nm for pure CNC verses ~233 nm” can overcome this objection.
line 5, the term “Zave -2500 nm for pure CNC verses -475 nm” appears to contain typographical errors. Amending this term to read “Zave ~2500 nm for pure CNC verses ~475 nm” can overcome this objection.
line 6, the term “JI g” appears to be a typographical error. Amending this term to read “J / g” can overcome this objection;
line 8, the term “- 1361 nm for pure CNC verses -281 nm” appears to contain typographical errors. Amending this term to read “~ 1361 nm for pure CNC verses ~281 nm” can overcome this objection.
line 17, the term “-41 %” appears to be a typographical error. Amending this term to read “~ 41 %” can overcome this objection.
The suggested changes to paragraph [0035] are consistent with paragraph [0035] of parent app. No. 17/695443.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 1, it is suggested the term “cellulose nanocrystals” be amended to read “acid-hydrolyzed cellulose nanocrystals” in order to ensure proper antecedent basis in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 2, in indefinite with regard to the term “a concentration of carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) between 0.1 to 1” because it is unclear what units of measure the concentration is based upon, e.g., molar, weight, volume, etc. This concentration has been interpreted as meaning, “wherein the dry weight concentration of CMC to CNC is between 0.1 to 1,” as disclosed in paragraph [0020] of the specification (emphasis added). In other words, the concentration has been interpreted as the dry weight concentration of CMC to CNC is between 0.1 and 1.
Claim 1, line 3, the term “in a liquid form” is indefinite because it is unclear to which components this term is referring i.e., the CMC, the CNC, or both. This term has been interpreted as wherein both the CMC and the CNCs are in liquid form for this office action. Clarification is required.
Claim 2 is indefinite with regard to the claimed “wherein said CNC and CMC provides 85-90% of and 10-15% of total dry weight percentage of said CNC and CMC, respectively,” because it is unclear during which method step these dry weight percentages are required, i.e., during mixing, during drying, or during redispersion. Claim 2 has been interpreted as requiring 85-90% CNC and 10-15% CMC of total dry weight percentage of said CNC and CMC, respectively, in the dried mixture of CMC+CNC. Clarification is required.
Claim 9 is indefinite with regard to the term “wherein the cellulose nanocrystals in the CNC have a solids concentration of 8.1 wt%.” This term is unclear because “the CNC” is/are “the cellulose nanocrystals,” and therefore cannot have a concentration in itself. The claims have been interpreted as “wherein the acid-hydrolyzed cellulose nanocrystals in the liquid form have a solids concentration of 8.1 wt%” for this Office Action. Clarification is required.
Regarding dependent claims 3-8 and 10, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites mixing a concentration of carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) between 0.1 to 1 with acid-hydrolyzed cellulose nanocrystals (CNC) (emphasis added). Paragraph [0020] of the specification discloses “a small CMC concentration of 0.1 to 1 (CMC to CNC, dry weight) was added to the CNCs in a liquid form.” Paragraph [0030] of the specification discloses using “a dry weight ratio of CMC to CNC of 0.1 to 1, 0.05 to 1, 0.02 to 1, and 0.01 to 1 (i.e., 10%, 5%, 2% and 1% CMC loading with respect to CNC).” The specification does not appear to provide basis for using a dry weight ratio of CMC to CNC of between 0.01 to 1 as presently claimed, i.e., 0.01:1 to 1:1. For example, basis does not exist for using a 1:1 ratio of CMC:CNC. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Regarding dependent claims 2- 10, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enyong, CN 100360604C (Enyong) in view of Butchosa et al, “Water redispersible cellulose nanofibrils adsorbed with carboxymethyl cellulose” (Butchosa) and Sinquefield et al, “Nanocellulose Dewatering and Drying: Current State and Future Perspectives” (Sinquefield).
A machine translation of Enyong was provided with the Office Action mailed 02/25/2025 in parent Application No. 17/695,443. The citation of prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
Sinquefield was cited in the IDS filed 01/30/2025 in parent application no. 17/695,443
Regarding claim 1, Enyong teaches nano-microcrystalline cellulose that is easily water-dispersible, resulting in a uniformly dispersed aqueous colloid (Enyong; Abstract and page 2, lines 55-59). A surface-modified nano-microcrystalline cellulose is obtained by adding a hydrophilic colloid in an amount of 5-150% of the weight of the nano-microcrystalline cellulose, preferably 15-75% (Enyong; page 3, lines 7-10 and 23).
The hydrophilic colloid can be carboxymethyl cellulose or sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (Enyong; page 3, lines 16-19).
The weight percentages of Enyong overlap in scope with the claimed dry weight ratios.
For example, a composition comprising 10 wt% CMC and 90 wt% CNC has a dry weight ratio of CMC:CNC of 10:90, or 0.1:1, which falls within the claimed range of 0.1 to 1 (i.e., 0.1:1 to 1:1).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In Example 1, 160g of microcrystalline wet cake with an average particle size of 30-50 nm (i.e., cellulose nanocrystals) was subjected to ultrasonic treatment, and carboxymethyl cellulose was placed in the mixer. The solids proportions by weight are 50 parts nanocrystalline cellulose to 15 parts by weight carboxymethyl cellulose (Enyong; page 4, lines 4-9). This is equivalent to a dry weight of CMC:CNC of 15:50 or 0.3:1.0.
A dry weight of CMC to CNC of 0.3:1.0 falls within the claimed range of 0.1 to 1.
The mixer is then turned on until the composition is evenly mixed (i.e., mixing). It is then dried and crushed to obtain the final product (i.e., drying the CMC+CNC mixture to generate a dry mixture of CMC+CNC) (Enyong; page 4, lines 9-10).
In Example 8, 100g of the microcrystalline cellulose powder of Example 1 was added to 1900g of deionized water (i.e., redisperse the dried mixture of CMC+CNC in water), and homogenized to obtain a water-dispersed, stable gel of nanocrystalline cellulose (Enyong; page 5, lines 17-21).
See also Example 3 wherein Enyong mixes nanocrystalline cellulose with carboxymethyl cellulose to form a dried product (Enyong; page 4, lines 20-27).
Enyong does not explicitly teach: 1) forming a substantially homogeneous composition, 2) shear mixing; 3) acid-hydrolyzed CNCs; and 4) mixing CNC and CMC in liquid form to generate a solution as claimed (emphasis added).
With respect to differences 1, 2) and 4), Butchosa teaches that cellulose nanofibrils are difficult to redisperse in water after they have been completely dried due to the irreversible agglomeration of cellulose during drying. Butchosa developed a simple process to prepare water-redispersible dried CNFs by the adsorption of small amounts of carboxymethyl cellulose followed by oven drying (Butchosa; Abstract).
A 2 wt% CNF dispersion in water was obtained, and 1 wt% CMC was dissolved in water (i.e., CMC and CNC in liquid form) (Butchosa; page 4351, col. 2, lines 7-8 and 15-16). A series of CNF/CMC mixtures were prepared and mixed at 12,000 rpm using an Ultra-Turrax mixer (i.e., shear mixing as claimed) (Butchosa; page 4531, col. 2, lines 16-24).
To obtain dry cellulose, the CNFs absorbed with CMC were dried in an oven at 80oC until constant weight was reached. The dry samples were easily swelled and redispersed in water (Butchosa; page 4351, col. 2, line 40 - page 4352, col. 1, line 4).
A dried sample containing 23 mg CMC/ g CNFs could be redispersed in water, even at a solids concentration as high as 5 wt%, and a homogeneous and stable hydrogel was prepared (i.e., a substantially homogeneous composition) (Butchosa; page 4354, paragraph at the bottom of col. 1).
Although Butchosa is directed towards CNFs, Butchosa teaches that attempts have been made to achieve water-redispersibility for both CNFs and cellulose nanocrystals (CNCs) after drying (Butchosa; page 4350, col. 1, lines 26-28). Butchosa further discloses that redispersible microcrystalline cellulose products containing CMC as a redispersing aid have been commercially available for decades. These products typically contain 8-18 wt% of CMC (Butchosa; page 4350; col. 2, lines 19-23).
Butchosa is analogous art as it teaches a method wherein CMC is shear mixed with nanocellulose in liquid form, and then dried to form a dry nanocellulose + CMC mixture that is redispersible in water to form a homogeneous composition.
With respect to difference 3), Sinquefield teaches that classes of nanocellulose (NC) include cellulose nanocrystals (CNCs) and cellulose nanofibrils (CNFs). CNCs are the rod-like nanoparticles remaining after acid hydrolysis of wood or plant fibers (i.e., acid-hydrolyzed cellulose nanocrystals as claimed) (Sinquefield; page 9601; ¶ 3).
Sinquefield teaches that because of their high surface areas and high concentrations of surface hydroxyl groups, CNCs and CNFs pose similar challenges with regard to dewatering, drying and redispersion. Drying NC materials by conventional methods can lead to irreversible particle agglomeration due to the hydrogen bonding of the fibrils/crystals so that they do not redisperse upon rehydration (Sinquefield; page 9601, ¶ 4).
A substantial amount of work has been dedicated to finding additives and pretreatments that will help redispersion in water (Sinquefield; page 9607, “Additives and Pretreatments,” ¶ 1). An example is Butchosa who found that CMC adsorbed onto CNF produced a completely redispersible nanofiber using simple oven drying (Sinquefield; page 9609, ¶ 4).
Sinquefield is analogous art as it teaches the problems associated with redispersing dried nanocellulose, including CNCs and CNFs, wherein CNCs are obtained by acid hydrolysis.
In light of the disclosure of Sinquefield of the similarities in the challenges regarding the drying and redispersion of CNFs as disclosed by Butchosa and the CNCs as disclosed by Enyong, and because both Butchosa and Enyong use CMC to achieve redispersion of CNFs and CNCs respectively, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the process steps of Butchosa in the methods of Enyong in order to obtain a dried, redispersible nanocrystalline product. Specifically, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the CNCs and CMC as aqueous liquids, and thereafter use shear mixing such as with an Ultra-Turrex mixer as taught by Butchosa, in the methods of Enyong, in order to obtain a completely redispersible CNC. Because Enyong does not require specific mixing and drying method steps, other than combining CNCs with CMC, and because Butchosa teaches that mixing solutions using shear mixing successfully achieves complete redispersion of nanocellulose modified with CMC, those skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in performing the method steps of Butchosa in the methods of Enyong, i.e., mixing liquids using shear as claimed.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use acid-hydrolyzed cellulose nanocrystals as claimed in the processes of Enyong in view of Butchosa because Sinquefield teaches that CNCs are the rod-like nanoparticles remaining after acid hydrolysis of wood or plant fibers, i.e., CNCs are obtained by acid-hydrolysis.
Given that the methods of Enyong as modified by Butchosa and Sinquefield are substantially identical to the methods as claimed in that liquid, acid-hydrolyzed CNC and liquid CMC components are shear mixed in the claimed dry weight amounts, it is clear that the mixture would generate a solution as claimed. Further, it is clear that when the dried product of said mixture is redispersed in water, a substantially homogeneous composition as claimed is formed.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Regarding claim 2, Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Enyong teaches a surface-modified nano-microcrystalline cellulose is obtained by adding a hydrophilic colloid in an amount of 5-150% of the weight of the nano-microcrystalline cellulose, preferably 15-75%, wherein the hydrophilic colloid can be CMC as claimed (Enyong; page 3, lines 7-10, 16-19 and 23).
CMC weight% ranges of 5-150%, preferably 15-75%, overlap in scope with the claimed weight ranges of 85-90% CNC and 10-15% CMC, based on the total dry weight. For example, a surface-modified nanocrystalline cellulose comprising 15% CMC falls within the claimed 10-15 wt% CMC range, based on the total dry weight. This surface-modified nanocrystalline cellulose would comprise 85 wt% CNCs, which falls within the claimed 85-90% CNC range.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Enyong teaches that the hydrophilic colloid can be sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (Enyong; page 3, lines 16-19).
Given that Enyong discloses hydrophilic colloids that overlap the presently claimed CMC, including carboxymethyl cellulose sodium salt, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use carboxymethyl cellulose sodium salt in the methods of Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield, which is both disclosed by Enyong and encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 3-6, Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Enyong teaches drying the mixed nanocrystalline cellulose and hydrophilic colloid such as CMC (Enyong; page 3, lines 52-54 and page 4, line 10).
Enyong does not explicitly teach drying between 0-100oC (claim 4), 25-100oC (claim 5) or 50-100oC (claim 6).
With respect to the difference, Butchosa teaches to obtain dry cellulose, the CNFs absorbed with CMC were dried in an oven at 80oC until constant weight was reached. The dry samples were easily swelled and redispersed in water (Butchosa; page 4351, col. 2, line 40 - page 4352, col. 1, line 4).
Drying at 80oC falls with the claimed temperature ranges of between 0-100oC (claim 4), 25-100oC (claim 5) or 50-100oC (claim 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dry the modified cellulose nanocrystals of Enyong at 80oC as taught by Butchosa in order to obtain a dried nanocellulose product, modified by CMC, which is easily swelled and redispersed in water.
Regarding claims 7-8, Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above, wherein Enyong generally teaches drying (Enyong; page 3, lines 52-54 and page 4, line 10).
Butchosa teaches oven drying at 80oC (Butchosa; page 4351, col. 2, line 40 - page 4352, col. 1, line 4).
Enyong and Butchosa do not explicitly teach drying between 25-75oC (claim 7) or 25-50oC (claim 6).
With respect to the difference, Sinquefield teaches that oven drying can be used to drive water evaporation from nanocellulose gels and suspensions. The drying efficiency primarily depends on external conditions such as temperature, air flow, agitation and the median area of the exposed surface. Research has been conducted at both ambient and elevated temperatures. Additives and pretreatments may be used along with oven drying to enhance dispersibility of the dried NC materials (Sinquefield; page 9605; “Drying of NC”).
While Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield do not explicitly disclose drying temperatures as presently claimed, it has long been an axiom of United States patent law that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of result-effective variables by routine experimentation. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) ("[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."). "Only if the 'results of optimizing a variable' are 'unexpectedly good' can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620 (CCPA 1977)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the oven drying temperature in the methods of Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield, including over the presently claimed, in order to obtain maximum drying efficiency based upon external conditions such as temperature, air flow, agitation and the median area of the exposed CNC surface, as well as optimized dispersibility of the final dried CNC-CMC product.
Regarding claim 9, Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Enyong teaches using a nanocrystalline cellulose wetcake (Enyong; page 4, Example 1, line 6).
Butchosa teaches using a 2 wt% CNF dispersion (Butchosa; page 4351, lines 7-8).
Sinquefield teaches that nanocellulose materials are produced in dilute aqueous suspensions (Sinquefield; page 9602, ¶ 4, first sentence).
Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield do not explicitly teach wherein cellulose nanocrystals in the CNC liquid have a solids concentration of 8.1 wt% as claimed.
While Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield do not explicitly disclose a CNC liquid solids concentration as presently claimed, it has long been an axiom of United States patent law that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of result-effective variables by routine experimentation. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) ("[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art."); In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) ("[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."). "Only if the 'results of optimizing a variable' are 'unexpectedly good' can a patent be obtained for the claimed critical range." In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620 (CCPA 1977)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the CNC solids concentration, including over the presently claimed, in order to obtain a CNC liquid which is easily mixable with CMC. Further, those skilled in the art would have been motivated to select a commercially produced CNC aqueous suspension, as disclosed by Sinquefield, such as one comprising 8.1 wt% CNC solids concentration as presently claimed, for the convenience of not having to premix the CNCs prior to using, absent a showing otherwise.
Regarding claim 10, Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield are relied upon as teaching the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Enyong teaches the particle size of the microcrystalline cellulose is preferably 30-100 nm (Enyong; page 3, line 25). The nanocellulose material has broad and unique applications, with prospects in food, medicine, papermaking, textile and new material preparation (Enyong; page 3, lines 56-60).
Enyong does not explicitly teach wherein the CNC is represented by a hydrodynamic size of about 140nm as claimed.
Sinquefield teaches that CNCs are the rod-like nanoparticles remaining after acid hydrolysis of wood or plant fibers, and are typically 3-5nm wide and 50-500nm in length (Sinquefield; page 9601, ¶ 3). 50-500 nm lengths encompass the claimed 140nm particle sizes.
Although there is no disclosure that the CNC length is conformity with the hydrodynamic size, given that Sinquefield discloses CNC lengths as presently claimed, and absent evidence criticality how the particle lengths are measured, it is an examiner's position that CNC length disclosed by Sinquefield meets the claim limitation.
On the basis of their size and aspect ratios, CNCs and CFCs address different end-use application needs (Sinquefield; page 9602; ¶ 1).
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the particle size of the CNCs used in the methods Enyong in view of Butchosa and Sinquefield, including the claimed particle size of 140nm which is known for CNCs as disclosed by Sinquefield, in order to obtain the desired properties needed for the end-use application of the CNCs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xie et al, “Redispersible Pickering emulsion powder stabilized by nanocrystalline cellulose combining with cellulose derivatives,” cited in the Office Action mailed 02/24/5/2026 in parent application 17/695,443, teaches a process of preparing cellulose nanocrystals modified with carboxymethyl cellulose (CNCC), wherein microcrystalline cellulose (particle size 50nm) and CMC-Na were dispersed in water at 1000rpm, spray-dried, and redispersed in water (page 129, Section 2.2; page 130, Section 2.3, and page 131, Table 1).
Hamad et al, WO 2020/047670A1, cited in the IDS filed 09/21/2023 in parent application no. 17/695,443, discloses forming an aqueous CMC solution, forming a CNC suspension, mixing at a mass ratio of CNC:CMC from 0.01 to 1, shaking by hand, drying at 55oC, milling to form a powder, and submerging in a saline solution [0056].
Durand et al, US 3539365, cited in the IDS filed 01/30/2025 in parent application no. 17/695,443, teaches adding CMC during attrition of β-1,4-glucan in order to prevent irreversible bonding or hornification of the microcrystalline cellulose.
/CDL/Examiner, Art Unit 1732
/CORIS FUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1732